Elverson, PA 
French Creek State Park Share
Uploaded By: zapplayer12 Hole #18 (Taken 8/2009)
3 / 268ft.   3 / 405ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #18 Tee



Reviews: 35
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Super challenging for new player

1    4/13/2014   4/17/2014
Review By: revans1009
Played: 6  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 0.8 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Super technical and doesn't take a big arm to be effective.
Beautiful area and vast layout were extremely well maintained.

Silver and gold baskets play like two different courses and offer variable layouts, keeping it very interesting.
Cons: Super technical. Yes, pro and con. You simply have to focus on clean technique as trees abound everywhere.
I would have been completely lost from hole to hole if not for a great group of others leading the way.
Other Thoughts: This was a very tough outing for me personally but I really appreciated the course.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Almost entirely positive

1    11/17/2013   11/17/2013
Review By: Improbably
Played: 28  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 8.1 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: This course requires both accuracy and distance on every single hole. That's a good thing.
Cons: I hate flymats! I can't stand flymats! I loathe flymats! All kinds of flymats! I hate black flymats! I hate green flymats! I hate flymats with brooms! I hate flymats without brooms! I hate them sanctioned and non-sanctioned! I hate flymats in bunches, one at a time, or playing in groups of twos and threes! I hate flymats!
Other Thoughts: Parking situation is unfortunate in off season. I blame DNCR the course designers routed it well.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Seasoned Disc's after 18 holes

2-4    8/26/2013   9/9/2013
Review By: Fishfood
Played: 9  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 13.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 18 holes of wooded elevation change, dual baskets on most holes, rubber tee pads, good tee signage, bring your seasoned discs, b/c if they aint chewed up....they will be after a couple rounds..it's rocky.
Brooms at every tee pad...two thumbs up!
I had a blast playing here while camping at French Creek Campground. Well worth taking a trip to this fine PA park.
Cons: First time I played here I had a hell of a time figuring out where the next hole was when playing the long baskets. I don't think there was any signs directing you where to go. Even log lined paths would be helpful.
Other Thoughts: Great course and fun to play multiple rounds. Besides disc golf, this park offers many activities for the family, so if they don't play, there's so many other activities to suit their fancy.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Pardon my French

1    5/26/2013   5/31/2013
Review By: sidewinder22
Played: 106  Reviewed: 76  Exp: 8 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 18 heavily wooded holes with nice dual tees and baskets providing a variety of distances and challenge of left, right and straight shots. The available elevation is well utilized. Surprisingly little underbrush for such a wooded course. Great signage and navigation for the most part. Seems to be well maintained and gets a good amount play from beginners to seasoned vets. Disc golf only area of park. Bathrooms and water in parking lot by pool.
Cons: Not much. A couple chuck and hope shots off the long tees. A few holes play a little close to roads, and other holes. Poison Ivy rough on a couple of the back 9 holes.
Other Thoughts: I had a bon moment(french for good time) during my round on the long layout at French Creek. The state park is fairly big and has lots of other fun activities, and the course is in it's own secluded area for the most part. Hole 3 was my favorite. There is everything from an ace run to hope I get a 5. Off the fairway is tough to make any recovery shots from and the fairways aren't very big to begin with, but finding discs off the fairway wasn't much a issue. If you don't like playing in the woods you'll think the French are a-holes. There is some repetitiveness being in the woods the entire time and not much room to air anything out. Control and staying in the fairway is the name of the game. I was a little surprised there wasn't much elevation on the course, but there's not much that can done about the land provided. A little tricky finding hole 1 and 8, but after that it's smooth sailing from hole to hole for the most part. I don't recall any long walks playing the long layout, most were fairly close. The GPS coordinates on here took me to the lake not the course. Follow signs all the way to the pool and park there, then walk uphill to the far corner of the lot for hole 1. I'd recommend Frenchy to anybody that likes the woods and with Camp Sankanac fairly close it makes a pretty sweet duo to play when you can.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Good course to play

