Elverson, PA 
French Creek State Park Share
Uploaded By: zapplayer12 Hole #16 (Taken 8/2009)
3 / 260ft.   3 / 353ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #16 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 41
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
Great challenge for all skill levels

5+    4/10/2016   4/27/2016
Review By: PhotoGuy98
Played: 64  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 11.5 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Multiple pin positions for all skill levels, technical, a wide variety of fairways (uphill, downhill, dogleg left, dogleg right, tunnel, low ceiling), peaceful location, scenic, well maintained, nice tee pads/baskets.
Cons: Course can be frustrating and unforgiving for some, poor cell phone service!
Other Thoughts: This is a great course for those looking for a technical challenge. Placement is the key here. The club does a great job on the upkeep and holding tournaments. Although this is a great course, I still miss the old courses.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Awesomely relentless!

1    2/22/2016   2/23/2016
Review By: Zunz
Played: 80  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 3.1 Years
This review was updated on 3/29/2016
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Amazing tee pads
Great tee signs
Nice flow
Relentless
Cons: The walk back up the hill to where I parked by hole 1.
Other Thoughts: I played my round early in the morning the day after a tournament in late February... The course was in perfect condition. I have never seen flymat tee pads looking so perfect. The upkeep of this course is top notch, the paths between basket and tee were clear and some even seemed 'decorated' with lined up stones.
I'm a rec/am level player and didn't find anything about this course to be unfair or impossible, but it is relentless! I played the gold pins and the only time I felt in any way frustrated by this course was when I parked the silver basket with my drive, my scorecard would have looked A LOT better with all those birds on it. With that said, these are some of the tightest fairways I have ever seen and they just keep coming.

Holes 1 & 2 play down and then back up a pretty steep slope. I was a little concerned that this might be foreshadowing of the entire day, but was happy to see the elevation changes were a little more gradual over the next 16. I don't mind throwing the ups and downs (love throwing the downs), but it would have made for a tough hike.

Hole 3 is about as open as it gets here, almost 900' along what was probably a fire road with a steep drop off to the left. My second throw missed the fairway right, I was only about ten or fifteen feet out and when I say I had no shot to even get back to the fairway, I mean I had NO shot! I threw horizontally to the fairway giving up a shot just to get back and it still took me 2 throws to get out! Behind that wall though, the rough is wide open, I had no trouble finding my disc and my movement to throw was unrestricted, there's just no clean way to get back to the fairway... It's damn impressive! Eventually the fairway turns gradually left and goes downhill to a basket tucked off to the right inviting one of the coolest forehands I've ever thrown.

Hole 4 is might be the longest, tightest perfectly straight fairway I've ever thrown (after the initial curvy bit off the tee). After 4 or 5 throws and still having half the hole left, I finally realized what kind of course this was going to be and I pulled out my star leopard (the only premium plastic I had with me and a straight flier that will hold whatever line I put it on) and pretty much threw it for the rest of the day.

Hole 8 is farther up the hill than it looks on the map (just keep following the road)

There were a couple of times on the back 9 that I had to look at the map to find the next tee, but nothing that took more than half a minute to figure out.

Final thoughts: This course is rocky! Wear good shoes. Don't bring the cheap plastic, I did and several of my discs were a lot less stable after my round. This is a Great course if you like tight throwing lanes with a major premium placed on accuracy. I would say based on the tightness of the fairways and how thick the forest is around them that this is not a beginner friendly course. But if you're up for a challenge, this course is on par with some of the best I've played. I don't think a course needs big open holes peppered in to be considered a 'great' course, French Creek is tightly wooded and unapologetic about it. I thoroughly enjoyed my round and will certainly be back. I'm looking forward to seeing what it looks like in the summer when the lines get even smaller and errant shots wont make it through like they were today. I'm giving it 4 discs after one time around, I have a feeling that will go up after I play here a few more times and also see what this park is really like with the pool open and a concession stand after 18 so I can fuel up for the hike back up to where I parked... or more likely, another round on this awesome course!

Edit: I played another round and a half at French Creek this week and I'm already bumping my review up to that 4.5 just based on how great this course is. I wish I lived closer!

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

One of my All Time Favorites

5+    7/10/2015   7/19/2015
Review By: beardlikeabe
Played: 7  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 11.5 Years
This review was updated on 7/23/2015
3 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Overall, this course is amazing.

This course has a great deal of diversity and some elevation. There just a few open holes, however majority are wooded.

-The tee-boxes are in amazing condition. The rubber pad is virtually brand new and provides excellent traction for driving. On each of the tee-box markers, there is a broom handy to brush off any debris. These were the first thing I noticed and its always really nice to not have to worry about footing off the tee.

