Whitmore Lake, MI
Independence Lake - Red Hawk Share
Uploaded By: bygwyllay Hole #6 (Taken 6/2013)
3 / 265ft.   3 / 465ft.   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #6 White Tee



Reviews: 20
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 Next >
 Established and SOLID

2-4    11/9/2010   11/10/2010
Review By: deezler
Played: 15  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 13.9 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course is now fully planned, developed, installed and DONE (ok so they still need to finish the signs for the white tees, whatev). Concrete tees on all 18 holes, great and spacious course design in a beautiful natural area. Joins the ranks of Southeast Michigan's BEST courses, easily. Clean course with a surplus of trash cans, and some benches. If you litter on this course, you are an idiot.
Cons: Hmmmm, cons? I dunno, right now I am loving this course. Lots of areas of rough are straight up thorns, ouch.
Other Thoughts: Don't come play here. Keep it quiet, empty and available for me. haha.

There is room to expand the course... 6 extra holes would be tasty.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    7/16/2010   7/16/2010
Review By: mcphatty
Played: 33  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 10 Years
This review was updated on 8/19/2010
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Favors forearm shots, but has a nice variety of every shot type
- Usaully free to play
- Not too crowded
Cons: - Course changes often, which can be confusing.
- While the course is usually free, its expensive when the park booth is staffed. $5 for residents of washtenaw county, $9 for everyone else.
- Tees can be hard to find if you're not familiar with the course.
Other Thoughts: One of my favorite courses in the area. Its challenging enough for some good competition between players, but not so hard that you're sent home crying. The 6th hole is a blind water shot, so keep your discs to the right or use a spotter and you should be okay.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Decent course, Great under the right conditions.

5+    7/18/2010   7/8/2010
Review By: AKormendi
Played: 65  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 15.7 Years
This review was updated on 10/3/2010
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Challenging shots, lots of finesse shots and big hooks. Well marked tees. Easy to find your way around. Lots of neat wildlife to observe. I watched some frogs and garter snakes today.
Cons: Rough roughs, and insects are bad when it's been hot and wet. No running water on site.
Other Thoughts: Great quiet course with just a touch of elevation changes. Well maintained, and well respected.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 very nice park

1    6/10/2010   6/18/2010
Review By: discNDav
Played: 289  Reviewed: 63  Exp: 27.9 Years
This review was updated on 7/8/2010
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Two tees per hole were very easy to find. The overall design was excellent with alot of different type of shots required. Water comes into play (rather surprisingly, thanks for the heads up marked on the tees!).

None of the holes were on top of each other, very spreadout course which lessons the interference from other holes/golfers.

Benches and/or picnics tables were near the tees every few holes.

Very close to another great DG destination, Hudson Mills.The park entrance fee keeps the 'riff raft" out. Just minutes from highway 23.

Very clean and maintained course, the cut grass and carved fairways along with the tall grass in spots really made it feel like a "golf" course.

I got the feeling as if it were almost private since there were a minimal number of golfers playing on a nice summer afternoon. Drinking appeared to be tolerated, we sat with beers afterwards and the park employee said nothing to us.
Cons: $9 per car for non-county residents. Can be wet/muddy in places even on the holes not with the water hazards, I was glad I had proper waterproof footwear.

Other Thoughts: When the cement tees are installed, this course will even better. My group of 3 from Philly really enjoyed playing this course a lot.


4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 New home

5+    5/8/2010   5/16/2010
Review By: eugy9228
Played: 22  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 9.9 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I love this course i live 5 min from kensington and i play this course more then any other.
A wide arrange of shots Great for a Drivers dream.
Well maintained and great friendly players that are regulaurs as well.
Hole design is fantastic and well played everytime.
Cons: Very few that are ever a game ruiner, truthfully almost a great time everytime i play.
Other Thoughts: Iv'e played boh summer and winter courses here and many others around michigan, not only a great fun course but a beautiful park and wildlife is very frequently seen on the holes. Truthfully had to wait 15 min for 3 deer to clear the hole before we could continue playing.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Give me freedom or give me golf

5+    4/28/2010   4/29/2010
Review By: bygwyllay
Played: 78  Reviewed: 75  Exp: 7 Years
This review was updated on 6/9/2011
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: **UPDATE**
Awesome upgrades have put this course in with the elite in the area!! New Cement tee pads have been put in for both Pro and Am, and they have added new red-marked dirt tees as well, offering different sight-lines and shorter distances. Fantastic! They drained and destroyed the mire that was the only water hazard on the course (I wonder how many hundred discs they found under the slop) which was an eyesore not to mention horribly placed on hole #6. A few pin adjustments (like #7) make the course much more enjoyable. They've also filled in some of the low-lying areas with mulch which makes your round more comfortable while adding some class to the links. In time this course will be broken in a bit more and really feel like home. Now on par with rolling hills, the other 18 hole course controlled by Washtenaw County. Highly recommended!!!
**END UPDATE**

-Great variations between pro and am tees, both clearly marked. I have a feeling playing the pros would make the course COMPLETELY different
-Moderate mix of hole types throughout
-Clean course, nice folks, not very busy
-Signs on every hole and in between some holes with long walks for guidance
-Makeshift bridges put down over low-lying areas keeping you dry
Cons: This course is hellacious in the summer months, when the brush is at its thickest and the bugs devour your soul. Very challenging and you must harness your Chi to keep your disc on the straight-and-narrow. Thorns everywhere - tell your legs you love them when its all over.
Other Thoughts: This course is becoming one of my favourites. Right up the way from work, it's perfect for an afternoon delight. Still not as good as Rolling Hills, but I think that will come with time. RECOMMENDED!

