Atlantic, IA 
Sunnyside DGC Share
Uploaded By: strain Hole #4 (Taken 5/2011)
3 / 498ft.   -- / --   3 / 550ft.   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Tee



Reviews: 9
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Worth the drive

2-4    6/10/2014   7/21/2014
Review By: ZMesenbrink
Played: 13  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 13.2 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Well maintained, some woods and some long down hill throws. Just a great course. The only reason it's not a 5 for me is only because it's an hour drive from Omaha. The course is put together well and there is a lot of pride the locals take in making it great. Very clean, you can drink in the park so there's no worry of police ticketing you. A great place to camp as well for some night golf!
Cons: It's a long drive from Omaha and that's it!
Other Thoughts: Just don't leave your disc in the basket up a hill.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Loved It!

1    8/22/2013   8/23/2013
Review By: Nathan Stahl
Played: 13  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 2 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: If you read mashnut's review entitled "fun elevation", he hit the nail on the head. If you live with in 100 miles of this course get in your car and go play it. I played it during the week and we had the course to ourselves.

Near the first tee and practice basket is a golf course sign that was stocked with score cards and course maps to help with locating basket placement.

Hole 12 was a great hole to play with a huge drop off across a large open field. Having to contend with the winds at altitude and getting the disk in the right direction across the open field was fun.
Cons: I have to really dig to find fault with this course. It would be nice to see some sort of marking on the tee box signs telling me what the current placement of the basket is. A few tees had me going out to scout out basket placement.

The majority of the course does not have under brush. If more under brush was present to make you pay more for wild throws then this course would be perfect. If you have a bad release you can normally find your way around and not loose par.
Other Thoughts: The multiple tee boxes and basket locations make this course great. The park offers many other things to do besides disk golf, bring the family. Even if this park is a long drive have your tent there are camp sights beside the park for use. You must go out of the way and play this course. I will be back many times in the coming years.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Noobs' Eye View.

1    4/27/2013   4/29/2013
Review By: T-Manz420
Played: 7  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 2 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Course is Technical,But not too tech.Great use of elevation. Multiple options on nearly every Basket. Great set-up to spend a day. Very nice Picnic sites to take breaks or lunch, Multiple Flush toilets. What more do you want?
Cons: On a Busy park day, it could get crowded. Could use 2 more trashcan. No Real Complaints.
Other Thoughts: Would recomend to any level player.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Best Course in Iowa?

1    6/7/2012   6/12/2012
Review By: mndiscg
Played: 331  Reviewed: 329  Exp: 6.2 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Dual tees on most holes. There is a significant difference between the two sets of tees and many holes feel like a whole different hole.
-Big trees fill out the park area of the course and they are at a good density and placement. There are a few holes that have more trees like 5-7. 6 is the only true wooded hole.
-Elevation is the key to this course. Almost every hole is altered somewhat by this course. That became evident early on in this round when hole 3 was short but steep uphill. I also liked the view of the basket between the V even though it is nearly impossible to get to the basket through there. The next hole is around 600 feet but you can reach the basket with a good toss because it is the perfect amount of downhill for monster throws.
-Multiple pin locations for most of the holes
-Great risk/reward shots from the tees and the greens. The elevation helps with this.
-A map and scorecards at the beginning help out navigation as does the amazing signage on every hole. Each sign tells you the direction to walk to find the next tee and it is easy for most of them.
-A few places to buy discs in Atlantic. Walmart usually has Pro and Dx while the other place has more premium plastic.
-Have a tournament at least once a year here.
-The tees are giant and trapezoid shaped and are great.
-While the trees weren't thick enough to make you pick a certain line, they were thick enough to punish you if you messed up on the line you did choose.
Cons: -You may have to watch out for other park users. This park is probably one of the few public parks in Atlantic. I could see it becoming busy.
-You could lose a disc in the woods on a few holes. The elevation makes it tricky to judge some shots and the underbrush is thick if you throw it in there.
-Bugs can be bad on the few wooded holes but are otherwise not bad.
Other Thoughts: I knew this course had a high rating but I wasn't sure what to expect. I also knew this course was a city park which usually limits how great a course can be. This course took down those limits. I had a great time and a great challenge playing here. I would highly recommend this course and while I haven't played all the top courses in this state, this is my favorite so far.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Top Notch In Course In Western Iowa

2-4    5/28/2011   5/29/2011
Review By: strain
Played: 39  Reviewed: 38  Exp: 6.2 Years
This review was updated on 6/1/2011
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a beautiful piece of work here. This course has everything you would want in a disc golf course. This course has dramatic elevation changes with some beautiful uphill and downhill shots with a good variety of left and right shots and some short and long shots. There is plenty of birdie opertunities on this course and a really nice cliff shot on hole #12 that is really fun to play. Trees are a big factor when playing this course adding shade and great challenge on most holes. The baskets are well placed very well, adding great challenge to most holes. This course has multiple concrete tee pads and pin positions for a beginner or more advanced player. The signs are really nice and provide you with all hole information and also direct you to the next tee. The park is very clean and well maintained with restrooms on sight. The course does not seem to get real crowded, so you will most likely have the whole course to yourself.
Cons: The park could get crowded with other park users and there might be an event going on under the covered structure. I didn't see any trashcans on the course so a few would be nice to help keep the course clean.
Other Thoughts: This is a must play course if you are in the area. This course will leave you wanting more after you play a round here.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Great, Diverse course

5+    4/18/2009   5/2/2009
Review By: safg
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
This review was updated on 7/2/2011
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Course was changed this spring! One new hole and a much better overall flow to the course. Multiple choices on most holes for both righties and lefties, great variety of distance on the holes as well. Multiple pin locations will keep the course changing and fresh. More than enough trash cans (I counted 9) on the course keeps things clean. Park is extremely well maintained, making it enjoyable to play at any time throughout the discing season.
Cons: Sometimes there will be other things going on in the park and people will be in the shelters.
Other Thoughts: Slight water hazard, but it is a shallow creek and discs can easily be retrieved. Well placed branches and vines (on hole 7 especially) give this course character that is tough to beat. Worth the drive for anyone in the area.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.