New Bern, NC
Glenburnie Park Share
Uploaded By: keltik Hole #15 (Taken 6/2010)
3 / --   3 / 275ft.   3 / 234ft.   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #15 White Tee



Reviews: 21
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3
ECUDG

1    4/7/2014   4/7/2014
Review By: Rmldchi
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very scenic course, it's set right off a river. Set up well for a back handed thrower. All the holes are par 3's. Concrete pads with great DG baskets
Cons: picnic areas set up in the middle of the course. If you go play this course; then play it early.
Other Thoughts: a course that beginners can play

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Love this course!

5+    8/27/2013   9/2/2013
Review By: Hollywood
Played: 13  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 1.6 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: In this part of eastern North Carolina, this is by far one of the best. I have had the opportunity to play this course many times and it always poses a new challenge each time. The first few baskets are pretty open which provide a great warmup before slowly working into the wooded baskets on the back nine.
Cons: When it rains, its a swamp. No two ways about it. If its rained recently or if you play this course during the summer and experience a true southern t-storm, you'll be sloshing through water on many of the fairways.
Other Thoughts: This is one of my favorite courses to play and helped me greatly develop my game without being too overly difficult but not very easy either.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

1st Run

2-4    1/18/2013   1/18/2013
Review By: clementsjd1
Played: 45  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 2.9 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: - Bathrooms available
- Had a very good mixture of holes, some very technical shots to be made here which I enjoy.
- Well marked tee's
- Map of the course at the beginning, I took a picture which helped me navigate much easier.
Cons: - Rude dog walkers is my only complaint.
Other Thoughts: Every course I have ever played on I have seen at one time or another someone walking their dog, or playing with their kids at the park, for the most part they stay clear of the course. At this particular course we waited 10 minutes for a lady with her dogs after politely letting her know we were trying to throw our discs down past her, in a very rude tone she yelled back we have the right to walk here to, we just laughed and waited the reason we laughed is she was standing there playing with her dogs in the middle of the fairway when their was a huge fenced in dog park 10 feet away from her. Maybe this course could use a walking trail.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

3-4 holes away from being 2 different courses.

1    11/18/2012   11/18/2012
Review By: prerube
Played: 200  Reviewed: 184  Exp: 6.9 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Dual concrete tees, nice tee signs and next tee signs for navigation.
Most of the short tees are far different than the longer tees.
Red practice basket and a large rod attached to a tree near the water for fishing out discs.
5 was a great valley shot with a steep blind drop off after the basket.
Hole 7 featured 2 totally different lines to a blind basket just feet from the water.
Hole 8 was nearly 500 feet from the far (nearly 300 from short) with water on right and scattered trees on left over rolling hills.Basket on top of hill.
Cons: 4 of the first 5 baskets are on a slope and it seems that this will be become a course gimick, but it is not as common later in the course.
Parking lot on left next to basket 3 and nearly touching tee 4.
Holes 6, 10, and 12 shared one tee and one tee and one basket which prevented it from being 2 very different sets of 18.
I had to throw over my car and directly at a dog park on 17.
The smell from the waster treatment plant was horrid, but somehow only a factor on hole 18 and as you are entering and leaving.
Other Thoughts: FREE waterfront camping less than 20 minutes away on Riverdale road in the Croatian National Forest. (turn across from Fuel Market, turn right towards dead end, turn left and follow dirt road to camp sites.
Wind coming off the water was intense.
I did loose one disc in the water, so it is possible, but not common.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.


1    10/20/2012   10/20/2012
Review By: chainbangers
Played: 12  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 2.3 Years
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: -Good Signage
-Nice clean park
-Challenging
-Amenities on site
Cons: -Lumberjack was in the middle of the fairway cutting up a tree on hole 4 that really slowed down play because he wouldn't get out of the way
-Got pretty busy and cramped from local club
Other Thoughts: Best course in area

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Great Course

5+    9/1/2012   9/1/2012
Review By: Andrew_Wilson
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 3.4 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Great course uses a little of everything from short hole to long holes. Open fairways to tight shots in the trees. Holes to backhand on and holes to flick it makes you use a variety of skills so you have to know how to do all of it if you wanna throw a good round.
Other Thoughts: Concrete teepads. New tee signs on both whites and blue. The members and local discgolf players keep up with the course and it's only getting better

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Top 5 Courses

2-4    4/6/2012   4/13/2012
Review By: LeeBo
Played: 37  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 3.1 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Very well designed course and one of my favorites played. Alternate basket on hole #2. Needed different shots all around (backhand, forehand, thumbs, etc.). Long holes to rip one, and short holes to keep accuracy. Beautiful sight and very maintained.
Cons: Expecting a water hole or two, but it doesn't come into play (unless you get a badshot, hole #8) Couple of trees need to come down.
Other Thoughts: You will need to bring your A game if you want to shoot a good score from the blues.The water fountain is amazing, taste like it has splenda in it.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Fun Course!

2-4    1/29/2012   1/31/2012
Review By: rpitt08
Played: 95  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 15.3 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: This course is east to navigate. The short tees are pretty easy. Play the long tees to challenge yourself. A few of the holes play along water. A couple of the holes have extreme rollaway danger near the basket so you'd better be aware of wen to lay up. Restrooms on site and plenty of places to sit along the way.
Cons: Nothing of note.
Other Thoughts: This course was destroyed by a storm in the Fall of 2010. It is back up and looking fantastic! Amazing to see what disc golfers can do to get their course in order!

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 One of my favorite courses

2-4    7/4/2011   7/5/2011
Review By: teej
Played: 14  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.9 Years
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Elevation is awesome. I love the idea of throwing from one hilltop to another. I found myself throwing throwing thumbers and flicking also instead of just backhanding each hole. There are ace opportunities. There are a good combination of short and long holes. The concrete tees are new, they were not there the last time I played at Glenburnie. It is a beautiful course especially when you get near the river. Navigation is very easy. The tee signs are done very well. The park is very family friendly. They have bathrooms on sight, shelters, benches and a play set for the kids to play on. It seems like a good safe area to bring the family.
Cons: Sewage place is right beside the course and can be a little smelly down wind from it. There are some hole very close of crossing each other. I found myself waiting just in case so we don't get into other golfers way.
Other Thoughts: Right now, This is one of my favorite courses to play. Too bad I am 2 hours away or I would be there every week. I will play this course and their pdga tournaments whenever I get a chance!

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Glenburnie Revisted

5+    7/1/2011   7/2/2011
Review By: BobStutts
Played: 19  Reviewed: 18
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: All of the concrete pads are now in place. The course is just a pleasure to play. The lengths vary allowing all types of players. Great use of beautiful oaks all over property. Great view of river. Overshoot hole 7 and you will give a real closeup view. Hole 8 many of the locals tell me if they hit par off the blue tee they get a feeling of accomplishment. It is on a high mound that slopes to water or thicket after you negotiate 400 foot of trees. After fighting your way through the wood of 8-16 you bangers will love 17 and 18.
Cons: Forget playing for a day or two after any substantial rain. Remember on bad days lightening loves oaks.
Other Thoughts: Great park for the family to picnic, pavilions, etc. Also boat ramp and a small fishing pier. In winter I can vouch for speckle trout fishing with Gulp or real live shrimp or mud minnows.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.