Dallas, GA 
White Oak Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #7 (Taken 1/2009)
3 / 263ft.   3 / 263ft.   3 / 263ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Tee



Reviews: 43
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 Another must play if coming through Atlanta

2-4    5/31/2009   5/31/2009
Review By: jdawg24
Played: 97  Reviewed: 54  Exp: 18.2 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: White Oak has amazing topography, unique among all ATL area courses because it is so much hillier. Shots play up, down and along ridges that surround an inviting pond. Nice grass and large trees throughout park. Good mix of shots required and touch is a must on heavily sloped greens that add to the challenge. Excellent variety of hole types - long, short, left turning, right turning, narrow, wide open, and many with OB requiring shot planning. Strong finishing holes -- #13 thru 18 are my favorites on the course, especially # 14 (perfectly angled slope for long disc flight), #16 (shortish hole with multiple routes and OB water on right with left to right slope), #17 (penninsula hole, throwing over water with great risk/reward), and #18 - ace run to finish. #6 is also a great downhill hole where you can air it out.
Cons: Lots of blind holes. If playing for the first time, be ready to walk halfway up many of the fairways to catch a glimpse of the basket. I recommend playing with at least one other person and having spotters on several of the holes or you will lose discs....especially on #12 & 13. 13 = heavy shule right in the fairway, so a good shot will be land in thick waist high grass...we temporarily lost 2+ discs each round while playing today. Somebody is gonna get nailed on #9, this is a definite safety hazard.

Many of the holes seem like par 3.5....you aren't going to birdie it, but probably not going to bogey. Think holes that are 400' but play 520' due to elevation. You get a 3 unless you screw up an easy up shot. Seems like the scoring distribution would be very bunched; i think i've shot within 2 shots of the same score in playing 4 rounds here.

Lots of up and down -- you must be in decent shape to play this course or you will feel it. Dirt teepads & limited signage; but it is a brand new course.
Other Thoughts: I'd give this a 3.75 if there was one; compared to other ATL courses I like it as much as ERP, if not more. Very challenging course to play with a high fun factor due to long bomber downhill shots. This course is very long arm friendly and many of the current blue teepads seem more like hard gold teepads. My only real knock on this course would be all the blind holes...not friendly to solo play as you would likely lose a disc or spend the round constantly looking for it.

Will be interesting to see how the course wears in; could have massive erosion problems on some of the really steep holes (1,8,10,11) in a few years.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 White Oak

1    5/7/2009   5/17/2009
Review By: warren1086
Played: 19  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 8.1 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Wow this course has everything to offer. The terrain is unbelievable and well maintained. Most of the course plays on and off of hills, so you will have a lot of up and down hill shots. Play by and through some water which adds some fun yet risky challenges. Most holes are pretty open with some hardwoods coming into play. The wooded holes were pretty challenging with tight fairways and the elevation was pretty crazy/fun. I thought the course flowed very well, didn't have or need a map to navigate. Had to check for some baskets on occasion just b/c the hills. This course has short and long holes to test your arm/accuracy. This place was filled with beautiful wildlife everywhere I looked. This is one of the nicest and cleanest parks I have seen in the ATL area. Had clean bathrooms and pavilion by first tee. Course finishes up very close to where you started so you don't have to walk far after a long days work. And even though the course is very hilly I thought the designer did a great job at placing the tee pads/boxes on a flat piece of land.
Cons: Most tees were natural so if it rains it can be very slippery. I am sure this will be fixed sometime in the near future at least I hope so cuz this course is great. Could use some tee signs, no distances or maps so you better be good at judging your distances. Park was clean but it could use some trash cans when people figure out how awesome this course is. Also could use some benches cuz you will get tired after walking/hiking up the hills. I don't consider any of these to be serious cons b/c I'm sure they will be fixed soon.
Other Thoughts: I couldn't imagine having to maintain this course, I'm sure it is a nightmare, but whoever does it did a fantastic job. Don't wear sandals or you will be regretting it immediately, wear shoes cuz you will be doin some hiking. There is nothing about this that is less than satisfying for every disc golfer. Use all your discs/shots in your bag. And the wildlife was really cool. Saw a few discs in the water so BEWARE. I can not wait for this course to be discovered and tournaments to be played here, although it was nice to be able to throw multiple discs on some holes with no one waiting behind you. A MUST play if in the ATL area.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Hills, hills, hills!

