Mobile, AL 
Municipal Gold DGC Share
Uploaded By: SAMSON Hole #2
-- / --   -- / --   -- / --   3 / 510ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Tee



Reviews: 6
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
An updated look at an old course

2-4    8/9/2013   8/10/2013
Review By: The Drake
Played: 89  Reviewed: 43  Exp: 11.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I'm going to start off by saying this course has been slightly redesigned with the addition of 9 more holes to make for a complete 18 hole course.

The biggest pro of this course is that like its counterpart right next door this is a course that demands some distance control with a variety of shots despite being relatively open. Scoring low will take a complete game.

There is a nice use of the land on both sides of the park with 5 holes bringing the giant lake directly into play. Lots of natural OB come into play.
Cons: There are a few big problems the course still has at this point. First and foremost there are no clearly defined tee signs. Using natural pads there are occasionally rocks or small stones which denote the tee pads, but unless you play the course with a local you will get lost trying to find your way around. Again, because of lack of any tee signs there is no way to know your distances on the holes.
The other big issue is that while there are 9 additional holes these are actually not located near the original 9. Your options are to either take the 5 minute walk across the bridge or hop in your car between 9s.
Other Thoughts: Being right next to Langan park, Muni Gold adds another good golfing option in Mobile. If you have the arm strength and endurance it makes for a nice day in the park to play both courses. You're gonna need to bring your A game to score less than 54 out here.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Nice little course

1    9/18/2012   9/18/2012
Review By: enragedmullet
Played: 17  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 2.9 Years
This review was updated on 3/31/2014
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great for a quick 9 holes

Well laid out for the area used, there's even a little elevation that comes into play.

Variety of shots needed - some holes nearly straight shots, others require a little finesse - if you're BH you may need to use a FH on some holes and vice versa.

Hazards are a pro and a con, this course has a road on the south side and the creek on the north side separating the park from Langan.
Cons: Signage is severely lacking - there are small signs near some of the tees, and a couple baskets have small "next tee" signs w/ an arrow. We couldn't find tee 1 or tee 8, just kind of found a good looking place for it and went.

Hole 5 missing the basket - or we just couldn't find it?

Some of the rough is really rough - watch out for ants and thorns; I mean that's not unheard of at a course, but I wasn't expecting them where I found them.
Other Thoughts: This was my first time at Municipal - the map says 10 holes but we could only find evidence of 9. It was windy but nice out - the area is scenic, with modern art sculptures near the museum. Hole 3 was cool - plays a little downhill and the basket is right next to water - a little touch and go, but a fun one. Hole 5 was a pain - on your right there's a wall topped by a chainlink fence with mucho brush on the other side (read: thorns). On your left is the creek. Not much room for error on that one - I lost a Wraith to the water after getting it back from over the fence - more than likely user error on that one, but still - 5 is a pain.

All in all, it's a nice little course if you have time on a lunch break or something for a few quick holes, or maybe do a 27 hole session with Langan - definitely needs signs for the first timers - dirt tees I don't mind, but no/crappy signage is a pain.

Because of the cons I listed and the fact it's only 9 holes I'm giving it a 2 - 2.5 if it had signs and if I could have found tees 1 & 8, and if 5 had a basket. That being said, don't let that dissuade you from trying it out - it really is a nice little course - it just didn't really WOW me.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Finally!!! I figured it out!

2-4    4/29/2010   4/29/2010
Review By: thebeast175
Played: 47  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 5.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: First off, let me say that this course grows on you. Every hole has a unique feel to it and it will make or break your confidence. There are so many different shots that this course will make you a better player. I would say these 10 holes, collectivly, are the hardest in Mobile.
Cons: I'm not gonna bash this course but I will lable what things i think need to be fixed

Dirt tee boxes, i'm not opposed to dirt tees if they are well defined

*Poor or no sinage* (worst part about the course)

Really bad undergrowth on hole 1

Thats it. Fix these things and lets play!



Other Thoughts: Im not sure who to talk to but if someone would donate some wood I would be willing to do the work and install some small signs. Also, it wouldn't take much to clean up hole one. I just need the go ahead!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 NEED A GUIDE!!!

1    3/30/2010   3/30/2010
Review By: Nathanbr2
Played: 50  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 6.7 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) Looks like it has potential to be a great course (needs some TLC)

2) great course to throw around on and practice shots from various locations/ elevations
Cons: 1) Pads are nearly impossible to find, because there are almost no markers.

2) The holes are a little beat up.

Other Thoughts: Unless you have a guide, or are familiar with this course, go to Langan P

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Play it!

5+    11/1/2009   11/6/2009
Review By: thebigE
Played: 8  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 9.6 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice for a short play, or if you want to partner it with the Langan course across the lake, it makes a 28 hole complex. Many of the holes are well-conceived and executed. Lots of tricky angles and elevation. The first hole is tricky because the fairway (if you want to call it that) can't be seen from the tee. It throws from a pretty open spot into a thicket, with a diagonal lane cut through the thicket to the pin. The second hole is an easy sidearm or tumber ace run for righties, no more than 150 feet if that, downhill. The next hole is a 800 foot beast, throwing over a dam on a narrow fairway with fence OB on the right and some of the worst shule you'll see and a lake on the left. Good lord that hole is difficult, I've lost four discs in that spot. Hole 4 is a nice downhill hyzler skip back up a second rise, hole 5 is an ani with the lake/ shule in pay on the right and lots of trees on the left. Hole 6 pays downhill to a pin located in a corner created by a creek draining into the aforementioned lake/ shule. Hole 7 plays a long shot back up the hill to the pin, then Hole 8 plays back down that hill to another basket sitting on the side of the creek. Elevation changes on these last 3 holes are about 60-70 feet. Hole 9 is a long shot that you have to weave through a lot of tall spindly pines and Hole 10 plays past a wal of trees to a basket sitting on another rise. After daylight savings time, you can get off of work and have time to play all 10 before dark. Another thing I lvoe about this course is that I've never, and I mean never, had to wait for a tee box. it is absoltuely desolate other than a few walkers who use the conrete track around the course for exercise. Great scenery, lots of pines and oaks, big slope down from a bluff to the lake looks really nice in the winter time. Lots of cool brick and concrete historical markers that tell the history of Mobile, kind of look like the Washington Monument in shape. There are like 10 of them on that 800 foot hole's fairway, makes it look kinda "Lords of the Ring"-ish. Modern art museum on the same grounds with scultures on display all around.
Cons: Only 10 holes, though I think the club is working on getting clearance to add more. Natural teepads can get a little hairy when wet. There are some markers, but if you don't know you're way around you may have trouble finding the pins and tees.
Other Thoughts: Really a nice play, especialy if you pair the elevation of the Muni Gold course with the flat distance of the Langan Course across the lake. Good for all skill levels, the two courses together are the complete package for anyone wanting to test their skills (and pick up some new ones) while playing a really enjoyable round.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Horrible!

1    10/29/2009   10/29/2009
Review By: chainbanger14
Played: 10  Reviewed: 10
1 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: Pretty land,
Cons: Worst coarse ive ever been too! I spent forever lookin for hole 1! Natural pads, no tee signs, trashy baskets. Bent up and everything. DONT WASTE UR TIME GOIN TO THIS COARSE!
Other Thoughts: I recamend if u want to play this coarse find a local

1 of 10 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.