Dallas, GA 
White Oak Park Share
Uploaded By: WAS1 Hole #1
3 / 355ft.   3 / 355ft.   3 / 355ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Basket

Reviews: 41
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 Hills, hills, hills!

5+    8/22/2010   4/23/2009
Review By: Lewis
Played: 17  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 8.4 Years
This review was updated on 8/24/2011
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Until I played this course, I thought the main obstacles on a disc golf course were trees and water. Now I know what a truly hilly layout can do, and wow do these hills ever do it! Bravo to the designers, not only for creative use of the terrain, but for giving us yet another flavor of disc golf within reach of Atlanta. This is also the perfect complement to Oregon Park, which is about a 15-20 minute drive away. This course is open enough and long enough to let you air out your drives, but complicated enough, due to the steep slopes and scattered hardwoods, to make you think before you throw. It is the only course around Atlanta that I know of that brings a pond into play on more than one hole, and it does a great job of it. There is a lot of land out there, and the designers took the opportunity to build both short and long tees on most holes. I believe there could be room for a third tee box in a lot of places if the designers wanted to add them.

Perhaps the best thing about this course is the variety of shots you'll have to use to navigate it successfully. There are shots here that you may not find anywhere else.
Cons: There are some boggy low places around the course that have band-aid walkways made of old wooden pallets and fallen branches, but I hope bridges will be built in time. Be careful walking on these, since they can be unstable.

I could wish the grass on the hillsides were better mowed, but the terrain certainly makes it hard to mow. It's more of a natural setback that's outweighed by the hillsides' positive qualities, but worth mentioning.

Smokers and children beware! This course is only playable for people of sound body. If you're not in fairly good shape, you'll be miserable if you even make it around this course. There are parts of this course that are steeper than most of the Appalachian Trail.
Other Thoughts: Bring your Blowfly or a similarly floppy putter. You just can't putt here with stiff plastic. #4 in particular would be totally hopeless.

A local said #12 had to be moved because a landowner adjacent to the park made a complaint. You'll find its tee near the #17 long tee, playing uphill away from the pond.

Come the summer I'm afraid this grassy course will be fly-infested, if not mosquito-infested, so be sure to bring repellent just in case, as well as sunscreen. There isn't much shade out there.

For beginners I recommend Oregon Park over White Oak. It's nearby and a much more forgiving course. For big arms, this is your spot.

Look up the Atlanta Disc Golf club's forums for a map of this course before you go try it out. It made navigation possible for me. It's also an hour's drive from Atlanta, so make sure you have a couple of extra hours available if you're coming from in town.

I played White Oak on a rather blustery day, and I suspect it may be like that here more often than elsewhere. If there's wind when you play, be mentally prepared for lots of bogeys.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.


1    4/11/2009   4/17/2009
Review By: jacobjw2
Played: 26  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 7.7 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Elevation changes to your hearts content.
Very challenging even though its mostly wide open.
A variety of shots required to get next to the pin.
Just plain good looking course.
Cons: Would not bring a beginner due to EXTREME easy of losing discs down hills, in water, and after shots into unseen areas.
In the middle of nowhere it seemed.
When the pins can't be seen from the tee you either need a scout or just throw and hope you can see it from your second shot.
Other Thoughts: This is possibly the best course I have ever played. It was spacious and beautiful, a mix of good play and hiking. I had never been there before and WOW was I missing out. The elevation changes are on almost every hole. You start throwing down towards a pin, then over a hill for the next, then up and over for the third, and finally four puts you right down a steep grade with the pin just sitting in the middle. I loved the challenge. Each hole ended up being so different and it was very unexpected. 17 has a lake in play; in fact, your opening drive is over it. This seemed daunting at first, but once I was up to drive it was obvious that even mediocre players could get across in some fashion. I cannot wait to travel back.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  Fun for everyone!

5+    3/13/2009   3/30/2009
Review By: hstokes
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
This review was updated on 4/6/2009
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Beautiful terrain and a excellent variety of holes highlight this new course. You will use every shot in your bag. I disagree with those that say there are too many blind shots. 2, 4, 9 and 11 are blind and 13 is as well but only because of its length. The course is challenging but it isn't frustrating for beginners.
Cons: The only cons are things that will be fixed in time such as better course markers and concrete tee boxes.
Other Thoughts: With the hilly terrain some of the holes are fairly exposed and it can be windy!

