Elverson, PA 
French Creek State Park Share
Uploaded By: zapplayer12 Hole #6 (Taken 8/2009)
3 / 284ft.   4 / 520ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Tee



Reviews: 35
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Poison Ivy

2-4    8/1/2013   8/10/2013
Review By: Nathan Stahl
Played: 15  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 2.1 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course will make you appreciate the open courses a little more. Very well marked tee boxes with signs to guide play to the baskets. Every hole has two baskets to play, silver (short distance) and gold (long distance). The silver markings on the baskets are hard to see, but they are all present. We played both the silver and gold baskets in different days. The gold will make you work and adds at least an hour to your time on the course. The under brush is kept down by the amount of tree cover, so finding a disk off course is easy. But getting back on course is normally difficult. Great course for a sunny day with the amount of tree cover you do not need sun block.
Cons: Watch out for the poison ivy. We saw most of it and tried to steer clear, but I still ended up with some on my lower leg. To make the perfect course there needs to be next tee signs. I had the map to help guide me to the next tee box, with out the map some of the tees can be hard to find.
Other Thoughts: It was a load of fun and will make you a better controlled disk golfer. If you love to play long holes then the gold is your game. The gold 3rd basket is marked at over 900 feet and I think that is even short. It would be nice to have one open throw throughout play, but I guess I could get that at most other courses.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

French Creek is worth checking out

1    7/12/2013   7/15/2013
Review By: Abrigh1
Played: 26  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 3.4 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -If you are into wooded courses that require accuracy this is your course, only a few open shots
-Nice baskets
-Tee pads at every hole
-Rarely crowded except on Wednesday afternoons and Sunday mornings when they have leagues going on
-Signage is great and easy to follow
-Two baskets for each hole (silver and gold to play, the longer gold holes make this is a very long round)
-Even though it is in the woods the area off the fairways isn't too think so as long as you watch where you throw (few blind shots) you shouldn't get too torn up or lose a disc. I play here once a week and have never lost one even with throws over 300 feet
-Challenging course
Cons: -Hardly any to speak of. This is a great course that will make you a better player. After playing this course it will make open courses seem so much easier.
-Long walk from #7 to #8 and from #18 back to your car, but hey it's good exercise right?
Other Thoughts: I recommend the use of tomahawk throws here. They really cut down on the number of trees you will hit. The first time playing this course can be frustrating, but once you know where to throw to and aim at, it gets alot more fun. Overall one of the best courses in the state of PA.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Wow!

1    12/12/2011   12/14/2011
Review By: laderjr
Played: 13  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 3.2 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Loved it! Very Wooded and right on the edge of the hunting grounds in this state park. There are a LOT of great shots here! multiple baskets (Silver and Gold) per tee. The gold being the pro baskets are averaged at about 600 feet per shot with one or 2 at 900 plus. Elevation changes are a little deceptive and some over the hill shots. World Class Course that is well marked and well cared for! The length of the holes makes amature play difficult, but if you're a dedicated player then you'll have a lot of fun.
Cons: The only 2 Cons I can think of are these: 1: This course is right next to/on a public hunting ground, so if you go in the fall, wear proper hunting safety clothing! 2: This course is set on the side of a mountain, so the Uphill/Downhill walking makes it a little more strenuous than mose courses.
Other Thoughts: Play this course ... Make an extra trip to play this course. That is all!

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Deep woods and rolling hills

5+    6/12/2010   6/12/2010
Review By: Cyclops
Played: 70  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 23.4 Years
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: If you like a well maintained course with tight fairways, and nice tee pads? Then this is the place for you. Even as we played there were locals leveling the fairways with cinder and mulch. There are clear lines/fairways for getting a nice drive from the tee pad for some birdie opportunities. Good mix of fade right & left drives and a dogleg here and there to spice up your game. This area of the park is free for the most part of non-disc golfers. You may run into one or two near the parking lot/swimming area. Over-all a great park to challenge your skill level with both silver and gold basket positions. Pars are fair and even a little generous on some holes. Many of the holes on this course require you to play a smart game with more emphasis on shaping lines and keeping your drives in the fairway. Errant drives aren't dreadfully hard to recover from. Clean drives and disc placement will give you Par on 90% of this course.

