Boerne, TX 
Boerne City Lake Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: Cgkortz Hole #6 (Taken 1/2015)
4 / 471ft.   4 / 595ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Tee



Reviews: 15
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
1 2 Next >
 A Texas Gem!

2-4    7/2/2009   7/8/2009
Review By: bayouace
Played: 41  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 23.2 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Really fun course with plenty of good parking, shade, rest rooms. Maps available at the entrance booth, at Hole #1, and online here. Can make this a family outing with the lake to swim in and grill or picnic on shore. This is a 9 holer with options on every hole - a Houck tradition. Take a chance and score well, or pay the price if you don't hit the throw. The lake was dry on the edge, so #2, #8 and #9 had less risk that day. #9 is the biggest water risk usually, unless you putt past the holes on #2 and #8. #3 and # 6 can be long buggers with pro and short tees. Good mulch tee pads. I thought the map was really good, and had no problem navigating the course. Every hole has obstacles for you to choose your poison. If you can't throw straight, you are going to be beating in some discs. Hole #8 is really the only straight hole. All others range from decent curves - annie and hyzer, to blind baskets on #3 and #6. Most of the holes allow you to recover with a good second shot. I'd say if you can't approach OK, you're in trouble. A Pro for me was that this course does not punish discers who are not big arms on every hole. Its a fair balance in all aspects, really. Good job, John, for design and use of terrain!
Cons: Cost my wife and I $8 to get in for our non-resident vehicle. $6 for residents. It was moving to 100 degrees, but hey, that's July in Texas. More vegetation than showing in the course pictures here, but no danger of losing a disc in it.
Other Thoughts: Turn left after entering to get to the parking area closest to Hole #1. If you want the long box for #3, look behind you as you finish #2 and walk out to what you think is #3 long. It isn't. For my skills, City Lake was easier to score pars on than Bandera. They are 20 miles apart and I would play both the same day. Finish at Bandera, and have some afternoon rehab at the 11th Street Cowboy Bar. To get to City Lake Park take I-10 West to Ranger Road, exit, go under I-10 and immediately turn right, stay on service road to Park. This will be a must stop for me on future trips to visit my brother in Bandera.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Fun 9 holes

1    4/1/2009   6/12/2009
Review By: Part-Time Ninja
Played: 54  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 9.6 Years
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Good lay out, Solid variety of throws needed for success. Good surrounding, next to the pond. (I'm from Michigan and refuse to call that a lake.)
Well put together park
Cons: 18 would have been nice. I don't really have anything bad to say...I've only played once.
Other Thoughts: Make it 18!!!!

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Bring your A game

2-4    4/21/2009   5/20/2009
Review By: shawn_l
Played: 29  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 6.4 Years
This review was updated on 5/25/2009
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Every shot you can think of is required on this difficult course. The setting is on a lake and in the trees, so it's always nice and cool. You'll need to be accurate here, and gambling on risky shots gets punished pretty hard. One of the best courses I've seen for use of terrain, elevation, vegetation, and setting.

The wood chip teepads take a bit to get used to, but they weather a lot better than dirt and are more stable than gravel.

Cons: You'll need a map to get through the middle part of the course, but there are plenty available online.

Underbrush is the problem here. Anything 6 inches off the fairway is a tangled mess. You're not going to lose a disc, but it ain't any fun, either. I'd rate this a 4 if some mowing and tree trimming was done.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Great 9 Hole Course

5+    2/16/2009   2/16/2009
Review By: JerryChesterson
Played: 166  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 20.9 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very Challenging Houck design. Course contains a nice mix of holes with 4 easier style par 3's, 2 difficuly par 3's, 2 challenging par 4's, & 1 really difficult par 4. This is an easy drive from San Antonio, I'd highly recomend it. This course will test all your shots in 9 holes, long, short, flick, bach hand, and roller, this course has it all in 9 holes.
Cons: Mulch tee pads, butr with time those will get beaten into really nice dirt pads.
Other Thoughts: I'm not sure what monkey wrench was thinking with his review. The course flows fine, of course the first time I played it it was a little confusing but I printed the coruse map and it was easy to play.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Disappointed

1    2/15/2009   2/15/2009
Review By: monkeywrench
Played: 5  Reviewed: 2
2 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: Challenging, Nice lake views
Cons: Course doesn't flow well, can't see many baskets from tee pads, confusing layout, Overly wooded in sections, woodchip tee pads are very uneven, would be better just to have dirt tee pads.
Other Thoughts: It appears that this course may not be finished yet. There are several holes and tee pads that are all within site of each other that leads to some confusion. Many of the holes don't have a fairway to speak of and there is a fortress of trees between the tee pad and the basket.

2 of 11 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.