Ferrum, VA 
Ferrum College Share
Uploaded By: whowan Hole #4 (Taken 1/2009)
3 / 283ft.   3 / 438ft. Par / Distance:



Reviews: 9
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Get Schooled

1    5/17/2014   5/18/2014
Review By: BrotherDave
Played: 100  Reviewed: 98  Exp: 7.1 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Technical woods course in the gorgeous VA foothills that makes me want to go Back to School, Rodney Dangerfield style. The short layout looks like a great par 54 course whereas the long "a" layout we played showed us "no respect, no respect at all."

Mature woods, rolling elevation, and a secluded, natural feel usually makes for good disc golf and this course is no exception. If you like threading gaps and parking the basket off the tee then you'll enjoy it here. There are also a nice couple of big, downhill bomber holes that play along power lines for airing it out. It's not all needle threading either, there are some confidence boosting deuce or die type, "just avoid the big couple of trees," kind of holes too, especially the first two.

A pretty decent amount of variety although no real multi-shot holes so it could seem same-y but it mixes in enough openness and elevation to keep it from feeling monotonous. I really liked how secluded from the campus the course felt, unlike Mars Hill where it's painfully obvious you're on a campus.

Some really neat pin placements, like hole 5's where the basket sits on a ridge between two deep trenches. Also liked the zombie hand coming out of the ground near 11's basket.
Cons: I wish we played the short layout for a couple of reasons. It looked like more fun b/c it had better tees and the idea for the long tee on many holes seemed to be "push it back farther and at a goofy angle where only a prayer of a RHBH turnover will go anywhere." Hole 5 is a good example of this. They were doable lines but I'd like to see difficulty measured more than with just distance and quirky angles. I don't mind tough turnover shots but some of the holes would have been murder on southpaws or FH guys.

The course needed to be mowed some, particularly hole 3. It's on a college campus, so the usual beer litter is apparent but there is a decent number of trash cans.

There are little creeks here and there but no water to speak of.
Other Thoughts: This course is really slept on. I thoroughly enjoyed it and the shorts here and Sontag make for a good day of discin'. There was nobody on the course despite it being a beautiful Saturday afternoon (I suspect most students were on break) so that was terrific.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Best College Course

2-4    9/1/2013   9/3/2013
Review By: Steelo
Played: 83  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 7.3 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great use of elevation and space. Mostly a wooded course with a couple open holes. Easy to navigate, the transitions were obvious. I really loved the atmosphere of the course. Besides the disc golf, the course is a wonderful walk in the woods. Short and long teepads provide different levels of challenge.
The course was also mowed and mantained.
Cons: Uneven and slightly small teepads were the only issue.
Other Thoughts: This was the best college course I have played. I have come to expect short and usually poorly designed courses on college campuses, this one is worth the drive.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course

1    7/14/2012   7/14/2012
Review By: jordanferg92
Played: 38  Reviewed: 29  Exp: 3.1 Years
This review was updated on 7/15/2012
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: (1) Signs are great and the whole layout is easy to follow
(2) Makes great use of terrain
(3) All par 3's so it's easy to remember your score
(4) Trash cans at some holes
(5) Very unique holes, never felt like I was playing a hole that I had already played before
(6) 18 puts you right at hole 1
(7) Practice basket
(8) Gravel Tees allow good grip
Cons: (1) I can see this course getting muddy very easily
(2) Some stumps in the fairways so don't trip
(3) Downed trees on paths
(4) Signs don't have maps, had to walk a ways to find the basket
Other Thoughts: Although this course plays mostly through the woods there are a surprising amount of nice open shots. For bing in the woods I never felt like I didn't have a place to throw. Very technical course to play but also very rewarding. We had a random dog walking the course with us (we named it Charles.) Overall I think this was a great course and I can't wait to play it again. Reminded me of Golden Hills in Blacksburg. There are also some medium length holes to let you throw a bit further. Woods are also pretty forgiving. Just a fun, short, technical course to help tone your short game. This course appears to have been well taken care of. However, I would like to see better signs and the tees could use some more gravel, but other than that I don't see anything into change or add.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Short Woods Course

5+    11/5/2013   5/15/2012
Review By: vtarchiek
Played: 48  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 6.1 Years
This review was updated on 11/5/2013
Pros: - Lots of elevation change creates a good variety of holes, good mix of left vs. right turning holes
- Good signage, easy to follow the course layout
- Practice basket next to hole #1
- The course flows well, you don't have to walk far between holes
- Very picturesque, most of the course is untouched woods. Playing the course feels like a hike through the woods.
Cons: - Only 3 real driver holes, most holes only require a putter or midrange
- Shorter holes (180'-220') can get a little repetitive
- Gravel tee pads are OK, some are short & could use some work
- Several of the alternate (blue) tees require ridiculously tight or unrealistic tee shots to get anywhere near the basket (ie. holes 6-8 & 12). I feel like these should be re-evaluated to provide some type of fairway for a standard backhand/forehand throw.
Other Thoughts: Overall this is a nice course. Good place to work on your midrange game, almost every hole gives you a good birdie opportunity. As I mentioned above, several of the blue tees don't add anything to the holes, however a lot of the blue tees are definitely worth playing.