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Gem in the makeing

1    3/17/2009   3/17/2009
Review By: StPaulie
Played: 106  Reviewed: 45  Exp: 7.2 Years
14 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: One more new course in the Atlanta area is allways welcome. Plenty of park amenities here. There is a pavilion and bathroomss by hole one. This course makes great use of some challengeing terrain, I have not seen a disc golf course with this kind of hills! Most of the course is fairly open but there are wooded holes also. The Pro tees will offer plenty of distance and challenge for the best of players. The elevation changes provide some challenges that not many courses around Atlanta provide. There is also a stream and pond that come into play. Many of your tee shots will be blind with trouble behind the basket for careless or errant shots. Hole 9 is a blind shot then down hill with the pond not far behind. Hole 10 is a wooded hole the most uphill shot I have seen. The fairway is a tight but managable shot. Once you get all the way up the hill, hole 11 is a blind tee shot all the way back down the hill with the drop off being around a 60 degree slope. This slope is steep enough to require switch backs to get down. Once you get down you discover a stream about 12 to 15 feet behind the basket. hole 17 requires a tee shot over the pond. Here you have a choice straight across the water and is a relatively safe throw, however if you choose to go at the basket the throw much further. Then you have to land on a peninsula green that is not large. If you take the safe tee shot you then have a long approach shot next to the pond. This course is well on it's way to being an exceptional course in the Atlanta area. Do not miss an opertunity to play this course, just be sure you are prepaired for the physical challenge.
Cons: There are no signs yet on the course, only white PVC posts marking the hole number. Those holes with with two tee boxs have blue stripes for Pro and Red for Rec. Not all holes have multiple tees. Unfortunately, there are no signs yet. This made for many guesses and a lot of walking to find baskets and next tees. I could not find a tee for 12. This course would really bennifit from some benches. I believe these are all planned but are not there yet.
Other Thoughts: I met the course designer while playing and he indicated that the brush that is currently ringing the peninsula green on 17 will be cleared. This will allow a player to attempt to throw to the basket. This is not really feasable right now, however the risk / reward will tempt many players in the future. I really enjoyed playing this course and hope to come back again. Unfortunately I live to far away to make it back often. When summer arrives you definitely want water and an energy bar would be welcome. To find hole #1 drive to the back of the park and #1 is behind the pavillion.

14 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 Up for Best in GA, and USA!!

1    3/7/2009   3/7/2009
Review By: BobbyC13
Played: 27  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 7 Years
This review was updated on 9/29/2011
5 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: Wow! NOTHING AT ALL NEEDS TO BE CHANGED ABOUT THIS COURSE!!! This course is amazing. My friend and I played from the blue tees and loved every bit of the course. It is beautiful out there, long, fun, great elevation changes, and TOUGH, especially with the baskets in those positions. Great great job designer and workers for the course.
Cons: Besides it not being complete with signage and tee pads yet.
Other Thoughts: Wow, YOU HAVE TO PLAY THIS COURSE!!!!!

5 of 15 people found this review helpful.

 Simply fantastic

1    2/21/2009   2/23/2009
Review By: mactavius
Played: 16  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 8.5 Years
3 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: Fantastic use of the land. Elevation changes galore with unique holes and variability.
Cons: I live too far away to play regularly.
Other Thoughts: The best course I played in the Atlanta area this week by far (beating out Redan Park, East Roswell and J.P. Mosely).

3 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 White Oak

2-4    2/13/2009   2/21/2009
Review By: reggaB
Played: 102  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 30.8 Years
12 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Awesome piece of property for disc golf. Rolling hills with scattered hardwoods. Need distance and control to score well on most holes. Hole 17 plays over water to an "island" type green that is almost unheard of in this part of Georgia. Course is in a "passive" park, so no football or baseball players to contend with. Multiple tees and pin positions make this a course with many faces. Clean restrooms and two pavillions near hole #1 make this a great tournament friendly course. Hole #6 is one of the most scenic holes in the state, you can empty your bag off the long hole just for the thrill of seeing your discs in flight. This is my home course and I consider myself lucky to live so close to this park. The next closest 18 hole course is Deerlick which I used to play on a regular basis until White Oak was installed and although Deerlick is an OK course it does not flow as well as White Oak nor does it have the elevation changes that White Oak offers.
Cons: This course has only been in the ground a couple of months so there are no real tee signs or tee pads. 5 or 6 of the holes you shoot to are "blind" tee shots. (once you have played the course a couple of times this is a non-issue) Would like to see more ammenities such as benches, trashcans, etc...
Other Thoughts: As one of the course designers, my opinion may be a little biased. We are in the process of improving the ammenities on this course and once we have signage and concrete tee pads I think this will be one of the best courses in the state.

