Course Extinct
Brookston, IN 
Valley View Share



Reviews: 7
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Backyard Dream

1    8/28/2013   9/6/2013
Review By: whatariot7
Played: 26  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 1.5 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Risk/Reward on most holes
Fantastic shot variation
Length with interest
Elevation
Great design- well thought out
Constant variation
Must EARN your par
Plenty of benches to rest on- you'll need them
Cons: Cows can be pushy
Flow to course can be tedious
Baskets don't match
Other Thoughts: Hands down, the best course I've played. While not the most visually appealing, it gives you a healthy challenge starting from hole one. As other reviewers have mentioned, play with Tom. He is a great, down-to-earth guy and will help you navigate/attack the course successfully. Some have complained about the cow-pies, but I never had a problem. Bring your 'A' game to this course- you'll need it.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

A true challenge ...

5+    4/14/2013   4/15/2013
Review By: rudibaughs3
Played: 122  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 7.2 Years
This review was updated on 4/19/2013
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Excellent mix of shots. Of the 150+ courses I've played, this is in my top 5. It's one of the few places I can go when i feel good about my game that i know will be a true test of skill(and always humbles me quickly). It's got elevation, tough greens, and about every shot you can imagine, especially since Tom has moved a few holes around. Bottom line, this is a Great course! You owe it to yourself to call and arrange a time to go play.
Cons: Cows are present seasonally which adds a bit of fun:)
Other Thoughts: Go play this course!

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Holy S#!* (literally)

5+    3/24/2012   3/26/2012
Review By: jcjohns
Played: 74  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 13.4 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: 18 hole par is about 62.
The par 4/5's are what I call true 4/5's and not just by distance (except 18)
Great elevation changes
Wide variety of open, woods, mixed holes
Cons: Un-matching baskets (it is a guy's back yard though)
Cows and their poop
Electric Fence
Other Thoughts: I'll be totally honest, if this course could be maintained without the cows, I'd probably bump it up to a 4.5 (5 if the baskets matched and tee pads had a little work done on them). Playing in the early spring is best because the grass is short and the cows are gone for winter storage which means their poop is less apparent and the fence is turned off.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 oh poop!

1    8/6/2011   8/14/2011
Review By: RipHausser
Played: 104  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 17.4 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Awesome course for being privately owned. Tom is a great guy to play with. Great angles and elevation. Very long holes allowing full use of your arm.
Cons: Cow pies. They're harmless though, just processed grass.
Other Thoughts: Very tough. Wouldn't recommend for beginners. One of the best courses I've played in 15 years.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  chuck daniels

5+    12/22/2009   12/24/2009
Review By: chuck daniels
Played: 94  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: elevation with a technical twist. some benches are nice. possible angus aces. course has so many possibilities for change.
Cons: poop, but play with Tom who has convenient poop pouches to clean all areas that may be affected.
Other Thoughts: This course is one of the best the state has to offer. Not very beginner friendly. Tom has done an excellent job manicuring fairways and cleaning up the rough.. Keep up all the great work Tom. Love your course.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Not for Beginners

5+    8/2/2009   8/7/2009
Review By: oxalate
Played: 107  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 13.3 Years
This review was updated on 7/30/2012
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Mixture of par 3s & 4s with a par 5. Lots of benches are great after climbing hills. You will need to earn your deuces on the par 3s while the par 4s require at least 2 good shots to get your 3. Most of the time you will have this entire private course completely to yourself with only the sound of the occasional car or boat, mooing of cows and the sounds of birds in this peaceful area with beautiful scenery.
Cons: As mentioned, the herd of black angus cattle means you need to keep your eye on where you are walking. Despite this, incidents with discs are pretty rare - only 3-4 times over dozens of rounds. Watch out for the electric fence that serves as the outer border around the course, but it is easy enough to slide under it when needing to retrieve a disc.
Other Thoughts: I am lucky to be able to walk to this course from my house (despite living in a different county!). In general, the baskets all catch well so the mix is not a problem. Tom and the local crew have done a lot of work to get the tees in good shape and to remove most of the pesky thorn bushes.
Update 2012: Tom continues to tweak and toughen up his course. The basket for hole #4 has been moved back to a slippery green requiring a drive and an approach. He has made numerous, smaller changes to basket locations, etc.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 valley view

5+    8/6/2009   8/6/2009
Review By: tom woods
Played: 135  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 18.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A private course with a good mix of holes. A fair amount of elavation, with longer holes having wider fairways & shorter holes a bit tighter. Rubber tee pads & tee signs on all holes. Benches on 13 holes. Course length 7010 par 62. Senic course with an out in the country feel Free to play call for reservations.
Cons: Not any real sharp dog legs, a mix of baskets Mach, spiderweb, innova disccatcher.db-5 & a heard of black angus
Other Thoughts: i don't want to discourage anyone from playing here but I don't think it is beginer friendly. I have played 120 courses & this one IS in my top 5 !!!!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center