New Canaan, CT 
Waveny Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: snowdisc Hole #9 (Taken 6/2009)
3 / 175ft.   3 / 275ft.   3 / 325ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 White & Blue Tee



Reviews: 10
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 short, quick, ok

1    8/29/2012   8/30/2012
Review By: nnelson42
Played: 13  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 2.2 Years
This review was updated on 9/17/2012
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Chainstar baskets
-Quick course to play (easily under 1 hour)
- not very busy
- very accessible from Merritt Pkwy
Cons: - much of the course is lined with overgrown vegitation
- course is not in a loop
- moving from tee to tee isn't intuitive. Need to pay attention to course map
- broken sign for hole #9 and no white or blue tee box
Other Thoughts: Overall there is not too much to say about this course. Not very well kept up and not very memorable. One nice thing however is that it is quick to play which can be nice after work as we are losing sunlight. I would go out again for a quick round by myself, but with Cranbury being 15 minutes away I don't think i will come back very often.

Update: I was at the course yesterday and it was clear some maintenance had just happened. A good deal of the vegitation was cut back. Course looks much cleaner and subsequently made tracking and finding your frisbee much easier. Much more enjoyable to play now!

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Fun for all!

1    6/27/2010   6/30/2010
Review By: solomon.trenton
Played: 75  Reviewed: 68  Exp: 6.1 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Three sets of tees offered and gives you three totally different courses. Large range of shots from easy to challenging. The signs are easyto read and very informative. Large array of different holes requiring many different types of shots. Fairways are clear of debris. There is a welcome board with scorecards available by hole one. Navigation was easy and next tee signs were posted when needed. Really fun on the short tees and challenging on the long tees. There are clean bathrooms across the athletic fields. The baskets are in great shape. Waveny is close to the must play Cranbury.
Cons: The dirt tees are uneven and loaded with roots and rocks. Some of the tees are on top of the baskets or in the middle of the last fairway. Hole twelve does not end up near hole one. Some holes force your shot (only one lane to basket). There are large felled trees all over the fairway of hole eight. There are only tewlve holes!
Other Thoughts: There is a pool and athletic fields. There is a fenced in area that you can let your dog run without a leash. From the parking lot you walk across the street you will see a a sign that says Waveny disc golf. They are currently trying to expand to 18 holes.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Not bad

1    10/3/2009   10/3/2009
Review By: Unkles27
Played: 68  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 7.5 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Tucked away in the woods, lots of interesting lines to take and some pretty good basket placements. Accuracy will be tested here. I liked the multiple tees provided, and the signs were decent. Navigation was pretty easy, the hardest part was finding the entrance to the course. Lefties and righties will both be challenged here. The fairways were well designed and I thought they were generally fair, but a bad shot will leave you in a tough position. They've done a good job keeping things clear, walking is easy and a throw off the fairway is generally easy to find.
Cons: Some of the tees were pretty rough and need to be taken with care. I didn't really like the two holes that were out in the open, they didn't fit in with the rest of the course, just two long throws on a hillside basically. I could see this course being a little frustrating for beginners, even from the short tees because of all the trees.
Other Thoughts: Its good to see CT getting some more courses, we need some in the Danbury area though!
This was a pretty fun course and I think a good addition to the area. If I had to choose one course in southern Connecticut it would be Cranbury, but this would be next.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 An excellent start

5+    9/10/2009   9/14/2009
Review By: Taino
Played: 17  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 5.3 Years
This review was updated on 7/5/2010
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Well laid-out, imaginative, good use of terrain. Requires a variety of finesse shots; only a few holes where you can uncork a huge drive. Free parking, right across the road from the entrance. Three tee options per hole allow for good options.
Cons: Might be difficult to find. Only 12 holes. Conflicting maps online. Signage is adequate, but could be improved.
Other Thoughts: I really like this course; I play it at least once per week.

Updated to say that there are now 14 holes (2 new ones that are still being roughed out), and at least two other holes have different tee areas. The map is being updated, as well. Lastly, plans are in the works to upgrade this to 18 holes.

The new layout will definitely test your accuracy, while still letting your arm stretch. Can't wait until the final holes go in.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 took a minute to find it

1    6/28/2009   7/9/2009
Review By: gottafixit
Played: 453  Reviewed: 67  Exp: 11.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Define and lined woods fairways. Variety of shots using the three tees and minor elevation changes. Actual park has lots of cool things to do even a pool.
Cons: Natural tees and some were kinda rough. no next tee signage. Basket Variety.
Other Thoughts: It took me a while to find the entrance to this course because I was being a retard so for others to learn from me, take the first entrance into the park, park, then walk back to the entrance and cross the road. It was nice to see the course designed from the get go with three tees. I play the whites but it seemed like a good bit of them used different lines from the longer tees, and not just distance. The course winds threw the woods with a good mix of shots and some minor elevation changes. The fairways are nicely lined with downed timbers and fairly well cleared of brush. I found some of the tees to be a bit too natural, and thought some simple next T navigation hints would have helped a little, although I still found the course easy to follow. The couple holes that are in the open are a nice break from the woods but don't have alot too them, the first one on a hill but its still just an open field shot. This course also features just about every make of baskets so not a huge issue but the mixing of baskets could play a little on the mental side of putting.

Overall it was a nice woods course and the three tees make for all levels of fun. Not to hard to follow, and you shouldn't have to bad a time finding you lies, which makes it beginner friendly too. Work on the tees and signage and get those 6 other holes in and your there.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.