Belvidere, IL 
Belvidere Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: notapro Hole #3 (Taken 10/2011)
3 / 460ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee



Reviews: 17
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
  Belvidere

1    5/14/2011   5/16/2011
Review By: oldtime
Played: 161  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 3.3 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: 1. Beautiful Park, Very Clean, Well maintained
2. Good course for beginners.
3. A couple Challenging Holes
4. After you find the 1st tee holes have good signs.
Cons: 1. Most Holes are too short.
2. Fairways play over parking Lots and Walking Paths.
3. Hard to find the 1st Tee
Other Thoughts: I played on an cloudy nasty day and the park was pretty empty, but I could see it being pretty crowded on a nice day.

Course was okay to play one time but probably wont go back.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Strange round here

1    10/9/2010   10/10/2010
Review By: flingkaching
Played: 124  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 34.2 Years
This review was updated on 10/14/2010
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Scenic park, well maintained, descent facilities, has some variety & descent length good amount of obstructions & water in play on several holes, cement tee pads & signs. About half the holes were challenging, the others relatively easy birdies.
Cons: Nothing to indicate where the course starts, walked around looking for hole 1 & ended up starting at hole 3. Tee pads too short. There were unaware people muddling about around every hole or directly on the hole which became pretty frustrating. Granted I played on a Saturday around 1 on a beautiful day, but people seemed cluleess to course users.
Park structures on some holes, (ie. picnic pavillion on hole 3 extends into the hole.
Lacks signs to next tee on all but hole 9 & at time confusing to navagate

Hole 4 basket was surrounded by a park construction zone with heavy equipment, materials etc.
Then there was a sign pointing for hole 9 tee that went back toward the construction site, never found a tee box after looking around so I'm guessing it once was where this construction site now is. Didn't look like the construction had anything to do with DG course upgrades.

Some of the baskets were bent, slumped off line or had rusted out chains & baskets.

There were too many people around & walking along paths to really rip a shot on hole 2, too bad cause it was the best hole on the course.

The layout could also be improved.
Other Thoughts: This was a great looking park and the course could be a lot nicer if not for issues. With the construction site a virtual 7 hole currently. Probably a bit better if played regularly or at less busy times. If the course had it's own space it would play a lot better & be more enjoyable. I would not go out of the way for this one, but would return if closer to home or in area at less busy time. It does have some good attributes but also needs improvements.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 A nice course for the locals

1    8/22/2010   8/22/2010
Review By: smyith
Played: 134  Reviewed: 63  Exp: 12.8 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Cement Pads (although short)
- Great Tee Signs
- Some Long holes
- Mildly entertaining
- For the local Belvidere disc golfers its a nice course to get in after work or when your tight on time.
- Nice Innova baskets
- Leashed Dogs Allowed
- An asthetic park that is decently manicured
Cons: - Fairways have conflicting traffic.
- Local population is clueless about the sport.
- 1 and 3s fairways are far too close for 400' holes
- Hole 3 (460')needs some trimming. The low branches 50ft in front of the tee severaly limit actually being able to throw anywhere near a good long drive. Instead these braches prompt you to throw over the shelter and playground to make a good long shot.
- The flow isn't good. 1 thru 3 are seperated from 4-9. Luckily its a skinny and small park so you dont haave to search much.
- Not a single hole is a really challenge. You should find yourself putting for a 2 on 7 of the 9 holes.
- Signs directing you to the next tees would be nice.
Other Thoughts: Although the course looks planned out well it wasn't put in a good park. There is alot of other traffic moving through the park. I can foresee conflicts in the park.
If you're a local or have some other reason to be in the park then by all means take 30-40 minutes of your time and enjoy a round or two of disc. I wouldn't, however, go out of your way to play it.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 One great hole

1    4/8/2010   4/12/2010
Review By: mashnut
Played: 815  Reviewed: 749  Exp: 12.4 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays through a pretty and very well maintained park with grassy fairways and various densities of trees. There are a couple small ponds and a creek that are in play on some holes, making for some nice risk/reward shots, and a small flowing river along the edge of the park with a big swinging bridge over it that adds to the scenery here. Hole 2 is the best use of the water on this course, with a blind uphill shot, then a drop to a pond and creek, then another rise on the far bank to a pin placed on the edge of a slope down to the water.