1    5/18/2013   5/22/2013
Review By: kafbucks
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice Course good. Good layout. Some parts were really challenging. Nice bright yellow signs for the holes lead me right to the next one every time so navigating through the course isn't that bad. There are two holes a silver for more casual or amatures, and there are gold holes for better players or pros.
Cons: Where there's good there's usually some bad and this course is no different. In other reviews some users made the point that there isn't much variety in the holes well that's unfortunately true, it's a very nice course just be prepared to hike through woods...woods and well more woods, I would've liked to see some variety like hills or water for a better challenge. Also that was the second time I went french creek for disc golf, but the first time I couldn't find the course at all, I went to the office to ask but they were closed for the day. I had trouble finding it this time as well and when I went to the park office again they were closed, but the hours said they were open from 8 am to 4 pm, I arrived at 10:30 am, not really a fault on the course, more so a fault against the park. I did finally find the course, if you go though just keep in mind you go down the road to the right of the office and follow that about a mile or 2 down and you'll see the first hole on the right. So they should add some signs for cars pointing to the disc golf course because they have signs for almost everything else except disc golf, they do have disc golf on the map, but it doesn't really help because that's where the course was before they moved it. Also signs to the next tee would be nice, I know I said navigating through the course wasn't so bad but there were some holes that I had trouble finding like # 8 the next tee is usually somewhere near the gold hole but that one wasn't even close. Lastly and this really isn't a major problem, but I can't ignore it either. on the holes I didn't see what the par was on any of them. They could be there and I just didn't see them so that didn't effect the rating, however there were also no score cards and that would've definitely been nice to have that and a map of the course layout on the back.
Other Thoughts: Overall this isn't a bad course. It's good for beginners and pros. but if your a beginner or intermediate like me i'd suggest playing the silver first to get to know the course, because at some holes the gold isn't far off from the silver, but in others its a major difference. (hole 3 for example has about 250' to the silver and over 900' to the gold) oh and also when you play this course you may want to park on the other side of the parking lot from hole 1, because 18 is way over there and nowhere close to hole one. However if you enjoy long walks you wont have a problem

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 PA woods and rocks!

1    11/8/2011   11/8/2011
Review By: sloppydisc
Played: 199  Reviewed: 145  Exp: 5.7 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice wooded course in a large State Park. Very nice tee pads with rubber mats. Installed very well, and plenty long for any run up. Flat and smooth. No lumps, bumps or problems. Signs at each pad showing both basket positions and flight paths, as well as distances. Silver baskets play short, and golds play long. Sometimes really freaking long.

Course is well secluded from other park users and trails.

Well defined fairways. Also there is very little under growth if you get off the fairway. Not a lot of weeds or thorns to deal with.

Nice choice between a typical wooded, technical course, or playing the Gold baskets, and playing a long Pro level course. Golds play over 8200', and will put you on a course much like Nevin in Charlotte, Nockamixon or Iron Hill.

Decent variety of left and right shots. Course doesn't really favor a particular throwing style.
Cons: Baskets can be difficult to see in the woods. Golds weren't too bad, but Silver was hard to locate in the trees. Could use some bright colors to help out.

Navigation fooled me a few times, but that may have been due to heavy leaf cover on the ground. There was some walkways that were probably more visible inn the summer. Might need a few signs or arrows for fools like me. Print the map, and you'll be fine.

No real exceptional holes or shots that are unforgettable. A little elevation is used, but there appeared to be some land available that could have offered some nice up or down hill bombs.
Other Thoughts: I enjoyed a nice round on a perfect 70 degree November day in PA. Course was just about completely wooded, but not overly tight. Hit some very fair lines, and you'll play well. A few holes were tight, but not brutally so. The under growth was almost non-existent so even if you're off your game, you can save par on most holes. This was a very good course, but lacked the wow factor I kept waiting for. The park has a nice lake, lots of rocks and so e decent hills, so I kept expecting some unique or exciting holes. They just never happened. But there was also no bad holes here. Just 18 nice, wooded holes with a short position for us humans, and a long positions for the poor fools that want to throw 450-900' shots through the woods. I would definitely recommend this course if you're close by. It it well kept, and offers two versions for different moods or skill sets.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    6/25/2011   6/25/2011
Review By: gauma369
Played: 18  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 8.3 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Two pin positions (gold/silver)
-Good signage
-Well maintained
-Benches
-Rubber tee pads
-Well defined fairways
Cons: -Very tight wooded holes
-Gold pins are very tough and long
-Lots of bugs
-No water in play
Other Thoughts: I just finished playing my first time played the gold pins first and went back and played silver pins right after. Overall very well maintained course. I enjoyed playing and would recommend and come back to play again. Although I listed no water as a con it doesnt bring down the overall rating of the course but would have been nice to have a hole or two that had water in play. I love wooded courses that are challenging and this course is def. both wooded and challenging. As others have mentioned an orange flag on the holes would help out a lot with spotting the holes from the tees which is some times very difficult. A 'next tee' sign would be helpful between 7 and 8, luckily there was a group teeing off hole 1 which helped me to find 8 tee. Very challenging course with very tight almost impossible fairways make playing gold pins frustrating at times. I am no pro so some fairways were almost impossible to stay on. If you are more of a recreational player I would def. recommend playing the silver holes although much shorter still a nice course and difficult.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Rough Yet Refined ... And A Bit Repetitive

1    7/17/2010   7/21/2010
Review By: swatso
Played: 347  Reviewed: 346  Exp: 6 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
Two baskets per hole. Fantastic rubber tees - long, wide, flat, graded. Very good, easy-to-spot signs with distance and location information. Bathrooms on site.
Cons:
Some baskets, especially the shorts, a bit difficult to spot from a distance - an orange band on the vertical pole would help. Basket-18 a bit far from tee-1.
Other Thoughts:
Course plays in three wooded portions, separated by a parking lot and access roads, of a very large, multi-purpose park. The trees are tall and thick, the shallow tree roots are plentiful, and there are many rocks scattered about (i.e. the "rough"), but the course is very well manicured, too (i.e. the "refined"). Many of the walking and/or throwing paths are lined with downed limbs, and have mulch or crushed stone on them. Several of the baskets are nicely landscaped - a retaining wall here, some crushed stone there, surrounded by mulch and encircled by downed limbs, that sort of thing.

