Elverson, PA 
French Creek State Park Share
Uploaded By: zapplayer12 Hole #16 (Taken 8/2009)
3 / 260ft.   3 / 353ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #16 Gold Basket to Tee



Reviews: 41
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 Seasoned Disc's after 18 holes

2-4    8/26/2013   9/9/2013
Review By: Fishfood
Played: 25  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 15.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 18 holes of wooded elevation change, dual baskets on most holes, rubber tee pads, good tee signage, bring your seasoned discs, b/c if they aint chewed up....they will be after a couple rounds..it's rocky.
Brooms at every tee pad...two thumbs up!
I had a blast playing here while camping at French Creek Campground. Well worth taking a trip to this fine PA park.
Cons: First time I played here I had a hell of a time figuring out where the next hole was when playing the long baskets. I don't think there was any signs directing you where to go. Even log lined paths would be helpful.
Other Thoughts: Great course and fun to play multiple rounds. Besides disc golf, this park offers many activities for the family, so if they don't play, there's so many other activities to suit their fancy.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Poison Ivy

2-4    8/1/2013   8/10/2013
Review By: Nathan Stahl
Played: 18  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 4 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course will make you appreciate the open courses a little more. Very well marked tee boxes with signs to guide play to the baskets. Every hole has two baskets to play, silver (short distance) and gold (long distance). The silver markings on the baskets are hard to see, but they are all present. We played both the silver and gold baskets in different days. The gold will make you work and adds at least an hour to your time on the course. The under brush is kept down by the amount of tree cover, so finding a disk off course is easy. But getting back on course is normally difficult. Great course for a sunny day with the amount of tree cover you do not need sun block.
Cons: Watch out for the poison ivy. We saw most of it and tried to steer clear, but I still ended up with some on my lower leg. To make the perfect course there needs to be next tee signs. I had the map to help guide me to the next tee box, with out the map some of the tees can be hard to find.
Other Thoughts: It was a load of fun and will make you a better controlled disk golfer. If you love to play long holes then the gold is your game. The gold 3rd basket is marked at over 900 feet and I think that is even short. It would be nice to have one open throw throughout play, but I guess I could get that at most other courses.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 French Creek is worth checking out

1    7/12/2013   7/15/2013
Review By: Abrigh1
Played: 28  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 5.3 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -If you are into wooded courses that require accuracy this is your course, only a few open shots
-Nice baskets
-Tee pads at every hole
-Rarely crowded except on Wednesday afternoons and Sunday mornings when they have leagues going on
-Signage is great and easy to follow
-Two baskets for each hole (silver and gold to play, the longer gold holes make this is a very long round)
-Even though it is in the woods the area off the fairways isn't too think so as long as you watch where you throw (few blind shots) you shouldn't get too torn up or lose a disc. I play here once a week and have never lost one even with throws over 300 feet
-Challenging course
Cons: -Hardly any to speak of. This is a great course that will make you a better player. After playing this course it will make open courses seem so much easier.
-Long walk from #7 to #8 and from #18 back to your car, but hey it's good exercise right?
Other Thoughts: I recommend the use of tomahawk throws here. They really cut down on the number of trees you will hit. The first time playing this course can be frustrating, but once you know where to throw to and aim at, it gets alot more fun. Overall one of the best courses in the state of PA.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Pardon my French

