Republic, MO 
Miller Park Lucky 13 Share
Uploaded By: birdman101 Hole #9 (Taken 7/2011)
4 / 417ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Approach



Reviews: 6
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Needs to be moved

1    4/15/2013   8/24/2013
Review By: Schlazz
Played: 4  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.2 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: If you like straight shots in a storm sewer basin this is the place for you. When we played the place was mud hole and it hadn't rained for days.
Cons: The course is poorly laid out with nearly no obstacles. The baskets need to be moved to another park with a more interesting terrain.
Other Thoughts: Skip it.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 nice clean and simple

2-4    2/12/2011   2/12/2011
Review By: dudiablo
Played: 70  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 8.5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course seems to be kept very well. I played it in the snow so its difficult to say whether the grass is usually cut well or how the fairways normally are.

The baskets are really nice, new and catch the discs very well.

The layout is very easy to follow, and the map online and on the first tee is very easy to read and understand.

Nice and open, there are a few holes where you can really try to get behind a tee shot and watch the disc fly!

There is enough elevation change to make some of the hills tough to play up, and some tees from on top of hills that are fun to play down.
Cons: This course is very monotonous, and there isn't a WHOLE lot of variation between the holes. Its a nice place to get out and work on your drives and putting, but there wont be much shaping your shots out there.

The tees are just dirt boxed in by 2 by 4s. This works well enough, but it would be nice to get some concrete out there one day.

There is no indication on the tee signs as to what the hole layout is. You can see pretty much every basket from the tee so this isn't a big deal, im just being knit picky here.

The start and end of the course don't make a whole lot of sense. I parked near hole 10 I believe and just started and ended there because the 1st basket is quite a ways from any real parking.
Other Thoughts: This is a nice course to play, especially if you are very close to it. I drove 25 min to get there from the north side of Springfield and I can honestly say that I probably wont be making the trip very often. Its nice, but nothing special by any means. Its very similar to Tom Watkins in my opinion, but it is much cleaner and better maintained.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Will Get Better with Time

2-4    8/14/2010   8/17/2010
Review By: DaddyD
Played: 9  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 4.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A nice, open park with a lot of potential. Right now, the drives are mostly wide-open distance throws. This is because the trees at this time are saplings, but as they grow, they will create some challenging approaches, especially on hole 3.

There is some variety in the terrain, with some holes driving down into the valley, some on level ground and two driving uphill.

The city maintains the park very well, but it could be pretty wet after a rain, judging from the size of some of the drainage areas that empty into the park's valley.

The nearby water park gives you a great opportunity to cool off after a couple of rounds on a hot summer day.
Cons: The park is used by the community for many events that are not necessarily DG friendly. Both times I've played this course, there have been events that hindered the round. My first time there was a horse show setting up at the arena there, and four holes were blocked by horse trailers parked in the way. My second time there was a triathlon that started and ended at the park, so we frequently had to suspend play to avoid hitting runners or cars going in and out. Some observers decided that the best way to beat the heat would be to set up their lawn chairs under the shade trees right next to those "funny basket things with the chains hanging on them."

The proximity of several holes to the asphalt walking path and road make for some frustrating penalties. This seems unnecessary because one or two of the holes could have been pushed a bit more inside the park and still not be obtrusive.

A few of the par ratings don't seem to make sense. There are one or two par-4 holes that would be considered par-3 at other area courses.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Nice Course

5+    8/14/2010   8/16/2010
Review By: cookrite
Played: 15  Reviewed: 4
This review was updated on 6/27/2013
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Pretty Good Layout
- Marked well and easy to navigate.
- Some moderate elevation
- Moderate tree use
- Well maintained
Cons: - Dirt pads
- A little boring in places
- Only 13 holes
Other Thoughts: I enjoy this park. It is a little simply but not too bad. A lot of the trees in the park were planted in the last couple of years so they haven't grow yet. When they do it will give this course some needed difficulty.

It's nice to play in the evenings during the summer when the pool is open. There is music playing and provides a nice backdrop to the course.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Lucky For Who?

1    6/15/2010   6/22/2010
Review By: Donovan
Played: 212  Reviewed: 185  Exp: 27.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a simple layout that is easy to navigate. This is a wide-open straight shot kind of course. There is one hole that you have to go around a big tree near the basket and one that has some OB sort of near the basket, but otherwise it is fairly straight shots. They do make good use of the slight elevation that is available. The course does have some par 4's and 3's, even if the 4's are a bit short. They are mowing here rather regularly so it seems to be well maintained. The baskets are in great shape.
Cons: The tee pads are wooded frames laid in the ground. Dirt ruts are included along with the end of the pad being a tripping hazard. Finding #1 tee is no treat. It is located between the road and the tallest water slide. The locals I spoke too usually start on hole 11 and go from there since it is very close to a parking area. It might have just been the way it felt that day, but it did seem as though almost every hole was about 300 feet except maybe 2 of them. #1 tee and #18 basket are not that close to the parking area. There were no trashcans along the course. There is no bathroom on the course itself, although when the pool is open, I am guessing you can use that one.
Other Thoughts: The Fun Factor was not really my cup of tea. There is nothing wrong with this course; I just found it kind of boring. I don't think there was one hole that I wanted to throw a second tee shot on. It is a clean and nice place to play, but I doubt I would make a return to play it again. 13 may be lucky for some, but I found it just OK.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  Not a bad course

1    10/8/2009   10/8/2009
Review By: aaronplkt
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Easily marked goals. Flat and hilly terrain. New Baskets and clearly marked.
Cons: Since it is a new course the obstacales (trees) have not grown up yet, making for some easy shots.
Other Thoughts: Overall a good course. Well maintained. Also the hole and course map start at the slides side of the pool. enjoy.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.