Liverpool, NY
Clay Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #14 (Taken 8/2013)
3 / 205ft.   3 / 205ft.   3 / 205ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #14 Tee



Reviews: 15
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
A Little of Everything

5+    10/8/2013   10/17/2013
Review By: Swade
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
Pros: -Great variety of holes. You have some great holes through the woods along with some open holes you can bomb it. I really get a chance to practice many types of shots during a round.
-The course is well maintained and has improved throughout the year.
-Nice concrete pads with well marked signs with an arrow to the next hole.
-Benches on many holes and a few trash cans scattered about.
Cons: -As others have said... the bugs can be bad. This is basically a swamp in some spots.
-If there has been a lot of rain, the course can get VERY soggy.
-The layout is pretty straight forward except for a couple of long walks between holes.
-This is a large town park so there are sports fields, tennis courts, play ground, and even a LARP castle. This isn't a bad thing but it does come into play on some holes.
Other Thoughts: I really enjoy this course. Its a fun challenge that requires some creative shots at times. This course will continue to get better and I look forward to seeing what it can become.

Clay/Mud Park

1    3/14/2013   3/18/2013
Review By: nyrblue2
Played: 28  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 4.1 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 18 holes in a town park - split between some wooded areas and open areas near sports fields.
- Ample parking lot near tee 1/basket 18
- Kiosk at course start has an overall course map and provides a good place for postings - forgot to check if scorecards were available
- no practice basket, but basket #18 is right near tee #1, so it's a good spot for warm-up putting
- Concrete tee pads are nice, new, level and marked (drawn into the back of the concrete pad before it dried) - surrounded by wood frame filled with fines - does create a bit of a step up on some holes, but I found the concrete itself to be ample on all holes
- nice, detailed, colorful tee signs with good hole map, par, distance and arrow for next tee
- new, shiny DGA baskets that are easy to spot on all holes (only had to walk up 2 fairways to spot the pin - 4 and 7)
- good, accurate, detailed course map
- I really enjoyed most of the wooded holes - they were challenging, but had fair lines that needed some accuracy to hit - only 1 hole felt like Plinko - holes 1, 2, 5 (probably my favorite), 15, 16 are very fun
- Good variety of left and right holes - 4 has a hard right turn halfway up the fairway (tried a high thumber but the trees caught it), 6 has a hard left turn near the pin
- Water (the "intentional" kind in the form of a creek) comes into play on a few holes for an added challenge - mid-fariway on #3, don't go long on #7 and if you hug the right side on #13 you better have thrown it pretty far to clear
Cons: - Mud, muddy and muddier - I realize that I played this course in late winter, so all of the Syracuse snow had melted and soaked into the ground, but I have never played on a course this wet - from start to finish, it was muddy in the woods and soggy on the grass - I could literally hear running water under my feet on the seemingly flat fields - bring extra shoes/socks for your feet and a towel for your discs - I can see the wood chips and gravel that have been laid to attempt to address this, but it didn't seem to do much
- even though the tee signs had "next tee" arrows for the following hole, I got turned around a couple times
- long walks from 10 to 11 and 14 to 15
- a bunch of the middle holes and some others were fairly uninteresting (7, 8, 11, 12, 18) with no real "features" across the fields - other open field holes at least had protected pins (9, 10, 17)
- park was pretty much empty when I played, but a few holes play near sports fields and rec areas, so I could see some interferences or long waits (3, 9, 10)
Other Thoughts: - The hole map for #3 is definitely accurate, but you can clearly see basket #5 from the tee and it is tempting to erroneously throw at it - basket #3 is pretty much in a direct line down the left sideline of the football field tucked into the woods, on the other side of the tall-ish tree in the fairway
- New benches on maybe half (?) the holes
- A handful of garbage cans near some tees
- The "address" on the course info page is for the park's main entrance and parking lot, so use the "local directions" to get to the lot right at the hole #1
- I'm sure when summer activities are going on, there is a concession stand in there somewhere for mid-round drinks/food

I feel this is a solid course (earlier reviews/ratings are not indicative of the recent improvements on tees, baskets, etc.), but just in a tough spot when it comes to mud, drainage, etc. From reading the other reviews, it's already come a long way with the hard work of the town and the locals, but there's only so much you can do to fix the terrain without breaking the bank. I'd definitely like to play this again, hopefully when things are a bit drier, or even frozen.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Getting Better Every Year!

5+    9/5/2012   9/8/2012
Review By: throwfromthewoods
Played: 8  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4.7 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Well-made, level tee-pads. The concrete needed to be set in gravel, elevated to avoid sinking unevenly, and walled in with rubber weatherproofed walls that could protect New Orleans. Unfortunately the soft ground in some areas dictated that as necessity. There are plans to level off some of the more elevated and run-up pads in the future.

