Whitmore Lake, MI
Independence Lake - Red Hawk Share
Uploaded By: DirtyMittenDG Hole #9 (Taken 10/2009)
3 / 260ft.   3 / 260ft.   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 20
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Possibly my favorite.

2-4    8/10/2013   8/11/2013
Review By: Trizzor
Played: 9  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 0.8 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: • Triple color Tee pads - great for variety and when playing with multiple people of different skill sets.
• Very isolated and clean - For the most part I felt that I was in nature, not in a city park.
• Brooms at every white tee.
• There is a lot more here than trees and grass, if you take the time to look.
• Good variety of holes, lots of fun different shots. Many holes have multiple routes.
• Very close to CJ's party shop and two other fantastic courses.
Cons: • A couple holes have blind tees, must scout to see where you are throwing... unless you trust the tee signs.
• On a hot summer day, the water park nearby can be annoying with children screaming.
• The only thing missing, in my opinion, is a downhill shot to compliment the 2-3 upshot holes.
• Can be costly for our of county residents @ $9/Car
Other Thoughts: This was the fourth course my wife has played and by far her favorite. I remember her saying "This was the first time I enjoyed it all the way to the end". This was mostly because she was able to throw from the red/beginner tee while I was throwing from the white tees. She felt like she was competing and not like she was slowing us down. We both really enjoyed this course.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

first class all the way

1    5/19/2013   5/19/2013
Review By: todddarling1
Played: 6  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 15 Years
Pros: Where do I start? Great bright orange baskets, tight fairways that require you to really plan your shots or you'll get into trouble quick, Great tee pads and TEE PAD BROOMS AT EVERY HOLE!!!! Great use of the landscape makes for some challenging holes. Tee signs give great info and let you know if you should send a spotter ahead, they also have a small shelf for marking your score cards.
Cons: Was a little wet in spots (mushy ground) There are a few holes that are still under construction, but they have added alt holes to make a full 18. Bugs. The rough is REALLY rough. The tall grass can make it a challenge to find your disc. If you are out of county it's $9 for a day pass, but the golf is free.
Other Thoughts: Can't wait to go back. Want to play the holes that are closed. they are really making a great course and they are making improvements all the time according to a local I talked too. Was really impressed with the park. Brooms at every tee, no litter, and well maintained. Seems like the people playing the course really care about it and are working to keep it nice. I only wish it was closer to my house so I could play it more often!

this place is the freakin' ritz carlton of dgc's...

1    4/29/2013   4/29/2013
Review By: apdrvya
Played: 202  Reviewed: 196  Exp: 4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: aesthetic-- plays through a DG exclusive area of this VERY large county park. a lot of other activities offered here including a water park and beach along with a lot of others.

Teepads/teesigns- How I wanted to hug thee. the teepads are super nice, appropriately lengthed and grippy. small brooms are clipped to the back of the teesigns on nearly every hole. the teesigns are pretty impressive. on each teesign the black, white and red tees are pictured. both the black and white have teepads, the reds are marked with wooden blocks painted bright red. also, there is a little easel to update score cards.

Routing/navigation-- easy peasy. plenty of "next tee" type signs litter this course. in the one area where routing could get tricky, there is a multi-directional sign pointing to hole 4, hole 13 and holes a-f. there are also paths cut in the grass..

Challenge/ risk v reward/ variety- this is this courses strongest point. there is a little of everything here, long, short, tight tunnel, wide open, dual fairway, right, left and an equal blend of them all. plenty of risk v reward with the water that is present on the course (may be seasonal water for the most part) This course will challenge your every being from pillar to post and leave you howling for more, more MORE!!

Engineering-- simply amazing the amount of work that has gone into this place with regard to bridges and other dry areas to prevent you from having to get your shoes wet in low lying, frequently wet areas. there are at least 10 woodchip "bridges" that help you cross lower areas.

