Disc Golf Store
Corsicana, TX 
Fullerton-Garrity DGC Share
Uploaded By: Tree Magnet   (Taken 6/2010)
Park Sign/Entrance. First tee is behind and to the left of the pergola.



Reviews: 12
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
not your average 9

1    5/18/2014   5/19/2014
Review By: dreadlock86
Played: 214  Reviewed: 164  Exp: 7.7 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -baskets in good condition
-tee signs
-some of the holes utilize a few of the cool features of the land
-nice park, playground, bathrooms, water fountain, plenty of parking
Cons: -missed opportunities for better and more holes
-signs show distance but the maps are not very useful
-tee sign 1 is missing, just the pole is there
-the blind basket on hole 4 is tricky, it looks like you play to basket 5
-the playground and tennis courts come into play on 6 and 7, respectively, and the walking path is in play several times
Other Thoughts: Fullerton-Garrity is a nice, little park that is family friendly and seems well-maintained. The park amenities are great if you have the family in tow. It's not too far from the highway so you can stop and stretch your legs, and your arm!

A little stretching may be in order since this course plays very long. The holes are almost entirely 400'-500'+ and the shortest is still 342'. Unfortunately it makes for a pretty unmemorable round since most of the holes avoid most of the natural obstacles. Since the holes are so long, you can throw around any trees that do come into play. There are also some cool looking areas of the park that are hardly utilized at all like patches of trees, the creek by hole 7, and the elevation near the amphitheater.

I would really like to see a new design here with about 12 or so shorter holes that better utilize the natural obstacles on the land. That said, the course that is here is sufficient, the baskets are in good condition, and it makes for a nice stop if you're on the road. Navigation isn't too bad except for holes 3 and 4 so you should be able to stop by and make it through without a map. Worth a stop but not worth going out of your way just for the course.


**Like this review? Hate it? Message me and let me know why! I want to make them better!**

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

bad choices

1    2/15/2014   2/15/2014
Review By: texhop58
Played: 52  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 12.7 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: *tee signs...kind of
*nice park
*plenty of parking
*most of holes flow well
*length (which i feel is its downfall)
*restrooms
*putting basket
*has terrain for good course
Cons: *length. the shortest of the 9 holes is about 350, the long is over 600. Too me i would rather see a 250-350 wooded hole vs a 500-600 mostly open hole
*walking track cuts through multiple holes (had to wait several times
*grass tee pads. I dont mind grass on average holes but since your running up every shot, grass is slick
*holes felt like big arm righty threw course.
*tee signs are misleading on some holes because they are angled in directions where you arent throwing. 3 opens up to 5. it says 525 and there is a basket about 500 foot away, unfortunately its 4 because 3 is a crazy dog leg.
*mostly wide open long holes get repetitive
*feels like designer tried avoiding trees in his line vs embracing trees for course
Other Thoughts: by bad choices i mean, this is the wrong kind of course to be put in as the only course in the area. I was out today and it was 73 and sunny. No one out playing the course. That should be a major flag. this course could of easily had 12-15 fun challenging holes if they would AVERAGE the hole to 300-325 and utilize the trees instead of designing to avoid them. There is also a small creek that runs throughout that could of been utilized more on the back holes. you could of also avoided having to throw over the busy walking paths if the designers would of shot for 300-325 instead of 500 every time.
Like mentioned earlier it feels like somebody who throws 500 feet right handed, and doesnt like trees set this course up for their personal practice course.
You can also tell course doesn't see a lot of play time as there were no well defined teeboxes. Most "natural" courses I have played you could tell by divets or worn down areas in general area of where teebox was suppose to be. The grass was smoothe all the away around.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Love it or hate it...

2-4    3/21/2010   3/22/2010
Review By: Crawdaddy
Played: 25  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 9.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice park setting with the course playing the perimeter. Restrooms, water fountain, playground, & BBall court. Very open with the targets (Mach II) tucked in a scattering of trees. Mostly long distance shots, the course average distance was somewhere about 450'. Lots of parking. Easy to navigate.
Cons: Hard to locate park if your not from the area. Nothing to tell you anything about DG at the park, ie. no sign, no scorecards. Tees are TOO CLOSE to the previous basket, sometimes only a few steps away. Backyards come into play on holes 3&4 and both are dogleg left after the first couple hundred feet. Throwing lanes cross walking paths a couple of times making it dangerous to the participants of those utilizing it and there were a few when I was out. No real shot variety, except for the 2 doglegs. Throw straight & long and your good, but who hasn't heard that before, right?
Other Thoughts: Big arms will have no trouble besting the course par of 33, I can drive ~275' and finished 1 down three times and even par the last, of course my arm was sore afterward trying to get the "D". Maybe, I shouldn't have played 4 rounds back to back!
With a little more thought into the design, the course could be worth traveling to more than once( it was 10 minutes from my hotel and the next closest is over an hour, thank god for unlimited miles on the rental ;o). This course will definitely make a beginner either love or hate discin'!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  Don't waste your time

1    4/24/2009   4/24/2009
Review By: 35867
Played: 26  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 7.9 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice clean park, new equipment, easy to navigate.
Cons: A little dangerous. Hole 3 is a blind dogleg that crosses a walking path twice. Hole 6 is a long hole with the bailout area for a RHFH drive or LHBH drive being a childrens playground. Hole 9 plays along the parking lot with the teepad being +/- 15 ft. from the concrete and the basket being +/- 50 ft. from the concrete. A local I played with drilled a car on that hole.
Other Thoughts: I have family in Ennis a few miles north of Corsicana, so I was glad to see baskets in the ground so close. With the closest courses being Cedar Hill or Athens there does not appear to be a lot of disc golfers in the area and in my opinon the holes should have been shorter to allow beginner play. Not very many beginners will return to a wide open course with 600ft+ holes. While I did enjoy a few of the long holes I do prefer a more technical course. Next time it's back to Cedar Hill.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 F.Y.I.

1    4/3/2009   4/4/2009
Review By: giles
Played: 147  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 18.1 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Well kept park, drinking fountain, play-ground, tennis court, new baskets & signs, nice natural tee pads, short walk from basket to tee, easy to navigate, no graffiti or trash, 10 min off freeway.
Cons: Popular walking path comes into play
Other Thoughts: Long holes and short trees made for a boring round. My girl and I played it on the way to Houston for TX State Championships to break up the drive. It was an hour to get to the park, play and get back on the road. After 9 we had no desire to play it again. It was a nice little town and a clean park. I hit one tree in 9 holes, a big arm will just take them out of play.


5 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.