Disc Golf Store
Ukiah, CA
Lake Mendocino - North Share
Uploaded By: humchris85 Hole #1
3 / 202ft.   3 / 241ft.   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee



Reviews: 5
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Great Use Of Available Elevation!

1    8/17/2013   8/27/2013
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 591  Reviewed: 544  Exp: 35.9 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Lake Mendocino North Course starts right across the street from the parking with # 1 and the course finishes here as well. This is a wooded technical course with some severe elevation changes which are brought into play as much as possible. The twisted, gnarly, bent over trees provide you with a labyrinthian challenge of reaching the baskets. And this steep terrain is prime territory for rollaway putts and approaches.

The signs are the simple little plastic state park signs like you see in campgrounds to mark campsites numbers. Although they only give you the most basic of information, hole # and distance from the two tees, they are virtually indestructible, except for the two on the south course which were broke off.

The pads are rubber mats. There has been a boatload of engineering and hard work put into the building of this course over the years on steps, benches and tee pads.

The course keeps climbing upwards through the first 12 holes before starting a steep descent. I feel the course designer was right to keep these steep uphill holes on the very short side, many are only 150' or so but a couple came with huge risks of rollaways down deep ravines.

# 13 was a steep downhill with the basket sitting on what is almost a path. The terrain is so steep and rugged here that retrieving an errant throw almost amounts to rock climbing techniques, hanging on to branches. It's very treacherous indeed.

# 14 is an easier hole as the basket is set in kind of a natural trap and the terrain is a little more forgiving.
Cons: There's no place to throw any distance shots of any kind.

The rugged terrain might be a little too much for older players. Don't think about bringing a stroller or dragging your three year old along with you.

I guess I'm not very allergic to poison oak because I didn't notice it. Maybe August is a good time to play through it.
Other Thoughts: Personally, I liked the technical rugged feel of the holes here better than the south course. It appears that most players like the south course better as it is more of well rounded disc golf course. I just think the severe elevation encountered on this Lake Mendocino North makes for a very unique disc golf experience. You can't match this ultra-rugged terrain and very few courses have these types of extreme ups and down and risk/reward holes.

I do know one thing. This course wore me out!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Enjoyable

1    7/19/2013   7/20/2013
Review By: nelsofthewoods
Played: 27  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 2.9 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A woodsy course that starts mild then starts a modest climb up a hill then plays back down and ends where it starts. Not much distance, technical shots, clearly marked, benches where needed. Some holes had ravines I played to avoid as I didn't want to climb down them. Not much trash around and had the course to myself while I was there.
Cons: The poison oak is mentionable, to me it didn't seem overwhelming but I noticed it was there. Discs roll here, and, with some of the tees on steep hills sometimes they'll slide as well. Not exactly a con, but certainly something to affect your tactics on this course.
Other Thoughts: As I was just passing through town I can't really compare it to other courses around, but, I found it to be a very enjoyable course. Tighter shots, shorter holes, nice view of the lake at the top of the hill. Ground is slippery so decent footwear is advisable. Seems that whomever designed this course got the most out of it. Looking forward to playing here again.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Lake Mendocino North

1    1/25/2013   1/29/2013
Review By: Hazer
Played: 141  Reviewed: 48  Exp: 8.1 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice 4'x8' rubber tee pads on all holes except hole 10 which has a 4'x8' concrete tee pad (maybe more are coming?) and 15 which has a natural (dirt) tee pad. Restrooms near parking. Very basic post style signs next to each tee with hole number and distances. Multiple pin positions. Moderately to heavily wooded. Nice baskets with hole numbers on them. Well placed 'next tee' signs throughout the course where needed. Mostly shorter technical holes. Slight to moderate/heavy elevation change on the course. Hole 10: shorter uphill ace run with concrete tee pad. Hole 13: blind 260' downhill shot. Hole 14: 200' blind downhill shot. Easy to navigate; no map needed. Nice flow to the course with 18 ending where 1 begins. Most holes birdie-able with a good drive, but tight lines are required on many holes. Several ace runs. Several trash cans and picnic tables/benches on the course. Clean course. Close to the lake and the South course which is more challenging.
Cons: Signs are weak. No signs for the disc golf course on the road. Some holes play pretty close to each other. No indicator on the signs showing current pin position. Most holes are rather short. After hole 15 you have to cross 6's fairway.
Other Thoughts: This is now an 18 hole course and from what I read about the original 9 holes, the new holes really add a lot to the course and make it more challenging. When arriving, park in the Pomo A parking area and hole 1 will be right across the street. This is a great warm-up for the South course which has more distance and is overall more challenging. In regards to the poison oak, I really didn't notice much, but I did play in January and I'm not very allergic so I don't notice it as much as other people. Fun course. I will definitely play it again and probably every time I play the South course.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 fun warm up for other courses

5+    6/27/2010   6/27/2010
Review By: there4iluv2thr0w
Played: 34  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 32.2 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: fun easy warm up for the other 3, 18 hole courses ukiah offers , seems really cleaned up not much oak either , played it in like 30 min fun little course
Cons: if any one else is there look out , there are a couple tees and baskets right on each other
Other Thoughts: get some lunch and eat at the shady lagoon before or after you play

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 A good way to introduce beginers to woods (and PO)

1    7/6/2009   7/9/2009
Review By: humchris85
Played: 109  Reviewed: 74  Exp: 8.9 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Tight technical holes
-Good flow from hole to hole with signs leading you when there would be any question
-Multiple pin positions per hole
-Slightly more holes felt lefty favorable in the positions they were in.
-Good course for introducing beginners to playing in the woods, as the holes are short, but there are allot of trees.
-Nice drive down to Lake Mendocino South
-Lots of ace opportunities
-Maps / Scorecards available at the first tee, when I rolled up there was even a fresh cig sitting on top of the map box (but I don't smoke).
-Close to the lake, so you can go on down for a swim on a hot day.
-Cool in the shade
-Good elevation change
Cons: -POISON OAK, it's EVERYWHERE, if you are allergic to it I would say avoid this course. You can tell that allot of work has been put in on taking it out already, but it is a nasty weed.
-Only 9 holes
-Short holes, all pretty easy, most if not all aceable
-Downhill holes feel way too short, I was overthrowing them badly with a putter. Best way to throw these holes seems to be to slide it down there.
Other Thoughts: This is a fun little 9 hole course that plays through the woods above the north end of Lake Mendocino. All the holes are very short, the longest was 267' in the A position, and 348' in B, the shortest was 162'A, 182'B and downhill. There was allot of poison oak around, I could see a little on hole 1 here and there, but it looked like there was allot of work put in to take it out, but by hole 2 there was lots of it in the fairways and under the basket. If you have bad allergies to poison oak avoid this course, if not you can have a fun little round up here either before you play the South course, or after for a cool down round. I almost aced hole 9, dinged right off the top. This is defiantly a beginner's course, I'm an am2 player and I scored a -5.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.