Favorite holes are 3, 5 and 18.

 Ferrum College DGC

1    12/1/2011   12/1/2011
Review By: germs
Played: 66  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 11.5 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course has been well maintained. The school has a disc golf team, and I imagine they are the ones providing the maintenance. It's easy to navigate the course, with signs for all tees and alternate tees. All of the tees are gravel. Although a bit small, they are all in great shape. Somebody had actually raked the areas between the baskets and the next tee to make the trails between holes more obvious. It's a fun, challenging technical course. Good throws are rewarded, but bad throws are not necessarily punished. None of the holes are too incredibly easy, since all but #3 are in the woods. There are about 5 trash cans on the course, and the course is extremely clean.
Cons: Some of the gravel tees are a bit small, but there is usually adequate room behind the tees so you can run up. The signs only say the distance, there isn't a map, so you might have to walk up the fairway to spot the basket on a couple of holes. There isn't really a bathroom, so bring your own TP!
Other Thoughts: I would recommend this course to anyone in the area, or anyone traveling through. If you're coming from Blacksburg/Christiansburg, be careful which way you go. My GPS nav took me through a road marked "4x4/ATV Only, road not maintained." I took it anyway, all 3 treacherous miles of it. Straight downhill, huge ruts, 400 foot cliffs, and huge boulders to drive over. "DRY HILL ROAD" I don't think anyone else had driven down it in years! Definitely take 221 around.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    9/4/2010   10/13/2010
Review By: stsiler
Played: 26  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 9.1 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - A great course nestled right on the campus of Ferrum College.
- Typically quiet on the course with low traffic.
- A fantastic and creative use of the terrain available.
- A short wooded course that has plenty of risk/reward shots and elevation changes.
- A challenging, yet reasonable layout that will test your accuracy on many holes.
.
Cons: - Small, gravel tee boxes on most holes can cause footing difficulty on tee shots.
- Beware of the thorns on/near Hole 5. They will puncture through your shoe and into your foot!
Other Thoughts: - For a full day of disc golf, play Ferrum and then drive over to the 18 hole course at Sontag and enjoy the full Franklin County 36!

Score Breakdown:
Variety:3 Balance:3 Strategy:4 Character:4 Fun:4 Avg: 3.6

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Ferrum College

2-4    8/14/2009   8/14/2009
Review By: Palmer
Played: 5  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 14.7 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Hole #5: A great hole to ace, but tough to birdie. You just have to play it.

Very technical and very challenging.
Cons: I don't recommend taking children to the course due to the beer cans and bottles. It is after a college campus.
Other Thoughts: Most holes are easy to locate. From the basket just follow the worn paths. 18 is a bit tricky. After the basket on 17 head up the hill to the field. Hang a left for about 30 feet, the start of 18 is on the edge of the trees heading down.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 like a dorey park of the west

2-4    5/16/2009   5/17/2009
Review By: gottafixit
Played: 437  Reviewed: 67  Exp: 11.5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Tees are clearly marked(downed tree borders) and numbered with distance. Course is easy to navigate, most paths are easy to spot or lined with trees. Great mix of shots, left, right, straight, up and down. Technical shots make short distances challenging. Plays quick for multiple rounds. Room to grow.
Cons: Natural tees are the only con here and it's not really a big one they could just use some leveling and de-rooting.
Other Thoughts: I really enjoyed this course as I'm a fan of short and technical. They put some time and effort into making nice defined fairways and paths, most lined with downed trees. Because of the clearing efforts this course is easy to follow for first timers, a stripe of paint on a basket rung would go a long way but didn't see the need for a lot of signs. The hole variation is fantastic with 15 in the woods, and 3(3,4,11) that are fairly open. With most holes being fairly short the technical aspect still makes it interesting.

I think this course is still going to get better. They have room for a second set of tees I believe on most holes, and could clear the remaining roots from the shorts. I thought it was a shame the pond didn't get used but maybe the longs could use it on I think 13. I would also work on defining the fairways on 7 and 17, and get rid of the one little tree on 5's left route.

The course was great fun and had some fun holes like 5 that sat atop between to 8ft ditches, 18 that was a big downhill the fading left. I would have loved to of had this course on campus.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    4/25/2010   1/23/2009
Review By: 21730
Played: 35  Reviewed: 4
This review was updated on 4/26/2010
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Good use of elevation on short, technical holes. You better make a good upshot because there is roll-away potential out there. The pin placments are the best part of the course design by far.

UPDATE - 4/26/2010: Lot of work has went into making the course better in the last 6 months or so. Ther are now a few alternate tees, and every tee pad has a solid base of gravel. Course is coming together nicely. Kudos to all involved on the hard work put into the course
Cons: - It's still a little rough out there, but that is to be expected on a brand new woods course. If you miss the fairway there is a good chance you'll find a brush pile. The tees are natural, and could use some attention as well. But, it is a new course, and most are a constant work in progress.
Other Thoughts: The best thing about the course is that it is only 10 minutes or so from my house, and rounds can be played rather quickly.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.