New Bern, NC 
Glenburnie Park Share
Uploaded By: keltik Hole #14 (Taken 6/2010)
3 / 265ft.   3 / 358ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #14 Tee Sign

Reviews: 27
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers

1    8/29/2015   9/3/2015
Review By: reposado
Played: 268  Reviewed: 266  Exp: 4.4 Years
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Glenburnie had a lot more elevation than I expected, the front half is the open half but just about every hole in it has you throwing down up or over. There is a decent depression that runs parallel to the river and the designers here took every chance they could to put a tee looking over it. I'd say half of the time the basket is considerably lower than the tee but often it is on the other side of the valley. The back half is wooded and semi wooded, with trees forcing shaped shots and much less elevation. Nice new tees and signs that make navigation easy, both from basket to tee and from tee to basket.
Highlights include 5 a gradual downhill that leads to a basket on a sharp rise as well as 6, a long climb with large trees, almost in two rows, effectively limiting shot selection. 7 is a fun, right-turning shot with a completely blind basket below a sudden decline in elevation.
Cons: The course definitely ends on a low note. 17 is a longer hole that starts downhill with some tree cover leading to an open flat stretch which could be a cool hole if there wasn't a dog park right there. Now the park itself shouldn't come into play but the parking lot for said dog park is in front of the basket and people walking to and from the park will cross the fairway. That leads to 18 which plays over the park road and through the main section of the park.
As much as I like most of the holes of the front nine, there are a few areas of conflict that could be trouble on a busier day. Parts of the fairway on 4 will prevent players from safely teeing off on 1. The 8 long tee fires directly over the 7 basket.(extra unnecessary because only half the holes have a long tee) And a few places like 9 and 11 are shaped that one can't be sure from the tee which hole other players are on.
Other Thoughts: Glenburnie and nearby Barnet are both currently in the back end of the North Carolina top twenty and

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Glenburnie Revisted

5+    7/1/2011   7/2/2011
Review By: BobStutts
Played: 19  Reviewed: 18
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: All of the concrete pads are now in place. The course is just a pleasure to play. The lengths vary allowing all types of players. Great use of beautiful oaks all over property. Great view of river. Overshoot hole 7 and you will give a real closeup view. Hole 8 many of the locals tell me if they hit par off the blue tee they get a feeling of accomplishment. It is on a high mound that slopes to water or thicket after you negotiate 400 foot of trees. After fighting your way through the wood of 8-16 you bangers will love 17 and 18.
Cons: Forget playing for a day or two after any substantial rain. Remember on bad days lightening loves oaks.
Other Thoughts: Great park for the family to picnic, pavilions, etc. Also boat ramp and a small fishing pier. In winter I can vouch for speckle trout fishing with Gulp or real live shrimp or mud minnows.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Traveling through, played

5+    10/7/2009   2/7/2010
Review By: ncee
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Nice, clean, different, a bit of a challenge
Cons: Not well marked. A few water holes, need netting or better marking (or as my friends say "Just learn how to throw the damn disc"
Other Thoughts: A nice treat for someone visiting the area.

Our daughter was living in the area for a few year (her husband is in the service), and this was a nice treat to get away for an hour or so.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Pretty good

1    8/3/2007   9/22/2009
Review By: rhino21
Played: 13  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 9.5 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Good mix of shots. A chance to throw a few bombs. No 'super tight' impossible shots. Some elevation changes. Good pads and baskets. Course in good shape.
Cons: Some holes are very similar. Can be smelly (but not usually so bad). Grass can get a little high. River may come into play.
Other Thoughts: It's been a while since I played this course (I was kind of a newbie when I did), but I really liked it. I think it would definitely be worth your time if you're in the area - not many nearby courses.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Smells Like New Jersey

1    5/9/2009   6/22/2009
Review By: BigJ198
Played: 89  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 14.5 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: A course in Eastern NC with elevation changes! Nice layout with some challenge thrown in.
Cons: Crossing fairways - C'mon people, is this necessary? Bring the bug juice!
Other Thoughts: I like this course. I remember the homemade baskets and think they should have at least kept the one with the pvc pipe disc-stopping setup.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Great course by the Neuse River

1    8/9/2008   8/13/2008
Review By: Mystery
Played: 57  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 17.5 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Glenburnie Park, New Bern, NC
This is a very nice course. The course starts out with a large rules sign and course map. Each tee has nice tee signs with map of the hole along with par and distance. The baskets are Innova Discatchers that are in great shape. There are two sets of tees that are natural/grass with short angled posts marking the teeing area. Tees are relatively easy to see and the course is very easy to navigate. The first hole has you teeing from the top of a hill to a basket protected by a grove of trees at the bottom. The second plays along the side of a hill with the basket protected by the slope of the hill and a road. The third hole plays along the side of a large wooded drop off to the river on the right hand side. Hole #4 plays from the top of one hill to the top of another with trees inhibiting the flight of your disc. Hole #5 plays those hilltops back to the wooded river line. The tee is protected by a tight line of trees that break into the valley and thicken back around the basket. Hole #7 is a great blind anhyzer shot to a basket that is about 50ft from the river's edge. The #8 is a monster 473ft tight shot with the basket perched atop the side of a hill. Hole #9 is another long par 4 that is 454ft that is very tight. Hole # 10 is 241ft tight shot that is relatively straight. The 11th hole is an open shot to a basket tucked in behind trees. Hole #13 is an interesting dogleg to the left. If you turn the shot too soon, you will find yourself in the thick of the woods. There is also a tree that plays as a mandatory that you must navigate to the right. Hole #15 is another dogleg shot to the left that requires a well placed shot to navigate the trees. #17 is a monster 535ft shot that requires the drive to make it through a grove of trees. There is a fenced in playground to the right of those trees that could come into play if trying to navigate around the trees. The basket is placed in the open but is surrounded by roads on the left and behind it. There is a ditch that runs along the right side of the basket. There is plenty of room to place your approach, but the possibility of trouble is there. The #18 hole requires you to drive across a road to a basket that is protected by two large trees. If you can navigate through or around them, you will find an easy approach to the basket.

There are a great variety of shots here. There are open and wooded shots, as well as long and short.
Cons: This was a great course, but there are a few things that I think could have been addressed better. The play around #7 and #8 could be dangerous. The fairways cross very close to #7's basket and #8's tee. This would not be a problem except that the throw to #7 is blind. The shot on #13 is dangerously close to a shelter. The designers made the tree a mandatory to force players to throw well away, but and errant throw could easily deflect off of a tree near the box into the shelter. I doubt that it occurs often, but it is a possibility. The design for the 18th hole from the blue tees was a bit perplexing to me. I felt that there was plenty of room on the left side of the road to place the basket. I don't like teeing over the road. Placing the basket to the left would have made it an easier open shot, but I think that it would have been safer. The hole was fun to play and I can see how it would challenge players to be accurate in their throw.
Other Thoughts: This course is close to a waste treatment plant, so there can be a bit of an odor at times.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.