New Bern, NC 
Glenburnie Park Share
Uploaded By: keltik Hole #5 (Taken 6/2010)
3 / --   3 / 272ft.   3 / 360ft.   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #5 White Tee



Reviews: 23
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Buoy, Glenburnie is fun and challenging!

1    7/6/2014   8/23/2014
Review By: pmay5
Played: 28  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 11.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great course in city park with lots of old-growth trees. Multiple cement tee pads on every hole with several really serious distance from the blues. All baskets were in good shape as well and great signs on each hole.

The large trees force you to shape your shots, but they are not the thick, bushy trees common to a lot of the NC courses that make escapes very difficult. There are some of those bushy trees, but they are mostly on the perimeters of the course.

Maximum use of the elevation in this park. Up and down the rolling hills and two baskets on mounds that test your mettle.

Really nice park with quite a history, property has formerly been the local fairgrounds and a WWII POW camp. Park overlooks the Neuse River, at 1-2 miles across, in looks more like a sound (see pictures for hole #7). Ironically, the quality of this park leads to a Con.
Cons: I don't have any issues with any of the DG facilities, tees, baskets, signs, layout, flow are all good. The only issue I see, is this park being very busy at times. With the playgrounds, picnic shelters and dog park, these could interfere with the DG course at popular times, weekend afternoons and evenings. Most of this course is probably a challenge at those times.
Other Thoughts: As I mentioned, the large trees do create paths to the baskets on most holes, so you have to shape your shots.
Some of my favorite holes - #5 Tee across the rolling hills to the basket on a bluff with thick brush behind it.
#7 Probably the signature hole on the course, tee across level ground, then the fairway turns right and drops down to the basket just feet away from the river. Some brush behind the basket, but makes a great image from the fairway.
#15 Much like #13, tee from an open area, find a gap through the trees, then turn left to the basket protected by more trees. The cool thing about 15, pick your gap on either side of a 12 foot high ocean buoy in the middle of the fairway. Really reminds you how close you are to the coast.
#17 Long par 4 across open ground and near the dog park. Wanna chase a frisbee puppy?
#18 Tough finishing hole, especially from the blues. Tee across the entrance drive, between a few trees whose branches create a ceiling. Only 306, but that ceiling should limit the drives, then uphill to the basket, with the drive OB on the left and OB fence on the right. Provides quite a challenge.

Really fun course to play, the trees provide obstacles to avoid, but very little of the disc eating trees. Blues provide extra distance, and some different lines, for the pros. I played early on a Sunday morning and had very few interruptions, except for one off-leash dog, and 3 others taking the long way to the dog park, down 17 fairway.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

ECUDG

1    4/7/2014   4/7/2014
Review By: Rmldchi
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Very scenic course, it's set right off a river. Set up well for a back handed thrower. All the holes are par 3's. Concrete pads with great DG baskets
Cons: picnic areas set up in the middle of the course. If you go play this course; then play it early.
Other Thoughts: a course that beginners can play

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

3-4 holes away from being 2 different courses.

1    11/18/2012   11/18/2012
Review By: prerube
Played: 213  Reviewed: 195  Exp: 7.3 Years
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Dual concrete tees, nice tee signs and next tee signs for navigation.
Most of the short tees are far different than the longer tees.
Red practice basket and a large rod attached to a tree near the water for fishing out discs.
5 was a great valley shot with a steep blind drop off after the basket.
Hole 7 featured 2 totally different lines to a blind basket just feet from the water.
Hole 8 was nearly 500 feet from the far (nearly 300 from short) with water on right and scattered trees on left over rolling hills.Basket on top of hill.
Cons: 4 of the first 5 baskets are on a slope and it seems that this will be become a course gimick, but it is not as common later in the course.
Parking lot on left next to basket 3 and nearly touching tee 4.
Holes 6, 10, and 12 shared one tee and one tee and one basket which prevented it from being 2 very different sets of 18.
I had to throw over my car and directly at a dog park on 17.
The smell from the waster treatment plant was horrid, but somehow only a factor on hole 18 and as you are entering and leaving.
Other Thoughts: FREE waterfront camping less than 20 minutes away on Riverdale road in the Croatian National Forest. (turn across from Fuel Market, turn right towards dead end, turn left and follow dirt road to camp sites.
Wind coming off the water was intense.
I did loose one disc in the water, so it is possible, but not common.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.


1    10/20/2012   10/20/2012
Review By: chainbangers
Played: 12  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 2.7 Years
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: -Good Signage
-Nice clean park
-Challenging
-Amenities on site
Cons: -Lumberjack was in the middle of the fairway cutting up a tree on hole 4 that really slowed down play because he wouldn't get out of the way
-Got pretty busy and cramped from local club
Other Thoughts: Best course in area

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Fun Course!

