New Bern, NC 
Glenburnie Park Share
Uploaded By: keltik Hole #3 (Taken 6/2010)
3 / --   3 / 252ft.   3 / 295ft.   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Blue Tee



Reviews: 22
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Glenburnie Revisted

5+    7/1/2011   7/2/2011
Review By: BobStutts
Played: 19  Reviewed: 18
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: All of the concrete pads are now in place. The course is just a pleasure to play. The lengths vary allowing all types of players. Great use of beautiful oaks all over property. Great view of river. Overshoot hole 7 and you will give a real closeup view. Hole 8 many of the locals tell me if they hit par off the blue tee they get a feeling of accomplishment. It is on a high mound that slopes to water or thicket after you negotiate 400 foot of trees. After fighting your way through the wood of 8-16 you bangers will love 17 and 18.
Cons: Forget playing for a day or two after any substantial rain. Remember on bad days lightening loves oaks.
Other Thoughts: Great park for the family to picnic, pavilions, etc. Also boat ramp and a small fishing pier. In winter I can vouch for speckle trout fishing with Gulp or real live shrimp or mud minnows.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Hard Course, But I Love It!

2-4    12/31/2010   1/18/2011
Review By: napoleangunner
Played: 19  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 13.2 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course is difficult, but I absolutely love it! The course has a good mix of short holes and long holes. It also features a tremendous amount of elevation change for a coastal location. The park setting is beautiful, with great views of the Neuse River (just make sure you don't have to wade in after a disc as one of my buddies had to do).
Cons: If you go too far right on #17 you could wind up in a sewage ditch, which really sucks. If you manage to overshoot the ditch you'll find yourself in some of thickest woods imaginable, so there's really no win there.

A couple of the holes on the back 9 are really tight, which wouldn't be so bad if they weren't also really long. You can wear your ass out on the back end of this course.
Other Thoughts: Not all holes have concrete tee pads, but they are working on it. Each time I play there I find more concrete installed.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Smoke on tha Water

5+    8/23/2011   12/22/2010
Review By: Waylin
Played: 11  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 17.2 Years
This review was updated on 12/28/2012
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Good use of elevation(which is rare in the Coastal Plains of NC). Good variety of shots: long, short, left, right, straight, open, tight, uphill, downhill, hilltop to hilltop. Beautiful course beside the Neuse River.
Cons: Hole #8 runs parallel with the River which gives you a chance at loosing a disc, or getting wet to retrieve it.(not really a con though IMO, don't play DG if you don't want to loose discs) Hole #7 crosses hole #8 from the longs which can be a bottle neck during more serious tournaments. I'm reaching to get cons. It's really a great course without very much traffic.
Other Thoughts: Every hole has concrete tee pads now. Every basket has double chains now. There is a Sweet red practice basket now. And hole #2 has a Blue basket when playing the Blue Holes now! And more benches keep popping up by holes thanks the the local club. Monthly tournaments every third Saturday of the month.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 my favorite

5+    12/15/2010   12/15/2010
Review By: KUJO13
Played: 41  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4.1 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: this is a well layed out course in a beutiful park. great use of the terrain. if you dont know, eastern N.C is basically flat but this course uses the hills it has well. rareley ever crowded. the New Bern Disc Golf club takes excellent care of the course. the first concrete pads have been installed on holes 1-6 with the rest on the way soon. also a few benches have been installed.
Cons: natural dirt tee pads but that will be a thing of the past soon. the smell from the water treatment plant can sometimes be unpleasant.
Other Thoughts: with the improvements that the club has planned, this course will be one of the best in the state.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Get Loose by the Neuse

1    2/21/2010   2/21/2010
Review By: BrotherDave
Played: 99  Reviewed: 97  Exp: 7 Years
6 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Beautiful, well-maintained park by the Neuse River. Plentiful old pines framing a variety of fairways for thine discing pleasure. Many downhill shots to quicken the pulse and a few par 4s to challenge the arms and mind. Many holes provide multiple lines, rough is punishing without being insulting, very hilly in spots, uses park land efficiently, and it's beside a lovely river, did I mention that? Also two sets of tees and Discatcher baskets, bathrooms, amenities, blah, blah, blah. Course flows reasonably well and tees are logically located and easy enough to spot.
Cons: Natural tees but they're in good shape due to the relative lack of disc golfers. Some holes have some risky OBs, for instance #17 a dog park comes into play., #18 plays across the main park road. Popular among average joe picnic'ers and dog walkers. Some of the baskets only have a single set of chains. I'm reaching here for cons, can you tell?
Other Thoughts: This course was a blast, fun, technical, variety, scenery, everything you can ask for of a course. All I advise is some caution when throwing on the holes along the river as the bank is steep and roll aways into the drink are muy possible. Definitely an upper tier NC course.

