Watsonville, CA 
Pinto Lake DGC Share
Uploaded By: JMONEY Hole #3 (Taken 11/2011)
3 / 353ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Directional Sign



Reviews: 21
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 great course

5+    10/10/2010   10/10/2010
Review By: there4iluv2thr0w
Played: 34  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 32.6 Years
0 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: great course new signs all over , i couldnt see how u need course is easy to navigate , clean ,benches everywhere, bring your big arm for the long holes , super fun course no waiting "delayed" , stop and get the best bacon wrapped dog at the store on the way in
Cons: some poison oak

0 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 very long and tough course with no map to the back 9

2-4    7/3/2010   7/10/2010
Review By: chipper408
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 9.4 Years
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: front 9 are awesome but hella long shots, old barns and buildings...kinda cool, bathrooms, not much traffic, free parking- and lots of it, front 9 is very easy to get through without a map or guide..
Cons: very narrow shots on alot of holes, very long shots on alot of holes, lots of poison oak, way too many OB's, the dumb map AND course do not tell you where the effing back 9 is, the lake will eat your disc if you try too hard to shoot far on #5...LOL
Other Thoughts: apparently the back 9 is on some little trail going around the lake near hole #4 if im not mistaken, lots of free parking, somebody HAS to put a new map up and a sign towards the back 9, dont keep it a secret dummy's... id play it if youre on a road trip or in the area, but its a doozy!!

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

  So-So new nine

2-4    1/24/2010   1/24/2010
Review By: scottiver
Played: 12  Reviewed: 1
6 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: A few nice holes
Good scenery
Hole #17
Cons: See below
Other Thoughts: Not my favorite course in the area. Original nine has some good holes, but some very tight, dangerous holes as well.
Don't really like the new nine at all. Basically the new nine is in a big giant meadow with no trees and no character at all. I don't think it is designed very well. It seems as if the designers only cared about using the entire field.
The space between 9 and 10 is over 400 ft., could have been a hole.
The 1200ft. #10 is kinda boring, just throw drive after drive until you finally arrive at the hole.
#11 was actually a really nice hole down towards the lake by a grove of trees, but then you have to backtrack the entire hole to get back to #12.
Just way to much dead space between many holes, not an efficient use of the space.

6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 

1    12/19/2009   12/20/2009
Review By: BENFTS
Played: 80  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 20.5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 9 very challenging holes. fantastic scenery and pleasant people. the course has a good flow and the old 9 hole course is fantastic, putting shot selection over power on every hole. on site bathrooms, dog friendly, 2 practice baskets right next to the parking lot and first tee. tons of parking. the new holes now #'s 5 - 13 are all pretty much the same thing but offer you a chance to really let loose and rip huge drives without the worry of loosing a disc.
Cons: lack of variety on the new holes. i personally felt that the new holes only added something to play, rather than the same championship level of the old set up. there is poison oak but keep it in the fairway and your good.
Other Thoughts: holes 13 and 11 were by far the best holes of the new ones.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    11/17/2009   11/17/2009
Review By: sharkbait
Played: 4  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.2 Years
This review was updated on 11/19/2009
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Original 9 holes are very tough and narrow, shot selection is everything. When you finish #4 turn around and follow the access road across and up the hill to the meadow.When you get to the top, turn right and follow the running trail till you find #5 that runs along the path.#6 crosses the meadow. #7 runs along the path on the far side of the meadow. #8 brings you back across the meadow. #9 is a dog leg left along the path.#10 starts in the middle of the meadow, so we you finish 9 just walk to the middle through the mowed area.#10 is a 1200' straight shot down the middle to the end of the meadow with great views of the lake.#11 heads straight down to the farthest end of the meadow, more killer views. Double back to #12 and it follows the path.#13 is down at the bottom of the hill and has a good path started, but keep on the lookout.#13 runsalong the edge of the lake and brings you back to the access road.Croos back over and continue on to #14(the old #5).The new nine are wide open but extremly long, 1200' on #10. Also the baskets on the new nine are all posts.



Cons: poision oak, spotters and a map are a big help here.
Other Thoughts: This is shaping up to be a a real championship course.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Pinto lake

2-4    1/2/2010   5/25/2009
Review By: Legend KILLer
Played: 47  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 7.3 Years
This review was updated on 1/3/2010
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Excellent signage
-Two practice baskets
-Concrete tees
-Restrooms
-Variety in shot selection
-People were friendly
-Beautiful Scenery
-Plenty of shade
-Challenging (Very)
Cons: -Poison Oak (Lots of it)
-A living, breathing disc eater (stray shots beware)
-No map for the new meadow nine but just use the directions posted by one of the reviewers. It worked for me.
Other Thoughts: I said I would return to this hole and I did. More than half a year has gone by and it still humbles me. I think I shot the same score in fact. The difficulty of this course has tripled by introducing the new 9 holes up in the meadow area. These holes are bomber holes (which I enjoy). You get the ying and yang all in one course. Technical and Distance. The hardest holes, I think, is three and 'old' 5. Three because it slopes down to the left which for a RHBH player is not a good thing and that's not even mentioning the barrage of trees you have to maneuver to reach the basket. Five because the water on the right of the narrow uphill road. Needless to say, this course is definitely difficult and should easily be a championship course when all the extra holes have tees and baskets (presently they have dirt tees and totem poles).
The course design is extremely tight which calls for control on every shot. I fortunately escaped with all my discs (again) but definitely be aware of throwing your favorite disc on some holes because it might be your last. Since you're throwing down small access roads anything thrown not on target can disappear down the side and into the lake. Be aware of the OB on every hole. There noted on the signs before every hole.
The poison oak is everywhere! If it wasn't for my wife pointing out all the poison oak (and my apparent immunity to it) I would have been covered in it. On my second visit I had to walk right into it to retrieve a disc (#13 is a basterd by the way if you go right). Apparently I'm still immune. I would recommend pants when you play here and perhaps a picture of the stuff if you don't know what it looks like. Besides that, the course is beautiful and definitely worth a visit.
One last thing... when you approach the park from the south (HWY 1), pass the first entrance into the park and go about a half mile more until you reach the other side of the lake and the second entrance. I spent about 20 minutes trying to find the course when I made the wrong turn on the first entrance.
Also, on #13 I couldn't find the tee area even though its a small well defined pathway. About half way down the path a happened to see some white spray paint which I took for the tee area. It will be on your left.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Pinto Lake

