Dallas, GA 
White Oak Park Share
Uploaded By: whalaw Hole #14 (Taken 11/2009)
3 / 362ft.   3 / 362ft.   3 / 362ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #14 Basket



Reviews: 40
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Mixed feelings

1    4/23/2011   6/17/2011
Review By: mashnut
Played: 817  Reviewed: 774  Exp: 12.9 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course plays through a hilly park with a mix of open areas and some denser woods. Most of the front 9 plays out in the open on steep hills. The elevation is used creatively to create variety and some nice challenging drives, as well as several roll away greens to add difficulty to the short game. The back 9 plays a little in the woods, and brings a pond and creek into play for a little more risk. A few holes are tight enough to make you shape a specific line, and have enough rough to punish errant shots.

There is good distance variety here, especially if you consider the long and short tees that are pretty different in some cases. Though the course is pretty open, you'll need different shot shapes to have the best shot at a good score. The course was well groomed, with no trash and nicely mowed grass. The course doesn't conflict with other park users, which is always a plus in a multi-use facility.
Cons: The open hilly holes get a little repetitive. I love the elevation, but with few or no obstacles it loses a little bit of challenge and interest. The long and short tees on most holes don't change the line to the pin, they just have different distances, so they don't really add to the variety of the course. The wooded holes have some erosion issues where there isn't grass.

The tees are pretty bad, they're rutted out and in poor shape and many sit on slopes and aren't leveled. Some are a bit overgrown so they're not obvious, especially with the lack of signs. There isn't much indication of what hole number you're on, or where to throw, and the flow of the course is odd in spots. Make sure you print the map or you'll be frustrated trying to figure out where to go.
Other Thoughts: There are some really fun holes here, but there's also some repetitiveness, and some navigation issues that can frustrate visiting players. Beginners will find the course challenging, but with limited rough and many reasonable short tees it's approachable for newer players. More experienced throwers will find some nice challenges in spots, but also some parts of the course that are very straightforward and one-dimensional.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Beginner Course

1    4/24/2011   4/24/2011
Review By: The Doctor
Played: 61  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 11.8 Years
0 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: 1. They have 3 legit holes 10,11,17
Cons: 1. No tee pads
2. 4 tee signs, not much integrity
3. Wide open holes
4. Not tournament worthy
5. Over rated course
Other Thoughts: I shot even playing everything par 3. I thought the only variation besides, 11, 12, 17, was the elevation changes. The course was all right to navigate but needs tee signs. Doesn't have much to distinguish it from the rest. I played Northern Georgia Canopy Tour yesterday and thought it blew this course away. I wish I would have went somewhere else while I am on vacation here.

0 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 White Oak

1    1/29/2011   2/2/2011
Review By: do you juju
Played: 11  Reviewed: 5
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The plot of land that this course is on includes a massive amount of park space that is capitalized by the local community. With several small bodies of water throughout the park, rolling hills, aged trees, and great maintenance this park is visually captivating. The course is in the back of the park and for the majority of the holes, they are in the wide open with few trees lining the fairways. The elevation of some of the holes was not only difficult to manage a drive from the tee box, but also landing a putt in fear of rolling down another hill behind the basket. The holes are decent length, and offer some creativity to your shots. As fun as the course was to play, it was also just as enjoyable to walk through the park on a lovely Saturday afternoon.
Cons: As much praise as I gave the course, there are a few things that are detrimental to it's push as an elite course. Coming from a home course with grass tee pads, I enjoy anything other than that, but it would have been nice to see some concrete pads instead of the makeshift gravel ones. Luckily I played the course with some friends who have played it before, and they were able to guide me as such, but if you are playing it blind, it can be tough. Very few holes had signs or maps that indicated the distance or basket location. Having to walk a few steps to see the basket isn't a big deal at all, but a sign would be nice and make things tremendously easier. A few benches spread throughout the course, but a few more wouldn't hurt after walking the elevation on some holes.
Other Thoughts: Trying to convey the elevation changes is tough to do through a review, but take it from me, they can be drastic. Playing confident, and with a clear idea of where the basket is and each hole, this course is a lot of fun.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Could be so much better

1    8/11/2010   8/11/2010
Review By: MarkDanielle
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2
This review was updated on 8/17/2010
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This wasn't one of those courses where you just throw your driver as far as you can. This course actually required imagination. One hole might have you throw it a little to the right or left. Another had you throwing over water. On some courses I throw a driver and a putter and that's it. But this one was a tad longer than most and required a little imagination, with me using almost all of my discs for one reason or another

Was well-groomed

Water fountain near No. 1 worked well (and the water was good and cold)
Cons: Entrance to the park had a bunch of signs, but not one directed us to hole No. 1

We had LOTS of trouble figuring out in which direction to throw our discs. Is it so difficult to post a map of the hole somewhere on the tee pad?

