Whitmore Lake, MI 
Independence Lake - Red Hawk Share
Uploaded By: DirtyMittenDG Hole #16 (Taken 10/2009)
3 / 370ft.   4 / 470ft.   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #16 Pro Tee



Reviews: 22
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
first class all the way

1    5/19/2013   5/19/2013
Review By: todddarling1
Played: 6  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 15.4 Years
Pros: Where do I start? Great bright orange baskets, tight fairways that require you to really plan your shots or you'll get into trouble quick, Great tee pads and TEE PAD BROOMS AT EVERY HOLE!!!! Great use of the landscape makes for some challenging holes. Tee signs give great info and let you know if you should send a spotter ahead, they also have a small shelf for marking your score cards.
Cons: Was a little wet in spots (mushy ground) There are a few holes that are still under construction, but they have added alt holes to make a full 18. Bugs. The rough is REALLY rough. The tall grass can make it a challenge to find your disc. If you are out of county it's $9 for a day pass, but the golf is free.
Other Thoughts: Can't wait to go back. Want to play the holes that are closed. they are really making a great course and they are making improvements all the time according to a local I talked too. Was really impressed with the park. Brooms at every tee, no litter, and well maintained. Seems like the people playing the course really care about it and are working to keep it nice. I only wish it was closer to my house so I could play it more often!

 

5+    7/16/2010   7/16/2010
Review By: mcphatty
Played: 35  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 10.4 Years
This review was updated on 8/19/2010
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Favors forearm shots, but has a nice variety of every shot type
- Usaully free to play
- Not too crowded
Cons: - Course changes often, which can be confusing.
- While the course is usually free, its expensive when the park booth is staffed. $5 for residents of washtenaw county, $9 for everyone else.
- Tees can be hard to find if you're not familiar with the course.
Other Thoughts: One of my favorite courses in the area. Its challenging enough for some good competition between players, but not so hard that you're sent home crying. The 6th hole is a blind water shot, so keep your discs to the right or use a spotter and you should be okay.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Decent course, Great under the right conditions.

5+    7/18/2010   7/8/2010
Review By: AKormendi
Played: 65  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 16.1 Years
This review was updated on 10/3/2010
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Challenging shots, lots of finesse shots and big hooks. Well marked tees. Easy to find your way around. Lots of neat wildlife to observe. I watched some frogs and garter snakes today.
Cons: Rough roughs, and insects are bad when it's been hot and wet. No running water on site.
Other Thoughts: Great quiet course with just a touch of elevation changes. Well maintained, and well respected.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 very nice park

1    6/10/2010   6/18/2010
Review By: discNDav
Played: 293  Reviewed: 64  Exp: 28.3 Years
This review was updated on 7/8/2010
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Two tees per hole were very easy to find. The overall design was excellent with alot of different type of shots required. Water comes into play (rather surprisingly, thanks for the heads up marked on the tees!).

None of the holes were on top of each other, very spreadout course which lessons the interference from other holes/golfers.

Benches and/or picnics tables were near the tees every few holes.

Very close to another great DG destination, Hudson Mills.The park entrance fee keeps the 'riff raft" out. Just minutes from highway 23.

Very clean and maintained course, the cut grass and carved fairways along with the tall grass in spots really made it feel like a "golf" course.

I got the feeling as if it were almost private since there were a minimal number of golfers playing on a nice summer afternoon. Drinking appeared to be tolerated, we sat with beers afterwards and the park employee said nothing to us.
Cons: $9 per car for non-county residents. Can be wet/muddy in places even on the holes not with the water hazards, I was glad I had proper waterproof footwear.

Other Thoughts: When the cement tees are installed, this course will even better. My group of 3 from Philly really enjoyed playing this course a lot.


4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Give me freedom or give me golf

5+    4/28/2010   4/29/2010
Review By: bygwyllay
Played: 85  Reviewed: 78  Exp: 7.4 Years
This review was updated on 6/9/2011
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: **UPDATE**
Awesome upgrades have put this course in with the elite in the area!! New Cement tee pads have been put in for both Pro and Am, and they have added new red-marked dirt tees as well, offering different sight-lines and shorter distances. Fantastic! They drained and destroyed the mire that was the only water hazard on the course (I wonder how many hundred discs they found under the slop) which was an eyesore not to mention horribly placed on hole #6. A few pin adjustments (like #7) make the course much more enjoyable. They've also filled in some of the low-lying areas with mulch which makes your round more comfortable while adding some class to the links. In time this course will be broken in a bit more and really feel like home. Now on par with rolling hills, the other 18 hole course controlled by Washtenaw County. Highly recommended!!!
**END UPDATE**

-Great variations between pro and am tees, both clearly marked. I have a feeling playing the pros would make the course COMPLETELY different
-Moderate mix of hole types throughout
-Clean course, nice folks, not very busy
-Signs on every hole and in between some holes with long walks for guidance
-Makeshift bridges put down over low-lying areas keeping you dry
Cons: This course is hellacious in the summer months, when the brush is at its thickest and the bugs devour your soul. Very challenging and you must harness your Chi to keep your disc on the straight-and-narrow. Thorns everywhere - tell your legs you love them when its all over.
Other Thoughts: This course is becoming one of my favourites. Right up the way from work, it's perfect for an afternoon delight. Still not as good as Rolling Hills, but I think that will come with time. RECOMMENDED!

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 A long walk gone...good.

5+    11/22/2009   11/24/2009
Review By: Rupert M
Played: 72  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 16.5 Years
This review was updated on 9/7/2011
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a wilderness-hike type course. Lots of ambience and critters abound. Beautiful scenery and great sights. Tee boxes are marked black for pro, white for am and footages are listed with great signs. Signs have more info than I've seen, covering distance to and elevation of the target. Great cement tees. The two sets of tee-pads enable a cornucopia of sight lines. The am-tees aren't always just short pro-tees. They are set up along different lines towards the basket. The use of elevation is optimal. Great elevated tees. Excellent baskets. A nice mix of open and closed fairways. More than an ample amount of grip & rip type holes mixed in with some obscenely difficult tree filled holes. Very challenging throughout. Trash cans on about half the holes. Picnic tables are on about a third.
Cons: The course flow is decent. A few long walks between some holes. Missing a few key 'next tee' signs. It really gets confusing at some areas. No scorecards/maps but there is a course diagram at hole #1. Its out in the middle of nowhere, so stock up on your essentials. And wear your hunter's orange in the fall.
Other Thoughts: This is one of my favorites. A great challenge, great scenery and a hell of a way to spend a day. With a superb mix of difficulties and top notch amenities, this place should rise in the rankings.
As it is right now, its a great start to a very good course.
Right now its free to get in the park. During the warmer months it will not. Me thinks that it belongs to the same county park system as Rolling Hills. They charge $9 per car for non-BFE residents. That is steep, so play them both during the same trip if you can. I sure hope that there will be no additional pay-to-play charge. Unless carts are included.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.