2-4    9/9/2010   3/26/2009
Review By: Peterb
Played: 69  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 21.4 Years
This review was updated on 9/17/2010
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: There are some excellent shots at pinto, and each packs a challenge. Not a course for beginners, which may keep the throngs away. Some beautiful pin settings (especially hole 6), great tees, lovely trees, and a chill atmosphere.

UPDATE:
Since this is going to be a 2011 worlds course, I thought I might saunter down the Pinto to check out the new holes and work done on the course. The course plays like a par 60, with the new holes being mostly open and fairly flat but some are long. There are birdie opportunities out in the meadow though, and a 5 on the 1200' hole 11 should be attainable for most advanced players. Great new benches out in the meadow! Did I mention the giant tee pads? AWESOME!
Cons: The 1500' walk that takes you back up the entirety of hole 12's fairway to hole 13. There had to be a way to play the meadow differently...perhaps clockwise to prevent this. In the end, it's a minor design flaw...especially compared to Tom's other course with its crossing fairways and shots into a parking lot!

Bring Tecnu, as poison oak is prevelant!
Other Thoughts: The big arms are going to love this place...especially the meadow. However, Pinto will challenge any disc golfer to throw accurately and far. The pins aren't nearly as precarious as Dela, which makes for more comfortable putting. But the OB more than makes up for it. My earlier review mentioned how the OB seemed frivolous. It made more sense to me this time around, though everyone I played with yesterday went OB at some point. The course has several round altering holes, which should make it fun to watch in next year's worlds! Great job by the volunteers to install some sweet benches throughout. The tee pads came out great and all that's needed is more permanent course signage.

Also, killer old farm equipment, barn, and farmhouse add a historical legacy to this course.

Pin positions are likely to be extended even further on several holes for Worlds.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Not for beginners

1    3/19/2009   3/20/2009
Review By: Adam Schneider
Played: 87  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 12.5 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
- Varied terrain, beautiful setting
- Challenging for advanced golfers
- Tee signs at every hole
- Two practice baskets, so you can putt back and forth
Cons:
- Poison oak, and lots of it
- Long, narrow fairways will frustrate all but the best players
Other Thoughts:
This course is for people with big arms, pinpoint accuracy, and/or a masochistic streak. Things start out fairly promising with hole #1, a downhill shot through some live oaks. #2 is a very pretty hole over a creek, but so long that it takes two perfect shots to get there. Then, starting with #3, it starts getting ugly. Not in the aesthetic sense -- it's a really great-looking course -- but most of the holes are long, a couple of them are ridiculously long, and almost all of them require you to thread your shot through very small pathways.

I don't necessarily have any issues with a course being longer than usual, or even the fact that the fairways are so narrow. The biggest problem here is that the fairways on the longest (500'+) holes -- and also #6, which plays along a ridge -- are lined with impenetrable clumps of poison oak (not to mention blackberries and stinging nettles). If your disc goes deep into one of those thickets, it may as well be at the bottom of the lake.

I have to rate this course at least 3 stars -- "Good" on the DGCR scale -- because it looks great, and I can see that a lot of work went into it, and I assume even more work will be done in the future (hopefully a lot of which will involve clearing the toxic vegetation). It's clearly designed to be a challenging venue for advanced players who think DeLaveaga isn't working them over badly enough; but I think the typical disc golfer might only have a 1- or 2-star experience here.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Rough stuff

1    3/18/2009   3/19/2009
Review By: bayareabad
Played: 22  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 10.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Beautiful setting, challenging shots; a lot of hard and very good work put into the tees, signs, etc... You can go and play this course on your own without a guide, no problem--it's so well signed.
Cons: Very tough!! Consider hole 5: it's 500 plus feet with a 15 foot fairway. If you land your disc to the left of the fairway your second shot is from a steep hill, and you've still got probably 250 feet to go. If you land it to the right it's OB in the poison oak.

Speaking of poison oak...it's everywhere on the course.

Other Thoughts: I'll definitely be back to play this incredibly challenging course and look forward to seeing what the back nine look like once they're completed.


3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 pino lake

5+    2/16/2009   2/18/2009
Review By: progolfer
Played: 38  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 36.3 Years
This review was updated on 10/29/2009
1 Helpful / 12 Not
Pros: power throwing heaven for the better players ,not the average player,need spoter for nasty bad kicks froms trees keep your eyes on your disc when playing here there is a plan for new holes
and the club is sure to follow great location boating fishing camping see you there
Cons: tight fairways ob,s, long holes good time see you there
Other Thoughts: bring a friend to play it good time on the search for your discs but the most fun i had in a while play this layout get your shots togetherthe back 9 is ready for play see you there yeah 1200+ ft hole here i come!!!!!!

1 of 13 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.