Pensacola, FL 
Blue Angel Park - Palmetto DGC Share
Uploaded By: ERicJ Hole #19 (Taken 7/2010)
3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #19 Pro Tee



Reviews: 20
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
  

5+    10/8/2011   10/9/2011
Review By: Lee888
Played: 5  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 2.9 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Very technical course. Course is heavily wooded and requires you to not only think before you throw, but to also throw your shot accurately as well. When compared to other courses I've played, this course has helped my game the most.
Cons: Can be extremely frustrating if you are having an off day.
Other Thoughts: Great upkeep and there is always someone around who is willing to give advice.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Great technical challenge

1    10/3/2011   10/3/2011
Review By: UKfan
Played: 45  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 4.9 Years
This review was updated on 10/8/2011
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is one of three 18 hole courses on this site. The course winds through trees and sand with both hyzer and anyhyzer shots required. Although a few of the tee shots are slightly redundant in flight pattern, each shot is independent of the others because of the strategic use of trees. I played the rec tees and although it was not extremely long it was plently long enough for my skill level. With all of the trees and obstacles, it requires you to have both flick, FH, and BH shots. This was an enjoyable round. This course has pro and am tees. It also has NEW signs that show both tees. (The tee signs are different than the ones shown in the media photos as of the time of this review.) Most of the tees are also color coated either blue (pro) or yellow (rec) by use of the wood framing each tee box. The players that were at the course at the time I played were very helpful and pleasant.
Cons: About the only con is that for a newcomer like myself it would have been helpful to have better directionaly markers for the next tee box. I played the first nine by myself and I had trouble finding a couple tees. The tee signs are usually placed near the pro but sometimes between the pro and rec tees.
Other Thoughts: I played 18 with Mike and Thomas and they were very enjoyable and helpful. Mike built the courses and was very knowledgeable.
The Blue Angel now has three courses, including the Pines and Oaks. The Pines was not listed at the time of this review. I played part of the Oaks and Pines but I ran out of time to finish. The Pines was not in as good a shape as of yet as the other well marked courses. If your on vacation within driving distance, I highly recommend these courses.
Also, there is a place to purchase discs at the Marina/Store on the base. As you leave the course from the parking lot for Palmettto, turn left (towards the water) and go to the end of the road (water ahead) and turn to the right. You will see the Marina/store in a short distance.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Awesome Course(s)!

1    12/23/2010   12/28/2010
Review By: wkelly42
Played: 22  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 4.1 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I've been wanting to play this course for a LONG time, and finally got there over Christmas. The layout is great -- easy to follow, lots of variety. This is definitely a course-management style of course, rather than a distance shot course -- and I like that. I don't throw that far, but most of the time the disc goes where I want it to go. The layout also makes it feel like you have the course to yourself; I know there were other people playing, because I could hear them, but we never saw them. The layout makes it easy to navigate -- signage at every hole points to the next tee (both pro and am).

The course also has a LOT of personality. The people who do the work here put a lot of effort into the course. Crawfish shack, working shower, hubcaps and tires, signs ... the course is a lot of fun to play.

Benches at every tee, multiple tees (Including the Little Flyers tee, which my daughter loved!)
Cons: I was planning on playing the pro tees, but was concerned because there were no hole diagrams on the signs at the pro tees. Not a big deal -- I could have just walked up to the am tees to look at the layout, but I ended up just playing the am tees this trip. Once you get the hang of the layout, this won't be an issue.

At one point (I think it was on the 4th hole), the path to the next tee takes you directly behind the basket for #6, which seems to present a little bit of a risk. BUT -- if you're there for the disc golf, you'll be paying attention to things like that, so I don't see anyone risking getting hit.
Other Thoughts: A dedicated disc golf course in a private setting -- what's not to love about this place?! Add to this the fact that there are another 24 holes on the property, and you've got an awesome day of disc golf. If you are anywhere close, pony up the few bucks it costs to play BAP and get over to Pensacola ASAP!

NOTE: You don't have to be sponsored anymore -- post on the Emerald Coast DGC board to double check, but they told me that all you have to do is go and pay at the gate. They'll let you know the cost to play the courses as well as the entry fee, so once you're in, you're good.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 PALMETTO

1    6/10/2009   6/13/2009
Review By: FLX BUZZZ
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: SHORT WOODED COURSE. EXCELLENT UPKEEP. ICE WATER ON SEVERAL HOLES. EVERY MID-RANGE SHOT AVAILABLE. TWO COURSES BESIDE EACH OTHER. DUAL TEE PADS ON EACH HOLE, ACTUALLY SOME HAD A THIRD PAD FOR LIL FLYERS.
Cons: TOO FAR FROM MY HOUSE (TENNESSEE)
Other Thoughts: GREAT PLACE TO PLAY. MOSTLY SHADED. EACH HOLE HAS ITS OWN CHARACTER.

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 2008 SNAC host course

1    12/16/2007   1/16/2008
Review By: jclepa
Played: 29  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 13.2 Years
This review was updated on 4/6/2010
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Blue Angel Park hosts two wonderful courses, The Palmetto and The Oaks.

The Palmetto course is the shorter, more wooded of the two. However, in this case shorter does not mean easier. Every type of shot will be utilized while you play this course. Some holes will even give you an option of a few different lines off the tee. This is definately a risk/reward type course. Pushing for a birdie and not hitting your line will most often leave you hoping for a bogie. But, there are a few holes on this course that will give you a good look at ace runs.

There are 3 sets of tees on the Palmetto side, Pro, Am, and 'Little Flyer'. The pro and am are just that. The little flyer tees offer a chance for younger disc golfers to play a real disc golf course. Each little flyer pad is positioned on average 75-100 feet from the basket. The lines are much more open than the regular tees, but still will reward a good shot and punish one that's really off-line. It's a great opportunity for the whole family to play the course together.

The course has been recently expanded to 21 holes... the new holes are across the road/parking lot from the original course.

Each course is up-kept and will have you traveling through some of the most beautiful gulf coast scenes.
Cons: Must be military or belong to a local Disc Golf club. Vacationers and other visitors would do well to contact Mike Sidebottom to get permission to play. (Mike's a great guy and it's almost never a problem.)

There is a park entry fee and disc golf fee, but you're looking at around $5 to play two great courses.
Other Thoughts: There is a camp store on site which has basic amenities and also sell discs. It's located just off of the Oaks course right when a refreshing beverage of your choice would be perfect in the hot summer Florida sun.

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.