- There are multiple pins (silver/gold) for additional difficulty if desired. Par information can be found on each tee-box for the different pin placements.

-The baskets are in great condition and have crisp yellow paint to guide you through the course.

-The navigation was OK. Hole 1-8 are extremely easy to follow but 9-18 was a bit more challenging. Not a "Con" but I wanted to be clear that we followed the map and had no issues, but if you do not have a map you could get turned around easy.

-I really liked the diversity in length and shape of the holes. Some were really straight narrow and wooded, while others were of the dog-leg variety.

-RHBH Players: this is definitely a course you want to check out. There are several really straight holes that just finish to the left. A nice long hyzer and you are dropping the disc in the basket for a bird.
Cons: -If you have never played the course before, a few of the holes can get confusing but download the course map here and you will be just fine.

-Wish there were a few more open holes to just break the course up a bit. I played this course back in 2005 and it was a bit different since it has been redone.

- Should be a few other signs near the main park to show where the course starts. Once you find the swimming pool its really easy to locate. (top left corner if you are standing in the pool facing the parking lot)

3 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Poison Ivy

2-4    8/1/2013   8/10/2013
Review By: Nathan Stahl
Played: 18  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 4.4 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course will make you appreciate the open courses a little more. Very well marked tee boxes with signs to guide play to the baskets. Every hole has two baskets to play, silver (short distance) and gold (long distance). The silver markings on the baskets are hard to see, but they are all present. We played both the silver and gold baskets in different days. The gold will make you work and adds at least an hour to your time on the course. The under brush is kept down by the amount of tree cover, so finding a disk off course is easy. But getting back on course is normally difficult. Great course for a sunny day with the amount of tree cover you do not need sun block.
Cons: Watch out for the poison ivy. We saw most of it and tried to steer clear, but I still ended up with some on my lower leg. To make the perfect course there needs to be next tee signs. I had the map to help guide me to the next tee box, with out the map some of the tees can be hard to find.
Other Thoughts: It was a load of fun and will make you a better controlled disk golfer. If you love to play long holes then the gold is your game. The gold 3rd basket is marked at over 900 feet and I think that is even short. It would be nice to have one open throw throughout play, but I guess I could get that at most other courses.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 French Creek is worth checking out

1    7/12/2013   7/15/2013
Review By: Abrigh1
Played: 29  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 5.7 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -If you are into wooded courses that require accuracy this is your course, only a few open shots
-Nice baskets
-Tee pads at every hole
-Rarely crowded except on Wednesday afternoons and Sunday mornings when they have leagues going on
-Signage is great and easy to follow
-Two baskets for each hole (silver and gold to play, the longer gold holes make this is a very long round)
-Even though it is in the woods the area off the fairways isn't too think so as long as you watch where you throw (few blind shots) you shouldn't get too torn up or lose a disc. I play here once a week and have never lost one even with throws over 300 feet
-Challenging course
Cons: -Hardly any to speak of. This is a great course that will make you a better player. After playing this course it will make open courses seem so much easier.
-Long walk from #7 to #8 and from #18 back to your car, but hey it's good exercise right?
Other Thoughts: I recommend the use of tomahawk throws here. They really cut down on the number of trees you will hit. The first time playing this course can be frustrating, but once you know where to throw to and aim at, it gets alot more fun. Overall one of the best courses in the state of PA.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Wow!

1    12/12/2011   12/14/2011
Review By: laderjr
Played: 13  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 5.5 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Loved it! Very Wooded and right on the edge of the hunting grounds in this state park. There are a LOT of great shots here! multiple baskets (Silver and Gold) per tee. The gold being the pro baskets are averaged at about 600 feet per shot with one or 2 at 900 plus. Elevation changes are a little deceptive and some over the hill shots. World Class Course that is well marked and well cared for! The length of the holes makes amature play difficult, but if you're a dedicated player then you'll have a lot of fun.
Cons: The only 2 Cons I can think of are these: 1: This course is right next to/on a public hunting ground, so if you go in the fall, wear proper hunting safety clothing! 2: This course is set on the side of a mountain, so the Uphill/Downhill walking makes it a little more strenuous than mose courses.
Other Thoughts: Play this course ... Make an extra trip to play this course. That is all!