2-4    1/29/2012   1/31/2012
Review By: rpitt08
Played: 95  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 15.7 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: This course is east to navigate. The short tees are pretty easy. Play the long tees to challenge yourself. A few of the holes play along water. A couple of the holes have extreme rollaway danger near the basket so you'd better be aware of wen to lay up. Restrooms on site and plenty of places to sit along the way.
Cons: Nothing of note.
Other Thoughts: This course was destroyed by a storm in the Fall of 2010. It is back up and looking fantastic! Amazing to see what disc golfers can do to get their course in order!

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 One of my favorite courses

2-4    7/4/2011   7/5/2011
Review By: teej
Played: 14  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 6.3 Years
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Elevation is awesome. I love the idea of throwing from one hilltop to another. I found myself throwing throwing thumbers and flicking also instead of just backhanding each hole. There are ace opportunities. There are a good combination of short and long holes. The concrete tees are new, they were not there the last time I played at Glenburnie. It is a beautiful course especially when you get near the river. Navigation is very easy. The tee signs are done very well. The park is very family friendly. They have bathrooms on sight, shelters, benches and a play set for the kids to play on. It seems like a good safe area to bring the family.
Cons: Sewage place is right beside the course and can be a little smelly down wind from it. There are some hole very close of crossing each other. I found myself waiting just in case so we don't get into other golfers way.
Other Thoughts: Right now, This is one of my favorite courses to play. Too bad I am 2 hours away or I would be there every week. I will play this course and their pdga tournaments whenever I get a chance!

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Hard Course, But I Love It!

2-4    12/31/2010   1/18/2011
Review By: napoleangunner
Played: 19  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 13.3 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course is difficult, but I absolutely love it! The course has a good mix of short holes and long holes. It also features a tremendous amount of elevation change for a coastal location. The park setting is beautiful, with great views of the Neuse River (just make sure you don't have to wade in after a disc as one of my buddies had to do).
Cons: If you go too far right on #17 you could wind up in a sewage ditch, which really sucks. If you manage to overshoot the ditch you'll find yourself in some of thickest woods imaginable, so there's really no win there.

A couple of the holes on the back 9 are really tight, which wouldn't be so bad if they weren't also really long. You can wear your ass out on the back end of this course.
Other Thoughts: Not all holes have concrete tee pads, but they are working on it. Each time I play there I find more concrete installed.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Smoke on tha Water

5+    8/23/2011   12/22/2010
Review By: Waylin
Played: 11  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 17.3 Years
This review was updated on 12/28/2012
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Good use of elevation(which is rare in the Coastal Plains of NC). Good variety of shots: long, short, left, right, straight, open, tight, uphill, downhill, hilltop to hilltop. Beautiful course beside the Neuse River.
Cons: Hole #8 runs parallel with the River which gives you a chance at loosing a disc, or getting wet to retrieve it.(not really a con though IMO, don't play DG if you don't want to loose discs) Hole #7 crosses hole #8 from the longs which can be a bottle neck during more serious tournaments. I'm reaching to get cons. It's really a great course without very much traffic.
Other Thoughts: Every hole has concrete tee pads now. Every basket has double chains now. There is a Sweet red practice basket now. And hole #2 has a Blue basket when playing the Blue Holes now! And more benches keep popping up by holes thanks the the local club. Monthly tournaments every third Saturday of the month.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 my favorite

5+    12/15/2010   12/15/2010
Review By: KUJO13
Played: 41  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4.2 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: this is a well layed out course in a beutiful park. great use of the terrain. if you dont know, eastern N.C is basically flat but this course uses the hills it has well. rareley ever crowded. the New Bern Disc Golf club takes excellent care of the course. the first concrete pads have been installed on holes 1-6 with the rest on the way soon. also a few benches have been installed.
Cons: natural dirt tee pads but that will be a thing of the past soon. the smell from the water treatment plant can sometimes be unpleasant.
Other Thoughts: with the improvements that the club has planned, this course will be one of the best in the state.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Get Loose by the Neuse

1    2/21/2010   2/21/2010
Review By: BrotherDave
Played: 100  Reviewed: 98  Exp: 7.1 Years
6 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Beautiful, well-maintained park by the Neuse River. Plentiful old pines framing a variety of fairways for thine discing pleasure. Many downhill shots to quicken the pulse and a few par 4s to challenge the arms and mind. Many holes provide multiple lines, rough is punishing without being insulting, very hilly in spots, uses park land efficiently, and it's beside a lovely river, did I mention that? Also two sets of tees and Discatcher baskets, bathrooms, amenities, blah, blah, blah. Course flows reasonably well and tees are logically located and easy enough to spot.
Cons: Natural tees but they're in good shape due to the relative lack of disc golfers. Some holes have some risky OBs, for instance #17 a dog park comes into play., #18 plays across the main park road. Popular among average joe picnic'ers and dog walkers. Some of the baskets only have a single set of chains. I'm reaching here for cons, can you tell?
Other Thoughts: This course was a blast, fun, technical, variety, scenery, everything you can ask for of a course. All I advise is some caution when throwing on the holes along the river as the bank is steep and roll aways into the drink are muy possible. Definitely an upper tier NC course.

6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.