Uniqueness-- there are several memorable holes here. #1 plays through a very tight tree tunnel with a very natural left fade. hole a-f were amazing and new. Several times, water comes into play.

upkeep- didn't see hardly any garbage. there are picnic tables at nearly all of the tees and garbage cans a plenty.
Cons: 13-16 being closed-- kind of a bummer really. Would have loved to play all 24 here

natural tees--geez I'm nitpicking. on the reds, the tees are natural. a con for some I suppose

uncontrollables-- bugs and wet. the bugs, even when we were there were pretty bad. flying ants and gnats were constantly in your face. many of the low lying areas either were very mushy or had standing water on them from our "spring" rains.
Other Thoughts: a great great great course. I really really enjoyed this one...

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 A model for all other courses

5+    12/13/2012   12/13/2012
Review By: boristhespider
Played: 59  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 7.2 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great signage
Awesome course maintenance
No litter!!!!
Great mix of holes and I'm a sidearmer. There is a shot on every hole. It demands some creativity, but you are rewarded handsomely for execution.
The designers have taken every element that golfers would like to see on a course and implemented them to a fair thee well including well lined walks between the holes, awesome baskets, well placed picnic tables, trash cans etc.
Cons: Crappy roads to the park which are sometimes treacherous in the winter or after a a stretch of wet weather. That's not relevant to the course except for the pain in the butt it is to get there sometimes.
Other Thoughts: Play here often. The full course won't be available to play until sometime in 2013 because of a project to ease drainage from holes 13-16 but the extra 6 holes make this a great 20 holer for the time being. It's a shame too because hole 16 is one of the best holes on the planet. This course was made for real players in the same way that Idlewild, Blockhouse, Deer Park, Flip City and DeLaveaga were and the care that the designers took to make this course what it is reflect it.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Well maintained well designed

5+    6/24/2013   11/12/2012
Review By: Redmones12
Played: 67  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 7.9 Years
This review was updated on 7/19/2013
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: If they ever finish this course it is on par with the best courses i have played in the country, hands down great course. Nice elevations great water trap, long drives balanced woods, the extras look great
Cons: All holes in now so updated my list... my complaint is mostly with the 6 extras amaxing holes all but 1 it's brutal no line to the basket... Kinda interesting but there a difference between a hard line and an impossible line. Wet wet wet in the spring but in truth this course is hard to complain about maybe its a tad open but the length makes up for the wide open field shots and its well mowed.
Other Thoughts: Amazing course right down the road from hudson mills and CJ's party store which has the largest collection of disc around, so win win.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Cool

5+    10/30/2012   10/30/2012
Review By: a3wasp
Played: 29  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 7.9 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: The course has a lot of long holes. Its a challenging very well kept course. They just added 6 new extras
Cons: It gets a little wet in the spring, But not to bad. There's not a lot of bad things to say about this course.
Other Thoughts: Great course

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Disc golf's equivalent to a world-class ball golf course

1    9/29/2012   10/1/2012
Review By: apparition
Played: 43  Reviewed: 37
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: + The most well-maintained, manicured course I've played when there isn't a tourney going on (and the course is still being fine-tuned!!)
+ Bright DGA baskets (so nice!)
+ AM and Pro tees, many with a warm-up/quick round tee, too!
+ Tee signs with extra info (eg., angled surface for marking scores, "Send Spotter", location of alt tees pads)
+ Am tee locations drop difficulty, but not to the point that they're super silly stupid easy
+ I really want to point out again that this course has some very scenic woods and manicured lawns
+ Rough spots for upping the difficulty rating
+ Very pleasant layout with defined fairways, paths that lead players on cool little hikes (some necessary to get to other tees, though)
+ Great long distance shots, a couple ace holes that are difficult nonetheless
+ Creative and well-maintained hole layouts were insanely fun (ie. hole 9 with equalized a left shot and right shot) that made us throw twice just for fun
+ Variety
+ A - F holes are an amazing change of pace and difficulty
+ Independence Park keeps as many holes open as possible to continue attracting US
Cons: - Long grass = ruff rough (that's why ya need spotters, man)
Other Thoughts: My experience here was very serendipitous... religious in that disc golf sort of way. Kind of like Treesus meant for me to play this course.