1    5/26/2013   5/31/2013
Review By: sidewinder22
Played: 157  Reviewed: 142  Exp: 10 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 18 heavily wooded holes with nice dual tees and baskets providing a variety of distances and challenge of left, right and straight shots. The available elevation is well utilized. Surprisingly little underbrush for such a wooded course. Great signage and navigation for the most part. Seems to be well maintained and gets a good amount play from beginners to seasoned vets. Disc golf only area of park. Bathrooms and water in parking lot by pool.
Cons: Not much. A couple chuck and hope shots off the long tees. A few holes play a little close to roads, and other holes. Poison Ivy rough on a couple of the back 9 holes.
Other Thoughts: I had a bon moment(french for good time) during my round on the long layout at French Creek. The state park is fairly big and has lots of other fun activities, and the course is in it's own secluded area for the most part. Hole 3 was my favorite. There is everything from an ace run to hope I get a 5. Off the fairway is tough to make any recovery shots from and the fairways aren't very big to begin with, but finding discs off the fairway wasn't much a issue. If you don't like playing in the woods you'll think the French are a-holes. There is some repetitiveness being in the woods the entire time and not much room to air anything out. Control and staying in the fairway is the name of the game. I was a little surprised there wasn't much elevation on the course, but there's not much that can done about the land provided. A little tricky finding hole 1 and 8, but after that it's smooth sailing from hole to hole for the most part. I don't recall any long walks playing the long layout, most were fairly close. The GPS coordinates on here took me to the lake not the course. Follow signs all the way to the pool and park there, then walk uphill to the far corner of the lot for hole 1. I'd recommend Frenchy to anybody that likes the woods and with Camp Sankanac fairly close it makes a pretty sweet duo to play when you can.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Good course to play

1    5/18/2013   5/22/2013
Review By: kafbucks
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice Course good. Good layout. Some parts were really challenging. Nice bright yellow signs for the holes lead me right to the next one every time so navigating through the course isn't that bad. There are two holes a silver for more casual or amatures, and there are gold holes for better players or pros.
Cons: Where there's good there's usually some bad and this course is no different. In other reviews some users made the point that there isn't much variety in the holes well that's unfortunately true, it's a very nice course just be prepared to hike through woods...woods and well more woods, I would've liked to see some variety like hills or water for a better challenge. Also that was the second time I went french creek for disc golf, but the first time I couldn't find the course at all, I went to the office to ask but they were closed for the day. I had trouble finding it this time as well and when I went to the park office again they were closed, but the hours said they were open from 8 am to 4 pm, I arrived at 10:30 am, not really a fault on the course, more so a fault against the park. I did finally find the course, if you go though just keep in mind you go down the road to the right of the office and follow that about a mile or 2 down and you'll see the first hole on the right. So they should add some signs for cars pointing to the disc golf course because they have signs for almost everything else except disc golf, they do have disc golf on the map, but it doesn't really help because that's where the course was before they moved it. Also signs to the next tee would be nice, I know I said navigating through the course wasn't so bad but there were some holes that I had trouble finding like # 8 the next tee is usually somewhere near the gold hole but that one wasn't even close. Lastly and this really isn't a major problem, but I can't ignore it either. on the holes I didn't see what the par was on any of them. They could be there and I just didn't see them so that didn't effect the rating, however there were also no score cards and that would've definitely been nice to have that and a map of the course layout on the back.
Other Thoughts: Overall this isn't a bad course. It's good for beginners and pros. but if your a beginner or intermediate like me i'd suggest playing the silver first to get to know the course, because at some holes the gold isn't far off from the silver, but in others its a major difference. (hole 3 for example has about 250' to the silver and over 900' to the gold) oh and also when you play this course you may want to park on the other side of the parking lot from hole 1, because 18 is way over there and nowhere close to hole one. However if you enjoy long walks you wont have a problem

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Trees, Trees, Everywhere

5+    1/13/2013   1/13/2013
Review By: Thenshaw
Played: 65  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 8.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice tee pads. Good signage. Some nice holes and elevation at times. Definitely helps with finesse game. Short and long baskets provides for fun at different levels. Tees well kept and the flow of the couse is done well once you hit hole 1 w/ the exception of a little hike uphill between 7 and 8.
Cons: Parking closed for winter. Long walks and transitions. Little variety of shots. Some fairways are downright dangerous to navigate as they are lined with rocks and random brush and tree stumps hidden in leaves.
Other Thoughts: I have played this course several times since it has been moved and even a few times during the previous incarnation. Some days I absolutely love this course, and others I hate it. Therein lies the charm and the reason for many returns despite an hour and a half drive. This course has some nice shots and a few elevated shots. Only one hole, though, that could be considered a little open, though and that's 3. The charm lies in the narrow fairway through the trees rinse and repeat. If you love obstacles and playing with your head this is definitely a prime location. However, after being beat down by trees for a few holes in a row it can become tiresome and frustrating. But, as I said before this definitely provides the charm because next thing you know you have a nice tee shot right in the fairway and can par out building your spirit again. The short, or "silver" baskets are a fun challenge in themselves, but the "gold" baskets really up the ante. Precision, patience and determination are my best friends here. This was the first time I played here in the winter, and I was surprised to find the road to the course closed off requiring a heck of a walk to actually get to the first tee. It was literally over the river and through the woods with a lot of parking lots and hills added in for good measure. If I hadn't talked to the Ranfer on the way in I would have had an even more difficult time getting back to the course. Also, the terrain is really rough in spots and could surely be considered ankle breaking at times. When wet and with alot of leaves and other foiliage on the ground it is dangerous at times. Persoanlly I don't mind, but I would hesitate to bring the wife and kid along for the round. All in all, the course is a great experience all its own and provides lots of opportunity to practice the finesse game as well as to get different looks with the dual pin placements. French Creek is enjoyable and always worth a trip if you're close.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 GOLD - long baskets

