Coeur d'Alene, ID 
Bluegrass Park - Kiwanis DGC Share
Uploaded By: cefire Hole #3
3 / 270ft.   3 / --   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Basket



Reviews: 7
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
  Fun for Everyone

5+    3/15/2011   7/16/2011
Review By: t.ames
Played: 10  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is where I learned to play. Awesome course for beginners, and still a fun course for more advanced players to practice shots and have a good time.
Cons: Short 9 hole course, baskets aren't the best ever. People in the park don't understand what is going on, so they'll stand in the middle of a hole until you tell them to move.
Other Thoughts: Some friends and I would play this course in the dark with glow sticks set up on the baskets! This was a lot of fun, and certainly doable since it's so wide open.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Blue Grass Park

5+    6/4/2011   7/5/2011
Review By: DiscNoid
Played: 20  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 8.4 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: All grass. Great for working on approaches and putts.
Cons: Custom made baskets that allow your disc to fall through. Heavy chains deflect rather than grab. Family neighborhood park with a lot of other activity creates concern.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

1    9/2/2010   3/31/2011
Review By: cefire
Played: 637  Reviewed: 134  Exp: 15.2 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Kiwanis DGC at Bluegrass park is a beautiful open field of grass in the midst of a really new looking housing subdivision. The park is well maintained and the course amenities are relatively nice with tee signs and very visible basket number plates to assist in navigation. The baskets themselves though were likely designed with ultimate 'frisbee's' in mind rather than disc golf as the side iron pieces have gaps too large to contain smaller diameter discs. In addition, the baskets have only one set of eight outer chains which makes for a lot of fly-throughs and bounce-outs. I've attached a picture of one of these homemade baskets which, besides the catching problems, are very sturdy looking targets. Nearly all of the course is completely wide open with no places to lose discs and no places really where a player can find a 'bad lie'. On the few holes which have a tree or two, large out-and-around hyzers make for easy birdies. This would be a great park for families to get to know the game or for completely new players to try out throwing for the first time. After even a few rounds though, even green players are going to probably want to head down the road to Corbin or Cherry Hill.
Cons: Because of the lack of any meaningful tree coverage, the only teeth this course has are found on the holes near road or sidewalk where an errant throw could skip OB. Other than this, you are really mostly looking at a wide open field with a few small 'bumps' of elevation - the biggest challenge you'll likely find is ensuring that your disc will not fall through the basket! The other main problem with this course is that Bluegrass Park is very much a multiuse facility with walking paths, a playground, and a basketball court which are just close enough to some holes to create concern.
Other Thoughts: Check out the Kiwanis Disc Golf Course if you are heading over with the family both so they can play frisbee and enjoy a great park for a picnic. For those looking for any sort of challenge though, you'll be much better served by any of the other area courses.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    8/3/2009   8/10/2009
Review By: TjN001
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 8.9 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: All grass here. No losing discs. Nice custom signs, wish the baskets were as nice! Variety of distances, though most shots are the same (straight). If you want to show a beginner the basics, this course is good enough to practice on.
Cons: The baskets are the strangest ones I have ever seen. They look homemade. If they are, good work whoever made them (I wish I could). They just need a few improvements. They lack enough chains to catch a disc well. But, the main problem is the disc can fall out of the baskets! You can sink one in perfectly, yet the wide gaps on the side can allow the disc to fall right out. Also, watch out for people in the park. They are everywhere, and seem to have no clue that a flying disc will hurt them.
Other Thoughts: As with most courses, it is worth trying out at least once. I've played it a few times, it is a nice course to warm up on before moving to other better courses nearby.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Family friendly.

1    8/9/2008   6/12/2009
Review By: sillybizz
Played: 201  Reviewed: 193  Exp: 11.1 Years
This review was updated on 4/6/2010
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very clean park in a nice neighborhood, this is a fun course if you want to bring the kids along too. Very easy to follow with nice tee signs. Even though this is a park course there are some longer holes here so you might want to bring one driver. No chance of losing a disc, this is an all grass course.
Cons: This is a shared course with little kids playing on the toys there and when I played it there was a lot of watching and waiting for the other park users. The baskets are a little funny and don't catch the disc properly. The course is open and doesn't challenge you very much.
Other Thoughts: As the other reviewers have mentioned there are other courses in the area that are much more challenging that is not much of a drive, but I am glad there are courses like this to play as sometimes my whole family has a picnic or barbeque and then goes and plays disc golf and they don't want to play gold level pro parks.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Just Another Neighborhood Course!

7/2/2008   7/9/2008
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 680  Reviewed: 615  Exp: 36.2 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: It's a nice clean park. There's a small water area for kids to play in, basketball court, playground and picnic area. The course basically circles the paramiter of the park. The holes are long enough (6 over 250') that you can't call this a pitch and putt. It's a nice area so I think vandalism would be at a minimum. It's easy to follow, should be with 9 holes in a wide open park setting.
Cons: The baskets are different. I don't know if they're homemade or what. They're heavy green metal with only 8 chains. Like Lanceln mentioned, I'm sure some putts will sail through but I too, didn't have any problems. The teepads are grass behind an inbedded 4" x 4". It would be nice if the inbedded post had a direction and hole # on it.
Other Thoughts: The course description is more than a little misleading. Calling this course moderately hilly and moderately wooded is like calling Nevada moderately hilly and wooded. There are a couple of tiny 5 foot hills????? in the park. And there are some scattered trees that have been planted that maybe stand 6 feet tall, Okay, maybe a couple reach all of 12 feet tall. In 5-10 years you might be saying there are some scattered trees in the park. Unless I lived within a block or two from here, I'd rather go play the course at North Idaho College or drive the 10 miles to Corbin Park.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Not a bad little park course.

5/25/2008   5/31/2008
Review By: LanceInTacoma
Played: 35  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 24.2 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Of all the courses I have played, this one may have had the nicest sign. It had a course map built right into the sign. The flow of the course is quite easy to follow. Most of the tee pads are within 10-25 feet of the previous pin, so you almost can't get lost.
Cons: The baskets are strange, they are homemade, I guess, so there aren't very main chains in each, which could cause your disc to fly right through without catching the chain. Although, I must admit, this never happened to me. Sometimes, the teepads are too close to the previous pins. A person playing behind you wouldn't really feel comfortable shooting at the hole until after you had left the tee area, because you are definitely in a "danger zone." The course is set in a park, so there are almost no hazards whatsoever. It is pretty much just aim and fire, no strategy necessary as far as avoiding trees/anything else. Kind of like a nice pitch and putt stick golf course.
Other Thoughts: All things considered, this is a nice little neighborhood course, and a good way to keep in practice until you can get to a course with a few challenges. If I lived nearby, I might often stop off on the way to the store to sneak in a quick nine and keep the arm in shape.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.