Belvidere, IL 
Belvidere Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: notapro Hole #7 (Taken 10/2011)
3 / 180ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Tee Sign



Reviews: 17
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Very nice, but how long will it last?

1    7/22/2012   7/23/2012
Review By: cefire
Played: 637  Reviewed: 134  Exp: 15.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course was actually quite a bit better than I was expecting. Very challenging layout with quite a bit of OB (much of it very well placed) and some decent distance required. Good tees and baskets rounded out the little extras and the park is quite beautiful - actually a park I had been throwing discs in about 10+ years ago!

Many holes have pretty low ceilings forcing powershots and skips to reach the pins. Hole 8 is a classic woodsy hole with multiple lines that is a bit of a rarity in NW Illinois.
Cons: Some of the holes have infringing foliage ceilings that *may be getting a bit too low, hard to judge with only one round.

The major drawback to this course though is the extensive opportunity for adverse interactions with other park users. MANY of the holes play right over busy walking paths and some of these require lots of scouting to make sure you aren't going to hit anyone. It seems only a matter of time before someone gets hit by a careless golfer likely leading to a redesign or yankage. Likewise, several holes back right up to busy parking lots and for RHBH throwers are in a prime location for hitting cars with fast plastic.
Other Thoughts: Overall, I was quite impressed with this course even on the busy day we played it. Didn't see any other golfers out probably because it is so new but it does seem well cared for. Go play it (and don't be 'the guy' who makes a careless throw and gets it pulled!)!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Never Again

1    7/1/2012   7/1/2012
Review By: CzTeacherMan
Played: 10  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 14 Years
Pros: Some interesting shots involving water.
Cons: -All par 3s despite great variation in distance (180 feet to 460 feet)
-difficult to navigate from one hole to the other because it's not clear where each tee is
-difficult to know exactly where the basket is for some of the holes because you just can't see them from the tee
-shots over the roadway on 3 holes
-shots over pathways with pedestrian traffic on most holes
Other Thoughts: I live in the Rockford area and would easily choose other courses rather than this one. Kirkland is nearby. Marengo is nearby. Rockford College is nearby. Anna Page is a little ways, but well worth the ride. This course would be a place to play if I lived within a block or two. But if I have to drive, why not go to a good course?

 

1    12/12/2011   12/12/2011
Review By: crapp2323
Played: 13  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 3 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: course has some very long shots that carry some water, which brings a challenge to the game
Cons: pars are awful with what they have set for distance
very easy to lose a disc
Other Thoughts: if im in the area and REALLY REALLY wanted to frolf i guess i would go again

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Intermediate

2-4    10/8/2011   10/11/2011
Review By: notapro
Played: 414  Reviewed: 279  Exp: 11 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Course is set in a decent sized city park, with lots of activities present. There are playgrounds, pavilions, benches, walking path, fishing pond, etc. etc. Expect to wait on some holes on a nice day.
- Majority of the holes use an extensive amount of trees to force lots of line shaping. Hole #1 is probably the most open, with decent room for a RHBH flex shot or similar, or just a straight shot. Other holes are more open for a RHBH hyzer, like #4, #5, #7, and #9. #3 has a low canopy off the tee to contend with, and #9 works well with a lay-up hyzer or a bombed RHFH flex shot. A lot of chances to get creative on all of these holes, the obvious line is there but it's not mandatory.
- #2 and #6 add some challenge with water; in both cases the disc is going over the pond at some point. #6 is friendly to a straight/right fading shot, with a forgiving window to get through. #2 is a lot tougher, with a tight window to hit, and a longer water carry that has to finish hyzer. A short shot with enough fade (RHBH) may make dry land, but it's no guarantee!
- Minor elevation changes are present throughout, with a small hill to get over on #2, and slightly elevated teepads on #4, #5, and #9. Some sloping greens as well, like on #2 and #5.
- Great mix of hole lengths, there are real bombers out here, especially with some low ceilings and other obstacles. #3 and #9 need some serious D for any chance at a deuce, at 460' and 463'.
- Water provides real hazards, and there is also a TON of walking path/road/man-made OB. While I am not a big fan of scraping up my discs on pavement, it made #9 much more interesting.
- Grippy teepads, great signage, and good baskets. Navigation easy, with some help (like a pointer to #9's teepad). The tee sign to #2 was backwards when I played; I was able to lift it out of the ground and turn it around. Darn punks!
Cons: - Biggest con here was the insane amount of foot traffic due to the walking path, and traffic on the entrance road. So many holes play by both of these, it was a fight against the park goers. And so much pavement is a con in general, both for disc damage and general ugliness.
- RHBH hyzer goes a long way here; it is the obvious line on #2, #4, #5, #7, #8, and maybe #9. The only hole with any sort of right fading action is #6; and even then a straight shot is serviceable. A little repetitive.
- A few spots where tees/fairways/baskets are a little cramped, like in the #1-#3 loop. Heads up on a busy day.
Other Thoughts: - For a 9-holer in a city park, this course delivers! Some tough holes to really test accuracy and/or distance. Tight lines off the tee due to big and small trees, water to punish some poor shots, tricky basket placements - it's got a ton of character. Definitely worth a stop for almost anyone; I would say beginners might want to skip this more than the experts. Definitely a chance to lose some plastic here.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