5+    8/22/2010   4/23/2009
Review By: Lewis
Played: 18  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 9.1 Years
This review was updated on 8/24/2011
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Until I played this course, I thought the main obstacles on a disc golf course were trees and water. Now I know what a truly hilly layout can do, and wow do these hills ever do it! Bravo to the designers, not only for creative use of the terrain, but for giving us yet another flavor of disc golf within reach of Atlanta. This is also the perfect complement to Oregon Park, which is about a 15-20 minute drive away. This course is open enough and long enough to let you air out your drives, but complicated enough, due to the steep slopes and scattered hardwoods, to make you think before you throw. It is the only course around Atlanta that I know of that brings a pond into play on more than one hole, and it does a great job of it. There is a lot of land out there, and the designers took the opportunity to build both short and long tees on most holes. I believe there could be room for a third tee box in a lot of places if the designers wanted to add them.

Perhaps the best thing about this course is the variety of shots you'll have to use to navigate it successfully. There are shots here that you may not find anywhere else.
Cons: There are some boggy low places around the course that have band-aid walkways made of old wooden pallets and fallen branches, but I hope bridges will be built in time. Be careful walking on these, since they can be unstable.

I could wish the grass on the hillsides were better mowed, but the terrain certainly makes it hard to mow. It's more of a natural setback that's outweighed by the hillsides' positive qualities, but worth mentioning.

Smokers and children beware! This course is only playable for people of sound body. If you're not in fairly good shape, you'll be miserable if you even make it around this course. There are parts of this course that are steeper than most of the Appalachian Trail.
Other Thoughts: Bring your Blowfly or a similarly floppy putter. You just can't putt here with stiff plastic. #4 in particular would be totally hopeless.

A local said #12 had to be moved because a landowner adjacent to the park made a complaint. You'll find its tee near the #17 long tee, playing uphill away from the pond.

Come the summer I'm afraid this grassy course will be fly-infested, if not mosquito-infested, so be sure to bring repellent just in case, as well as sunscreen. There isn't much shade out there.

For beginners I recommend Oregon Park over White Oak. It's nearby and a much more forgiving course. For big arms, this is your spot.

Look up the Atlanta Disc Golf club's forums for a map of this course before you go try it out. It made navigation possible for me. It's also an hour's drive from Atlanta, so make sure you have a couple of extra hours available if you're coming from in town.

I played White Oak on a rather blustery day, and I suspect it may be like that here more often than elsewhere. If there's wind when you play, be mentally prepared for lots of bogeys.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 

1    4/11/2009   4/17/2009
Review By: jacobjw2
Played: 26  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 8.3 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Elevation changes to your hearts content.
Very challenging even though its mostly wide open.
A variety of shots required to get next to the pin.
Just plain good looking course.
Cons: Would not bring a beginner due to EXTREME easy of losing discs down hills, in water, and after shots into unseen areas.
In the middle of nowhere it seemed.
When the pins can't be seen from the tee you either need a scout or just throw and hope you can see it from your second shot.
Other Thoughts: This is possibly the best course I have ever played. It was spacious and beautiful, a mix of good play and hiking. I had never been there before and WOW was I missing out. The elevation changes are on almost every hole. You start throwing down towards a pin, then over a hill for the next, then up and over for the third, and finally four puts you right down a steep grade with the pin just sitting in the middle. I loved the challenge. Each hole ended up being so different and it was very unexpected. 17 has a lake in play; in fact, your opening drive is over it. This seemed daunting at first, but once I was up to drive it was obvious that even mediocre players could get across in some fashion. I cannot wait to travel back.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  Fun for everyone!

5+    3/13/2009   3/30/2009
Review By: hstokes
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
This review was updated on 4/6/2009
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Beautiful terrain and a excellent variety of holes highlight this new course. You will use every shot in your bag. I disagree with those that say there are too many blind shots. 2, 4, 9 and 11 are blind and 13 is as well but only because of its length. The course is challenging but it isn't frustrating for beginners.
Cons: The only cons are things that will be fixed in time such as better course markers and concrete tee boxes.
Other Thoughts: With the hilly terrain some of the holes are fairly exposed and it can be windy!

