Pensacola, FL 
Blue Angel Park - Palmetto DGC Share
Uploaded By: Qikly Hole #14 (Taken 1/2014)
3 / 146ft.   3 / 171ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #14 Tee Sign



Reviews: 20
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 Next >
 More blind shots than Stevie Wonder at a gun range

1    8/6/2011   8/8/2011
Review By: billnchristy
Played: 64  Reviewed: 60  Exp: 5.6 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great signs, good quality baskets, 3 sets of tees (blue, gold and little flyers), a double loop which takes you back to the parking lot in the middle. Water coolers around the course which generally were full and had cold water in them (an absolute godsend).
Cons: 2 or 3 poke and pray holes which were usually blind on top of that. Lots of really harsh turns, boomerang style harsh turns. A couple holes where a spike hyzer was the only viable option.
Other Thoughts: This is a fun course with a few quirky issues. It has a lot of blind holes and with the DGA baskets the only identification from a distance is the thin orange pole. It would be nice to see these powdercoated in a bright color on a course like this where visibility is so low. The amenities were out of this world and the price is well worth it, given you have 3 courses to choose from. I liked the fact that you had to shape lines on almost every hole but with that many holes were hit or miss to an extreme level where one tiny branch could take your shot and ruin it. It almost seemed a little sadistic. Bring your lunch so you can play all the courses. If 3-4 holes were improved a bit I feel this course could easily be a 4.5 or even a 5 but some of these were so ridiculous that it kind of ruined the rest of it for me. I will say that if you play here all the time you will learn some awesome shots and will look at fairways in a whole different manner than those who don't.

The Little Flyer tees were great, set up just for juniors and just the right length for them. We didn't have our daughter with us but I bet she would've played the entire course from these tees. This is a great way to get kids playing more often.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Great family setup

1    7/18/2011   7/18/2011
Review By: EagleZT
Played: 16  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 3.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Played this course today. What a solid setup! It was definitely family oriented. It had pro and am tees as well as "little flyer" for the kids which was usually about 100 feet away from the basket.

You don't have to be sponsored anymore to play the courses. Just pay at the gate and head to the courses which are about .5 miles down. it was $6 for me and my wife to get in and $2 per person on the honor system to play.

Course has a good mix of hyper and anhyzer throws. Another YES! Is the water coolers throughout the course. They were filling them up this morning and the workers were real friendly and it felt like a nice ball golf course with workers maintaining the course and ensuring a nice setup.

The holes are nice and open for a tight wooded course. I wouldnt say there are no "unfair" holes.

There's a nice hanging basket on 17

Nice course for a Roc or Buzzz round or any midrange for that. You can leave your drivers at home. Great course for technical shots and driving your putters.


They have porta pottys right at the parking lot and
Cons: The elevation isn't much, but it's the coast. You can't control that as much. Also, we couldn't find the eighth basket. It looks like it may have been pulled. I didnt get a chance to ask one of the workers out there about it. Also they were rearranging some of the baskets on the 16-19 holes so while you are on the
19th hole the basket says 18. Not a big deal but confusing at times. There were also some blind holes when I had to walk to see the basket to get the line. Not awful, but the tee layout wasn't reliable at times.
Other Thoughts: Despite the nit picking, this is real a great course. For 2 bucks you can play around 40 holes of golf between palmetto and the oaks dg. They have discs for sale at the marina (1 mile down and to the right near the putt putt). Good mix of innova and discraft.

They are also building a new course "The Pines" the manager of the marina said you could play it, but it's not entirely finished and marked out. Will be a nice complex when the third course is put in. Great disc golf complex worth the coin to play.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Nicer!

2-4    2/21/2011   2/25/2011
Review By: joe_kool315
Played: 63  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 4 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Great course, very technical and challenging. there's a little bit of everything here. Doesn't punish you too much on errant throws but you can get yourself stuck in deep if you don't' watch it.
Cons: Tends to favor the lefty or RHFH throwers so heads up.
Other Thoughts: currently 22 holes of awesomeness...

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Awesome Course(s)!

1    12/23/2010   12/28/2010
Review By: wkelly42
Played: 22  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 4.3 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I've been wanting to play this course for a LONG time, and finally got there over Christmas. The layout is great -- easy to follow, lots of variety. This is definitely a course-management style of course, rather than a distance shot course -- and I like that. I don't throw that far, but most of the time the disc goes where I want it to go. The layout also makes it feel like you have the course to yourself; I know there were other people playing, because I could hear them, but we never saw them. The layout makes it easy to navigate -- signage at every hole points to the next tee (both pro and am).

The course also has a LOT of personality. The people who do the work here put a lot of effort into the course. Crawfish shack, working shower, hubcaps and tires, signs ... the course is a lot of fun to play.