We had no idea which way to walk to get to the next tee. Again, is it so difficult to include on the tee basket a sign, with an arrow, that shows the way to the next tee?
Other Thoughts: Course could potentially be one of the best in the area. But I won't play it again until hole-specific maps AND "next tee" arrows are added. I just don't want to waste any more time trying to figure things out. On a few holes, we actually threw to the wrong basket. After this happened a second time I simply picked up my disc and refused to play another hole until we found matching tee boxes and holes.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Course Changes (Temp?)

5+    7/26/2010   8/4/2010
Review By: Bakenstine
Played: 69  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 8.7 Years
This review was updated on 9/10/2010
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: _Hole 5 Connection!_ (Chillaxation spot before or after hole 5)
PROS for CHANGES made: 9 is no longer blind, and does not risk lakage. 10 has been cleared very nicely along the old rough of 9. 11 is simply old 10, which I liked, glad to see it in tact. 12 is old 11, yet is longer and across the creek... Tricky placement indeed! 13 is immensely long now. I LOVE a long arse hole, but dayem, this was a shock the first time around
Cons: CONS for CHANGES made: 9 is WAY too short for the course average. 10 is tricky but somehow a slight disappointment when walking past the old nine basket (a challenge I loved to hate). 11 seems to be cleared more on the right, where new 10 basket is located, and this could result in fatal rollers down said grass hill. I hope to see both locations for the pin at new 12 (old 11) in alternation, because cool as the creek crossing is, I liked the blind thumber bomb I could pull on the shorter location. 13.... 13, 13, 13, what can be said. I like it long, but maybe not THAT long. I think that the situation around 16's baskets also needs to be settled and the old choices turned into an alt pin loc for 15.
Other Thoughts: Nice to see a course go through revolutionary changes for the better. I only wish the same could be said of Redan.....

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 very hilly doesn't come close

1    7/18/2010   7/19/2010
Review By: TracyJ
Played: 25  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 6.8 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: the course is beautiful.
Cons: the beginning of the course was not marked. i didn't see any disc golf course signage. the description of very hilly is a little misleading. we play Lenora all the time and that is described as very hilly. this was mountainous in comparison. there were very very steep uphills and downhills on all the holes we played. we could not find the red tees on several holes and the map we downloaded from this site is not correct, so we could not find our way easily.
Other Thoughts: we only had time to play the back nine but couldn't even get that in because of the searching for tees and pins trying to follow the map from this site. also the terrain is very much understated in the description. we'll come back when we have 3 hrs for a round and are in better shape.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful Park

1    6/27/2010   6/28/2010
Review By: The Drake
Played: 93  Reviewed: 43  Exp: 11.7 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: White Oak is a beautiful course in a beautiful park. Rolling hills and sloping greens make for very strategic drives with an emphasis on the landing and nervous putts for fear of some very severe rollaways. To say this course is on a beautiful piece of land really isn't doing it justice. The fairways almost have a feel of being on a manicured ball golf course.

If you like booming drives this is a course for you. There are many opportunities out here which will allow you to stretch your arm out. But there are also some shorter holes to take some of the pressure off. Blind tee shots and landing areas, hyzer, anhyzer, uphill, downhill, and even a couple of wooded holes that will remind Atlanta locals and Atlanta Open players of East Roswell.

Playing this course will improve your game. What impressed me most about this course was the fact that even though its in a very nice park with lots of families around and things to do for non golfers the course itself seems to be on a plot of land that isn't used by anyone else which is a huge bonus. The entire family can go out and while the kids play on the swings or by the lake you can play golf and not have to worry about hitting a random jogger.
Cons: If you are out of shape you may not want to play this course. As a soccer player having just played Flyboy the front part of the course can be very taxing just to walk with some severe elevation changes. So just a warning there.

While the teepads are well marked with white posts and blue or red tape to indicate pro versus am tee pads respectively it would be nice to add distances of the holes.

There are a couple of holes which I felt were poorly designed. 11 and 12 I was not a big fan of. As mentioned above these bring back feeling of ERP in Atlanta with very tight fairways and especially in the case of 11 which is an uphill huck have numerous trees dotting the fairway. I threw a drive on the hole which put me 50 feet below the hole maybe 20 feet to the left of the center part of the "fairway" and had no putt at the basket. The next hole is a blind severe downhill also with a very tight fairway and a creek which runs only 30-40 feet below the hole. I love wooded courses and holes and don't mind tight fairways but if there are trees in the middle of the fairway (a LOT of them) its an automatic con for me.
Other Thoughts: I played White Oak after having just finished a round at Flyboy just spur of the moment before driving back to Birmingham. I was very pleasantly surprised at how good of a course white oak was. Using these two courses together for a tournament would be tremendous. This golfer will definitely make efforts to come back and play white oak.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 How did they get this land?