You don't really need a map to follow this course it flows nicely from baskets to tees. There are maybe 2 tees that you have to look a little for (8 &14).
Cons: Some of the gold baskets are over 600 & 700' in deep woods. Other than a few brutally long holes which, keep in mind are gold.
No water to be had that I could find
Some tee post combination signs aren't in the ground yet. It's still a work in progress, but won't effect your game.
The first 7 holes play on one side of the parking lot, which you will loop back to find hole 8. This area is buggy as all, so bring your bug spray. Don't guess about it, if it's summer? You bring bug spray, period.
Please put some trash cans on this course and especially near Tee #1, parking area.
Other Thoughts: From the two old courses that were here, one truly great course has been made. Kudos to the locals for a very smart choice!
For a relatively new course this park plays great. With double baskets (silver & gold) on every hole, it will suit your skill level.
Keep in mind this a rural location played on the side of a rocky hill. Wear some good foot wear, no water in play.
In the summer you can walk around the pool house to the concession widow and buy whatever you feel like eating or cold drinks.
The landscaping around some of the tees shows how much the locals care about this course. One of PA's better disc golf locations and if your passing through, a must play. You won't be disappointed. If you hate wooded courses or are relatively new DG'er it will be a tough play. The more you play this park the more you will grow to love it.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Hard Hardwood Course

1    1/4/2009   2/4/2009
Review By: optidiscic
Played: 155  Reviewed: 149  Exp: 12.3 Years
This review was updated on 8/28/2014
10 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is still in it's infancy but what is evidently clear is that Pennsylvania has another Gem being carved out of Penn's Woods. This course is long, very long. Several True Par 4s and a probable par 5. Every Hole plays through Old growth forrest with elevation changes on many of the holes. I can't stress the challenge here....many holes over 500 feet, most over 450, and some longer than that through woods. There are gold and silver baskets, so you can play the hard silvers or the frighteningly difficult gold baskets. Beginners will be able to play along with experts here, just like Warwick, hurray! Huge parking Lot...Great long tee pads with fly pads I believe. An epic par 5 hole #3 will soon be a talked about hole throughout the disc golf world. I am not exagerating here this course is gonna raise some eyebrows. Gauntlet hole #4 is over 500 feet with a straight tight fairway to a raised basket.....makes you remember the gauntlet at Paw Paw and when you finish it you might even forget the Gauntlet at Paw Paw it is that sadistically pleasurable. Established disc golf scene here due to the pre-existing older courses here. Much safer than old courses due to playing strictly in the woods away from other park goers. A couple really cool greens here. One with a barrier made from branches and one big grassy one as you exit the woods...very cool. The new holes are extreme woodland golf....1 down and 2 back up set the tone with fun little elevation shifts through woods.3 and 4 are signature holes. 4 is the gauntlet and 3 is a loooong graceful downhill drive using an old fire road which slopes off hard to the left, don't hyzer or your shooting a snowman or worse, eventually you will see the basket tucked at the bottom of the hill to the right protected by some trees. After the gauntlet your mind has shifted and your playing brutally long wooded holes over 500 feet and your idea of disc golf has been warped. Wonderful! This place has those long tight but just right kind of fairways that good disc golfers love...similiar to Nockamixon in that regard.
Cons: It's new so there is still grooming and fine tuning to be done...Needs to be better marked. At times, I was looking for a simple hole just to give me a break or to cushion my ego...not gonna happen. There are no open holes...so forget any chance to unleash your frustration after hitting trees after trees. Elevation is evident but nothing huge or dramatic and no water in play here....nitpicking there. It's a grueling course that will beat up your discs and your ego...be prepared for that...definetely not beginner friendly.
Other Thoughts: Still a work in progress. My rating will rise when I go back when the course is completely finished. Info Kiosk, maps, tee signs ,better marked etc. will raise it half a disc. The course is located in the far upper corner of the pool parking lot...best way to describe is front part of course plays the far woods to the left of lot and the back part play the woods to the right of lot. Have Fun.

10 of 11 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.