Dallas, GA 
White Oak Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #3 (Taken 1/2009)
3 / 255ft.   3 / 470ft.   3 / 470ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Blue Tee



Reviews: 38
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Beautiful Park

1    6/27/2010   6/28/2010
Review By: The Drake
Played: 89  Reviewed: 43  Exp: 11.2 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: White Oak is a beautiful course in a beautiful park. Rolling hills and sloping greens make for very strategic drives with an emphasis on the landing and nervous putts for fear of some very severe rollaways. To say this course is on a beautiful piece of land really isn't doing it justice. The fairways almost have a feel of being on a manicured ball golf course.

If you like booming drives this is a course for you. There are many opportunities out here which will allow you to stretch your arm out. But there are also some shorter holes to take some of the pressure off. Blind tee shots and landing areas, hyzer, anhyzer, uphill, downhill, and even a couple of wooded holes that will remind Atlanta locals and Atlanta Open players of East Roswell.

Playing this course will improve your game. What impressed me most about this course was the fact that even though its in a very nice park with lots of families around and things to do for non golfers the course itself seems to be on a plot of land that isn't used by anyone else which is a huge bonus. The entire family can go out and while the kids play on the swings or by the lake you can play golf and not have to worry about hitting a random jogger.
Cons: If you are out of shape you may not want to play this course. As a soccer player having just played Flyboy the front part of the course can be very taxing just to walk with some severe elevation changes. So just a warning there.

While the teepads are well marked with white posts and blue or red tape to indicate pro versus am tee pads respectively it would be nice to add distances of the holes.

There are a couple of holes which I felt were poorly designed. 11 and 12 I was not a big fan of. As mentioned above these bring back feeling of ERP in Atlanta with very tight fairways and especially in the case of 11 which is an uphill huck have numerous trees dotting the fairway. I threw a drive on the hole which put me 50 feet below the hole maybe 20 feet to the left of the center part of the "fairway" and had no putt at the basket. The next hole is a blind severe downhill also with a very tight fairway and a creek which runs only 30-40 feet below the hole. I love wooded courses and holes and don't mind tight fairways but if there are trees in the middle of the fairway (a LOT of them) its an automatic con for me.
Other Thoughts: I played White Oak after having just finished a round at Flyboy just spur of the moment before driving back to Birmingham. I was very pleasantly surprised at how good of a course white oak was. Using these two courses together for a tournament would be tremendous. This golfer will definitely make efforts to come back and play white oak.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 How did they get this land?

2-4    5/7/2010   5/7/2010
Review By: Fender088
Played: 25  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 7.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is located in one of the nicest multi-facility parks in the metro-Atlanta area. I've honestly never seen the same amount of diversity in elevation at any other park in Georgia. Once you arrive you'll see that there's a really nice pavilion (great for tournaments and leagues) and restrooms right next to the parking area. From the first tee you'll realize that you're in for a hike for the rest of the day. The first half of the course is relatively open with scattered trees around the fairways. However, there is a great deal of elevation to deal with as well as some distance. Big arms will definitely enjoy this part of the course. After this, there's a few wooded holes, also with elevation in play. This is followed by some more open holes and then a signature shot over the pond on hole 17.
Overall, this course has everything. Downhill and uphill, hyzer and anhyzer, open and wooded. This course will demand every shot in your bag and a good deal on conditioning to keep your wits about you.
Cons: As far as variation of shots, I can't think of a single con. I definitely wouldn't bring a first timer to this course, although novice players would probably still have a good time. There's just a lot of walking to ask of someone who isn't serious about the sport.
I also was a little disappointed that this course didn't have signs, because a lot of the tees don't allow you to see the pins. I realize that this course is relatively new and they're still tweaking with the design, but it gets kind of tiring walking up the fairway to see where the basket is. Once you learn the course it's not bad though.
I was also just a little disoriented with the tees. I saw multiples on some holes, but most of the short tees looked over grown. I don't know if they're only keeping the longs or not, but it was a tad ambiguous.
Other Thoughts: This park and the course located in it are both gorgeous. I really can't figure out how the disc golfers in this area convinced the park to give them such prime pieces of land. I'm glad they did though. This is easily the best course on the west side of Atlanta. If you're with people that don't want to throw, they can easily find something to do at this facility, from hiking to playgrounds to fishing. Only thing I would suggest is that you bring a lot of water because of the distances and the pond makes the park humid in the summer.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Best land for a DG course I've seen in years

1    10/21/2009   11/21/2009
Review By: KickMuttButt
Played: 148  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 33.9 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The Land. This park has beautiful terrain. Great elevation and mix of woods and open. The course design takes advantage of the elevation by requiring hyzers uphill and down as well as a few anhyzer tee-offs.
Cons: Gravel tee pads. They have got to go. Signs are needed.
Other Thoughts: When this course has the pads and signs in place, it will be a crown jewel for N. GA. I cant wait to go back.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 The Opposite of Alexander Park

5+    5/30/2009   6/30/2009
Review By: darktoaster
Played: 34  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 13.1 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is my current favorite in all of Atlanta. The fun factor was completely off the charts for me and I can't wait to get back out there to play. I can't seem to stop thinking about all the fun holes there and how I would approach them the next time I get out there.