Benches at every tee, multiple tees (Including the Little Flyers tee, which my daughter loved!)
Cons: I was planning on playing the pro tees, but was concerned because there were no hole diagrams on the signs at the pro tees. Not a big deal -- I could have just walked up to the am tees to look at the layout, but I ended up just playing the am tees this trip. Once you get the hang of the layout, this won't be an issue.

At one point (I think it was on the 4th hole), the path to the next tee takes you directly behind the basket for #6, which seems to present a little bit of a risk. BUT -- if you're there for the disc golf, you'll be paying attention to things like that, so I don't see anyone risking getting hit.
Other Thoughts: A dedicated disc golf course in a private setting -- what's not to love about this place?! Add to this the fact that there are another 24 holes on the property, and you've got an awesome day of disc golf. If you are anywhere close, pony up the few bucks it costs to play BAP and get over to Pensacola ASAP!

NOTE: You don't have to be sponsored anymore -- post on the Emerald Coast DGC board to double check, but they told me that all you have to do is go and pay at the gate. They'll let you know the cost to play the courses as well as the entry fee, so once you're in, you're good.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Palmetto and The Oaks

5+    2/28/2010   10/3/2010
Review By: JoeDubb
Played: 103  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 11.4 Years
This review was updated on 9/21/2011
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: What can I say that hasn't been said? It's an awesome course on a great piece of land. I wish that I could have stayed longer but I know one day I will return. Great course to play in the winter if you are in Pensacola, FL.
Cons: The only con I can think of is that there are not enough courses like this one. It takes a truly dedicated group of people to produce such a memorable course.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 A great compliment course

1    7/24/2010   7/25/2010
Review By: ERicJ
Played: 187  Reviewed: 150  Exp: 6.8 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
This is a fantastic disc golf complex! Two courses on-site (21 holes at this one and 24 holes at Oaks). The course offers challenging holes to both lefties and righties. Three sets of concrete tees on almost every hole: "Pro", "Am" and "Little Flyer". The Little Flyer tees are awesome for small kids: they're around 100' and even have a small bench or bag stand for the kids. The tees are all well marked with good signage, including "next tee" pointers on every hole. There are benches with trash containers on almost every hole. There are a couple Porta-Johns available. There's even several 5-gallon water coolers stocked with cold water! The course is almost entirely shaded so even on the sunniest days you play in the shade. Great care was taken with regard to safety, when necessary there's a mando sign and other places have man made barriers like fences to protect vulnerable tee boxes. The course also has character: there are some creative structures like hanging hubcaps, a crawfish boil shack, and a working shower(?) that give this course it's own personality. Hole #17 features a hanging basket, while it doesn't usually add anything to the playability it is cool to see. The main signage is also pretty cool with giant baskets.
Cons:
There isn't much this course is missing: elevation is one thing, but you work with what the land gives you. The tee signs for the long/pro tees are lacking hole diagrams which makes some of the blind basket holes tough for first-timers. Maybe a water shot or two. Some of the concrete tees are only 8' long which is a bit too short for some of the 300'+ holes. Does hole #18 have a long/pro tee? If so I couldn't find it. The transition to holes #20 & 21 goes across the street to the right, which isn't as obvious as the other transitions.
Other Thoughts:
We played on a hot July day (heat index ~104F) and the water coolers were a life saver. The bugs weren't bad at all either.

I'll mention there is a minor fee to enter the park and then a $2 per player fee that's on the honor system and let's you play all day. The fact that you can see the attention to detail and work that goes into this course... $2 is a bargain. This is absolutely a destination course, considering you've got two great courses on site, doubly so.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 nice!

1    3/19/2010   3/21/2010
Review By: magictenor1
Played: 103  Reviewed: 37  Exp: 14.3 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Excellent variety of left and right turning holes. 2 tees for almost every hole. tee pads are concrete. fairly easy to follow. there is a 3rd set of tees for most holes specifically for kids which is great if (like me) you have one with you. You could also use this for a wife or girlfriend who is just beginning. port-a- potty on site. Not crowded. Along with the Oaks course you have 45 different holes in one place. cool water placed in big containers throughout the course.
Cons: terrain is not varied as the land is totally flat ie no elevation changes (this is no fault of the designer since this part of florida is flat) No water in play anywhere either. No pro shop or place to buy discs.
Other Thoughts: this is a great disc golf destination with 2 excellent courses on site (45 total holes) definitely worth a trip to play there. this course is the shorter and easier of the 2 courses and very beginner friendly. The short tees are nice for birdies and ace runs or for lesser skilled players and the long tees can be challenging. In the course info it says you have to call or be a military member but as fas as I could tell the course is totally open to the public.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Short but oh, so sweet!