The course has nice new baskets that are in great shape, and good large concrete tees with a decent surface. The signs are plenty informative with basic hole maps and distances, and there aren't any holes where you don't know where to shoot. The flow is good, so the course is easy to follow with no navigation issues.
Cons: Other than hole 2, the course is pretty forgettable. The holes play through scattered trees with no real defined lines, through mostly flat grassy areas. The only other water carry is very short, only long enough to discourage very new players. Several holes seemed to be long, but not long enough to really make a 3 challenging which made them very boring holes.

There are several places on the course where there are potential safety issues with other park users. Some holes play right along the park road and near parking areas, and others bring benches, picnic areas and playgrounds into play which could be a major issue on a nice day.
Other Thoughts: Other than one great hole, this course just doesn't have all that much going on. I don't recommend going out of your way to play this one unless you happen to be in the area and want to play a quick round. Beginners will find the course approachable other than hole 2s longer water carry, though the length on some holes may be discouraging. More experienced players won't find a lot of variety or unique challenge here.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 bizarre

1    6/22/2009   1/23/2010
Review By: tallpaul
Played: 706  Reviewed: 133  Exp: 26.2 Years
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: My overall day here was quite enjoyable. With that said, this one is like a roller coaster in terms of rating it. Our arrival was a pro and a con....
1) Beautiful swimming pool, and a large parking lot.
2) The walk to the nearest of a number of small, arched bridges, allowed us to view a number of the beautiful flower gardens here. I mean; these are nice. Most towns probably have a park or two with this sort of flower bed landscaping; but few disc courses ever see such items.
3)This walk to the nearest bridge also took us past two "wonderful children at play." These are life sized, bronze sculptures, right in the middle of the small river.
Unfortunately for the "children", it had been raining steadily in the area for a couple of days; and the kids were drowning :<).
4) Once we got to a tee; signs and tees were well done.
5) #2 is a very nice disc hole. I lost one in the creek/river (I'm not sure what this body of water is; the portion I lost my plastic in was raging and too deep to go into the day we played. At other times; this may not be such an issue.) You throw semi blind to the water; due to uphill drive; and water is perfect distance to scare/challenge, blue level player.

If you lay up, short of water (or have to shoot your circle 3rd shot; as I did; from back side of creek/river), your next shot will require a solid 220+ heiser (rhbh); completely over a wider and placid portion of the water feature (picture; pond like). This is not that long distance wise; but pin near the water and if you heiser too much; you bring trees on back side of green back into play and force your next putt to be back at the water feature; with a sloped, downhill finish to end up wet.
If you made it across on the drive; you must play a @200 ft. straight as an arrow shot; with trees in play; and the water to the right; or swing a pretty wide anny (rhbh) to come back through trees to the landing. Again, I will point out that the pin is near the water, with a long upshot/putt tending towards wetness.
Lhbh players may not find this hole as difficult as rhbh.
For rhbh, it's an interesting, par three shot; with a water stroke very available; that would be a fine hole on a top course; and is a very pleasant surprise at this, otherwise, scenic; but rather uneventful layout.
Cons: 1) Lot was full because swimming pool was getting major use. We had to park all the way at the end of the long lot, which actually put us quite a distance from tee #1 and we started on a mid course tee.
3) One of the first holes we played; #6? does very much have benches and playground in play. There was no one there, when we were but, if there had been, would have very much been an issue.
2) These holes were moderately challenging; with some trees to contend with; including
at least one nice pine grove. There is also moderate elevation ....especially on greens; which will make for putts from raised or sunken angles. (not a con). But, overall, nothing above average in terms of disc play. Many holes that are fairly challenging deuces; and rather easy threes.
Other Thoughts: Near the parking lot and seen during the walk too and fro to the course; is an old mill/barn that is maintained nicely and adds another layer to the overall/historic/European modern, cottage feel of the place.
@500 ft. to the right of hole #2 is part of a river, locks system. Locks are fairly common in my home area; in Fox Cities, Wisconsin (Fox River). I enjoy this type of scenery in my home area; and believe it is even more unique here.
O.K.....so, I went and looked a little; and this is an offshoot of the Rock River; both this locks system, portion; and the smaller portion that factors into the course on #2.
The actual rating, for disc play, on this course is a 1.5. The single, good hole probably adds a .5 by itself; the landscaping/park amenities/"feel of the park" could add another .5 to it; but with "other parks users issues" (which, I again add, we were not forced to deal with; and so, may not be a problem all that often; as the parking lot was packed full this day); I'll end up with a roller coaster/back and forth/good and bad/I was pleasantly surprised; 2 rating.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center