Aberdeen, WA 
Sam Benn DGC Share
Uploaded By: puaahunter Hole #7 (Taken 7/2009)
3 / 196ft.   3 / --   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Basket



Reviews: 5
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Great Amateur Course

5+    9/22/2012   9/25/2012
Review By: KD77
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 2.1 Years
Pros: Family friendly course in a wooded park setting. Many changes have been completed on the course since some of these reviews were posted. My whole family can play this course. Course is designed well to create a challenge if you are just a beginner or have been playing for years. Array of hole types from open, to wooded to uphill.
Cons: It is a park so you have to pay attention to other users. I haven't had any issues with this.
Other Thoughts: Tee pads and baskets are great. Signs at each tee show an aerial view of the hole and yardage.

 Sam Benn DGC

1    2/14/2010   2/17/2010
Review By: JR Stengele
Played: 191  Reviewed: 184  Exp: 14.5 Years
This review was updated on 2/27/2012
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Sam Benn Disc Golf Course in Aberdeen is located in a beautiful park minutes from the ocean. The park is well maintained, with mowed grass and clean underbrush. It has a large bathroom near tee pad 8, baskets 7 and 9. Garbage cans are also around that area, with a few places to sit and people watch or take in all the activities. The park has large beautiful trees throughout the course, and a few walking paths.

Tee pads are good enough for the course (although fairly small and made of asphalt). Baskets are DISCatchers and are in excellent shape. The signs are absolutely stunning, providing distance, an aerial photo of the holes layout, and also include the tee pad number. Each hole has some elevation that comes in to play, with undulating hills throughout the park. Pin placement on most of the holes is really well thought out, where others seem a bit dangerous (7 and 9). Accessibility from the freeway is quick and easy as well.

Some holes had wide open drives such as 4, 5, and 6 where others were more tightly wooded like 1, 2, 3, and 8. Holes ranged anywhere from 162 - 445 feet and all presented a challenge (although the course was most appropriate for amateur players). Great course to practice on and with no other course close by, most disc golfers only chance to play.
Cons:
Although the course is located in a beautiful setting, much of the upper part of the park was not used for the course which is a real shame. Some holes on the current set up seemed forced and without any real thought. Both holes 7 and 9 were short blind shots that dog legged right and have a high risk of hurting someone. Both baskets are about 30 feet from each other right near the bathrooms. With so many park users, it is a matter of time before a car, dog, or human is hit and the course is pulled. It would make much more sense to pull the two holes and try to add them in the upper vicinity of the park that is unused. This would make a decent course in to maybe a great course.

Navigation seemed a bit confusing as well for a first timer. The baskets all had numbers on them (which was a plus) but each asphalt tee pad had a different number written in chalk. I stuck to following the signs but, with baskets 1 and 3 pulled with no signs telling players so, I found myself looking for something that was not there. Tee pad two is also currently gone so I waited for a local to show me to a small rubber pad. Once the baskets and tee pad are reinstalled I am sure navigation will be much easier again. It looks as if they are working on irrigation which will also improve the overall play of the course (especially during the winter and spring).
Other Thoughts:
For no other courses being very close, Sam Benn DGC was a much needed addition to the area. It is a perfect course to learn on and enjoy, and seems perfect for families too. I can't imagine however, that it is easy to play during the summer months with so much grass and a large open area. I imagine families picnicking, playing games, or doing other activities right on holes 4, 5, and 6. My advice would be to get there early or plan on playing late in the evening when most people are back home.

The locals have done a terrific job with the course and with some improvements, it could be a great nine hole course. Hopefully, some holes eventually will be redesigned to make the overall course safer for everyone. If you are ever in the area I highly recommend playing here, and if you have time heading to Elma too so you can play GH Hostel.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

