Dallas, GA 
White Oak Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #4 (Taken 1/2009)
3 / 225ft.   3 / 366ft.   3 / 366ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Blue Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 43
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5
Excellent course lacking in amenities

1    6/3/2016   6/3/2016
Review By: jaredbrumbelow
Played: 9  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 0.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has the best elevation changes I've played thus far. I honestly didn't know that other courses were lacking in this area until I played this DGC. Some are tees fixed at the top of hills allowing you to bomb a drive over tree lines such as on hole 8 and others have you play from the bottom up such as 2 and 11. Obviously if there are steep hills, it can be a more strenuous round, especially in the summer heat. But the park does provide benches by almost every tee and if you bring water, you should be fine.

Very few holes feel like a filler hole with each having som kind of challenge of its own. I know many previous reviews comment on the park needing attending to, but this must've happened in between the last review and my visit because the entire park was mowed nicely.

Most of the baskets seemed to be in good shape. They were placed in such a way that they weren't the average open shots. Some were strategically place in narrowings near the basket such as on 10 that require accurate approaches. Others such as 8 were placed behind a dense cluster of trees and brush forcing the player to decide to risk a shot over the trees or try to lay up in a clearing. 17 was placed on a point at the edge of the lake which requires either a very long accurate drive over the water by very experienced players or a decently long shot over the water to lay up.

Speaking of these conditions, there are many risk and reward holes like 8, 10, and 17. If you take the risk, the reward can be great with birdie or eagle attempts. At the same time though, if you fail to complete the shot, you can most likely kiss your disc good bye in either the lake or extremely thick rough. However, for the less experienced like myself, there is almost always a safer way to the basket on the riskier holes.

Nice over all layout which brings you back to the parking lot and bathroom area at holes 7 and 18. No excessive walking except for the removed holes.
Cons: There are two major cons and a few minor ones.

The thing that made me very disappointed was that the course was missing 2 holes! It wasn't like the course was only designed for 16 holes. It went from 12 to 15. We searched for a while so we know we didn't miss them. The very unfortunate thing about this is that 13 especially seem like it would be a fun hole. On the scorecard, it had it as a par 4, so we figured out where the basket likely was in a valley in the corner of the course. I have read now that there were complaints by neighbors, but the removal of 13 is a shame and to just leave them missing instead of relocation is an even worse decision.

The other big con was trying to find your way around. Had it not been for a review on here, I would have never have found the first tee. But even worse is trying to find your way around the course. Especially with a course that supposedly offers multiple tees and multiple baskets, navigation is a must have. It's a pain to wander around in the summer heat looking for the next tee. Plus, many of the baskets are blind from the tee. On a hilly course like this, it's a pain to run up hills to see where the basket is when a hole design could be posted at the tee.

The google maps link on here can be helpful, but it needs editing. For example, it has hole 12 as being in the open at the area 13 should be, when in reality, hole 12 is completely wooded. 13 and 14 still appear on the map even though the baskets are no longer there too play. And some of the tee boxes are either inaccurately marked on the map or have been removed since then. Like tee 18, which we never found and played from tee 8.

The minor things that take away from the enjoyment of the round is the very dense rough. There are a few holes that less experienced players would be very likely to lose a disc on such as 8 or where 13 was. We lost a disc, not to the lake, but to the extremely dense thicket of tall grass, thorns and bushes on hole 15. But, even this I can't complain too much about as it was more of user error than the courses fault we ended up in the rough.

The only other nitpicking is the other park users. Around many of the water holes, people were fishing along the edge of the lake and near the baskets because of the trees nearby shade. Many will act like you aren't even there so you have to decide whether to skip the hole or play it safe by laying up so as not to hit or get close and offend someone.
Other Thoughts: For those coming:
***The first tee is located at the back of the park. Follow the road past the pavilion, first playground, and up a hill to a gravel lot with a smaller playground to the left. Walk past the playground towards a big stake in the ground and the first tee is near here marked on the ground by a board and a natural tee area. The first tee is to the right.***

***There is no hole 13 or 14.

***15 can either be played from 17's tee and throwing past 16 or you can walk the distance of the field for the correct tee box.

***May lose a disc to water if you're a less experienced player.

***Wear shoes with grip for very steep and slippery holes (10, 11, 12)

***If weather permits, wear pants for retrieving discs in the rough. Very thick and full of thorns.

*** The water fountains near the 1st tee parking area were not working, but there are fountains in the longer pavilion building on the left when you first come in the park and the water is cold.

