Corsicana, TX 
Fullerton-Garrity DGC Share
Uploaded By: TheHipstick Hole #3 (Taken 6/2013)
5 / 507ft.   5 / 507ft.   4 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee



Reviews: 12
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
not your average 9

1    5/18/2014   5/19/2014
Review By: dreadlock86
Played: 195  Reviewed: 139  Exp: 7.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -baskets in good condition
-tee signs
-some of the holes utilize a few of the cool features of the land
-nice park, playground, bathrooms, water fountain, plenty of parking
Cons: -missed opportunities for better and more holes
-signs show distance but the maps are not very useful
-tee sign 1 is missing, just the pole is there
-the blind basket on hole 4 is tricky, it looks like you play to basket 5
-the playground and tennis courts come into play on 6 and 7, respectively, and the walking path is in play several times
Other Thoughts: Fullerton-Garrity is a nice, little park that is family friendly and seems well-maintained. The park amenities are great if you have the family in tow. It's not too far from the highway so you can stop and stretch your legs, and your arm!

A little stretching may be in order since this course plays very long. The holes are almost entirely 400'-500'+ and the shortest is still 342'. Unfortunately it makes for a pretty unmemorable round since most of the holes avoid most of the natural obstacles. Since the holes are so long, you can throw around any trees that do come into play. There are also some cool looking areas of the park that are hardly utilized at all like patches of trees, the creek by hole 7, and the elevation near the amphitheater.

I would really like to see a new design here with about 12 or so shorter holes that better utilize the natural obstacles on the land. That said, the course that is here is sufficient, the baskets are in good condition, and it makes for a nice stop if you're on the road. Navigation isn't too bad except for holes 3 and 4 so you should be able to stop by and make it through without a map. Worth a stop but not worth going out of your way just for the course.


**Like this review? Hate it? Message me and let me know why! I want to make them better!**

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

bad choices

1    2/15/2014   2/15/2014
Review By: texhop58
Played: 47  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 12.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: *tee signs...kind of
*nice park
*plenty of parking
*most of holes flow well
*length (which i feel is its downfall)
*restrooms
*putting basket
*has terrain for good course
Cons: *length. the shortest of the 9 holes is about 350, the long is over 600. Too me i would rather see a 250-350 wooded hole vs a 500-600 mostly open hole
*walking track cuts through multiple holes (had to wait several times
*grass tee pads. I dont mind grass on average holes but since your running up every shot, grass is slick
*holes felt like big arm righty threw course.
*tee signs are misleading on some holes because they are angled in directions where you arent throwing. 3 opens up to 5. it says 525 and there is a basket about 500 foot away, unfortunately its 4 because 3 is a crazy dog leg.
*mostly wide open long holes get repetitive
*feels like designer tried avoiding trees in his line vs embracing trees for course
Other Thoughts: by bad choices i mean, this is the wrong kind of course to be put in as the only course in the area. I was out today and it was 73 and sunny. No one out playing the course. That should be a major flag. this course could of easily had 12-15 fun challenging holes if they would AVERAGE the hole to 300-325 and utilize the trees instead of designing to avoid them. There is also a small creek that runs throughout that could of been utilized more on the back holes. you could of also avoided having to throw over the busy walking paths if the designers would of shot for 300-325 instead of 500 every time.
Like mentioned earlier it feels like somebody who throws 500 feet right handed, and doesnt like trees set this course up for their personal practice course.
You can also tell course doesn't see a lot of play time as there were no well defined teeboxes. Most "natural" courses I have played you could tell by divets or worn down areas in general area of where teebox was suppose to be. The grass was smoothe all the away around.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Very long 9 holer

2-4    8/25/2013   8/25/2013
Review By: JeremyKShort
Played: 48  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 2.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is probably one of the longest nine hole courses around. Most of the holes are around 400' to 500'. It makes very good use of trees, having the tees and baskets located where they create obstacles. Located in a nice city park, the holes are located on the edge of the park, keeping most of the park traffic away from the disc golf. Very nice baskets.
Cons: There is a lot of private property than can be thrown onto if you go OB. The neighbors we talked to seemed very nice when we approached them about going onto their property to retrieve discs, but it still could be a problem. There's a jogging trail, playground, tennis court and parking lot that all can be thrown into, as well as a pavilion and amphitheater. The exact location of the tees is not marked.
A few of the tee signs are facing the wrong direction, including hole 1. When looking at the hole 1 tee sign from the parking lot, you will be throwing to the left (this can save you a lot of head-scratching).
Other Thoughts: For the most part a very nice course. If you're going through Corsicana it's worth a stop, I wouldn't plan a long trip specifically for it, though. If you live in or around the area, it's probably a very nice home course.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


1    6/12/2013   6/12/2013
Review By: TheHipstick
Played: 45  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 11.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Every hole had a picture of the hole layout. Nice variety of long and short holes. All of the baskets are in good shape. Bathrooms on site. The course layout flowed really well.
Cons: I didn't like the natural tee boxes. Most of the holes were straight on and wide open. None of the holes were really difficult. The park has trees but not very many to navigate around and thru.
Other Thoughts: Decent little 9 hole course to learn the game and practice up on your disc golf game.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 OB on your left? YEP!