1    2/14/2010   2/15/2010
Review By: sillybizz
Played: 219  Reviewed: 206  Exp: 11.3 Years
This review was updated on 12/8/2010
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Sam Benn is a nice little city park in the middle of Aberdeen. If you were planning on going to Ocean Shores this a course you can play in town that's not too far off of the freeway. There is an open field on one side of the park that is used for a number of holes, this field is perfect to practice your roller shots. The baskets, tee pads and tee signs are all in very good condition, although the pads are not concrete, they are asphalt instead.
Cons: The biggest problem I have with this place is all of the unused land that could have been used to make a pretty decent nine hole park. I saw some potential for some really killer holes on the top part of the park as well as changing the current layout to make this course a three or three and a half stars. While I was there construction was going on with irrigation and they pulled baskets one and three. Holes seven and nine are just ludicrous to me; they placed those baskets very close to each other with both tee positions being blind tee shots into an area that gets people walking in it and this could have been avoided easily.
Other Thoughts: This is the only course in the area so if you are going on vacation or live down here there is a course to play but for my time and money I would just assume drive to Elma to play the GH Hostel course instead. I wouldn't recommend playing here in the summer as this place looks like it gets busy in a hurry with walkers and picnickers.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 a nice stop on the way to the beach!

2-4    7/3/2009   7/4/2009
Review By: puaahunter
Played: 18  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 5.4 Years
This review was updated on 3/13/2010
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: a nice little park in a quiet part of town, not far off the main drive through Aberdeen to the ocean.
well treed.
lots of uphill/downhill shots.
nice course layout.
signs are awesome!
very nice baskets!
a good mix of technical shots.
decent teepads.
Cons: this was a "short" course. [which is probably why i scored so well!]
there was a Par4 [hole #5] that i thought could have been a Par3.
i couldn't see some of the baskets from the tees, so i had to go looking before my shot.
this wasn't negative, it's just a beginner needing to check out the course.
in the winter, it is swampy wet!

WARNING: i had to throw across a blind walking path on hole #7. if i threw 30seconds earlier, i would have taken a lady out who was walking her dog.
this would have made my experience horrible, it would have really hurt her, and potentially could have shut this great course down, which would have been a shame since the next closest course is pretty far away.

i do think the course designer did a fantastic job setting up 9 fun holes in this small park, but that is definitely a hazard.
i had some sunbathers driving around the anhyzer [RHBH] shot into hole #9, but i asked them to have a heads up and protect themselves in case my disc got away from me. they seemed kind enough.
Other Thoughts: this was an enjoyable stop on our way to the ocean. my wife and mom-in-law took the kids to play at the playground while i banged out this course in 25 minutes. they said there was some shady drug-related activity going on up there, so they loaded back in the van and drove around to look at the nice houses while i finished.

this course is not long in length and should be quite easy to get a par or birdie on the course.
it didn't feel really challenging, but it was fun.

the amenities [signs, baskets, tees] were great.

i made lots of comments on the pictures i uploaded, so be sure to check those out.

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 New 9 Hole Course Near The Pacific!

2-4    2/13/2009   2/13/2009
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 684  Reviewed: 636  Exp: 36.4 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course is located in the lower section of a nice city park with towering Cedar and Douglas Fir trees. The park is probably only 6 acres. The first tee is right by the giant silver bell! There is some elevation to throw up and down. The baskets are brand new Disc Catchers. The tee pads are small, asphalt ones but they work well here. It has metal signs which show par and distance with an aerial photo. This course has a monopoly as the next nearest course is 21 miles away. I would like to congratulate the course designer(s. Don't be fooled by the short distances on most of the holes. They are all well very thought out, most offer multiple flightpaths to the baskets. # 1 basket is seen as a straight shot through the trees but the more advantageous shot is an anhyser throw over the ditch. A roller on # 4 looks to be the shot of choice but I could see a strong player throwing a high overhand tomahawk of some kind. Many of the holes will make you think about your shot choice.
Cons: Just a couple of small cons. On # 9, the preferred path on the sign shows an almost 90 degree anhyser shot around some shubbery but I could see some players cutting the corner and shooting almost straight to the basket. I'd make this a mando around the corner to protect the integrity of the hole. And a small peeve of mine, # 6 is a 274' uphill hyser shot with an uphill sloping teepad. Why can't we make these teepads level?
Other Thoughts: This is not a destination course but it's an extremely well designed one. And despite it's relatively short distances, it's not particularly easy. Stop by if you're on your way to our Washington beaches. You might be disappointed in our cold, gray beaches but you won't be disappointed with this course.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.