Whitmore Lake, MI
Independence Lake - Red Hawk Share
Uploaded By: bygwyllay Hole #6 (Taken 6/2013)
3 / 265ft.   3 / 465ft.   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #6 White Tee



Reviews: 20
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Well maintained well designed

5+    6/24/2013   11/12/2012
Review By: Redmones12
Played: 67  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 7.9 Years
This review was updated on 7/19/2013
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: If they ever finish this course it is on par with the best courses i have played in the country, hands down great course. Nice elevations great water trap, long drives balanced woods, the extras look great
Cons: All holes in now so updated my list... my complaint is mostly with the 6 extras amaxing holes all but 1 it's brutal no line to the basket... Kinda interesting but there a difference between a hard line and an impossible line. Wet wet wet in the spring but in truth this course is hard to complain about maybe its a tad open but the length makes up for the wide open field shots and its well mowed.
Other Thoughts: Amazing course right down the road from hudson mills and CJ's party store which has the largest collection of disc around, so win win.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Disc golf's equivalent to a world-class ball golf course

1    9/29/2012   10/1/2012
Review By: apparition
Played: 43  Reviewed: 37
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: + The most well-maintained, manicured course I've played when there isn't a tourney going on (and the course is still being fine-tuned!!)
+ Bright DGA baskets (so nice!)
+ AM and Pro tees, many with a warm-up/quick round tee, too!
+ Tee signs with extra info (eg., angled surface for marking scores, "Send Spotter", location of alt tees pads)
+ Am tee locations drop difficulty, but not to the point that they're super silly stupid easy
+ I really want to point out again that this course has some very scenic woods and manicured lawns
+ Rough spots for upping the difficulty rating
+ Very pleasant layout with defined fairways, paths that lead players on cool little hikes (some necessary to get to other tees, though)
+ Great long distance shots, a couple ace holes that are difficult nonetheless
+ Creative and well-maintained hole layouts were insanely fun (ie. hole 9 with equalized a left shot and right shot) that made us throw twice just for fun
+ Variety
+ A - F holes are an amazing change of pace and difficulty
+ Independence Park keeps as many holes open as possible to continue attracting US
Cons: - Long grass = ruff rough (that's why ya need spotters, man)
Other Thoughts: My experience here was very serendipitous... religious in that disc golf sort of way. Kind of like Treesus meant for me to play this course.

We planned a little road trip down to the south east and wanted to play one course in addition to Hudson (eg., Stony Creek, Rolling Hills, Holly Woods, Kensington, etc.), but decided after visiting CJ's to buy a couple discs that we'd ignore the fact that we knew a couple holes weren't open here at Red Hawk and just go... I am SO GLAD WE DID! And now, after playing this course once, I can say that this course is way nicer than Kensington and Hudson and will be even better within two months.

I can't wait for it to be completed. It seems the construction and completion of the course has always been professional and on time (should be done in November). This means that anyone reading this before December 2012 has precious little time to enjoy this course before it's complete and explodes in popularity. The course is revered by locals. Even the park employees spoke fondly and cheerfully about the course (for once I didn't get any inclination that there is a stigma about the sport or the people who play it!). It was obvious that they were really proud of the disc golf course, and it truly shows in the way the course played through (even A-F without tees yet and 17/18 at the end). I even got a thumb's up from one of the construction workers who saw us playing at 10am on a Saturday. I could tell he was a follower of Treesus and was saying, "Yeah, you found a good place and I hope you enjoy it". This course is here for us, disc golfers.

Playing here was worth whatever parking fee they charge (I think free on weekdays right now, $9 on the weekend?), and will be even more worth it when the awesome-looking waterpark, beach, and picnic areas are finished. I'm very VERY happy I played here before that happens though. It was like disc golf heaven. I will always be very happy to look back on my first round here and urge you to play this course if you get the chance.

TL;DR - Bottomline, this course is shaping up to be the best public course in Michigan.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Designer Notes

5+    11/2/2010   11/16/2009
Review By: esdubya
Played: 93  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 18.9 Years
This review was updated on 11/10/2010
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Amazing land bursting with wildlife. I've seen many red-tailed hawks, honey bee hives, praying mantis, deer, huge frogs. Coyote's have been heard not seen. Wild boar have been spotted.
-Every hole is different and has it's own personality.
-Three different layouts (Black, White, Red) for fun for all skill levels and variety.
-HUGE Concrete Teepads. 6x12 long and 5x10 short.
-Distances measured by a registered land surveyor.
-Elevation measured and printed on the tee signs.
-Feels like a National Park when you are inside.
-Professional staff that knows the game of disc golf.
-Recycle bins in the parking lot.
Cons: Closes at dusk.
High price for a daily pass.
Other Thoughts: I'm one of the designers so my opinion is biased.. I do feel that this is a great course and worthy of a 5 disc rating.

Design took into account course flow, scoring spread, aesthetics and just plain fun-to-play-ness.

The land here is really great, and our club was lucky to have the opportunity to add disc golf here. This project is a labor of love and we did the complete design on volunteer time.

HEY, it could have been a mountain bike trail or a campground.. Now it is disc golf and should be for the foreseeable future. Enjoy!!

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.