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Deep woods and rolling hills

5+    6/12/2010   6/12/2010
Review By: Cyclops
Played: 79  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 25.7 Years
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: If you like a well maintained course with tight fairways, and nice tee pads? Then this is the place for you. Even as we played there were locals leveling the fairways with cinder and mulch. There are clear lines/fairways for getting a nice drive from the tee pad for some birdie opportunities. Good mix of fade right & left drives and a dogleg here and there to spice up your game. This area of the park is free for the most part of non-disc golfers. You may run into one or two near the parking lot/swimming area. Over-all a great park to challenge your skill level with both silver and gold basket positions. Pars are fair and even a little generous on some holes. Many of the holes on this course require you to play a smart game with more emphasis on shaping lines and keeping your drives in the fairway. Errant drives aren't dreadfully hard to recover from. Clean drives and disc placement will give you Par on 90% of this course.

You don't really need a map to follow this course it flows nicely from baskets to tees. There are maybe 2 tees that you have to look a little for (8 &14).
Cons: Some of the gold baskets are over 600 & 700' in deep woods. Other than a few brutally long holes which, keep in mind are gold.
No water to be had that I could find
Some tee post combination signs aren't in the ground yet. It's still a work in progress, but won't effect your game.
The first 7 holes play on one side of the parking lot, which you will loop back to find hole 8. This area is buggy as all, so bring your bug spray. Don't guess about it, if it's summer? You bring bug spray, period.
Please put some trash cans on this course and especially near Tee #1, parking area.
Other Thoughts: From the two old courses that were here, one truly great course has been made. Kudos to the locals for a very smart choice!
For a relatively new course this park plays great. With double baskets (silver & gold) on every hole, it will suit your skill level.
Keep in mind this a rural location played on the side of a rocky hill. Wear some good foot wear, no water in play.
In the summer you can walk around the pool house to the concession widow and buy whatever you feel like eating or cold drinks.
The landscaping around some of the tees shows how much the locals care about this course. One of PA's better disc golf locations and if your passing through, a must play. You won't be disappointed. If you hate wooded courses or are relatively new DG'er it will be a tough play. The more you play this park the more you will grow to love it.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Hard Hardwood Course

1    1/4/2009   2/4/2009
Review By: optidiscic
Played: 156  Reviewed: 149  Exp: 14.5 Years
This review was updated on 8/28/2014
13 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is still in it's infancy but what is evidently clear is that Pennsylvania has another Gem being carved out of Penn's Woods. This course is long, very long. Several True Par 4s and a probable par 5. Every Hole plays through Old growth forrest with elevation changes on many of the holes. I can't stress the challenge here....many holes over 500 feet, most over 450, and some longer than that through woods. There are gold and silver baskets, so you can play the hard silvers or the frighteningly difficult gold baskets. Beginners will be able to play along with experts here, just like Warwick, hurray! Huge parking Lot...Great long tee pads with fly pads I believe. An epic par 5 hole #3 will soon be a talked about hole throughout the disc golf world. I am not exagerating here this course is gonna raise some eyebrows. Gauntlet hole #4 is over 500 feet with a straight tight fairway to a raised basket.....makes you remember the gauntlet at Paw Paw and when you finish it you might even forget the Gauntlet at Paw Paw it is that sadistically pleasurable. Established disc golf scene here due to the pre-existing older courses here. Much safer than old courses due to playing strictly in the woods away from other park goers. A couple really cool greens here. One with a barrier made from branches and one big grassy one as you exit the woods...very cool. The new holes are extreme woodland golf....1 down and 2 back up set the tone with fun little elevation shifts through woods.3 and 4 are signature holes. 4 is the gauntlet and 3 is a loooong graceful downhill drive using an old fire road which slopes off hard to the left, don't hyzer or your shooting a snowman or worse, eventually you will see the basket tucked at the bottom of the hill to the right protected by some trees. After the gauntlet your mind has shifted and your playing brutally long wooded holes over 500 feet and your idea of disc golf has been warped. Wonderful! This place has those long tight but just right kind of fairways that good disc golfers love...similiar to Nockamixon in that regard.
Cons: It's new so there is still grooming and fine tuning to be done...Needs to be better marked. At times, I was looking for a simple hole just to give me a break or to cushion my ego...not gonna happen. There are no open holes...so forget any chance to unleash your frustration after hitting trees after trees. Elevation is evident but nothing huge or dramatic and no water in play here....nitpicking there. It's a grueling course that will beat up your discs and your ego...be prepared for that...definetely not beginner friendly.
Other Thoughts: Still a work in progress. My rating will rise when I go back when the course is completely finished. Info Kiosk, maps, tee signs ,better marked etc. will raise it half a disc. The course is located in the far upper corner of the pool parking lot...best way to describe is front part of course plays the far woods to the left of lot and the back part play the woods to the right of lot. Have Fun.

13 of 14 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.