We planned a little road trip down to the south east and wanted to play one course in addition to Hudson (eg., Stony Creek, Rolling Hills, Holly Woods, Kensington, etc.), but decided after visiting CJ's to buy a couple discs that we'd ignore the fact that we knew a couple holes weren't open here at Red Hawk and just go... I am SO GLAD WE DID! And now, after playing this course once, I can say that this course is way nicer than Kensington and Hudson and will be even better within two months.

I can't wait for it to be completed. It seems the construction and completion of the course has always been professional and on time (should be done in November). This means that anyone reading this before December 2012 has precious little time to enjoy this course before it's complete and explodes in popularity. The course is revered by locals. Even the park employees spoke fondly and cheerfully about the course (for once I didn't get any inclination that there is a stigma about the sport or the people who play it!). It was obvious that they were really proud of the disc golf course, and it truly shows in the way the course played through (even A-F without tees yet and 17/18 at the end). I even got a thumb's up from one of the construction workers who saw us playing at 10am on a Saturday. I could tell he was a follower of Treesus and was saying, "Yeah, you found a good place and I hope you enjoy it". This course is here for us, disc golfers.

Playing here was worth whatever parking fee they charge (I think free on weekdays right now, $9 on the weekend?), and will be even more worth it when the awesome-looking waterpark, beach, and picnic areas are finished. I'm very VERY happy I played here before that happens though. It was like disc golf heaven. I will always be very happy to look back on my first round here and urge you to play this course if you get the chance.

TL;DR - Bottomline, this course is shaping up to be the best public course in Michigan.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Great Fairways / Horrible Roughs

1    8/7/2012   8/9/2012
Review By: mrblonde314
Played: 10  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 9.6 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - 1-18 offer Black (Pro) and White (Am) cemented tees with BROOMS!
- 1-18 offer Red woman's tee
- Almost every tee has bench / broom / garbage can
- Course is professionally designed
Cons: - Very very rough roughs
- Roughs = poor / zero maintenance
- The entire course is COVERED in poison ivy
- The extras don't have cement tees
- The extras aren't very challenging
- Costs $9 to get in
Other Thoughts: When I played this course holes 13-17 were under construction. I didn't let this affect my review. The course is challenging and fun but somebody needs to take care of the poison ivy issue.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Tee off here ASAP

5+    7/14/2012   7/21/2012
Review By: BearClaw
Played: 28  Reviewed: 7
This review was updated on 8/1/2012
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: * Long, medium and short tees for 1-18
* Concrete tees for long/medium grass tees for short fpr 1-18
*Color print out map on tee sign for every hole at long/medium tees
*Tee signs include elevation height and warn to send spotter when needed opn 1-18
* Long/Medium tee signs have a broom at every tee
* Near Whitmore Lake but situated in a large park amongst farms, feels isolated, but its not
*Only $25 in county for a year pass that also works at another top notch Washtenaw Co course, Rolling Hills.
* Even if you don't have the year pass when the weather is not conductive to people using the beach they will often not charge for park entrance (This is most common in fall, winter, and early spring when the picnic course will be open across the parking lot as well)
*Great mix of wooded and open holes
* Course is on a relatively flat piece of land but makes superb use of the available elevation changes
* beautiful, large, old trees
* 6 newly added extension holes with short/long crushed limestone tee pads are situated so that they can be played after hole 4 or after hole 12 giving you not one but two chances to play them in the middle of your round (I like to play the extensions twice here
*Extremely well maintained
* There are hiking trails through the course but this is one of my favorite courses so I play it often and have never once seen a hiker out there.
* The only time the course is crowded with discers tends to be on league day which at the time of this writing is Saturday
* Lake with a beach in the park, sometimes with lifeguard and a splash zone.
*Bathrooms by beach
*dedicated disc golf parking lot
*picnic tables on course
*NO boring or repetitive or uninspired holes
*Short tees are relatively easy while long tees are highly challenging and from different angles
Cons: *biting flies in the summer
*there were drainage issues last year on some of the holes that are under construction right now (with the drought they probably would have been fine this year but have been boggy during wet weather last year)
*holes 13-16 under construction until nov 2012
*5/9$ for in/out of county cars (but you can also use your day pass to play Rolling Hills)
Other Thoughts: Even though 13-16 are down for now with the 6 new extensions there are 20 AWESOME holes that you can play now. If you forget to download a map there is one on the bulletin board by the long tee for hole #1.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

It really is that good...

