Dallas, GA 
White Oak Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #6 (Taken 1/2009)
3 / 310ft.   3 / 498ft.   3 / 498ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Red Tee



Reviews: 43
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
White Oak Park

5+    5/28/2016   6/2/2016
Review By: lazrman778
Played: 68  Reviewed: 38  Exp: 5.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Almost every hole has a change in elevation

Has many benches throughout course

Much more open than wooded fairways will be appreciated by the beginner, the power player, and any player trying new discs

Multiple basket placements for a few holes but I can't recall any baskets ever been moved

Restrooms

Free parking but can fill quickly due to other parkgoers
Cons:
Missing baskets #13 & #14 due to neighbor complaints - long walk between #12 basket and #15 tee

No tee signs - refer to the course map although holes #9 & #10 appear to be mapped incorrectly

Natural tee pads can be difficult to locate after leaves have fallen or if the grass hasn't been mowed

No next tee signs - can be confusing for a first-timer

Not much shade - can really get hot in the summer

Lake can swallow some discs if you're not accurate on holes #15 - #17 - fatigue can factor in at this stage of your round here

Has some overgrown areas in fairways at holes #8 - #10, #16 and #18
Other Thoughts:
This is really a beautiful course that I wish I could rate higher. I understand that there are efforts in revitalizing this course through fundraiser tournaments. This course is very challenging in that it will take your breath away if you're not in shape. Some of the steepest inclines and declines are at holes #11 and #12 respectively - definitely recommend some shoes with good traction as the loose rocks and leaves mixture is a recipe for a slip and fall. As mentioned above, there are some overgrown areas at a few holes where there is some nasty rough you have to avoid. I look forward to seeing this course get revitalize and possibly redesigned so playing 18 holes here can be a reality again. If that happens, then I will update my review accordingly.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

****updated review****

1    5/20/2016   10/10/2015
Review By: 1983eville
Played: 8  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 0.7 Years
This review was updated on 5/22/2016
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is my updated review because i had originally played this course in October 2015 and it was totally unplayable due to grass being 2 feet high and missing baskets. They have since kept the grass mowed and fixed a lot of the baskets. This course has the potential to be one of the greatest in Atlanta with the huge elevation changes and hole layouts. It's not there yet but it's getting there and thanks to the few who are working hard to make this course great again
Cons: There are no tee signs or directions to tell you where to go. bring a local friend or a map. The tee pads are small dirt tees and could use some revamping. Holes 12, 13, and 15 are missing due to neighbors. We played hole 12's tee to hole 15. The rough has grown up extra rough to make having your buddy spot your disc down range a must.
Other Thoughts: This course has the potential to be a landmark ATL course with some TLC from the county and locals. Thanks to Moose for his hard work in trying to get this course to where it belongs n the the great courses of GA. It's getting there and it shows!

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Beginner Course

1    4/24/2011   4/24/2011
Review By: The Doctor
Played: 61  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 13.2 Years
0 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: 1. They have 3 legit holes 10,11,17
Cons: 1. No tee pads
2. 4 tee signs, not much integrity
3. Wide open holes
4. Not tournament worthy
5. Over rated course
Other Thoughts: I shot even playing everything par 3. I thought the only variation besides, 11, 12, 17, was the elevation changes. The course was all right to navigate but needs tee signs. Doesn't have much to distinguish it from the rest. I played Northern Georgia Canopy Tour yesterday and thought it blew this course away. I wish I would have went somewhere else while I am on vacation here.

0 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 not fun

1    12/22/2009   12/28/2009
Review By: Journeyman
Played: 36  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 20.1 Years
2 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: If you like to rip long throws on wide open courses this one may be for you. Pin placement was interesting and required care lest the disc roll far away from the basket.

Elevation does add interest.
Cons: Wide open, little technical challenge. While elevation is interesting every throw is similar, grip and rip.

Poor signage with no "next tee" signs.
Other Thoughts: If you near and you want to play then hit this one. Do not go out of your way unless you like to throw lots of long open holes. If that is your thing, JP Mosely is a better choice in the area.

2 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center