5+    8/28/2012   9/16/2012
Review By: iHitTree
Played: 58  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 14.2 Years
This review was updated on 8/15/2013
6 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: One of the first things I noticed was great signs and tee pads, which is a huge plus for me when I play a course for the first time. Once I found Hole 1, navigating hole to hole was easy and self explanatory with the exception of the walk between 7's basket and 8's tee.

The majority of this course is played through the woods, and most of the fairways are tight! Most of the shots are fair and skill based, but there are a few shots from the tee that do seem to require some luck missing obstacles after a fade or turn once passing through the first gap on bootleg holes. Some tight tree tunnels on 500+ ft. holes leave very little room for fades, annies, or S curve shots. Sometimes you just have to bust out the mid range off the tee to throw a straight line and stay on the fairway. I'm a fan of those situations--when playing smarter rather than giving into to ego and going for near impossibe shots is encouraged.

The variety is nice at French Creek...though most of the holes are played through the woods, some holes have thin grassy fairways, some have notable elevation changes, and all collectively have a wealth of ups, downs, lefts, rights, B A B A Start (wait...we're not gaming in the 90's...flashback). The course did not get repetitive or boring in any way as each hole had its own personality and usually offered multiple gaps to aim for, achievable with various throw types.

This is a difficult course for the long baskets. You don't have much room for mistakes. The park is beautiful, and you should thoroughly enjoy this course...definitely has the "IT" factor.
Cons: Finding hole 1 and hole 8 proved a little difficult, but the rest of the course wasn't as tough finding the way. Ever since playing a handful of courses in Maine (BAP, Woodland Valley, Pleasant Hill, Boom Field) in which most provided score cards, I can't help but wish that mid-Atlantic courses had them, but French Creek's lack of them didn't affect my rating. There isn't much chance to rip over 350 here...mostly a tech course. Don't get me wrong, the holes are long and the pars are challenging, but obstacles usually preventing those 400 foot hucks. I am trying to find something to criticize at this point to be appropriately critical for sake of the review, but there isn't much to change at French Creek.
Other Thoughts: It took me a heck of a time 1) finding the correct road within the large state park, 2) finding the DG course, and 3) locating hole 1. Turn from Park Rd. onto the road that the main park office is located at and make your 3rd left to take you to a series of parking lots near the big pool. Hole 1 is located at the top left of the lot if you're facing uphill away from the pool. The course is on the east side of Hopewell Lake. Conditions were solid for this warm summer day where I did 2 back to back plays of gold course...little bit of growth to watch out for if you let one slip and leave the fairway, but discs weren't too hard to locate. I remember when French Creek was a whole different 2 courses. They were of the first I ever played in 2003. This newer incarnation is great and a must play within an hour drive, and a strongly recommended play for touring players. Easy to route to if you're coming from west doing something like a Moraine, Deer Lakes, Codorus, French Creek, Sankanac, Bear Creek, Nockamixon, Tyler, Brandywine Creek, Iron Hill