Good mix of shots. Open bombs, technical wooded holes, up, down, left and right. The course planners are constantly looking for ways to stretch out the course and re-place the pins for a more unique round. Clay is still a work in progress.

Toughest scoring course in CNY. True par is now 58 for AMs and usually seen as 56 for pros. If you want to improve all facets of your game, Clay is the course to do it.
Cons: Bugs! There are times in the summer where I will avoid it for months. Deer flies are worse than mosquitos at points.

Swampy areas are not nearly as common as just 6-months ago thanks to the TREMENDOUS efforts of the town. They have added significant drainage and dirt bridges in the worst spots. But in wet weeks, you'll still want to bring extra socks.

A couple of the holes still play very close to heavily used park property. During the football months, we sometimes have to create an alternate fairway for hole #3 because it borders too close to a practice field. Hole #9 has a set of tennis courts pretty much erasing any fairway to the right of the tee until you get 300' out. Hole #11s teebox is right on the back corner of a baseball fence, and believe me, I have had players yell for me to duck.

Ivy is still an issue, but not on the fairways anymore. If you go into the woods on a shot, just be careful. Eventually a bigger effort will be made to clear that stuff out, but it's not top on the list right now.
Other Thoughts: I've played Clay Park since it was 9 swampy holes. Considering the CNYDGA and the town can only work on it half the year because of Upstate NY weather, it's amazing what this course has become in just a few short years. And it's only going to get better. New tee signs, new pin placements, and more strategic wood-clearing will only add to the growing challenge and beauty of the Clay Park course. Being sandwiched between Rochester, which has enough championship-caliber courses to host the Worlds (twice!), and the Albany area, whose courses define the phrase "signature holes," sometimes Syracuse gets overlooked. But I think Clay has the potential to be a true championship course. Put it this way; Emac played with us for best-shot DOUBLES and posted a 49. If that doesn't suggest a genuine challenge, I don't know what does.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Great Course in Syracuse

5+    8/8/2012   8/8/2012
Review By: sfoulkrod
Played: 9  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Really nice course. Great variety in terms of scenery, there are wooded holes with hardwood trees, some marshy holes cut into dense underbrush as well as some open holes. The lengths also vary, which is nice. I really like the layout and design overall. The tees and baskets are new; there are signs that show where the next tee boxes are and other than two holes, the walks to the next tee are simple. It's at a park, but the holes don't interfere with the park goers and there is only one place where you may walk past people, it's the walk from hole 10 to 11.
Cons: The three or so holes that play near the swamp are filled with flying bugs that dive bomb your hair and face. They don't bite, they just annoy; wear a hat. The cement tee boxes are elevated which can be complicated for those who have long run ups. It's been a dry summer, but if it rains a lot, the course can get a little swampy in some places (nothing too serious). When it rains a lot, mosquitoes will be lingering at certain holes so bring bug spray if it's been wet. There is also poison ivy in some of the denser areas off the fairways, so be careful looking for errant discs.
Other Thoughts: I believe the current rating of this corse is undersated. This is probably because it was receiving reviews prior to its completion. The more recent reviews have been much higher. Best free course I've played in CNY, hands down.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Best in Syracuse

5+    7/13/2012   7/26/2012
Review By: lcra0825
Played: 77  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 7.6 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - variety of hole design; Most of the holes have a unique look which keeps the round interesting including many great basket placements. I never get bored playing this course
- signs for each tee including cement tee pads with the number of the tee on them
- Excellent mix of open and wooded holes
- variety in lengths of holes: There are some longer wide open holes for those who like to blast with mostly medium length holes with 1 or 2 short ones.
Cons: - some long walks between holes 10 and 11 and 14 and 15 I think
- Tee 7 can be hard to find even with a map
- no real good way to just play back 9 or front 9. Not a big deal unless your short for time
Other Thoughts: I live in Rochester and look forward to playing this course every time I go to Syracuse. This course is a lot of fun despite being in a park. Other park users never seem to get in the way of my rounds.I really like the variety in this course. I feel I can see lots of different looks all in one course. Highly reccomended

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 NY course

2-4    7/2/2011   11/24/2011
Review By: aPfaff
Played: 69  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 4.6 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: I really enjoyed "most" of the course. The layout utilized a good portion of the park. The tees were concrete and the baskets weren't vandalized. I liked holes,1,2,10,13,15,16 a lot

Hole #1- a nice little RHBH shot in the woods, this hole makes you think about the trees and other obstacles, a great starting hole.

