Course Extinct
Shreveport, LA 
Clyde Fant DGC - West 9 Share
Uploaded By: teamudgp Hole #1 (Taken 7/2009)
4 / 625ft.   4 / --   4 / --   4 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee



Reviews: 6
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Basically Gone

1    7/20/2010   8/22/2010
Review By: Trevor151
Played: 11  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4.1 Years
Pros: Across the street from the main course so you walk through the tunnel and there it is.
Cons: Several holes / tees are missing. A couple of tee signs are out of place. Any misplaced shots will either land in the gated off forest or the busy highway. If it lands in the forest, its a goner.
Other Thoughts: Go across the street and play the 18 hole course. It is much better.

 Damn the Tornado!

1    2/27/2010   4/1/2010
Review By: vtsquid
Played: 21  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 8.5 Years
Pros: Great use of the land, Lots of hills to deal with making harder shots. Has good parking and easy to get to!
Cons: It is missing tee signs and baskets still as of 3/27/10, if you toss your disc over the fence it is gone! government property with barbed wire fence! Its right next to the highway, so expect some noise.
Other Thoughts: I would have loved this course if it was not torn up from the storm. I was a little disappointed, but life is life! The course can still be played but you are going to have to make up the rules and where to throw at times due to the missing tee's and baskets. The hills make for some really interesting shots, you are going to need your control on this one! The tees are just grassy areas, so dont expect anything special. I am looking forward to its repair and playing it through!

 Totally Bummed

1    12/27/2009   1/5/2010
Review By: LetsPlayGolf
Played: 34  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 24 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: As soon as you cross under the tunnel to get to the West 9 you are greated with #1 hole sign 625'. I thought to myself, 'Alright, time to get serious!' I was pumped!
-#9 'island' shot

That is it as far as the pros go...
Cons: After that the course looked like it had been vandalized and no one has done anything about it.
-#3 tee sign knocked down
-#3 basket missing
-could not find #4 tee sign
-could not find #4 basket
-#5 tee sign knocked down and thrown over a fence
-#6 tee sign missing
-#7 tee sign missing (seeing a theme here?)
-#8 tee sign missing
-because the West 9 does not have concrete tee pads (like the main 18) it was safari golf for me until I got to #9
-only 3 of the 9 holes had a tee sign and a basket where the sign said it would be.
Other Thoughts: Over all, I was very bummed about the West 9, especially after #1. Please guys, either do some serious work on it or scrap the whole thing.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Safari Golf

1    11/15/2009   11/15/2009
Review By: chalos13
Played: 33  Reviewed: 33  Exp: 7.2 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course is well maintained, mowed, not crowded. The tee signs (when there) had the DGA maps I see all over, so it felt familiar. A local helped me find a missing tee box at one point. Not a long walk from hole 18 of CF main to CF West 1. Seemed to double back over itself several times like the other 18, but in a much more confined space. Many greens were on a crest of a hill, side of a hill, etc, adding a level difficulty that i liked. Lots of open shots for players of my skill level.
Cons: I counted 9 baskets, and only 5 tee signs. 2 signs were laying over, and the maps on them made it appear that they'd been moved from their original position. The tee boxes were grass, not well worn either, so without a sign there is really no way to know where the box is supposed to be. This appeared to have been screwed around with, for example we teed off on hole 3, followed the map exactly, found the basket, it's marked 8. Later we find 8's tee sign laid down with no hole in sight. This could have been a result of the storm I heard about that took out a bunch of holes. This side feels way closer to the road than the 18 across the way, had me very nervous.
Other Thoughts: This course seemed a little cramped into the space it had, I imagine it was very good when it was intact. I honestly don't know if we played the right holes from the right tee boxes, we just decided to have fun and wing it. It's a clean park, there's 27 holes here total, those are both big draws, but you're going to be confused playing this one.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    6/30/2008   5/21/2009
Review By: magictenor1
Played: 103  Reviewed: 37  Exp: 14.2 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice terrain changes with a large hill running through the course. #9 is nice downhill island type of hole surrounded by trees,not water.
Cons: No facilities whatsoever ie bathrooms,proshop, nothing.
Other Thoughts: There is nothing particularly wrong with the course yet there is nothing that jumps out at you as being exceptional either. One of the best things about the course is that it has 18 more holes adjacent to it. If it was a stand alone course I would not go out of my way to play it but if I am there to play the other 18 I would play it again.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Clyde Fant , elevation? yes

2-4    2/16/2009   2/16/2009
Review By: NDABRUSH
Played: 55  Reviewed: 45  Exp: 6.6 Years
This review was updated on 2/19/2010
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: For a 9 hole setup it is long overall, about 3200. Most 9 hole courses are 2200 and down. What the original 18 lacks in elevation and obstacles, this course makes up. Has what you could call a couple of signature shots compared to the 18. Hole 9 is an elevated shot down to an island looking setup with the basket on a mound of sandy dirt with 4 trees. Of course it's Clyde Fant, the island is surrounded by green grass instead of water. Just imagine it's water. Most people just play the main course so it is not usually busy. Some baskets sit close enough to the road to play at night, about 4 of them.
Cons: Only 9 holes. I hate playing golf where you can see and hear cars driving by or an errant throw will go into traffic traveling 50-60 mph.
Other Thoughts: there are very tough shots on this course. If you are looking for a quick 9 go to Highland Park, it's quicker and is at the present time easier to navigate. After the storm apparently T-signs were ruined and according to the last few reviews the course is in total disrepair. Skip it for now.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.