Whitmore Lake, MI 
Independence Lake - Red Hawk Share
Uploaded By: DirtyMittenDG Hole #18 (Taken 10/2009)
3 / 300ft.   3 / 345ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #18 Basket



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 24
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers

1    8/7/2016   8/14/2016
Review By: gcoghill
Played: 68  Reviewed: 63  Exp: 16.5 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Well-maintained course. Bright orange, new baskets. Decent tee signs. Scenic setting. Secluded and exclusive land. Very friendly locals. Ample parking and porta-pottiy. Good course flow.
Cons: $9 fee a bit steep. Course flow gets a bit confusing in spots. Rough is extremely dense. A bit out of the way.
Other Thoughts: The drive off the freeway to get to the course was far longer than I expected, and on some unpaved roads to boot. But the park itself is like an oasis. An oasis that costs $9 for non-residents of the county.

I happened to meet the course designers when I got there. Along with the rest of the locals I ran into, quite a friendly bunch.

The course itself has a nice variety of hole types and challenges, from technical wooded to long bombs to curves with elevation. You can tell the course was designed by disc golfers.

Overall the course flowed well, but it got confusing in a few spots. I wasn't the only first-timer to think hole 13 was hole 4.

The A-F holes were decent but if you skipped them you would not be missing anything.

The park itself was quite scenic and quiet. The course is on land exclusive to the course and it's great to be out in the seclusion throwing discs.

The course takes advantage of the slight elevation and rolling hills. Holes are challenging without being difficult or frustrating. You'll need a variety of discs and throws.

That said, the roughs are extremely dense and thick. You could easily be searching for hours with an errant throw on a good portion of the holes. As a road-trip player passing through, I ended up playing with my putter and not doing anything risky.

The course has a variety of holes with unique personalities, but nothing in the way of a signature hole. Still, a nice mix.

DGCR indicates a 3.5/5 rating as "Very Good", and that's what Red Hawk is -- a very good course. The average rating of over 4 is a bit overinflated. I considered giving it a 4, but the truth is that I left the course and immeditpately began to forget it.

While it was an enjoyable round, and might exceed the other courses in the area, it just didn't hold up to other courses I've played around the country. I played this and Hudson Mills on the same day of the road-trip, and would highly recommend Red Hawk over Hudson Mills.

That said, at $9 a day I don't think I'd play here again if I were in the area.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Great Fairways / Horrible Roughs

1    8/7/2012   8/9/2012
Review By: mrblonde314
Played: 10  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 12.3 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: - 1-18 offer Black (Pro) and White (Am) cemented tees with BROOMS!
- 1-18 offer Red woman's tee
- Almost every tee has bench / broom / garbage can
- Course is professionally designed
Cons: - Very very rough roughs
- Roughs = poor / zero maintenance
- The entire course is COVERED in poison ivy
- The extras don't have cement tees
- The extras aren't very challenging
- Costs $9 to get in
Other Thoughts: When I played this course holes 13-17 were under construction. I didn't let this affect my review. The course is challenging and fun but somebody needs to take care of the poison ivy issue.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 New home

5+    5/8/2010   5/16/2010
Review By: eugy9228
Played: 22  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 12.5 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I love this course i live 5 min from kensington and i play this course more then any other.
A wide arrange of shots Great for a Drivers dream.
Well maintained and great friendly players that are regulaurs as well.
Hole design is fantastic and well played everytime.
Cons: Very few that are ever a game ruiner, truthfully almost a great time everytime i play.
Other Thoughts: Iv'e played boh summer and winter courses here and many others around michigan, not only a great fun course but a beautiful park and wildlife is very frequently seen on the holes. Truthfully had to wait 15 min for 3 deer to clear the hole before we could continue playing.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 a dry course !

1    10/5/2009   10/5/2009
Review By: compn
Played: 56  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 20.5 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: mix of small elevation and flat, some tree obstacles. nice new baskets. tees marked with orange cones.

course was dry, even after 4-5 days of rain. a definite plus!!!

course is large enough to keep holes seperated.
Cons: all of the holes have tall grass and brush. must keep your eyes open. some fairways are a bit tight (10ft wide). kind of confusing to find the next tee.

the walks from basket to next tee are on the long side, but its not a con for me, just fyi.
Other Thoughts: water comes into play on two holes (one small swamp pond near basket/fairway).

nice large DISC GOLF PARKING HERE sign. course has some mosquitos and bees. a few picnic tables and trash cans too.

lookout for freshly cut stumps and a few gopher holes to trip you up. wear pants as the raspberries and roses are still out, not to mention the poison ivy.

no one at ticket booth the last two times i've been to independence lake, so i have not had to pay for park entry fee. ymmv.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 better than locust

5+    9/18/2009   9/22/2009
Review By: Innovadude
Played: 227  Reviewed: 180  Exp: 18.5 Years
This review was updated on 10/11/2010
8 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Many long field shots with punishing rough for throwing wide, mixed with a few shorter, but never easy, deuce opportunities. Some narrow hardwood tunnels.
Long tees really challenge a pro to break par, short tees fair and cleaner for ams.
Balances out winter "Picnic" layout perfectly.
Score variation will be high.
New white layout is harder than before, and sadly the new black layout is not as good with #16 being a weak reachable yet not park-able hole.
Cons: - Many blind tee shots, lots of discs will be lost, hard to watch it fly.
- Lots of poison ivy, more than any course in the region, and probably won't diminish over time- wear pants.
- Park entrance fees always a con i.m.o, but this is the same as Rolling Hills so at least now it's double the value and worth buying.
- Short tees seem like an afterthought, thrown in after the layout.
- Long walks between holes, not laid out in a logical pattern.
Other Thoughts: - Still keeping it at 3.5 stars even with cement tees now due to extreme poison ivy (though I love this course and will be there in the fall/winter) I literally cannot play it in the summer until someone does something about some of that ivy PLEASE.

8 of 10 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.