2-4    5/7/2010   5/7/2010
Review By: Fender088
Played: 25  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 7.7 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is located in one of the nicest multi-facility parks in the metro-Atlanta area. I've honestly never seen the same amount of diversity in elevation at any other park in Georgia. Once you arrive you'll see that there's a really nice pavilion (great for tournaments and leagues) and restrooms right next to the parking area. From the first tee you'll realize that you're in for a hike for the rest of the day. The first half of the course is relatively open with scattered trees around the fairways. However, there is a great deal of elevation to deal with as well as some distance. Big arms will definitely enjoy this part of the course. After this, there's a few wooded holes, also with elevation in play. This is followed by some more open holes and then a signature shot over the pond on hole 17.
Overall, this course has everything. Downhill and uphill, hyzer and anhyzer, open and wooded. This course will demand every shot in your bag and a good deal on conditioning to keep your wits about you.
Cons: As far as variation of shots, I can't think of a single con. I definitely wouldn't bring a first timer to this course, although novice players would probably still have a good time. There's just a lot of walking to ask of someone who isn't serious about the sport.
I also was a little disappointed that this course didn't have signs, because a lot of the tees don't allow you to see the pins. I realize that this course is relatively new and they're still tweaking with the design, but it gets kind of tiring walking up the fairway to see where the basket is. Once you learn the course it's not bad though.
I was also just a little disoriented with the tees. I saw multiples on some holes, but most of the short tees looked over grown. I don't know if they're only keeping the longs or not, but it was a tad ambiguous.
Other Thoughts: This park and the course located in it are both gorgeous. I really can't figure out how the disc golfers in this area convinced the park to give them such prime pieces of land. I'm glad they did though. This is easily the best course on the west side of Atlanta. If you're with people that don't want to throw, they can easily find something to do at this facility, from hiking to playgrounds to fishing. Only thing I would suggest is that you bring a lot of water because of the distances and the pond makes the park humid in the summer.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Scenic Hills

1    2/17/2010   2/17/2010
Review By: sloppydisc
Played: 199  Reviewed: 145  Exp: 6.2 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice course in a large park that has made a good use of elevation. Good park facilities. Bathrooms, garbage cans and picnic tables on site. Even 2 playgrounds for kids and family. The course itself is an example of one of the better uses of elevation I have seen in a non-mountain course. There are up and downs, and even baskets placed on hill sides that add risk to your putts and approaches. A fun place to play if you want to air it out and watch your disc fly up and down hills. Some cool blind shots over hills that require a spotter or a short walk to check out the shot. Nice change of pace compared to the wooded courses I normally play.
Cons: Course is still under construction so these cons are temporary. Crushed gravel tee pads. Can get wet and uneven. I did see signs that they are raising money for concrete pads. That will be a nice improvement and make me grade the course higher when it is done. No signs to navigate holes. I assume this is in the works too, but these things take time. For now it's a negative. While there is a good use of the hills many of the shots are simply up and down hills with no other risk/reward factor.
Other Thoughts: Holes that stuck out in my mind:

1) Straight downhill, but basket is on a hill and that can make the approach tricky.
2)Nice uphill with an OB fence on the right. A few mature oaks to add some obstacles to the fairway.
4) Basket placed on side of a large hill. Tough approach and putt. Challenging layout.
8) Down a hill, over some trees and up another hill. A few trees to naviagte around by the hole.
9)Gradual downhill shot with the basket tucked in the edge of the woods and the pond behind. Overthrows could go swimming.
10) 1st wooded hole. Straight up a very steep hill. Nice tunnel shot through the trees.
11) Back down the steep hill and another tunnel shot. Enough trees in there to ruin your day. OB creek behind basket for overthrows and an OB barbwire fence on right.
14) OB creek in front and to the side of the basket.
17) Decent length shot over the pond to a basket on a peninsula. Signature hole for the course. There is room for us noodle arms to throw short and safely cross the pond. Must be careful on approaches due to pond behind basket. There is some room, but a roller could hurt.

Overall a very nice course that will be even better with pads and signs. Great option for people that prefer a more open course. Only 2 wooded holes.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 not fun

1    12/22/2009   12/28/2009
Review By: Journeyman
Played: 34  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 18.7 Years
2 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: If you like to rip long throws on wide open courses this one may be for you. Pin placement was interesting and required care lest the disc roll far away from the basket.

Elevation does add interest.
Cons: Wide open, little technical challenge. While elevation is interesting every throw is similar, grip and rip.

Poor signage with no "next tee" signs.
Other Thoughts: If you near and you want to play then hit this one. Do not go out of your way unless you like to throw lots of long open holes. If that is your thing, JP Mosely is a better choice in the area.

2 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.