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 A long walk gone...good.

5+    11/22/2009   11/24/2009
Review By: Rupert M
Played: 66  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 16.1 Years
This review was updated on 9/7/2011
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a wilderness-hike type course. Lots of ambience and critters abound. Beautiful scenery and great sights. Tee boxes are marked black for pro, white for am and footages are listed with great signs. Signs have more info than I've seen, covering distance to and elevation of the target. Great cement tees. The two sets of tee-pads enable a cornucopia of sight lines. The am-tees aren't always just short pro-tees. They are set up along different lines towards the basket. The use of elevation is optimal. Great elevated tees. Excellent baskets. A nice mix of open and closed fairways. More than an ample amount of grip & rip type holes mixed in with some obscenely difficult tree filled holes. Very challenging throughout. Trash cans on about half the holes. Picnic tables are on about a third.
Cons: The course flow is decent. A few long walks between some holes. Missing a few key 'next tee' signs. It really gets confusing at some areas. No scorecards/maps but there is a course diagram at hole #1. Its out in the middle of nowhere, so stock up on your essentials. And wear your hunter's orange in the fall.
Other Thoughts: This is one of my favorites. A great challenge, great scenery and a hell of a way to spend a day. With a superb mix of difficulties and top notch amenities, this place should rise in the rankings.
As it is right now, its a great start to a very good course.
Right now its free to get in the park. During the warmer months it will not. Me thinks that it belongs to the same county park system as Rolling Hills. They charge $9 per car for non-BFE residents. That is steep, so play them both during the same trip if you can. I sure hope that there will be no additional pay-to-play charge. Unless carts are included.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Designer Notes

5+    11/2/2010   11/16/2009
Review By: esdubya
Played: 93  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 18.9 Years
This review was updated on 11/10/2010
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Amazing land bursting with wildlife. I've seen many red-tailed hawks, honey bee hives, praying mantis, deer, huge frogs. Coyote's have been heard not seen. Wild boar have been spotted.
-Every hole is different and has it's own personality.
-Three different layouts (Black, White, Red) for fun for all skill levels and variety.
-HUGE Concrete Teepads. 6x12 long and 5x10 short.
-Distances measured by a registered land surveyor.
-Elevation measured and printed on the tee signs.
-Feels like a National Park when you are inside.
-Professional staff that knows the game of disc golf.
-Recycle bins in the parking lot.
Cons: Closes at dusk.
High price for a daily pass.
Other Thoughts: I'm one of the designers so my opinion is biased.. I do feel that this is a great course and worthy of a 5 disc rating.

Design took into account course flow, scoring spread, aesthetics and just plain fun-to-play-ness.

The land here is really great, and our club was lucky to have the opportunity to add disc golf here. This project is a labor of love and we did the complete design on volunteer time.

HEY, it could have been a mountain bike trail or a campground.. Now it is disc golf and should be for the foreseeable future. Enjoy!!

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 a dry course !

1    10/5/2009   10/5/2009
Review By: compn
Played: 43  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 17.9 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: mix of small elevation and flat, some tree obstacles. nice new baskets. tees marked with orange cones.

course was dry, even after 4-5 days of rain. a definite plus!!!

course is large enough to keep holes seperated.
Cons: all of the holes have tall grass and brush. must keep your eyes open. some fairways are a bit tight (10ft wide). kind of confusing to find the next tee.

the walks from basket to next tee are on the long side, but its not a con for me, just fyi.
Other Thoughts: water comes into play on two holes (one small swamp pond near basket/fairway).

nice large DISC GOLF PARKING HERE sign. course has some mosquitos and bees. a few picnic tables and trash cans too.

lookout for freshly cut stumps and a few gopher holes to trip you up. wear pants as the raspberries and roses are still out, not to mention the poison ivy.

no one at ticket booth the last two times i've been to independence lake, so i have not had to pay for park entry fee. ymmv.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 better than locust

5+    9/18/2009   9/22/2009
Review By: Innovadude
Played: 224  Reviewed: 176  Exp: 15.9 Years
This review was updated on 10/11/2010
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Many long field shots with punishing rough for throwing wide, mixed with a few shorter, but never easy, deuce opportunities. Some narrow hardwood tunnels.
Long tees really challenge a pro to break par, short tees fair and cleaner for ams.
Balances out winter "Picnic" layout perfectly.
Score variation will be high.
New white layout is harder than before, and sadly the new black layout is not as good with #16 being a weak reachable yet not park-able hole.
Cons: - Many blind tee shots, lots of discs will be lost, hard to watch it fly.
- Lots of poison ivy, more than any course in the region, and probably won't diminish over time- wear pants.
- Park entrance fees always a con i.m.o, but this is the same as Rolling Hills so at least now it's double the value and worth buying.
- Short tees seem like an afterthought, thrown in after the layout.
- Long walks between holes, not laid out in a logical pattern.
Other Thoughts: - Still keeping it at 3.5 stars even with cement tees now due to extreme poison ivy (though I love this course and will be there in the fall/winter) I literally cannot play it in the summer until someone does something about some of that ivy PLEASE.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.