Dallas, GA 
White Oak Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #9 (Taken 1/2009)
3 / 294ft.   3 / 294ft.   3 / 294ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Tee



Reviews: 38
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Getting Worse

1    2/22/2014   3/3/2014
Review By: Disc_Coastie
Played: 4  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 8.7 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Clean course, bathrooms available, plenty of parking.
Cons: Absolutely no maintenance of the course with the exception that the county keeps the grass mowed... Tee pads in bad repair, no signage, missing baskets...
Other Thoughts: Since it's beginning the course has declined to the point that I will not ever play here again... the alternatives Oregon Park, Frog Rock and Deerlick are all SO much better.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Private feel here

1    6/13/2012   6/20/2012
Review By: JBryant
Played: 55  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 5.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Secluded. Didn't see but one other disc golfer out there and that was when I finished on 18.

Great elevation use. There are some real bomb shots here.

Baskets are in great shape.
Cons: Very difficult to navigate. No course map available. Wasn't even sure I was at the right part of the park. Managed to find the beat up course sign laying on the ground with a very faded course name on it. No tee signs. This is a real let down for such a nice course. I understand money but as a tourist I won't come back. There are plenty of better courses in the Atl area. Even the numbers on the tee pads, when I finally found my way, were so faded you practically had to hike the course twice-once to go see what basket you were throwing at and once to actually play the hole. It really too away from the experience of what I would consider a 4rated course given proper upkeep.
Other Thoughts: I enjoyed the shots I had to make. My wife hated the hike, Hike, HIKE that white oak brings. If you are going to make that hike you should just get reservations at the 5 star Flyboy and be done with it.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Mixed feelings

1    4/23/2011   6/17/2011
Review By: mashnut
Played: 815  Reviewed: 770  Exp: 12.7 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course plays through a hilly park with a mix of open areas and some denser woods. Most of the front 9 plays out in the open on steep hills. The elevation is used creatively to create variety and some nice challenging drives, as well as several roll away greens to add difficulty to the short game. The back 9 plays a little in the woods, and brings a pond and creek into play for a little more risk. A few holes are tight enough to make you shape a specific line, and have enough rough to punish errant shots.

There is good distance variety here, especially if you consider the long and short tees that are pretty different in some cases. Though the course is pretty open, you'll need different shot shapes to have the best shot at a good score. The course was well groomed, with no trash and nicely mowed grass. The course doesn't conflict with other park users, which is always a plus in a multi-use facility.
Cons: The open hilly holes get a little repetitive. I love the elevation, but with few or no obstacles it loses a little bit of challenge and interest. The long and short tees on most holes don't change the line to the pin, they just have different distances, so they don't really add to the variety of the course. The wooded holes have some erosion issues where there isn't grass.

The tees are pretty bad, they're rutted out and in poor shape and many sit on slopes and aren't leveled. Some are a bit overgrown so they're not obvious, especially with the lack of signs. There isn't much indication of what hole number you're on, or where to throw, and the flow of the course is odd in spots. Make sure you print the map or you'll be frustrated trying to figure out where to go.
Other Thoughts: There are some really fun holes here, but there's also some repetitiveness, and some navigation issues that can frustrate visiting players. Beginners will find the course challenging, but with limited rough and many reasonable short tees it's approachable for newer players. More experienced throwers will find some nice challenges in spots, but also some parts of the course that are very straightforward and one-dimensional.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Better than Most

2-4    2/8/2009   2/20/2009
Review By: Redneck Machismo
Played: 126  Reviewed: 23
This review was updated on 12/26/2010
2 Helpful / 13 Not
Pros: The course is longer bringing in massive elevation changes. Good distance is at a premium to make birdies yet at the same time a lot of touch is required on many approach shots. The course is largely secluded from other parts of the park limiting interference with other park users. Many holes utilize a strong risk/reward aspect due to the baskets being perched either on or near steep down hills. The area seems conducive to high winds which of course raises the level of challenge greatly. The land is simply beautiful with picturesque rolling hills.
Cons: Many holes unfortunately are poorly thought out. Almost every shot is blind which really gets kind of silly. Hole 11 is an especially bad design being almost entirely luck; I really don't think you can get it close without getting lucky? Overall I think the land could have been used better. Some holes seem kind of repetitive especially with the over usage of blind shots. In addition almost every basket is perched on a hillside lending to too many roll-aways and raising the luck factor too high.
Other Thoughts: Overall I like this course much better than most in the area.

2 of 15 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.