New Canaan, CT 
Waveny Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: snowdisc Hole #9 (Taken 6/2009)
3 / 175ft.   3 / 275ft.   3 / 325ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 White & Blue Tee



Reviews: 10
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
First time playing a DGC

5+    7/20/2014   6/30/2014
Review By: Rplus84
Played: 6  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 0.4 Years
This review was updated on 9/8/2014
Pros: -fast play
-easy access, close to the Merritt parkway
Cons: -course not easy to find for first time goers
-course not very well maintained these days
-trees everywhere with high vegetation, best to throw strait
-lack of signs
-natural tees; roots disturbing ur shot
-hole 5 is not obvious from 4 basket
-blue, white and red markers r not all obvious, if they still there at all
-bees, spiders and other insects throughout
-course not in a loop have to walk back to ur car after 12th hole
-sign for hole 9 still broken
-map does not include holes 11 and 12; its not well designed (not to scale)
Other Thoughts: this was the first course i played as a disc golf enthusiast... its situated in the woods next to waveny park, not easy to spot if u never been there... Locate the sign "waveny park disc golf course" on Laphan Rd and park next to the pool... even with a map its not all that helpful... IMPORTANT: pay attention to the sign on each tee to determine the direction of the next tee

the second time i played there i still had a hard time locating hole 5... on hole 6 i flunked my tee drive way right and was attacked by beehive trying to throw my disc, had to abandon the course immediately... there is also spiders and ticks and other things u rather avoid... so shoot strait and stay out of trouble... i will be playing here again though... since this is the closest course to where i live and hope to see my game improve

i wish to see this course be an 18 hole course one day... it definitely has room for 6 more holes which would make the course a lope... in the mean time, i created an aerial map of the course using gps in my phone...

 short, quick, ok

1    8/29/2012   8/30/2012
Review By: nnelson42
Played: 13  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 2.2 Years
This review was updated on 9/17/2012
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Chainstar baskets
-Quick course to play (easily under 1 hour)
- not very busy
- very accessible from Merritt Pkwy
Cons: - much of the course is lined with overgrown vegitation
- course is not in a loop
- moving from tee to tee isn't intuitive. Need to pay attention to course map
- broken sign for hole #9 and no white or blue tee box
Other Thoughts: Overall there is not too much to say about this course. Not very well kept up and not very memorable. One nice thing however is that it is quick to play which can be nice after work as we are losing sunlight. I would go out again for a quick round by myself, but with Cranbury being 15 minutes away I don't think i will come back very often.

Update: I was at the course yesterday and it was clear some maintenance had just happened. A good deal of the vegitation was cut back. Course looks much cleaner and subsequently made tracking and finding your frisbee much easier. Much more enjoyable to play now!

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Neglected Course

1    8/9/2012   8/9/2012
Review By: TBabb
Played: 50  Reviewed: 43  Exp: 9.2 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Waveny park is a beautiful Fairfield County park. The stone walls weave throughout the course and add a distinctive CT aesthetic to the course. The baskets are in good condition and the tee pads are natural but mostly level. There are signs at each hole and multiple tees on most. Some signage aids in navigating the course. There is a sign and bulletin board for the course so it's easy for a first timer to find as long as you've read the directions on this site.
Cons: Some tee pads have tree roots making any footwork potentially dangerous. The multiple tees don't add a ton of variety. Additional signage would aid in navigation. I don't think any maintenance has been done all season. Many holes are overgrown with knee to waist-high grass. A couple uprooted trees and broken tree limbs are in very precarious positions. Some garbage throughout the course. Barbed wire and prickly bushes are dangerous. The layout is another weak point, it's not a loop, and you have to walk back to the parking lot on the road with no designated walking path and CT drivers that drive too fast. Parking is on the opposite side of Lanham rd. Most holes are pretty forgettable, not a lot of creativity on this course. Baskets are hard to see from the tees, in large part due to the overgrowth. Some holes have WAY too many trees (esp. #2). Elevation is present but could be much better utilized. It's a shame that the open field holes have been scrapped.
Other Thoughts: This course could be a 2.5 or a 3 rating easily with a little bit of regular maintenance (and there certainly is enough money in New Canaan to keep up a 12 hole disc golf course). Even so, I don't know why you would even bother with Waveny; Cranbury so close by and Veteran's Memorial in Bridgeport is a great alternative to Cranbury. My round here was probably the least enjoyable round I've ever played and some aspects of the course were outright dangerous.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

1    6/24/2012   6/25/2012
Review By: prerube
Played: 213  Reviewed: 195  Exp: 7.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 3 tee pads, some level of challenge.
some shot variety and somewhat attractive holes with lots of wildlife; I saw deer, chipmunks, and even a coyote.
decent signage and chainstar baskets.
Across the street and isolated from the rest of the park activities.
Cons: The most challenging part of the course was the navigation. baskets are not numbered, so even if you find one you have no idea where you are until you find the tee. After hole 4 there was no way to find 5. Several times the trail splits with no navigational signs. After 8 there was no sign to 9 and no sign to 10, but 10 was visable if you looked hard enough. Holes 11 and 12 are not even on the course map.

Only 12 holes and hole 12 ends way back on the other side of the dog park and pops you out at the main road leaving you with a long walk back to the car.

Lack of maintenance, grass was knee high in many areas.

some tee pads are getting over grown. a few reds and whites were nearly gone.