5+    6/26/2011   6/27/2011
Review By: BogeyNoMore
Played: 155  Reviewed: 114  Exp: 9.9 Years
This review was updated on 9/10/2013
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: ABSOLUTELY A MUST PLAY if you're in the area. Isolated from (but still close to) other park activities. Scenic and secluded, it's like taking a nature walk while playing a round. Nature abounds on this clean and beautiful course in a nice county park. Frolicking deer, gophers, rabbits, hawks, and other birds were all on the course. Whatever "it" is, they got it right:
• Great mix of straight, left and right fairways with plenty of subtle to significant elevation changes coming into play throughout the course. Well placed guard trees force tight lines deflecting drives and slapping down upshots. Tight fairways to challenge your control, with others playing in fields that give you several open lines, but force you to hit the fairway or risk losing a disc in thick, 3ft tall grass. Shot variety and lines required give you an opportunity to use all your plastic, as well as all your skill. Many visually appealing holes, all of which grab and maintain your interest. Nothing boring or repetitive. Wonderful balance of challenge and playbility.
• On most holes, the Pro/Am cement pads are distinguished by far more than just distance. With very few exceptions, the Pros require far more control over quite considerable distances. Red tee areas provide safer, easier looks for less skilled players - but this is no beginner course.
• Most informative signage I've ever seen. Simple, yet highly effective and cost efficient - easily replaced or broken/defaced. Full color print of hole layout w/distance, showing all tea areas, and total elevation change from tee to basket (+ or -). It's nice to know how much terrain gives or takes on your drive. The tee posts even have a place put scorecards even a while jotting scores from the previous hole.
• Large cement tee pads for Pro/Am, and all orang DGA baskets are easy to spot and in great shape. Trash cans located throughout, with Recycling bins in parking area. Picnic tables/benches located in several shady areas. Clean Porta-Potty with hand sanitizer in parking area. And if you really need a restroom with running water, one's available across the way at the water park.
• Hole 6 is blind due to elevation, but has a flag so you could see your target from the tee. Hole 7 has 2x4's nailed to a strategically located pine, which helped us retrieve a disc out of the tree.
• Course is well laid out and flows nicely. Several aesthetically appealing means to avoid any possible confusion are employed to show the way: logs lining paths, manicured path of wood chips, mowed paths to next tee pad, "Next Tee" signs. Throw in tall, easy to spot tee posts and navigation's a snap.
• Recent improvements include 6 new holes (A-F)with which you can elect to play after hole 3 or after hole 12 based on the pace of the group in front of you and the terraformed fairway on 16.
• Only 8 miles or so from Hudson Mills
Cons: $9/car for out-of-county residents (for that price, they should include a spotter).
• Really no wide open holes you could let rip without concern for disc loss - even the open fairways have 3 feet of grass lining them.
• The rough really is (and can be thorny)=high risk of disc loss… but that seems to come with the "Championship Caliber" package. If you wanna run with the big dogs, sometimes you get bit.
• Still hurts from kicking myself for not having played here sooner!
Other Thoughts: One of the best courses I've played anywhere. In terms of course grooming and overall appearance, Red Hawk set a high standard for a pleasant day's discing. The only thing Hudson Mills had up on Red Hawk was convenient location of the Activity Center, with it's snack bar, dining area and restrooms.
What Red Hawk concedes to some of the best very best courses in terms of sheer challenge, it makes up for in playability.

BRING FRIENDS!!! Non-Resident Admission to Washtenaw County Parks is steep ($9/car), but the course is immaculate; split 3-4 ways, it's not so painful. Bonus: play Rolling Hills (another great course) the same day with your park admission.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.