This course has an excellent variety of holes that will test all of the shots in your bag. It has right hooks, straight shots, left hooks, steep uphills, steep downhills, shots paralleling water, and shots across water.

The park is also very pretty in my opinion with nice rolling hills and mature hardwoods dotting the hillsides. It also has a beautiful lake in the center of it. Think Lenora but more scenic.

The holes that stand out in my mind as being my favorites are 8 and 16. Hole eight is an interesting shot that goes over a large gully with very penalizing shule at the bottom if you don't get all the way across it. Hole 16 is a fun shorter shot next to the lake that gives you an option of going right or left of a nearby tree. I enjoy going to the right of the tree with a big hyzer , flying over the lake and landing under the tree shading the basket. This route leads to some excitement due to the chance of skip aces.

There were also a couple of interesting pin locations that kept us nervous when putting because they were on steep hillsides or in close proximity to water.

Additionally the course sits in an otherwise unused section of the park other than the playground near tee 1. We saw almost no traffic on the course other than 1 or two fishermen who seemed interested in what we were doing. Two of them even finished out the round with us using borrowed discs and said that they were going to try and get some of their own.
Cons: The major con of this course is that it is missing all of the nice accessories. It only has dirt teepads, no tee signs, and not much in the way of next tees signs.

One other negative I had the first time I went but after one round goes away is that many of the tee shots are blind, which forced us to walk halfway down the hole to find the basket. This was especially true because there are no tee signs.

The only real holes that I could have done without are 7 and 18 which just seemed to be put in to complete the course. Both are relatively straight, open, and short.
Other Thoughts: This course is excellent if you are looking for a varied and interesting round of disc golf however is definitely not the place for you if you prefer a course with nice amenities. If this course had concrete tees and tee signs I would have rated it a 5. Hopefully as it matures I will be able to come back to this review and up the score.

I highly recommend that you all make the drive out to Dallas to check this one out. I don't think that you will be disappointed.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 White Oak

1    5/7/2009   5/17/2009
Review By: warren1086
Played: 19  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 6.1 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Wow this course has everything to offer. The terrain is unbelievable and well maintained. Most of the course plays on and off of hills, so you will have a lot of up and down hill shots. Play by and through some water which adds some fun yet risky challenges. Most holes are pretty open with some hardwoods coming into play. The wooded holes were pretty challenging with tight fairways and the elevation was pretty crazy/fun. I thought the course flowed very well, didn't have or need a map to navigate. Had to check for some baskets on occasion just b/c the hills. This course has short and long holes to test your arm/accuracy. This place was filled with beautiful wildlife everywhere I looked. This is one of the nicest and cleanest parks I have seen in the ATL area. Had clean bathrooms and pavilion by first tee. Course finishes up very close to where you started so you don't have to walk far after a long days work. And even though the course is very hilly I thought the designer did a great job at placing the tee pads/boxes on a flat piece of land.
Cons: Most tees were natural so if it rains it can be very slippery. I am sure this will be fixed sometime in the near future at least I hope so cuz this course is great. Could use some tee signs, no distances or maps so you better be good at judging your distances. Park was clean but it could use some trash cans when people figure out how awesome this course is. Also could use some benches cuz you will get tired after walking/hiking up the hills. I don't consider any of these to be serious cons b/c I'm sure they will be fixed soon.
Other Thoughts: I couldn't imagine having to maintain this course, I'm sure it is a nightmare, but whoever does it did a fantastic job. Don't wear sandals or you will be regretting it immediately, wear shoes cuz you will be doin some hiking. There is nothing about this that is less than satisfying for every disc golfer. Use all your discs/shots in your bag. And the wildlife was really cool. Saw a few discs in the water so BEWARE. I can not wait for this course to be discovered and tournaments to be played here, although it was nice to be able to throw multiple discs on some holes with no one waiting behind you. A MUST play if in the ATL area.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Up for Best in GA, and USA!!

1    3/7/2009   3/7/2009
Review By: BobbyC13
Played: 27  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 5.7 Years
This review was updated on 9/29/2011
5 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: Wow! NOTHING AT ALL NEEDS TO BE CHANGED ABOUT THIS COURSE!!! This course is amazing. My friend and I played from the blue tees and loved every bit of the course. It is beautiful out there, long, fun, great elevation changes, and TOUGH, especially with the baskets in those positions. Great great job designer and workers for the course.
Cons: Besides it not being complete with signage and tee pads yet.
Other Thoughts: Wow, YOU HAVE TO PLAY THIS COURSE!!!!!

5 of 15 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.