Many of the 3 tee pads were shared tees, so there was not 36 individual shots.
Other Thoughts: 12 is an unusual number of holes. Add this to the navigational issues and shin high grass and it pushed this average course to a "reasonable" course.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Fun for all!

1    6/27/2010   6/30/2010
Review By: solomon.trenton
Played: 75  Reviewed: 68  Exp: 6.2 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Three sets of tees offered and gives you three totally different courses. Large range of shots from easy to challenging. The signs are easyto read and very informative. Large array of different holes requiring many different types of shots. Fairways are clear of debris. There is a welcome board with scorecards available by hole one. Navigation was easy and next tee signs were posted when needed. Really fun on the short tees and challenging on the long tees. There are clean bathrooms across the athletic fields. The baskets are in great shape. Waveny is close to the must play Cranbury.
Cons: The dirt tees are uneven and loaded with roots and rocks. Some of the tees are on top of the baskets or in the middle of the last fairway. Hole twelve does not end up near hole one. Some holes force your shot (only one lane to basket). There are large felled trees all over the fairway of hole eight. There are only tewlve holes!
Other Thoughts: There is a pool and athletic fields. There is a fenced in area that you can let your dog run without a leash. From the parking lot you walk across the street you will see a a sign that says Waveny disc golf. They are currently trying to expand to 18 holes.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Not bad

1    10/3/2009   10/3/2009
Review By: Unkles27
Played: 68  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 7.5 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Tucked away in the woods, lots of interesting lines to take and some pretty good basket placements. Accuracy will be tested here. I liked the multiple tees provided, and the signs were decent. Navigation was pretty easy, the hardest part was finding the entrance to the course. Lefties and righties will both be challenged here. The fairways were well designed and I thought they were generally fair, but a bad shot will leave you in a tough position. They've done a good job keeping things clear, walking is easy and a throw off the fairway is generally easy to find.
Cons: Some of the tees were pretty rough and need to be taken with care. I didn't really like the two holes that were out in the open, they didn't fit in with the rest of the course, just two long throws on a hillside basically. I could see this course being a little frustrating for beginners, even from the short tees because of all the trees.
Other Thoughts: Its good to see CT getting some more courses, we need some in the Danbury area though!
This was a pretty fun course and I think a good addition to the area. If I had to choose one course in southern Connecticut it would be Cranbury, but this would be next.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 An excellent start

5+    9/10/2009   9/14/2009
Review By: Taino
Played: 17  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 5.3 Years
This review was updated on 7/5/2010
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Well laid-out, imaginative, good use of terrain. Requires a variety of finesse shots; only a few holes where you can uncork a huge drive. Free parking, right across the road from the entrance. Three tee options per hole allow for good options.
Cons: Might be difficult to find. Only 12 holes. Conflicting maps online. Signage is adequate, but could be improved.
Other Thoughts: I really like this course; I play it at least once per week.

Updated to say that there are now 14 holes (2 new ones that are still being roughed out), and at least two other holes have different tee areas. The map is being updated, as well. Lastly, plans are in the works to upgrade this to 18 holes.

The new layout will definitely test your accuracy, while still letting your arm stretch. Can't wait until the final holes go in.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 took a minute to find it

1    6/28/2009   7/9/2009
Review By: gottafixit
Played: 453  Reviewed: 67  Exp: 11.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Define and lined woods fairways. Variety of shots using the three tees and minor elevation changes. Actual park has lots of cool things to do even a pool.
Cons: Natural tees and some were kinda rough. no next tee signage. Basket Variety.
Other Thoughts: It took me a while to find the entrance to this course because I was being a retard so for others to learn from me, take the first entrance into the park, park, then walk back to the entrance and cross the road. It was nice to see the course designed from the get go with three tees. I play the whites but it seemed like a good bit of them used different lines from the longer tees, and not just distance. The course winds threw the woods with a good mix of shots and some minor elevation changes. The fairways are nicely lined with downed timbers and fairly well cleared of brush. I found some of the tees to be a bit too natural, and thought some simple next T navigation hints would have helped a little, although I still found the course easy to follow. The couple holes that are in the open are a nice break from the woods but don't have alot too them, the first one on a hill but its still just an open field shot. This course also features just about every make of baskets so not a huge issue but the mixing of baskets could play a little on the mental side of putting.

Overall it was a nice woods course and the three tees make for all levels of fun. Not to hard to follow, and you shouldn't have to bad a time finding you lies, which makes it beginner friendly too. Work on the tees and signage and get those 6 other holes in and your there.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 nice to play alone

5+    5/22/2009   5/22/2009
Review By: Whit
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: If you need a quiet spot to work on you game, this is it! Tight and fun holes(12) and a very challenging time. Three tees on each hole are great.
Cons: Some work is needed on a couple of tees, but overall the course is coming a long way and fast.
Other Thoughts: play two rounds from the blues and try to shoot under par----TOUGH.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 home course

5+    1/15/2010   3/16/2009
Review By: snowdisc
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
This review was updated on 2/13/2010
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: It is a very technical course with a variety of shots required. It also features both long and short shots.
The course now has 14 holes and score cards, maps and signs will be updated in the spring.
Cons: It would be great to see 18 holes but it looks like it will soon have 12 holes
Other Thoughts: It is never crowded!

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.