1    7/7/2009   7/7/2009
Review By: buzzinb
Played: 19  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 6.6 Years
This review was updated on 2/10/2010
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is the little brother of the Oaks course that together make up one of the best DG 1-2 punches that I am aware of. While shorter, the Palmetto course is definately not to be confused as inferior or a "Bunny slope" type course. It can eat you for lunch if you don't respect it. Hole 13 is arguably as difficult as any sub 300' hole you will find anywhere. A couple of degrees off on your throw and its palmetto paper cut time as you play bird dog trying to find your favorite mid range. That being said, there are a lot of Ace run holes for those with good control. The risk/reward factor runs high here as you have to be willing to gamble for an Ace/deuce or play it safe and settle for 3 on many of the holes. Gambling is fun untill you have to try a miracle tomahawk scramble just to save par. Some of the holes are actually lengthy, especially if played from the Pro tees. Hole 4 I beleive can be a 550' pain in the keister if you opt for the pro tee. The fairways are tight but navigable. Accuracy will make or break you here as you would expect with any well designed course. Keep an eye out for cool little curios like tiki poles, bird houses and other neat little touches that really add character to an already scenic course. One basket is built up on a graduated bulls eye while another hangs from a pole. The alternate tees keep the replay value high as they can dramatically alter the required shot. This is a rare course that actually plays well for those who are RHFH dominant like myself. Overall an interesting mix of holes that require a decent level of mastery of mids, putters and even fairway drivers to succeed.
Cons: For the sake of being fair and balanced: Tee signs are just OK and only the Am tees give an illustration of the hole direction. 0 elevation means 0 changes in elevation...this really can't be helped as it is how God created it. NW FL is a flat place. However, all of the other positive factors combine to make the elevation issue a non-factor.
Other Thoughts: My hat is off to Mike and the other guys who have worked so hard to make the Blue Angel courses among the best I've played. It is a rare couse that seems to perfectly blend the fun factor with the level of challenge. They have done it not once but twice here wth these two top-notch courses. I heard it through the vine that there may be an additional 6 holes on Palmetto as well. You can never get too much of a good thing. The courses are part of a Naval Recreation Area that is primarily set up for R&R pursuits of our hard working men and women in uniform. Fortunately, they allow us civs to enjoy the area as well for a diminuative entrance fee (I think it was 1.50). There is an honor box at near the 1st tee on the Palmetto course that asks for 2.00. So for the meager price of 3.50, you can play two of the best courses around...less than you just paid for lunch. A small price to pay for one of the cleanest, best maintained duo of courses you are likely to find anywhere. You really have to experience these courses first hand to appreciate all that goes into keeping them so nice. Already looking forward to my next trip to the FL Panhandle!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 PALMETTO

1    6/10/2009   6/13/2009
Review By: FLX BUZZZ
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: SHORT WOODED COURSE. EXCELLENT UPKEEP. ICE WATER ON SEVERAL HOLES. EVERY MID-RANGE SHOT AVAILABLE. TWO COURSES BESIDE EACH OTHER. DUAL TEE PADS ON EACH HOLE, ACTUALLY SOME HAD A THIRD PAD FOR LIL FLYERS.
Cons: TOO FAR FROM MY HOUSE (TENNESSEE)
Other Thoughts: GREAT PLACE TO PLAY. MOSTLY SHADED. EACH HOLE HAS ITS OWN CHARACTER.

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 2008 SNAC host course

1    12/16/2007   1/16/2008
Review By: jclepa
Played: 29  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 13.3 Years
This review was updated on 4/6/2010
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Blue Angel Park hosts two wonderful courses, The Palmetto and The Oaks.

The Palmetto course is the shorter, more wooded of the two. However, in this case shorter does not mean easier. Every type of shot will be utilized while you play this course. Some holes will even give you an option of a few different lines off the tee. This is definately a risk/reward type course. Pushing for a birdie and not hitting your line will most often leave you hoping for a bogie. But, there are a few holes on this course that will give you a good look at ace runs.

There are 3 sets of tees on the Palmetto side, Pro, Am, and 'Little Flyer'. The pro and am are just that. The little flyer tees offer a chance for younger disc golfers to play a real disc golf course. Each little flyer pad is positioned on average 75-100 feet from the basket. The lines are much more open than the regular tees, but still will reward a good shot and punish one that's really off-line. It's a great opportunity for the whole family to play the course together.

The course has been recently expanded to 21 holes... the new holes are across the road/parking lot from the original course.

Each course is up-kept and will have you traveling through some of the most beautiful gulf coast scenes.
Cons: Must be military or belong to a local Disc Golf club. Vacationers and other visitors would do well to contact Mike Sidebottom to get permission to play. (Mike's a great guy and it's almost never a problem.)

There is a park entry fee and disc golf fee, but you're looking at around $5 to play two great courses.
Other Thoughts: There is a camp store on site which has basic amenities and also sell discs. It's located just off of the Oaks course right when a refreshing beverage of your choice would be perfect in the hot summer Florida sun.

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.