Grand Junction, CO 
West Lake Park Share
Uploaded By: klay   (Taken 4/2011)
Park Sign



Reviews: 10
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Great place to learn or...

5+    11/12/2013   11/12/2013
Review By: dust4tears
Played: 7  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 1.3 Years
Pros: Quick way to waste time.
Great place to practice and learn
Has place for kids to play
Cons: Short
No challenge shots
Skate Part

Since I have been playing, they have been missing baskets. I was told it was due to discs going into the drainage canal. It seems to me that a simple fix could get the baskets back into play, but no one has been willing to do
Other Thoughts: Great place to kill some time or fine tune a shot.
I play it more as morning exercise rather than, a competitive course.

I have learned more here than any other course around the area.


5+    5/29/2013   6/1/2013
Review By: Blackmer
Played: 9  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 6.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Easy course for beginners or experienced players to play. Tee pads are in good shape, most of the baskets are good quality, and some holes are fun.
Cons: Doesn't require a player to think about their shot. Each hole is straight and no obstacles. Skate park can get annoying, pedestrians always seem to be in the way, more ametuer player's play and don't know proper etiquette. If you have time go play the 18 hole Palisade course or the 9 or 18 Fruita course instead.
Other Thoughts: The city park maintenance were required by the ditch company to take out two of the holes that actually required a technical throw. The ditch company said the holes were too close, the maintenance guy said too many discs were getting caught in the ditch and water wasn't getting to the park. Which brings back ameteur players playing this course.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


1    4/25/2013   4/28/2013
Review By: bobmcnelly
Played: 59  Reviewed: 50  Exp: 3.3 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Concrete tee pads
Easy to get to, right in town
Quick to play
Cons: Lots of pedestrians and skate boarders wandering around the course. Not much variety of shots. Parking can be an issue when its busy.
Other Thoughts: The worst course in the area, however quick to play and easy to get to.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Taught me the game

5+    10/20/2012   10/21/2012
Review By: DustinRobirtis
Played: 13  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 2.5 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: I love this course, its short and sweet and isnt too too challenging if your just looking to par out. I got my first ace here, the holes are pretty short though. Concrete pads and grass and dirt holes. I play here a bunch with friends and always have fun
Cons: Its way to short. It only takes us around 45 min to play a round here and that's with 2-4 guys. Also the skatepark and playground can be an issue with kids and families but i have never had a problem
Other Thoughts: Very fun i recommend playing if your trying to get into the game and have some fun

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Great for learning the game.

1    1/28/2012   1/28/2012
Review By: CBass
Played: 80  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 9.6 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Wide open and nowhere to lose a disc here. That makes this a great place to learn how to play the game. Concrete tees. Not much in the way of obstacles, so learning the fundamentals is easy here. There are gravel paths to walk on through the muddier portion of the course.
Cons: This course could potentially be quite muddy after rain or snow melt. The lack of obstacles and distance will bore advanced level players. No markings on tees or on some baskets, making it hard to navigate if you haven't been here before.
Other Thoughts: This is labeled as a 9 hole course, however, I found and shot to 12 different baskets from 12 different tees. I shot from one of the tees twice since it was double wide and the two holes went in opposite directions. There could be some safari potential here to raise the challenge, but without many obstacles it would not help a great deal.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Not a bad spot for beginners to learn.

1    4/30/2011   5/9/2011
Review By: ryyedogg
Played: 37  Reviewed: 30
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is the most played course in Grand Junction. It is a great place to learn the game of disc golf because the holes are pretty much open and short. There is even a nice field to warm up in. It was much easier to find this course compared to Matchett Park. The course is easily navigable for the first time and if you get lost, there will probably be a local around to assist you. The targets are quality and all but one tee pad was a nice concrete slab. Most holes play over nice grass, with a few playing on dirt. The layout is easy and can be played quickly.
Cons: The course seemed like a public park when I played it. I assume it typically gets crowded since it is only one of two courses in Grand Junction, and Matchett Park isn't the greatest course for recreational players. Watch out for the skate park on hole #1, the skaters can be unforgiving. I really can't see this as a viable course for a seasoned veteran or pro due to the shortness and openness of the layout. No signage for holes makes it trickier to find the next one.
Other Thoughts: Overall, this is a typical recreational players course that offers little challenge to more advanced players. Play Matchett Park for a more interesting round.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  New Course Design

5+    2/9/2010   2/10/2010
Review By: Den615
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
Pros: Great for all players...fun for beginners and experienced players. Every hole is a possible ace. I've aced #5 twice, and hit the basket/chains on 1,3,4,5,6,8, and 9.
Cons: Can get crowded, but the worst part is the skate park near holes 1, 2, and 3. Most of the skaters are jerks...if you throw your plastic into the fenced park a few different things can happen:
-Rarely they'll help you out and toss you your disc
-They'll completely ignore it and make you walk all the way around to the entrance on the other side of the park
-They'll pick it up and throw it in whichever direction they please.
Other Thoughts: Not a bad course at all, they recently moved holes 6 and 7 across the street at the south end of the course. The new layout is fine, but the area is pretty sketchy. Its all mud and the area floods whenever it rains. If I can get out to Riverbend I will always go there, but if I lack the time or gas westlake isn't a bad option.

 Short and sweet

5+    5/5/2009   8/5/2009
Review By: Brad T
Played: 8  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 10.3 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Nice and conviently located in the city of Grand Junction. Grass with cement tees. Great course to pick up an ace.
Cons: Can get pretty crowed in the evenings. Play through a park with walking path and playground.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 pitch and putt

8/16/2007   5/16/2008
Review By: DGtourist
Played: 188  Reviewed: 106  Exp: 11.4 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: From the description, "is the local pitch and putt" says it all. It gets so hot out in Grand Junction that I could imagine this being the choice course in the summer months when the thermometers are pushing up past the mid nineties. The course was easy to find and to figure out. There is water, and restrooms. It's nearby stores. It is a park course so it has all the positives of a park, such as well maintained and mowed grass. The baskets are short so its fun throwing out ace runs to see how close you can get. Because it is a park course there is plenty of parking. You can get in a really fast round here.
Cons: As a park course, it has all the trappings you would expect. Kids running everywhere, a playground to avoid, a picnic table full of people causing you to skip a hole. There are only a handful of obstacles to play around, number one uses the lone tree, there is a skate park, a nearby street with a bank and a bike path.
Other Thoughts: How does one grade a pitch and putt course? I don't like em much. But as a pitch and putt, this course seems pretty good. As a regular disc golf course, it needs to be somewhere else. If you just didn't have the gas in your tank to play Matchette, than this course would be great. The skate kids were cool, telling me where number one started.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Short Game DG

5+    10/17/2008   5/24/2007
Review By: Fritz
Played: 39  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 9.7 Years
This review was updated on 10/19/2008
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: New person friendly, Great to practice Putts, putter drives, and midranges for the pro and advanced players. Some really fun holes.
This course is perfect for a Lunch Hour round.
There is a modified 18 hole layout (map at gvdiscgolf.org)
Cons: Public park with a playground that could come into play and possibly cause problems.
Sometimes there is poor drainage.
Skate Park on the course.
Drivers stay in the bag.
Other Thoughts: This course is two blocks from my work and I play it almost everyday. It's a nice course to play a lunch round at and enjoy our beautiful weather. If you pass through Grand Junction and need a quick round, this is the course to go to.
I only give it a 3.5 because it's so short.
I consistently shoot 7 down with my putter on the 9 hole layout.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.