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Gem in the makeing

1    3/17/2009   3/17/2009
Review By: StPaulie
Played: 112  Reviewed: 45  Exp: 7.9 Years
14 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: One more new course in the Atlanta area is allways welcome. Plenty of park amenities here. There is a pavilion and bathroomss by hole one. This course makes great use of some challengeing terrain, I have not seen a disc golf course with this kind of hills! Most of the course is fairly open but there are wooded holes also. The Pro tees will offer plenty of distance and challenge for the best of players. The elevation changes provide some challenges that not many courses around Atlanta provide. There is also a stream and pond that come into play. Many of your tee shots will be blind with trouble behind the basket for careless or errant shots. Hole 9 is a blind shot then down hill with the pond not far behind. Hole 10 is a wooded hole the most uphill shot I have seen. The fairway is a tight but managable shot. Once you get all the way up the hill, hole 11 is a blind tee shot all the way back down the hill with the drop off being around a 60 degree slope. This slope is steep enough to require switch backs to get down. Once you get down you discover a stream about 12 to 15 feet behind the basket. hole 17 requires a tee shot over the pond. Here you have a choice straight across the water and is a relatively safe throw, however if you choose to go at the basket the throw much further. Then you have to land on a peninsula green that is not large. If you take the safe tee shot you then have a long approach shot next to the pond. This course is well on it's way to being an exceptional course in the Atlanta area. Do not miss an opertunity to play this course, just be sure you are prepaired for the physical challenge.
Cons: There are no signs yet on the course, only white PVC posts marking the hole number. Those holes with with two tee boxs have blue stripes for Pro and Red for Rec. Not all holes have multiple tees. Unfortunately, there are no signs yet. This made for many guesses and a lot of walking to find baskets and next tees. I could not find a tee for 12. This course would really bennifit from some benches. I believe these are all planned but are not there yet.
Other Thoughts: I met the course designer while playing and he indicated that the brush that is currently ringing the peninsula green on 17 will be cleared. This will allow a player to attempt to throw to the basket. This is not really feasable right now, however the risk / reward will tempt many players in the future. I really enjoyed playing this course and hope to come back again. Unfortunately I live to far away to make it back often. When summer arrives you definitely want water and an energy bar would be welcome. To find hole #1 drive to the back of the park and #1 is behind the pavillion.

14 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 Up for Best in GA, and USA!!

1    3/7/2009   3/7/2009
Review By: BobbyCorn
Played: 27  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 7.7 Years
This review was updated on 9/29/2011
5 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: Wow! NOTHING AT ALL NEEDS TO BE CHANGED ABOUT THIS COURSE!!! This course is amazing. My friend and I played from the blue tees and loved every bit of the course. It is beautiful out there, long, fun, great elevation changes, and TOUGH, especially with the baskets in those positions. Great great job designer and workers for the course.
Cons: Besides it not being complete with signage and tee pads yet.
Other Thoughts: Wow, YOU HAVE TO PLAY THIS COURSE!!!!!

5 of 15 people found this review helpful.

 Simply fantastic

1    2/21/2009   2/23/2009
Review By: mactavius
Played: 16  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 9.2 Years
3 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: Fantastic use of the land. Elevation changes galore with unique holes and variability.
Cons: I live too far away to play regularly.
Other Thoughts: The best course I played in the Atlanta area this week by far (beating out Redan Park, East Roswell and J.P. Mosely).

3 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 White Oak

2-4    2/13/2009   2/21/2009
Review By: reggaB
Played: 102  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 31.4 Years
12 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Awesome piece of property for disc golf. Rolling hills with scattered hardwoods. Need distance and control to score well on most holes. Hole 17 plays over water to an "island" type green that is almost unheard of in this part of Georgia. Course is in a "passive" park, so no football or baseball players to contend with. Multiple tees and pin positions make this a course with many faces. Clean restrooms and two pavillions near hole #1 make this a great tournament friendly course. Hole #6 is one of the most scenic holes in the state, you can empty your bag off the long hole just for the thrill of seeing your discs in flight. This is my home course and I consider myself lucky to live so close to this park. The next closest 18 hole course is Deerlick which I used to play on a regular basis until White Oak was installed and although Deerlick is an OK course it does not flow as well as White Oak nor does it have the elevation changes that White Oak offers.
Cons: This course has only been in the ground a couple of months so there are no real tee signs or tee pads. 5 or 6 of the holes you shoot to are "blind" tee shots. (once you have played the course a couple of times this is a non-issue) Would like to see more ammenities such as benches, trashcans, etc...
Other Thoughts: As one of the course designers, my opinion may be a little biased. We are in the process of improving the ammenities on this course and once we have signage and concrete tee pads I think this will be one of the best courses in the state.

12 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 

1    2/20/2009   2/20/2009
Review By: grease
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
9 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: This land was tailor made for disc golf. The course is great to allow you to stretch out the arm as well as choke up for more technical shots. Most holes are on rolling terrain with baskets on slopes to add an extra challenge. Holes 10-11 add a nice change of tight wooded as well as a "what do I do here" element as opposed to the mostly open course. Trees come into play and are very strategically positioned on all holes. The pond adds some nervousness to holes 9,16, and 17.
Cons: Even though there are shorter tees available for the beginners, this may not be a good starting course. Go about 15 miles east to Oregon Park.
Other Thoughts: The course is in it's infancy and will definitely improve with age. Tee signs, trashcans, and eventually tee pads will be added. Thanks for your patience.

9 of 13 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.