With $100 or so, this course could at the very least be adequately mapped with laminated hole designs at each tee and a couple of signs guiding you to the tees. It wouldn't be flashy, but it would do the job. This course is a hidden gem that could easily be scooped from the mud and polished into a 4 star or higher course. I would love to play here again when a few improvements were made.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

White Oak Park

5+    5/28/2016   6/2/2016
Review By: lazrman778
Played: 75  Reviewed: 56  Exp: 5.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Almost every hole has a change in elevation

Has many benches throughout course

Much more open than wooded fairways will be appreciated by the beginner, the power player, and any player trying new discs

Multiple basket placements for a few holes but I can't recall any baskets ever been moved

Restrooms

Free parking but can fill quickly due to other parkgoers
Cons:
Missing baskets #13 & #14 due to neighbor complaints - long walk between #12 basket and #15 tee

No tee signs - refer to the course map although holes #9 & #10 appear to be mapped incorrectly

Natural tee pads can be difficult to locate after leaves have fallen or if the grass hasn't been mowed

No next tee signs - can be confusing for a first-timer

Not much shade - can really get hot in the summer

Lake can swallow some discs if you're not accurate on holes #15 - #17 - fatigue can factor in at this stage of your round here

Has some overgrown areas in fairways at holes #8 - #10, #16 and #18
Other Thoughts:
This is really a beautiful course that I wish I could rate higher. I understand that there are efforts in revitalizing this course through fundraiser tournaments. This course is very challenging in that it will take your breath away if you're not in shape. Some of the steepest inclines and declines are at holes #11 and #12 respectively - definitely recommend some shoes with good traction as the loose rocks and leaves mixture is a recipe for a slip and fall. As mentioned above, there are some overgrown areas at a few holes where there is some nasty rough you have to avoid. I look forward to seeing this course get revitalize and possibly redesigned so playing 18 holes here can be a reality again. If that happens, then I will update my review accordingly.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

****updated review****

1    5/20/2016   10/10/2015
Review By: 1983eville
Played: 8  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 1 Years
This review was updated on 5/22/2016
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is my updated review because i had originally played this course in October 2015 and it was totally unplayable due to grass being 2 feet high and missing baskets. They have since kept the grass mowed and fixed a lot of the baskets. This course has the potential to be one of the greatest in Atlanta with the huge elevation changes and hole layouts. It's not there yet but it's getting there and thanks to the few who are working hard to make this course great again
Cons: There are no tee signs or directions to tell you where to go. bring a local friend or a map. The tee pads are small dirt tees and could use some revamping. Holes 12, 13, and 15 are missing due to neighbors. We played hole 12's tee to hole 15. The rough has grown up extra rough to make having your buddy spot your disc down range a must.
Other Thoughts: This course has the potential to be a landmark ATL course with some TLC from the county and locals. Thanks to Moose for his hard work in trying to get this course to where it belongs n the the great courses of GA. It's getting there and it shows!

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Tons of potential, but it's not good out there now.

1    1/24/2015   1/24/2015
Review By: Moose33
Played: 53  Reviewed: 53  Exp: 4.8 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course lies in a beautifully scenic park near Dallas, GA. The rolling hills, massive elevation changes, great use of water and woods are amazing.

The baskets that are still undamaged are Pro 4 Disccatchers and catch fine, though two are badly damaged and two are missing.

This park is beautifull, I wish the course was at all maintained.
Cons: It looked like no one give a crap about this place.

No tee signs, no indicators of where the first hole might be.

The teepads are planks in the ground with the number and rental direction of the next hole written in sharpie.

The 13 and 14 baskets are gone, and 6 and 10 are badly damaged.

This course could easily be a 3.5 at least, but I've had to give it a 2.5 becuase of all of its warts.
Other Thoughts: All in all this could be an amazing park.

It really should be a 1.5 or a 2 but the amazing terrain makes it too good to give it the rating it probably deserves.

With the scenery and signature penninaula hole on 17 I wish someone cared.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

16 fun holes, but needs work!

1    12/26/2014   12/28/2014
Review By: HelloPoodles
Played: 37  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 4.3 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Scenic,hilly, moderately open course allows you to break out the distance drivers on a few holes (a rarity at the GA courses I've played). Only a few holes (7 & 15, maybe 10) seem like fillers, everything else has its charms.