6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Very good Technical Course

5+    7/15/2012   7/17/2012
Review By: Airubus
Played: 43  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 13.3 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: this is a review for the silver baskets ONLY! The added pin positions can turn this from a nice techincal course, into a long, world class technical course. Good signage, and decent flow. a very good challenge for beginners through pros. Fairways are beaten in and forgiving. "should" be a complete lack of wandering locals.
Cons: Very Difficult to find. follow signs for the pool, and park at the TOP of the hill. Look for the yellow tee sign and bulletin board. The flow is decent but there are some LONG walks if you're playing the silver baskets. hole 3 basket to 4 tee is so long you think you're getting lost. 7 basket to 8 tee is uphill...and again...you think you're jsut wandering. and of course....18 back to your car is another brutal 1/4 mile(ish) walk back uphill. be prepared to huff-puff around the sid eof the mountain. being left handed...i felt that the overwhelming majority of the course was built for the RHBH player in mind. if your lefty, you better rely on your sidearm or annie-throws. If you can throw straight, and rely on your low speed fade as your finish....you've got the (silver) fairways figured out, (mostly)
Other Thoughts: One of the best courses in the area! im from york and ive made the trek out there several times in the past month just to play the newest layout. an experience disc golfer should make this a destination. play the silver pins first, and once you get the hang of the layout....try the gold. just for fun....play the gold basket on hole 3!!

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Wow!

1    12/12/2011   12/14/2011
Review By: laderjr
Played: 13  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 5.2 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Loved it! Very Wooded and right on the edge of the hunting grounds in this state park. There are a LOT of great shots here! multiple baskets (Silver and Gold) per tee. The gold being the pro baskets are averaged at about 600 feet per shot with one or 2 at 900 plus. Elevation changes are a little deceptive and some over the hill shots. World Class Course that is well marked and well cared for! The length of the holes makes amature play difficult, but if you're a dedicated player then you'll have a lot of fun.
Cons: The only 2 Cons I can think of are these: 1: This course is right next to/on a public hunting ground, so if you go in the fall, wear proper hunting safety clothing! 2: This course is set on the side of a mountain, so the Uphill/Downhill walking makes it a little more strenuous than mose courses.
Other Thoughts: Play this course ... Make an extra trip to play this course. That is all!

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 PA woods and rocks!

1    11/8/2011   11/8/2011
Review By: sloppydisc
Played: 201  Reviewed: 147  Exp: 7.7 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice wooded course in a large State Park. Very nice tee pads with rubber mats. Installed very well, and plenty long for any run up. Flat and smooth. No lumps, bumps or problems. Signs at each pad showing both basket positions and flight paths, as well as distances. Silver baskets play short, and golds play long. Sometimes really freaking long.

Course is well secluded from other park users and trails.

Well defined fairways. Also there is very little under growth if you get off the fairway. Not a lot of weeds or thorns to deal with.

Nice choice between a typical wooded, technical course, or playing the Gold baskets, and playing a long Pro level course. Golds play over 8200', and will put you on a course much like Nevin in Charlotte, Nockamixon or Iron Hill.

Decent variety of left and right shots. Course doesn't really favor a particular throwing style.
Cons: Baskets can be difficult to see in the woods. Golds weren't too bad, but Silver was hard to locate in the trees. Could use some bright colors to help out.

Navigation fooled me a few times, but that may have been due to heavy leaf cover on the ground. There was some walkways that were probably more visible inn the summer. Might need a few signs or arrows for fools like me. Print the map, and you'll be fine.

No real exceptional holes or shots that are unforgettable. A little elevation is used, but there appeared to be some land available that could have offered some nice up or down hill bombs.
Other Thoughts: I enjoyed a nice round on a perfect 70 degree November day in PA. Course was just about completely wooded, but not overly tight. Hit some very fair lines, and you'll play well. A few holes were tight, but not brutally so. The under growth was almost non-existent so even if you're off your game, you can save par on most holes. This was a very good course, but lacked the wow factor I kept waiting for. The park has a nice lake, lots of rocks and so e decent hills, so I kept expecting some unique or exciting holes. They just never happened. But there was also no bad holes here. Just 18 nice, wooded holes with a short position for us humans, and a long positions for the poor fools that want to throw 450-900' shots through the woods. I would definitely recommend this course if you're close by. It it well kept, and offers two versions for different moods or skill sets.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.