  Belvidere

1    5/14/2011   5/16/2011
Review By: oldtime
Played: 157  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 3.2 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: 1. Beautiful Park, Very Clean, Well maintained
2. Good course for beginners.
3. A couple Challenging Holes
4. After you find the 1st tee holes have good signs.
Cons: 1. Most Holes are too short.
2. Fairways play over parking Lots and Walking Paths.
3. Hard to find the 1st Tee
Other Thoughts: I played on an cloudy nasty day and the park was pretty empty, but I could see it being pretty crowded on a nice day.

Course was okay to play one time but probably wont go back.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Nice balanced course

1    1/23/2011   2/1/2011
Review By: harr0140
Played: 704  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 5.6 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) Concrete tees although under 8 inches of snow they were hard to find. I always prefer to throw from a consistant surface.

2) Nice signs on a 4x4 post making finding the next tee much easier for first timers. Hole #, distance, par, and a map of the hole are on each sign. Hole sponsors are also included on their signposts, its always nice to see the locals backing a course.

3) Check out the multiple waterfalls in the creek running through the course. It is a nice touch to hear a waterfall running in the background as you putt . . .puts you in a good frame of mind.

4) There is a good amount of variety on this course which makes it what it is. There are a couple water carries, a couple shots that run near the creek, there is a little bit of elevation change (albeit small it is used well), distance variation between the shortest 180' and the longest 460', and also a good mix of the density of trees.

5) Directional sign sending you to #3 tee. is helpful.

6) This course will test a lot of your skills which is always a positive. I certainly thinkt he water carry on #2 is not your average water carry because it starts with a slight uphill of about 100' then the carry is about another 120'. I suggest laying up for most people because the risk of hitting something right on the edge seems greater than the reward of getting across.

7) Innova discatchers in good shape and easily visible from the tees.

8) Very nice park with good maintenance. Surely this is a popular park int he summer season.
Cons: 1) The only thing this course really lacks is a tight densely wooded hole. Now I know it is a big general use park and that doesn't seem to be an option oin this park, but it is about the only thing mising fro making this a complete all around course.

2) Elevation is slight, they use it well but overall the change in elevation on this course is no more than about 10' unless you throw down in the creek which might be an additional 10'.

3) Small area for the course and it seems like a couple of hole pass by other holes that might be slightly dangerous. Because there isn;'t really a defined fairway an errant shot could also require someone to play a different fairway. It really only occurs on 2 holes I think, so hopefully it isn't as big of an issue as it seemed.

4) No direction to the first tee. I think I figured out where the parking lot was supposed to be, but I followed my GPS to the coordinates and I had to park a good distance from the tee.

5) No kiosk which I am beginning to appreciate more and more, its always nice to have a place to post announcements etc.

6) No bathrooms visible from the course, perhaps there are some somewhere but it didn't seem like it was open.

7) You throw over a walkpath a couple of times, fortunately they have a sign indicating to the walkers that "flying objects" are possible the next 100'. Perhaps they should have truly indicated what type of flying objects so that people understand what it is we are doing better. You also have to throw over the main road on #9, which also passes right past a small parking lot. That brings into play a large amount of vehicles in danger. It could have been avoided with different tee placement.

8) Very spread out between holes makes for a long walk.

9) This park would be busy all summer for sure which would create a lot of difficulty in playing the course. There are just too many points where people would be that would prevent or slow down your throws.

10) Short teepads. On holes over 400' it sure would be nice to get a good runup to throw as hard as needed.
Other Thoughts: This is not your typical park-like course because it brings the water into play, but the density of the trees makes it feel like a simple walk in the park.

There was an interesting phenomenon that occured while I was hear. While I was playing Hole #7 and getting ready to take my 60' putt attempt I heard a loud pop. It was a huge Oak tree popping from being so cold (-5 when I played) when the sun had begun to warm it up. I didn't know what it was at first, I knew it wasn't someone throwing a disc because there was noone else on the course, but then I figured out what it was. It was very loud, and something I am not sure I have heard before.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Strange round here

1    10/9/2010   10/10/2010
Review By: flingkaching
Played: 124  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 34.2 Years
This review was updated on 10/14/2010
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Scenic park, well maintained, descent facilities, has some variety & descent length good amount of obstructions & water in play on several holes, cement tee pads & signs. About half the holes were challenging, the others relatively easy birdies.
Cons: Nothing to indicate where the course starts, walked around looking for hole 1 & ended up starting at hole 3. Tee pads too short. There were unaware people muddling about around every hole or directly on the hole which became pretty frustrating. Granted I played on a Saturday around 1 on a beautiful day, but people seemed cluleess to course users.
Park structures on some holes, (ie. picnic pavillion on hole 3 extends into the hole.
Lacks signs to next tee on all but hole 9 & at time confusing to navagate

Hole 4 basket was surrounded by a park construction zone with heavy equipment, materials etc.
Then there was a sign pointing for hole 9 tee that went back toward the construction site, never found a tee box after looking around so I'm guessing it once was where this construction site now is. Didn't look like the construction had anything to do with DG course upgrades.

