Boerne, TX 
Boerne City Lake Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: dgdoctor Hole #3 (Taken 3/2009)
4 / 548ft.   4 / 704ft. Par / Distance:
Tee # 3 Long Box



Reviews: 13
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Challenging Course

1    4/13/2013   1/27/2014
Review By: DPGRAY1962
Played: 13  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 2.3 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very challenging course with a variety of fairways and lots of trees. Beautiful area with a lake along part of the course.
Cons: You must pay an entrance fee for the park on the weekend. The park itself can be crowded so there may be people walking along or crossing fairways.
Other Thoughts: There is a great potential for lost discs due to the large number of trees and thick underbrush. I lost a disc in a group of trees even though both I and the other player I was with saw the area it landed in.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Little gem

2-4    11/20/2013   1/14/2014
Review By: Mako8
Played: 13  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 13.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has great signage is very easy to find. Fairways were mowed and in great shape when I played. Quality DISCatcher baskets were in good shape and come in handy on some long shots as they are highly visible. Gorgeous setting with beautiful views. Good mix of long and short shots as well as hyzer and annhyzer. The use of land is great and the course is set well in and around the trees.
Cons: My only con with this course was that it was only 9 holes. Also the tee pads were a but worn.
Other Thoughts: Hole number 8 has a lot of thick thorn bushes past the basket to the right; don't get into trouble here. No water in play the lake was pretty low. Would be in my favorites if there a complete 18. Overall a great course, ENJOY!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Challenging Nine Hole Course

5+    11/13/2013   11/18/2013
Review By: markmcc
Played: 73  Reviewed: 62  Exp: 2.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Given the small area that the course is placed in, there is a remarkable variety of lines and distances.

Great use of the large number of mature trees on the site. Significant brush/tangles in some areas makes you want to stay in the fairways. The course calls for tunnel shots, hyzers, anhyzers, and straight drives.

Good risk/reward opportunities. For instance, Hole 9 long tee offers a "safer" route over the short tee position or a tougher, more direct line over water (if the lake is up). The basket for Hole 9 is set on the edge of a rise,so if you miss the approach/putt you'll often end up at the bottom of the hill. Lay up or run it?

Excellent signage at the beginning of the course as well at each tee pad.

Tee pads are bordered by a large limestone boulder on each side and filled with wood chips/mulch. They look very natural in this setting.

Hole lengths vary from 180' to 704'. Long tees are available for holes 3, 6 and 9 with only a single tee available for the remaining holes. The long tees on holes 6 and 9 add significant interest.

Huge parking lots with a restroom nearby. No potable water that I've found, so bring your own.
Cons: The tee pads look very natural, but as they've worn in the surface has become almost "U" shaped. The bordering boulders are so large that you don't want to be close to them, so all traffic is down the centerline of the pad. I often scrape some mulch into the center to try to create a flat surface to throw from.

The short tee on Hole 3 requires a drive over open ground to a gap in the trees. The long tee adds an additional 156' over the open ground without adding any obstacles or different routes. Not as interesting as the long tees on holes 6 and 9.

Some fairways are very close to each other so you may need to wait on others when the course is busy.
Other Thoughts: I've always played on weekdays and have never paid an entry fee (fee booth closed). I understand that the fee booth is staffed on weekends and they charge an entry fee.

Hole 1 plays near a picnic area. I've had a close call or two with folks walking into the fairway during play. On weekends this could be a significant issue. Other holes are clear of the public area.


2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    4/4/2010   4/5/2010
Review By: sidewinding
Played: 81  Reviewed: 68  Exp: 6.7 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Excellent informative signs and a course map at hole #1 make this course easily navigable.

Plenty of parking.

Good restroom.

Excellent design with a wide variety of holes not favoring any throwing style. There are four lefty holes of varying length, four righty holes of varying length and straight and narrow but short hole.

The difficulty level is higher than most other nine hole courses you will play.

The scenic beauty is very high due to it's location on the shores of a small lake and the Central Texas Hill Country Landscape with many mature Live Oak Trees.

There are alternate, long tees on four or five holes.
Cons: The teepads are not good. They are uneven dirt holes that have been covered with mulch.

It costs $5.00 to get into the park and $8.00 on weekends which means I won't be playing here very often.

There are many people using the lake shore for camping, fishing, picnicking, boating, hiking, etc. and most of them have no idea what disc golf is. You will have to be very careful and remain courteous and patient as they walk through the fairways right in front of you.
Other Thoughts: Even though it's on the shores of the lake, the water never really comes into play. It would be very difficult to lose a disc at this course.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Bring your A game

2-4    4/21/2009   5/20/2009
Review By: shawn_l
Played: 29  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 5.6 Years
This review was updated on 5/25/2009
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Every shot you can think of is required on this difficult course. The setting is on a lake and in the trees, so it's always nice and cool. You'll need to be accurate here, and gambling on risky shots gets punished pretty hard. One of the best courses I've seen for use of terrain, elevation, vegetation, and setting.

The wood chip teepads take a bit to get used to, but they weather a lot better than dirt and are more stable than gravel.

Cons: You'll need a map to get through the middle part of the course, but there are plenty available online.

Underbrush is the problem here. Anything 6 inches off the fairway is a tangled mess. You're not going to lose a disc, but it ain't any fun, either. I'd rate this a 4 if some mowing and tree trimming was done.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Great 9 Hole Course

5+    2/16/2009   2/16/2009
Review By: JerryChesterson
Played: 150  Reviewed: 29  Exp: 20.1 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very Challenging Houck design. Course contains a nice mix of holes with 4 easier style par 3's, 2 difficuly par 3's, 2 challenging par 4's, & 1 really difficult par 4. This is an easy drive from San Antonio, I'd highly recomend it. This course will test all your shots in 9 holes, long, short, flick, bach hand, and roller, this course has it all in 9 holes.
Cons: Mulch tee pads, butr with time those will get beaten into really nice dirt pads.
Other Thoughts: I'm not sure what monkey wrench was thinking with his review. The course flows fine, of course the first time I played it it was a little confusing but I printed the coruse map and it was easy to play.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center