Whitmore Lake, MI 
Independence Lake - Red Hawk Share
Uploaded By: bygwyllay Hole #14 (Taken 6/2013)
3 / 215ft.   3 / 215ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #14 White Tee



Reviews: 24
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
1 2 3 Next >
 A long walk gone...good.

5+    11/22/2009   11/24/2009
Review By: Rupert M
Played: 78  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 18.4 Years
This review was updated on 9/7/2011
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a wilderness-hike type course. Lots of ambience and critters abound. Beautiful scenery and great sights. Tee boxes are marked black for pro, white for am and footages are listed with great signs. Signs have more info than I've seen, covering distance to and elevation of the target. Great cement tees. The two sets of tee-pads enable a cornucopia of sight lines. The am-tees aren't always just short pro-tees. They are set up along different lines towards the basket. The use of elevation is optimal. Great elevated tees. Excellent baskets. A nice mix of open and closed fairways. More than an ample amount of grip & rip type holes mixed in with some obscenely difficult tree filled holes. Very challenging throughout. Trash cans on about half the holes. Picnic tables are on about a third.
Cons: The course flow is decent. A few long walks between some holes. Missing a few key 'next tee' signs. It really gets confusing at some areas. No scorecards/maps but there is a course diagram at hole #1. Its out in the middle of nowhere, so stock up on your essentials. And wear your hunter's orange in the fall.
Other Thoughts: This is one of my favorites. A great challenge, great scenery and a hell of a way to spend a day. With a superb mix of difficulties and top notch amenities, this place should rise in the rankings.
As it is right now, its a great start to a very good course.
Right now its free to get in the park. During the warmer months it will not. Me thinks that it belongs to the same county park system as Rolling Hills. They charge $9 per car for non-BFE residents. That is steep, so play them both during the same trip if you can. I sure hope that there will be no additional pay-to-play charge. Unless carts are included.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Designer Notes

5+    11/2/2010   11/16/2009
Review By: esdubya
Played: 100  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 21.3 Years
This review was updated on 11/10/2010
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Amazing land bursting with wildlife. I've seen many red-tailed hawks, honey bee hives, praying mantis, deer, huge frogs. Coyote's have been heard not seen. Wild boar have been spotted.
-Every hole is different and has it's own personality.
-Three different layouts (Black, White, Red) for fun for all skill levels and variety.
-HUGE Concrete Teepads. 6x12 long and 5x10 short.
-Distances measured by a registered land surveyor.
-Elevation measured and printed on the tee signs.
-Feels like a National Park when you are inside.
-Professional staff that knows the game of disc golf.
-Recycle bins in the parking lot.
Cons: Closes at dusk.
High price for a daily pass.
Other Thoughts: I'm one of the designers so my opinion is biased.. I do feel that this is a great course and worthy of a 5 disc rating.

Design took into account course flow, scoring spread, aesthetics and just plain fun-to-play-ness.

The land here is really great, and our club was lucky to have the opportunity to add disc golf here. This project is a labor of love and we did the complete design on volunteer time.

HEY, it could have been a mountain bike trail or a campground.. Now it is disc golf and should be for the foreseeable future. Enjoy!!

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 a dry course !

1    10/5/2009   10/5/2009
Review By: compn
Played: 56  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 20.3 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: mix of small elevation and flat, some tree obstacles. nice new baskets. tees marked with orange cones.

course was dry, even after 4-5 days of rain. a definite plus!!!

course is large enough to keep holes seperated.
Cons: all of the holes have tall grass and brush. must keep your eyes open. some fairways are a bit tight (10ft wide). kind of confusing to find the next tee.

the walks from basket to next tee are on the long side, but its not a con for me, just fyi.
Other Thoughts: water comes into play on two holes (one small swamp pond near basket/fairway).

nice large DISC GOLF PARKING HERE sign. course has some mosquitos and bees. a few picnic tables and trash cans too.

lookout for freshly cut stumps and a few gopher holes to trip you up. wear pants as the raspberries and roses are still out, not to mention the poison ivy.

no one at ticket booth the last two times i've been to independence lake, so i have not had to pay for park entry fee. ymmv.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 better than locust

5+    9/18/2009   9/22/2009
Review By: Innovadude
Played: 227  Reviewed: 180  Exp: 18.3 Years
This review was updated on 10/11/2010
8 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Many long field shots with punishing rough for throwing wide, mixed with a few shorter, but never easy, deuce opportunities. Some narrow hardwood tunnels.
Long tees really challenge a pro to break par, short tees fair and cleaner for ams.
Balances out winter "Picnic" layout perfectly.
Score variation will be high.
New white layout is harder than before, and sadly the new black layout is not as good with #16 being a weak reachable yet not park-able hole.
Cons: - Many blind tee shots, lots of discs will be lost, hard to watch it fly.
- Lots of poison ivy, more than any course in the region, and probably won't diminish over time- wear pants.
- Park entrance fees always a con i.m.o, but this is the same as Rolling Hills so at least now it's double the value and worth buying.
- Short tees seem like an afterthought, thrown in after the layout.
- Long walks between holes, not laid out in a logical pattern.
Other Thoughts: - Still keeping it at 3.5 stars even with cement tees now due to extreme poison ivy (though I love this course and will be there in the fall/winter) I literally cannot play it in the summer until someone does something about some of that ivy PLEASE.

8 of 10 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.