Some of the baskets were bent, slumped off line or had rusted out chains & baskets.

There were too many people around & walking along paths to really rip a shot on hole 2, too bad cause it was the best hole on the course.

The layout could also be improved.
Other Thoughts: This was a great looking park and the course could be a lot nicer if not for issues. With the construction site a virtual 7 hole currently. Probably a bit better if played regularly or at less busy times. If the course had it's own space it would play a lot better & be more enjoyable. I would not go out of the way for this one, but would return if closer to home or in area at less busy time. It does have some good attributes but also needs improvements.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 A nice course for the locals

1    8/22/2010   8/22/2010
Review By: smyith
Played: 129  Reviewed: 63  Exp: 12.8 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Cement Pads (although short)
- Great Tee Signs
- Some Long holes
- Mildly entertaining
- For the local Belvidere disc golfers its a nice course to get in after work or when your tight on time.
- Nice Innova baskets
- Leashed Dogs Allowed
- An asthetic park that is decently manicured
Cons: - Fairways have conflicting traffic.
- Local population is clueless about the sport.
- 1 and 3s fairways are far too close for 400' holes
- Hole 3 (460')needs some trimming. The low branches 50ft in front of the tee severaly limit actually being able to throw anywhere near a good long drive. Instead these braches prompt you to throw over the shelter and playground to make a good long shot.
- The flow isn't good. 1 thru 3 are seperated from 4-9. Luckily its a skinny and small park so you dont haave to search much.
- Not a single hole is a really challenge. You should find yourself putting for a 2 on 7 of the 9 holes.
- Signs directing you to the next tees would be nice.
Other Thoughts: Although the course looks planned out well it wasn't put in a good park. There is alot of other traffic moving through the park. I can foresee conflicts in the park.
If you're a local or have some other reason to be in the park then by all means take 30-40 minutes of your time and enjoy a round or two of disc. I wouldn't, however, go out of your way to play it.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Belvidere

2-4    6/12/2010   6/13/2010
Review By: Big_Man
Played: 34  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 8.1 Years
This review was updated on 10/20/2010
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is actually quite a beautiful course when it comes to scenery. I enjoy the trees and the Kishwaukee River flowing along side the park. I also enjoy the challenge for only being 9 holes. Hole 3 has a huge risk/reward factor if you try to make it over the pond on your drive. I would suggest playing conservative if it is your first time playing. I am wondering how many discs are actually in that small lagoon. Oh yeah, the pool plays music over loud speakers, so you have something to listen to while you are playing which is unique in my mind even if it is something terrible like Lady Gaga.
Cons: This place is crowded and not with disc golfers. It is the nicest park in Belvidere and people love to use it, especially on the weekends. Some residents will have picnics and set up in the middle of the fairways not knowing that there is a course there.
I also am nervous when there is a lot of water around, and am sometimes worried about using a nicer disc just in case of a bad throw.
Other Thoughts: This course is very nice for 9 holes. I would certainly check it out if you are in the greater Rockford area.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 One great hole

1    4/8/2010   4/12/2010
Review By: mashnut
Played: 813  Reviewed: 749  Exp: 12.4 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays through a pretty and very well maintained park with grassy fairways and various densities of trees. There are a couple small ponds and a creek that are in play on some holes, making for some nice risk/reward shots, and a small flowing river along the edge of the park with a big swinging bridge over it that adds to the scenery here. Hole 2 is the best use of the water on this course, with a blind uphill shot, then a drop to a pond and creek, then another rise on the far bank to a pin placed on the edge of a slope down to the water.

The course has nice new baskets that are in great shape, and good large concrete tees with a decent surface. The signs are plenty informative with basic hole maps and distances, and there aren't any holes where you don't know where to shoot. The flow is good, so the course is easy to follow with no navigation issues.
Cons: Other than hole 2, the course is pretty forgettable. The holes play through scattered trees with no real defined lines, through mostly flat grassy areas. The only other water carry is very short, only long enough to discourage very new players. Several holes seemed to be long, but not long enough to really make a 3 challenging which made them very boring holes.

There are several places on the course where there are potential safety issues with other park users. Some holes play right along the park road and near parking areas, and others bring benches, picnic areas and playgrounds into play which could be a major issue on a nice day.
Other Thoughts: Other than one great hole, this course just doesn't have all that much going on. I don't recommend going out of your way to play this one unless you happen to be in the area and want to play a quick round. Beginners will find the course approachable other than hole 2s longer water carry, though the length on some holes may be discouraging. More experienced players won't find a lot of variety or unique challenge here.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.