1    4/15/2011   4/21/2011
Review By: Donovan
Played: 209  Reviewed: 184  Exp: 27.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a pleasant little 9-hole course that literally goes around the outside of a park which put's OB on your left side most of the way. Outside of OB, this course also has trees, wide-open holes, and a small creek coming into play a couple of times. The hole length variation is really decent here and the tee signs do have a small (fairly worn out but still legible) map showing where the next hole is located as well. There are a few holes where the trees that do come into play make the hole really fun to throw on. The baskets are in fairly good shape and this place does have a bathroom. The bathrooms showed locked, but even a big guy like myself could squeeze through and use it, so we will say they are available. ;) The park is well maintained, clean, and seems to be in a good neighborhood. Trashcans were readily available throughout the park.
Cons: The tee pads are grass/dirt and some are a bit worn. The holes and baskets interfere with walking paths and playgrounds at many points. This is a safety issue and over time the sidewalks can really do some harm to your discs. In some instances the baskets and next tee pad are almost too close to each other. I don't really remember ever complaining about that issue before.
Other Thoughts: The Fun Factor was ok. The holes with the trees were really good and yet the holes where the baskets are next to the walking path are not so good. So, overall this is a good average course. Not every course can have it all, but this one was certainly worth the stop. I would play this again.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Good but don't go out of the way

5+    12/26/2010   12/26/2010
Review By: theplaidtieninja
Played: 8  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 6.1 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: well maintained, good open shots for practice or beginners, fun distances
Cons: pedestrians, random shots over park area and tennis court
Other Thoughts: this is a decent course if your in the are, but don't make a special trip for it. It is good as an everyday play but Cedar Hill is only an hr away and well worth the trip

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  Long sometime Awkward shots.

2-4    4/20/2010   5/14/2010
Review By: jstone8763
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A few challenging shots in a nice park not crowded at all. Well kept almost impossible to lose a disc.
Cons: Offers a few chance for the need to jump a fence/barbwire. Hole 4 constantly causes you to go into someones yard if you hook left. Hole 7 I believe you have to shoot over a tennis court to have a decent shot art par which is not that fun. Also you are frequently having to cross over a popular walking path which causes delays.
Other Thoughts: Not bad but nothing to go out of your way for. I go to the college so I play there.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Love it or hate it...

2-4    3/21/2010   3/22/2010
Review By: Crawdaddy
Played: 25  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 9 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice park setting with the course playing the perimeter. Restrooms, water fountain, playground, & BBall court. Very open with the targets (Mach II) tucked in a scattering of trees. Mostly long distance shots, the course average distance was somewhere about 450'. Lots of parking. Easy to navigate.
Cons: Hard to locate park if your not from the area. Nothing to tell you anything about DG at the park, ie. no sign, no scorecards. Tees are TOO CLOSE to the previous basket, sometimes only a few steps away. Backyards come into play on holes 3&4 and both are dogleg left after the first couple hundred feet. Throwing lanes cross walking paths a couple of times making it dangerous to the participants of those utilizing it and there were a few when I was out. No real shot variety, except for the 2 doglegs. Throw straight & long and your good, but who hasn't heard that before, right?
Other Thoughts: Big arms will have no trouble besting the course par of 33, I can drive ~275' and finished 1 down three times and even par the last, of course my arm was sore afterward trying to get the "D". Maybe, I shouldn't have played 4 rounds back to back!
With a little more thought into the design, the course could be worth traveling to more than once( it was 10 minutes from my hotel and the next closest is over an hour, thank god for unlimited miles on the rental ;o). This course will definitely make a beginner either love or hate discin'!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    9/3/2009   9/7/2009
Review By: sidewinding
Played: 81  Reviewed: 68  Exp: 6.5 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Beautiful neighborhood park even though it is pretty open.

Excellent signs tell you everthing you need to know to play this course.

The distances on this nine hole course are just unbelievable. I did not realize that the distances were not posted on this site or I would have written them down and posted them. I'm pretty sure that at least 7 of the nine holes are over 400' and a few are over 500' and a couple are over 600'. This may be the longest nine hole course in the country which is why I think it deserves a little higher rating than it's been getting.

Did I mention this ain't no pitch an putt course?
Cons: A few of the holes are bordered by fenced backyards which could result in lost discs, especially if the owners are not home and there's a big viscious dog in the backyard.

A constant stream of walkers, joggers, and bike riders means you will have plenty of breaks during a round.

One hole has you throwing too close to a playscape and another has you throwing real close to a tennis court.

This course is probably pretty brutal during mid summer due to the lack of shade trees. It was cloudy and breezy when I played.

Beginners will not like this course because of the long distances.

No elevation changes, water, or any real technical holes. Just long distances.
Other Thoughts: I love specialty course like this and I believe they have there place. What Corsicana needs now is a nine hole course with shorter technical holes to balance this one out.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  Clean Park

2-4    5/6/2009   5/10/2009
Review By: corsicana420
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice clean family park. Seems to be a good park for newbies because of the wide open layout. Bathrooms and water fountain on site.
Cons: Kinda scary throwing some drives because # 3 crosses a walking trail with a blind drive. Also # 6 has a bailout area which is the playground.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.