Wasco, CA 
Westside Park Share
Uploaded By: Discette Hole #6 (Taken 1/2013)
3 / 423ft.   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Approach



Reviews: 7
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Big Busy Park With Distance In Yards!

1    6/24/2014   7/12/2014
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 680  Reviewed: 632  Exp: 36.2 Years
Pros: Westside Park is a large, busy park with plenty of walkers and joggers. I'm not sure if this course would be playable at certain times due to large picnic gatherings or ballgames.

The course has these great colored, fiberglass tee signs. They give you all the information you need but unfortunately they are attached to trees so I found them a little bit more difficult to locate as this park has about a million trees. The distance is measured is yards, not feet. For those disc golfers who were absent the day math was taught, to find the distance in feet, simply multiple the yards times 3. If you were absent the day multiplication was taught, I can't help you.

There are no tee pads. Many times, you are using the sidewalk as a pad.

# 5 was my favorite hole here. It's 273' (or 91 yards) to a basket set down in a valley of smallish trees. You really have to keep your drive low here on this very pretty little hole.

# 7 is a 348' (116 yards) (Remember what I taught you students) downhill shot. It's a possibly fun ACE run for those possessing a decent arm.

# 9 is a 357' (I've given up trying teach to educate you fellows) with dangers on both sides. There is a parking lot on your right and a ball field on your left. Stay in the middle, please.

The course loops back to the beginning.
Cons: Due to the park's popularity, the course might not be playable when there are large gatherings, picnics, or ballgames are being played.
Natural pads aren't the best.
Only 9 holes but room for more.
Other Thoughts: Adding some concrete tee pads would go a long way toward pleasing most disc golfers. There are fun throws to be had here and room for expansion. I had a good time playing here. If I lived around here, I would just make it a point to play here in non-peak hours, to avoid the crowds.


1    4/1/2014   4/1/2014
Review By: mattdabbs
Played: 63  Reviewed: 44  Exp: 11.1 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I really like the feel of the park in general. It has some nice hills rolling through it that are fun to throw over. 9 good baskets with plenty of parking...hole 1 is right there by the pavilion when you get out of the car and 9 brings you right back so navigation is a huge plus.

Length - the holes were long enough to be more than a pitch and putt. Big plus to not have easy birdies on every single hole...which is usually the case on the 9 hole parks.
Cons: I little confusing finding the next tee at first. Because you can see multiple baskets throughout the park it gets confusing on where to go next. Next tee arrows would be a great addition, again...once you have been through the park its not a big deal.

The people hanging out in the park, in the fairways (in groups and asleep) were a little sketchy. That's saying a lot from me since stuff like that usually doesn't bother me. Pins by the streets are an issue, as has already been mentioned
Other Thoughts: With a little help on the navigation and moving the fairways off of play areas (ball field, courts, playground, etc) this course would move up in my book.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Short 9 With Poor Design

1    12/12/2012   12/12/2012
Review By: Hazer
Played: 141  Reviewed: 48  Exp: 8.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Cement tees (some throw from the sidewalk) on every hole. Some medium/long distance shots. Well maintained park with facilities on site. The tees that did not throw from the sidewalk had the hole number spray-painted on them.
Cons: Very poor course design. Many fairways cross each other and many tees are very close to baskets, making it a course that can be dangerous to play if anyone else is playing at the same time. There are no signs on the course whatsoever and the layout is not easy to figure out. I spent 10 minutes just walking through the course to learn the layout, and I still had to guess where to tee off from on several holes as the sidewalk tees are not marked in any way. The baskets for holes 3 & 8 are right next to the road (seriously; within 5ft). The baskets for holes 6 & 9 are very close to the parking lots. Many non-disc golfers in the park so waiting to throw is common.
Other Thoughts: This course could be so much better if the space available was used correctly with a new design. The park itself and the area dedicated to the disc golf course are nice, but the layout of the holes ruins it entirely. Definitely the worst course design I have ever seen. 4 of the baskets need to be moved immediately as they pose a serious threat to cars in the parking lots and driving by on the roads surrounding the park. Also hole 8 shoots over (or a long way around) a baseball field which would make the hole virtually unplayable if a game was going on. All in all I was very disappointed with the course and I can only hope a new layout will be implemented in the near future.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Small Park Criss-cross

1    9/24/2011   9/26/2011
Review By: sasscers7
Played: 12  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 6.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Once the layout is figured out, there are nine good holes to play except for the two on the curb.
Cons: Two baskets are on the street side of the side walk within about 5 feet of the curb where vehicles are parked or driving by. One basket has been vandalized.
Other Thoughts: Lots of walkers and joggers going both directions on the sidewalk path that encircle the park, so had to wait a lot for the path to be clear for a throw to several baskets near the path.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

1    9/10/2011   9/14/2011
Review By: motomeadows
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
Pros: Course has good elevation holes, open fairways and has no traffic. Very fun course built in a circle. Hole #1 is close to basket of 18.
Cons: Slight confusing at first but was easy to figure out. Not sure what they were thinking about hole #3. None of the baskets were labeled with hole numbers. Next time I go play again I'm bringing a permanent marker to label the baskets.

 Not that bad

1    10/16/2010   10/17/2010
Review By: Raider Dave
Played: 21  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 6.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Concrete tees, Good baskets. Not overly crowded.
Cons: No tee signs, confusing layout at first, we played 3 holes all wrong, once we figured out that the distances (marked in paint on tee boxes) are in yards, not feet, it made figuring out the layout much easier. the 9th basket butts up to close to a Large pavillion, full of birthday part goers...
Other Thoughts: Once we got the layout down, we had alot of fun @ this course, it wasn't crowded, even for a pretty Saturday afternoon. several holes test your length while others reward accuracy. I would stop by again if near by!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Another Course in Kern County

1    1/22/2009   1/22/2009
Review By: bigrocc01
Played: 83  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 18.7 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Shots vary with frequent OBs. Can play a quick round. A couple of the holes are more than 300' Exposes more people to disc golf.
Cons: Kriss Kross fairways. It's obvious this was the course designer's 1st course. Also did not consult with experienced persons or read any literature on course design. Non- disc golf traffic
Other Thoughts: With a little tweeking prior to the installation of the tee boxes, this course would of got higher rating. Still pretty fun to play.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.