Belvidere, IL 
Belvidere Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: notapro Hole #3 (Taken 10/2011)
3 / 460ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee Sign



Reviews: 17
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Very nice, but how long will it last?

1    7/22/2012   7/23/2012
Review By: cefire
Played: 637  Reviewed: 134  Exp: 15.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course was actually quite a bit better than I was expecting. Very challenging layout with quite a bit of OB (much of it very well placed) and some decent distance required. Good tees and baskets rounded out the little extras and the park is quite beautiful - actually a park I had been throwing discs in about 10+ years ago!

Many holes have pretty low ceilings forcing powershots and skips to reach the pins. Hole 8 is a classic woodsy hole with multiple lines that is a bit of a rarity in NW Illinois.
Cons: Some of the holes have infringing foliage ceilings that *may be getting a bit too low, hard to judge with only one round.

The major drawback to this course though is the extensive opportunity for adverse interactions with other park users. MANY of the holes play right over busy walking paths and some of these require lots of scouting to make sure you aren't going to hit anyone. It seems only a matter of time before someone gets hit by a careless golfer likely leading to a redesign or yankage. Likewise, several holes back right up to busy parking lots and for RHBH throwers are in a prime location for hitting cars with fast plastic.
Other Thoughts: Overall, I was quite impressed with this course even on the busy day we played it. Didn't see any other golfers out probably because it is so new but it does seem well cared for. Go play it (and don't be 'the guy' who makes a careless throw and gets it pulled!)!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Intermediate

2-4    10/8/2011   10/11/2011
Review By: notapro
Played: 420  Reviewed: 280  Exp: 11.4 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Course is set in a decent sized city park, with lots of activities present. There are playgrounds, pavilions, benches, walking path, fishing pond, etc. etc. Expect to wait on some holes on a nice day.
- Majority of the holes use an extensive amount of trees to force lots of line shaping. Hole #1 is probably the most open, with decent room for a RHBH flex shot or similar, or just a straight shot. Other holes are more open for a RHBH hyzer, like #4, #5, #7, and #9. #3 has a low canopy off the tee to contend with, and #9 works well with a lay-up hyzer or a bombed RHFH flex shot. A lot of chances to get creative on all of these holes, the obvious line is there but it's not mandatory.
- #2 and #6 add some challenge with water; in both cases the disc is going over the pond at some point. #6 is friendly to a straight/right fading shot, with a forgiving window to get through. #2 is a lot tougher, with a tight window to hit, and a longer water carry that has to finish hyzer. A short shot with enough fade (RHBH) may make dry land, but it's no guarantee!
- Minor elevation changes are present throughout, with a small hill to get over on #2, and slightly elevated teepads on #4, #5, and #9. Some sloping greens as well, like on #2 and #5.
- Great mix of hole lengths, there are real bombers out here, especially with some low ceilings and other obstacles. #3 and #9 need some serious D for any chance at a deuce, at 460' and 463'.
- Water provides real hazards, and there is also a TON of walking path/road/man-made OB. While I am not a big fan of scraping up my discs on pavement, it made #9 much more interesting.
- Grippy teepads, great signage, and good baskets. Navigation easy, with some help (like a pointer to #9's teepad). The tee sign to #2 was backwards when I played; I was able to lift it out of the ground and turn it around. Darn punks!
Cons: - Biggest con here was the insane amount of foot traffic due to the walking path, and traffic on the entrance road. So many holes play by both of these, it was a fight against the park goers. And so much pavement is a con in general, both for disc damage and general ugliness.
- RHBH hyzer goes a long way here; it is the obvious line on #2, #4, #5, #7, #8, and maybe #9. The only hole with any sort of right fading action is #6; and even then a straight shot is serviceable. A little repetitive.
- A few spots where tees/fairways/baskets are a little cramped, like in the #1-#3 loop. Heads up on a busy day.
Other Thoughts: - For a 9-holer in a city park, this course delivers! Some tough holes to really test accuracy and/or distance. Tight lines off the tee due to big and small trees, water to punish some poor shots, tricky basket placements - it's got a ton of character. Definitely worth a stop for almost anyone; I would say beginners might want to skip this more than the experts. Definitely a chance to lose some plastic here.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Belvidere

2-4    6/12/2010   6/13/2010
Review By: Big_Man
Played: 35  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 8.6 Years
This review was updated on 10/20/2010
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is actually quite a beautiful course when it comes to scenery. I enjoy the trees and the Kishwaukee River flowing along side the park. I also enjoy the challenge for only being 9 holes. Hole 3 has a huge risk/reward factor if you try to make it over the pond on your drive. I would suggest playing conservative if it is your first time playing. I am wondering how many discs are actually in that small lagoon. Oh yeah, the pool plays music over loud speakers, so you have something to listen to while you are playing which is unique in my mind even if it is something terrible like Lady Gaga.
Cons: This place is crowded and not with disc golfers. It is the nicest park in Belvidere and people love to use it, especially on the weekends. Some residents will have picnics and set up in the middle of the fairways not knowing that there is a course there.
I also am nervous when there is a lot of water around, and am sometimes worried about using a nicer disc just in case of a bad throw.
Other Thoughts: This course is very nice for 9 holes. I would certainly check it out if you are in the greater Rockford area.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Be respectful of other park users

1    11/27/2009   11/30/2009
Review By: Three Putt
Played: 130  Reviewed: 83  Exp: 20 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I really was not expecting much from Belvidere Park, but it was a surprisingly nice 9-hole course. I had a little problem finding the tee for # 1, but from there the course flowed fairly well and there were directional signs in a couple of places. Hole # 2 was a pretty difficult water carry where you had to hit a gap and # 3 had some good distance to it, so it got my attention pretty quickly. After hole # 3 the course settled down into some pretty nice shots. # 7 is a gimme deuce, but the others were fairly difficult to deuce but fairly easy to par. Most of the shots were moderately wooded, adding some decent challenge. There was no severe elevation changes but the park was not completely flat like a lot of the courses in Northern Illinois. It was a fun round that provided some decent challenge. The course has good tee signs and nice concrete tee pads. The park itself has good amenities and is well taken care of. I was very pleasantly surprised by this course.
Cons: The park is very busy, and the course has some iffy spots where it does not seem to fit in very well with the overall park. Hole # 6 was the worst spot. If you take the anny route on # 6 you shoot over some park benches. If your drive fades you will land very close to some swing sets. If there were people sitting on the benches and kids on the swings, I'd have to skip that hole. There are a couple of other spots were a walking path gets very close to the fairways, and a playground was close to one hole. All-in-all, the design made me somewhat uncomfortable in several spots.

Hole #6 is also one of my pet peeves. The tee was on the banks of a creek, so you had to throw maybe 60' to clear the water. This presents no challenge to an adult, but kids trying to learn to play can easily lose a disc in the creek. I can't see the reason for designing holes like this, it just makes it more difficult on kids trying to pick up the sport.
Other Thoughts: Like most nine-hole courses, this one is not worth going out of your way to play. If you are in the area it is worth your time to check out. You should try to get there on a weekday or really early in the morning to avoid conflicts with other park users.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

nice

5+    4/4/2009   4/4/2009
Review By: duain
Played: 67  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 12.9 Years
This review was updated on 8/7/2014
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: lots of different types of shots. some long, some over water, most with trees in play, beautiful landscape. concrete pads
Cons: random people walking around in the way sometimes
Other Thoughts: none

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.