It kills me to only give this **1/2, because with a bit of work it could be a **** course. With holes 12 & 13 put back in play (and I think the land exists to do that and keep them away from the property line) and some proper signage, I think I'd actually prefer this to Oregon Park, and perhaps it would relieve some of the congestion there. I wish I didn't live three hours away, because this course is worthy of "adoption" by someone willing to put in some hard work and minimal $$$ outlay to fix the problems. Come on, someone step up a be a hero!
Cons: Worst signage ever! If you don't have a map, you'll be wandering around scratchin' your head at least half the time you're out here. A number of the baskets are not visible from the tees (which in itself is not a problem) but without any signs, it's very confusing.

Natural "teepads" (which are nothing more than a piece of landscape timber flush with the ground fronting a patch of dirt) are VERY difficult to find! Some have the hole numbers written in sharpie on them, some (#8 most notably) don't. The good news: I don't really remember any rocks or roots in the tee areas, so they've got that going for them.

Holes 13 and 14 no longer exist, and I never could find the tee for 16.

This site has multiple tees listed for a few holes, but I think we're down to one per hole.

#10's basket bottom is being held in place by electrical tape. Can't imagine that'll hold up too much longer.
Other Thoughts: Once you're in the park, go to the very back and park near the pavilion with the playground near it. Go to the playground and you'll see a wooden stake in the ground half way up the hill near #1's tee; the basket is to the right.

I like detailed hole by hole reviews, so in an effort to drum up interest in this course, I'll do just that:
#1. A fun shot down a gently sloping hill (this site says 355 ft - didn't seem that long to me, more like 275-300.) Better keep this one low or it could easily drift 100 feet OB! The hole has changed since the picture, as the basket is now in a more open position.
#2. From the basket of #1, look downhill and to the left for a lonely piece of landscape timber - that's #2's tee. This hole is 600+ feet and what seems like 300 feet of elevation changes - two fairly steep hills to climb. You'll probably spend 15 minutes trying to find the basket before you shoot. There are a few trees to contend with here, but only truly errant shots are punished. I like this hole - kinda epic and satisfying when you finally putt it in.
#3. After #2, go back and to you left for the #3 teepad (I believe there's a bench there). You can see the basket from the tee, which after #2 is a relief.
#4. Careful on this one - I didn't realize the steepness of the hill beyond 4's basket (well illustrated in the picture here), and had the pleasure of my errant 50 foot putt rolling downhill into the next county.
#5. Short but steeply uphill shot with a few trees in the way.
#6. Very scenic downhill shot. Nothing technical, just a matter of whether or not you can keep your drive under control. As a player of dubious skill, I found it quite satisfying to par this one as it's a 500 ft. par 3.
#7. Definitely a filler hole
#8. Took me awhile to convince myself where the tee was, as the landscape timber has nothing marking it as 8. To get to the basket (which I don't think is visible from the tee) you have to shoot over some 60 ft. tall trees, but you're already up probably 40 ft. So it's not too difficult, but you definitely need to factor in your disc's fade (I think the basket is slightly to the right).
#9. I don't remember this one at all! Sorry.
#10. The course has changed since the pictures were posted. What's pictured here as #10 is now #11, and the picture of 12's tee is now near where #12's basket actually is. #10 is pretty much a straight shot into a bowl like formation as I recall.
#11. IIRC, after 10, you need to walk to your left and maybe even a little downhill to find the tee for #11. This is the tightest tunnel shot I've played yet, and directly up a steep hill. I was concentrating so hard on keeping it straight, I drove it into the ground twice owing to the steepness of the hill, yet still eeked out a par. This is a neat hole, but tough.
#12. You're shooting down a steep, heavily wooded hill and across a creek towards a basket with little in the way of a green, so there's a fair bit of strategy here. I just aimed for the bottom on the hill, but still caught a few trees on the way down. Another hole I enjoyed.
#13 & 14. R.I.P.
#15 Walk the entire length of the field as you'll be shooting back towards 15. This is definitely the easiest shot on the course.
#16. The basket is near (25 feet or so) the water's edge, but I couldn't find the teepad. The map shows it up on the hill, but I walked that hill and I never saw it. I guess just walk to the top of the hill and shoot it down.
#17 Good risk/reward type of hole. You'll need to shoot it over the water, but the narrowest path is probably only 225 feet, so it's within most players' range. If you want to land it close to the basket, though, you'll need about 325-350 of distance.
#18. Nice straight, relatively short shot in comparison. This is almost like the last hole on a miniature golf course, where if you shoot it into the clown's mouth you get a free game.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Getting Worse

