Whitmore Lake, MI 
Independence Lake - Red Hawk Share
Uploaded By: bygwyllay Hole #13 (Taken 6/2013)
3 / 240ft.   4 / 300ft.   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #13 White Tee



Reviews: 22
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Great Fairways / Horrible Roughs

1    8/7/2012   8/9/2012
Review By: mrblonde314
Played: 10  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 10.1 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - 1-18 offer Black (Pro) and White (Am) cemented tees with BROOMS!
- 1-18 offer Red woman's tee
- Almost every tee has bench / broom / garbage can
- Course is professionally designed
Cons: - Very very rough roughs
- Roughs = poor / zero maintenance
- The entire course is COVERED in poison ivy
- The extras don't have cement tees
- The extras aren't very challenging
- Costs $9 to get in
Other Thoughts: When I played this course holes 13-17 were under construction. I didn't let this affect my review. The course is challenging and fun but somebody needs to take care of the poison ivy issue.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 New home

5+    5/8/2010   5/16/2010
Review By: eugy9228
Played: 22  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 10.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I love this course i live 5 min from kensington and i play this course more then any other.
A wide arrange of shots Great for a Drivers dream.
Well maintained and great friendly players that are regulaurs as well.
Hole design is fantastic and well played everytime.
Cons: Very few that are ever a game ruiner, truthfully almost a great time everytime i play.
Other Thoughts: Iv'e played boh summer and winter courses here and many others around michigan, not only a great fun course but a beautiful park and wildlife is very frequently seen on the holes. Truthfully had to wait 15 min for 3 deer to clear the hole before we could continue playing.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 a dry course !

1    10/5/2009   10/5/2009
Review By: compn
Played: 43  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 18.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: mix of small elevation and flat, some tree obstacles. nice new baskets. tees marked with orange cones.

course was dry, even after 4-5 days of rain. a definite plus!!!

course is large enough to keep holes seperated.
Cons: all of the holes have tall grass and brush. must keep your eyes open. some fairways are a bit tight (10ft wide). kind of confusing to find the next tee.

the walks from basket to next tee are on the long side, but its not a con for me, just fyi.
Other Thoughts: water comes into play on two holes (one small swamp pond near basket/fairway).

nice large DISC GOLF PARKING HERE sign. course has some mosquitos and bees. a few picnic tables and trash cans too.

lookout for freshly cut stumps and a few gopher holes to trip you up. wear pants as the raspberries and roses are still out, not to mention the poison ivy.

no one at ticket booth the last two times i've been to independence lake, so i have not had to pay for park entry fee. ymmv.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 better than locust

5+    9/18/2009   9/22/2009
Review By: Innovadude
Played: 225  Reviewed: 178  Exp: 16.3 Years
This review was updated on 10/11/2010
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Many long field shots with punishing rough for throwing wide, mixed with a few shorter, but never easy, deuce opportunities. Some narrow hardwood tunnels.
Long tees really challenge a pro to break par, short tees fair and cleaner for ams.
Balances out winter "Picnic" layout perfectly.
Score variation will be high.
New white layout is harder than before, and sadly the new black layout is not as good with #16 being a weak reachable yet not park-able hole.
Cons: - Many blind tee shots, lots of discs will be lost, hard to watch it fly.
- Lots of poison ivy, more than any course in the region, and probably won't diminish over time- wear pants.
- Park entrance fees always a con i.m.o, but this is the same as Rolling Hills so at least now it's double the value and worth buying.
- Short tees seem like an afterthought, thrown in after the layout.
- Long walks between holes, not laid out in a logical pattern.
Other Thoughts: - Still keeping it at 3.5 stars even with cement tees now due to extreme poison ivy (though I love this course and will be there in the fall/winter) I literally cannot play it in the summer until someone does something about some of that ivy PLEASE.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.