Hole #2- A short easy straight shot in the woods, a nice easy birdie before the inevitable 4 on the next hole

Hole# 10- From some woods across a plain to other woods, for a birdie you have to hit this little gap in the trees and travel about 30 to the basket. This is my favorite hole on this course.

Hole #13- A wide open power anny for a RHBH thrower. If you cut to early though and go into the thin strip of woods you are in jail another risk reward hole

Hole #15- A cool wooded hole where you throw into the woods and is only 270 ish or so, but has a good chunk of trees in the way to maneuver around

Hole #16- Has multiple fairways and is an easy deuce if you hit the line(s), jsut a little tunnel shot

The course wasn't that crowded when I was there, I only met a few other disc golfers there and we played a round so it was fairly nice
Cons: It only looked like a quarter of the course was cared for, it was really marshy in some parts in others there were weeds that were up to my knees and more. I lost two discs because of this. There are some spots were you don't even want to go to retrieve your discs. The grass was mowed on the wide open holes, but that was it. Also no tee signs is kind of a con. I played to the wrong basket on 3 and got lost from 10-11. I didn't like holes 17-18 becasue to end the course with 500+ wide open holes is stupid. 18 is almost an automatic 4 if you can't power house it.

Another thing about the tees is that they are pretty tiny and if you really want to do a big run up you have to step onto the tee that is elevated which creates a very awkward run up.

One more thing is that on 6 you have to walk over a small marsh and all that is there for you is the bottom of crates. They didn't have a small bridge just the bottoms of crates. It was very disappointing to get some of my sneaker muddy.
Other Thoughts: It is near my aunts house so I expect to play it next year, hopefully it will be much nicer. Until then it is really the only course that is relatively close. If you are driving by, I'd play it, but I'd bring a map. If you are looking for some better courses come down to spotsylvania VA.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Almost There

2-4    8/6/2011   8/8/2011
Review By: Stairyo
Played: 34  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 8.1 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Descently laid out course makes good use of the area. Nice cement tees on every hole. Dry spell has left this usually wet area nice and dry. Based on previous reviews it appears that this course has undergone much improvement in preparation for it's grand opening on 8/14/2011.
Cons: No signage anywhere. Baskets and posts are mislabled. Makes the first play through challenging and a bit frustrating.

Long walks between holes 10 & 11 and 14 & 15. Holes 17 and 18 pretty much play out and back on the same open fairway with little challenge or creativity.
Other Thoughts: The course is only 5 minutes from the NYS Throughway and is worth a stop if you are passing through.

My guess is that whoever put the baskets and posts back in after the last winter didn't realize that they were labled so they are all in the wrong places. If you park in the small lot past the fields on Henry Clay Blvd you should be able to follow the layout, but ignore the posts and only look at the teepads as they are labled correcly.

The course definately has potential so hopefully the upcoming Grand Opening will bring some tee signs which will help quite a bit.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  Clay

2-4    8/11/2011   6/18/2011
Review By: Fremont Flinger
Played: 4  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 3.1 Years
This review was updated on 8/23/2011
Pros: Nice concrete tee pads with hole numbers engraved. All holes are now labeled correctly. Good variety, makes you work a lot of different shots.
Cons: Not many anymore, can get buggy on certain days. I'm not a long thrower so i'm not a fan of 3,17 & 18, wide open 500+ foot shots. The 14th hole is tough to find an angle to. Long walk from 10 to 11.
Other Thoughts: This course is vastly improved from the spring, with new drainage system and walking paths. Lots of stone was put down in the problem areas, so even after all the rain in the last week, the course was almost completely dry. I have become a big fan of this course over the course of the summer

  Clay Park

2-4    9/5/2010   9/5/2010
Review By: mark p
Played: 6  Reviewed: 1
Pros: There is a good blend between woods and open holes. This course is a lot of fun and doesn't require any hiking; it's all flat!
Cons: The nice new tee-boxes are too high and make it dangerous to get aggressive on the long shots; it is understandable because of the marshy ground. Some woods holes need to have fairways manicured a little better. Some holes have no "good" choice.
Other Thoughts: Benefits the longer armed players.

  getting better

2-4    8/15/2010   8/18/2010
Review By: rwolcik
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
Pros: nice use of surronding foilage making it technical on most holes. new concrete tee pads make for better footing. almost all hole with pads new pads being put in weekly with hole number stamped in crete.
Cons: a little wet and some bugs but very bareable. during local football season need to tee off from different spot on #3. some SCHWAG on some holes still needs to be cleaned up but is in progress.
Other Thoughts: in believe Clay can and willbe one of the nicer corses in the CNY area. Hopefully will be plenty of tourneys to be played here. course is geeting nicer by the week. looking forward to the new additions

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.