Gonzales, LA 
Duplessis Primary School DGC Share
Uploaded By: Martin Dewgarita Hole #1 (Taken 3/2011)
3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Basket



Reviews: 4
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
It Is What It Is

1    8/10/2013   8/11/2013
Review By: Qikly
Played: 74  Reviewed: 73  Exp: 2.5 Years
This review was updated on 3/27/2014
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course sits on an attractive and well-tended, if small, piece of land adjacent to a primary school that is easily accessible from a main highway. The position between Baton Rouge and NOLA enables it to serve as a stopping point for a quick disc golf fix when traveling between the two cities. It could easily provide a warm up to the more attractive destinations in the Baton Rouge area.

There are enough obstacles here in the way of a few old growth oaks and some sporadic buildings to allow for some entertaining shots if you don't mind making up your own tees. The long, narrow layout even provides the opportunity to throw a few bombs (especially to and from basket 3), and it's clear someone thought about pin placement: 3 lies behind a large oak, and another (6? They all run together without tees) is positioned directly behind a thick dead tree when moving from basket 3 back to the course's center. If I lived in the neighborhood, I'd be here most evenings practicing various aspects of my game. This course would be a great perk for disc golfers within a five minute drive or quick bike ride, and provides a place to casually introduce someone to the game.

Bathrooms and parking are readily accessible. There's a nice walking path, a playground area, and even tennis courts, providing attractions for non disc golfers you may be traveling with. I wish my elementary school had had a disc golf course on site, regardless of the caliber.
Cons: No tee signs plus no tee pads equals no course, at least in the sense of having an established, consistent identity. There really are no tee pads, though I caught myself squinting and imaging I saw one a few times.

The baskets are in various stages of disrepair: rusted chains, uneven hoops, unattached baskets sitting on the ground. Most are usable, but some are pushing it. It's sad to see such punished baskets; it adds a bit of a grim tone to the otherwise cheery park surroundings.

The walking path winds through the entirety of the course, and the playground sits directly off of the presumed fairway to the first basket. This maximizes the potential for conflict with non disc golfers.

There are some obstacles, but not enough to provide any significant challenge or unique, protracted playing experience.
Other Thoughts: It's hard to say much about this course beyond what's already been said. It is what it is. If you come here with no expectations, it could provide a fun reprieve from interstate travel, a place to practice your game, an opportunity to goof off and try things out alone or with friends, or a warm up for other courses in the Baton Rouge area. I hit Duplessis on my way home to New Orleans after playing Flanacher and Greenwood, and it was a fun half hour that broke up the drive, even if I did lose an Underworld to the drainage ditch bordering the course on an errant roller. *shrug* I can see myself stopping here again after another trip to Baton Rouge.

Residential properties do border the course at some points, but the potential for throwing into yards seemed relatively minimal. I'd be more worried about disturbing joggers and families playing in the playground. A bit of conscientiousness was required while I was playing there so as not to interfere with other park visitors.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Could be worse

1    2/5/2012   2/5/2012
Review By: MikeK
Played: 203  Reviewed: 44  Exp: 19.6 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Actually a few decent holes, a few really nice big oak trees, even a little elevation change. A walking track and road and a ditch make for good OB hazards.
Cons: No tee signs and no tee pads make it impossible to compare scores. The walking path could be dangerous for walkers if the path gets busy.
Other Thoughts: If someone were to add some tee markers to this course I would give it a 1.5, maybe even a 2. Unlike the other 9 basket "church courses" in the Baton Rouge area, this one actually felt like a real disc golf course, with no crossing fairways.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Wow!

1    10/15/2011   10/16/2011
Review By: lxdawg25
Played: 32  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 10.6 Years
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: There were disc golf baskets.

The park seemed, it was in a nice suburban area and there was very little traffic.
Cons: This is not a course. It is a bunch of baskets in a field. There are no tee boxes anywhere in site.

I even tried making up my own holes just to play while there. The baskets are not even in positions interesting enough to warrant giving it that much effort.

Please go to the media section and look at the pictures. 20% of the baskets are broken and in disrepair. It's upsetting that baskets are being wasted like this while other clubs and organizations in the area struggle to have quality baskets.
Other Thoughts: I have read many who say that as long as there are baskets a course can not earn a 0. I very much subscribed to this theory. If someone put in the effort to install a course at least disc golf can be played and it earns a 0.5 rating. Not this course. If I could I would give it negative points. The existence of this course is upsetting and it should be taken down and the baskets given to another of the local courses in need of an update. Highland Road and Lafrienere come to mind. Those are both very nice well made courses that are using old beat up baskets, and could benefit from 9 discatcher's.

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

  great just not clear

1    5/15/2009   5/15/2009
Review By: Paranoia
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: It's a nice mid-range course not technical but still has some trees and the ditch to watch out for
Cons: the only bad part is it took me longer to find the tee boxes for the holes than it did to play them. They are just not marked properly.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.