6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Traveling through, played

5+    10/7/2009   2/7/2010
Review By: ncee
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Nice, clean, different, a bit of a challenge
Cons: Not well marked. A few water holes, need netting or better marking (or as my friends say "Just learn how to throw the damn disc"
Other Thoughts: A nice treat for someone visiting the area.

Our daughter was living in the area for a few year (her husband is in the service), and this was a nice treat to get away for an hour or so.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful, challenging course

2-4    11/14/2009   11/16/2009
Review By: DiscJunkie
Played: 32  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 6.2 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good use of elevation. Most holes have a clear line to throw. Good risk/reward throughout most of the course. Multiple line to choose from. Good variation of long and short holes. Good variation of open and tight holes. Good facilities for the family. There is a nice Jungle-Jim type playground for the kids. There is a fenced-in doggie park for the pooch. There are good shelters and picnic facilities. There are also clean rest rooms at the park. Navigation is fairly simple. Nice tee signs. It's not difficult to find the next hole and there are directional signs. Most would not need a guide for the first time they play this course. The park is in a nice neighborhood, it seems. I didn't see anything that would keep me from bringing a family here.
Cons: My biggest con is the natural tees and subsequent roots and slopes and slants. Concrete tees would add at least a half-disc to my rating. Some of the white tees are poorly placed. The white tees on one hole are straight in front of two trees. Some course designers confuse "sticking the tee in front of trees" with "good design". Thankfully, this is an exception.
Other Thoughts: The club is working very hard at getting artificial built-up tees of some design. At least two holes run next to the water. Lost discs are common. I greatly prefer the Blue tees; longer, but placed much better. Overall, I love the course, but I probably won't play it again until the new tees are in. The course is very wooded, but not claustrophobic. It also features several open holes that will let you crank it all out. Some holes are poorly designed, IMHO, without a clear line to the basket. Some people don't mind this, so i won't put it as a Con. The course is near a treatment plant and a river, so odor is an issue on some days. The course had a nice breeze throughout. It never got real windy, probably because of the trees. I'm sure that the shade will come in handy in the summer, and being beside a river will help it stay cool.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Pretty good

1    8/3/2007   9/22/2009
Review By: rhino21
Played: 13  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 8.2 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Good mix of shots. A chance to throw a few bombs. No 'super tight' impossible shots. Some elevation changes. Good pads and baskets. Course in good shape.
Cons: Some holes are very similar. Can be smelly (but not usually so bad). Grass can get a little high. River may come into play.
Other Thoughts: It's been a while since I played this course (I was kind of a newbie when I did), but I really liked it. I think it would definitely be worth your time if you're in the area - not many nearby courses.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

1    9/9/2009   9/9/2009
Review By: DavidSauls
Played: 115  Reviewed: 58  Exp: 19.1 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Course is in a nice riverfront park, with tall pines and, for the most part, little underbrush. Modest elevation but some bluffs and earthworks, on the shores of a river which is very wide---more of a sound at this point---making it right scenic.

The front 9, in particular, makes good use of the riverfront and steep slopes, with well-designed fairways.
Cons: There are a lot of holes laid out among the tall pines, with more-or-less a fairway and if you miss it or kick off, you can look for a path through the trees to the basket. Not bad, but not great, and enough of these that they get a little redundant.
Other Thoughts: My visit coincided with gale-force winds, but I'd suspect from the course's waterfront and coastal location that winds frequently make it interesting.

Next door to a sewage treatment plant, I guess; said winds meant I didn't have to deal with odors but I'm sure there are times it's a little unplesant.

Definitely worth playing if you're in the area.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Smells Like New Jersey

1    5/9/2009   6/22/2009
Review By: BigJ198
Played: 84  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 13.2 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: A course in Eastern NC with elevation changes! Nice layout with some challenge thrown in.
Cons: Crossing fairways - C'mon people, is this necessary? Bring the bug juice!
Other Thoughts: I like this course. I remember the homemade baskets and think they should have at least kept the one with the pvc pipe disc-stopping setup.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.