Perhaps it is because I played to the short baskets, but the course seemed a bit repetitive. Nearly 80% of the holes fall into the 200'-300' range, and about that percentage could be described as flat/minor elevation change, with somewhat-tight but fair throwing lanes defined by very tall trees (i.e. playing amongst their trunks, vice branches posing a problem), mostly-straight early with a turn (left/right mixture) needed towards the end. All very fine holes, in-and-of-themselves, but after awhile, it is like having your favourite pizza for multiple meals in a row - still enjoyable, but you're interested in having something else after a few rounds.

Other than #2-long, and #3, which play along a broad, grassy path with a bushed-filled slope on the left, the chance of disc loss is fairly low, as the undergrowth is fairly thin. The course is a bit easier to navigate if playing to the long baskets, as most next tees are more naturally found from them, and the map is useful in helping you determine which way to go when the way isn't obvious, which it typically is.

French Creek is yet another example of the very fine Pennsylvania park system, and the course is quite good and well maintained, as are the other courses found in the other State parks.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 French Creek Reborn

5+    8/8/2009   8/21/2009
Review By: Tolbert
Played: 241  Reviewed: 32  Exp: 9.2 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: From the ashes of Pleasure Mtn and Doggy Woods comes one beast of a course. The 36 baskets were combined to make a 18 hole, 2 baskets per hole course. The silvers (shorts) are a nice par 3 wooded course with many tight, technical shots, but nothing too overwhelming. Most holes under 300 ft. The golds (longs) however take the game to a whole new level. Tight, technical wooded shots still yes, but now long and many of them multi-stage. By this I mean there are only 2 golds you can drive to the basket on, most you play for the fairway to set up you 2nd (and 3rd) shot to the pin. Several holes have fairways the make 90 degree and hairpin turns. The hole design (which feels safari at times) and the heavy woods and a bit of elevation change make for some true par 4s and 5s. Needless to say, making smart shots and playing for the fairway is a good idea here, one errant shot off a tree will leave you with no hope at par.
French Creek also offers some nice features and creative pin placements. Short rock walls line some fairways. A couple pins sit atop rock cairns and a few pins are protected by log and branch barriers.
Course navigation is easy, with the exception of 7 to tee 8 (up the hill a bit, on the side of the road, you passed it on the way in) and the bright yellow posts that serve as tee signs are easy to see through the trees.
Benches are available on most holes and a good thing, you'll do a bit of walking here, especially playing the golds.
The ground here offers a bit of a challenge as well. The terrain is rocky and uneven. A shot that lands in the middle of the fairway can still leave you with questionable footing, forcing you to stand and deliver.
Tee pads are rubber and brand new and along with these its easy to see a lot of hard work has been put in here. Greens are trimmed and often mulched (different color mulch too) nice stone steps built and lined pathways. The club has been putting in some good hours here.
Speaking of those 36 total baskets and work by the club, the course can be played in a short hole 36 pin layout. For each hole throw to the silver and then find nearby on the ground find some painted green markers (usually rocks) throw from this 'tee' to the gold pin. The green markers are easy to find and utilize the fairways you already use. If you've played the course a couple times, you probably noticed some already. And just like that, 36 hole course.
There are not any other courses in the general area (at least, not 18 holes) so having the multiple playing options is great for the locals.
Cons: A few of the fairways, little more than just walking paths, can be brutal. Holes this long and heavily wooded can be very frustrating when your disc is deflected 30ft off the fairway.
The large, bright yellow posts that are the tee signs are a good idea, but leave little room for a hole map. The golds are so long and sometimes make such dramatic turns, this is just not illustrated on the posts.
Be prepared for a long uphill walk to the car after finishing. it almost makes sense to park in the middle of the large, tiered lot to split up the hike.
Towards the middle of the back 9, the holes get a little bit repetitive. Long heavily wooded shots. This isn't a critique on the design, the park is like that and this was the land available. Its just a feeling I get from it and I'm a big fan of variety.
Other Thoughts: I like what I see here and having been seeing it more and more in courses. The availability of short, faster play course on the same location as a tough pro level course. The silvers are a fun, fairly stress free 18 and good for beginners, I had a great time playing them. I love the golds, tough holes with no mercy that will challenge any level player. It was a shame when French Creek had to shut down its 2 courses, but the new layout is a serious upgrade. I look forward to coming back and seeing the great work the local club continues to put in here.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.