1    2/22/2014   3/3/2014
Review By: Disc_Coastie
Played: 4  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 10.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Clean course, bathrooms available, plenty of parking.
Cons: Absolutely no maintenance of the course with the exception that the county keeps the grass mowed... Tee pads in bad repair, no signage, missing baskets...
Other Thoughts: Since it's beginning the course has declined to the point that I will not ever play here again... the alternatives Oregon Park, Frog Rock and Deerlick are all SO much better.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Under the White Oak Tree

1    1/1/2014   1/12/2014
Review By: Upshawt1979
Played: 277  Reviewed: 173  Exp: 13.3 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: White Oak has the elevation necessary to get the party started! I immediately like any course with hills like this. I would like to see the course in the summer when the leaves are in the trees and the grass is green. Not a ton of trees, but some more wooded holes around the beginning of the back nine. There was a bit of distance on a few holes, but nothing championship worthy. Hole 8 was one that I really loved. Teeing up high, throwing over tree tops in a creek bed, to a basket halfway up the hill opposite you. A great drive if you can hit it just right. There is a duck pond that brings water into play very near a couple of baskets. Watch out for roll aways on those hillside putts. I didn't see any other disc golfers there, but there was a few others walking dogs, playing on the playgrounds, and feeding ducks.
Cons: There is plenty of room for improvement. I had a hard time finding the first hole, and the map was not as helpful as would have liked. Concrete tees would be an excellent addition. Signs at the tees would be great, and maybe some to help out leading around the course. A number of the holes were somewhat bland with open drives leaving little challenge aside from the elevation. I had a hard time navigating them and definitely missed a couple. I see other reviewers have pointed out missing baskets.
Other Thoughts: White Oak is a course that offers a couple of really nice holes, but I would recommend going along with someone familiar with it if you have never been there. I liked it as is, but I think some upgrades to the tee pads and signage would help immensely. To me, that and replacing missing baskets could boost this courses rating to a 4.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  

1    9/8/2013   9/13/2013
Review By: Drizzt09
Played: 25  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 7.1 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Elevation
Good mix open and wooded holes
Cons: Natural teepads needs some work
Needs tee signs
Needs next tee signs to show where to go
New updated map to show where to go
Need to put holes 13&14 back in play
Other Thoughts: This course is very challenging. If most of the cons are corrected this could be a four disc course.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Bring your climbings shoes

1    9/8/2013   9/9/2013
Review By: Subicon
Played: 27  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 7.2 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Elevation
-Distance
Cons: -Missing holes (12 & 13)
-Almost no signage
-Map is confusing and outdated
-Hole 9's basket is broken
-Natural tee pads
Other Thoughts: Despite my low rating of this course, I did really enjoy playing here. Despite being fairly open on the front nine, the distances and pin placements made for a good challenge. If the missing/broken baskets are fixed and replaced, signs added, map re-done, and tee pads upgraded, this will be a solid 4 disc course.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 I'mmmmm Sailingggg Awayyyyy

1    10/27/2012   11/11/2012
Review By: Connor Jones
Played: 76  Reviewed: 35  Exp: 6.3 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Elevation.
Elevation.
Elevation.

I thought about putting, "Elevation." one more time but, I assume you got the picture.

This course is a lot of ups and downs, sides and backwards and stuff. It's definitely its biggest pro.

Baskets were in great shape.

The park was very well kept and extremely clean.

You're probably going to have the course to yourself.

Really beautiful park and views.

Cons: Literally 0 directional guidance, it was like being a blind squirrel on the moon looking for a singular nut.

Natural teepads that weren't that great.

For so much elevation, there's a lot of repetitive shots including the main shot, wide open hyzer.
Other Thoughts: It's a lot easier to write in here for me, especially on this one.

This course has potential to be a 4, and usually i'm not one to complain about lack of polish, but this course desperately needs just a few small touches, mostly some directional signs, or maps, or a man waiting to guide you around for a small fee, even though this park is probably to nice to find that sort of thing. :|

Anyways, the best section of this course is 10-14 or so. A couple of true wooded gems that really stand out. If the course had a couple more of these tossed in to mix up the general open feel, I could see myself giving it a four regardless of the polish.

My final thoughts are, until this course gets teepads, which it NEEDS due to the nature of the elevation, better directional signs and maybe a few trees planted, it's not really living up to it's full potential, and I will pick other courses in the area(such as deer lick) over this when I am there.

Also, I still had a really fun time here, it is a good layout with potential to be very good, so if you have time for it, play it.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center