12 of 14 people found this review helpful.


1    2/20/2009   2/20/2009
Review By: grease
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
9 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: This land was tailor made for disc golf. The course is great to allow you to stretch out the arm as well as choke up for more technical shots. Most holes are on rolling terrain with baskets on slopes to add an extra challenge. Holes 10-11 add a nice change of tight wooded as well as a "what do I do here" element as opposed to the mostly open course. Trees come into play and are very strategically positioned on all holes. The pond adds some nervousness to holes 9,16, and 17.
Cons: Even though there are shorter tees available for the beginners, this may not be a good starting course. Go about 15 miles east to Oregon Park.
Other Thoughts: The course is in it's infancy and will definitely improve with age. Tee signs, trashcans, and eventually tee pads will be added. Thanks for your patience.

9 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 Better than Most

2-4    2/8/2009   2/20/2009
Review By: Redneck Machismo
Played: 131  Reviewed: 23
This review was updated on 12/26/2010
2 Helpful / 13 Not
Pros: The course is longer bringing in massive elevation changes. Good distance is at a premium to make birdies yet at the same time a lot of touch is required on many approach shots. The course is largely secluded from other parts of the park limiting interference with other park users. Many holes utilize a strong risk/reward aspect due to the baskets being perched either on or near steep down hills. The area seems conducive to high winds which of course raises the level of challenge greatly. The land is simply beautiful with picturesque rolling hills.
Cons: Many holes unfortunately are poorly thought out. Almost every shot is blind which really gets kind of silly. Hole 11 is an especially bad design being almost entirely luck; I really don't think you can get it close without getting lucky? Overall I think the land could have been used better. Some holes seem kind of repetitive especially with the over usage of blind shots. In addition almost every basket is perched on a hillside lending to too many roll-aways and raising the luck factor too high.
Other Thoughts: Overall I like this course much better than most in the area.

2 of 15 people found this review helpful.


1    2/19/2009   2/20/2009
Review By: Sea Bass
Played: 54  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 15.3 Years
This review was updated on 3/10/2009
12 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Awesome use of land provided.The land here is hills and big old oaks.They did a very good job bringing every tree and every bit of elevation available into play.
-Clean bathrooms in parking lot near tee 1.
-Easy to follow.Course flow makes great sense, look for pvc poles with the hole # on them to mark the tee.You might have to walk up on a few holes to spot the bucket, but usually the pin is right about where you expect to be.
-Great course length. The hills make short holes feel long, and some long ones feel shorter. Noodle arms will say this is a "bombers" course, but they are wrong. The hills make a huge diffrence with how your d feels.I'd say overall the course is a little longer then the average course, but not by much.
-Plenty of shot selection. As open as most of the course is, you will find yourself throwing all kinds of shots.Great job with using all the trees, water and hills to make you think about your shots.
Cons: Please keep in mind that this course has been in the ground maybe a month and a half at the time of this review.Most of my cons have more to do the newness of the course,And i'm sure most of these will be changed in the near future.

-Natural tees can be slick when wet.
-Could use some tee signs.
-Need some trash cans and benches near tees.
-Almost every pin is on a steep slant or right at the edge of a steep slant.Many times even layup putts wont stick and you will roll away. This rewards luck over skill, wich is always a con in my book.I dont think every pin should flat, but some of these are too much.
Other Thoughts: This course is SWEET. Dont take the cons seriously.This course is brand new, and most of the issues will be fixed in the future.

I can't even put into words how much I enjoyed this course. Its just plain sweet.Simple as that. If you can only play one course in the area choose this one. If you live in the atl. area get out there asap, you wont be dissapointed.I'm going to go as far as saying that when this course is finished, it will be the best course in the area.

12 of 13 people found this review helpful.

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.