Newland, NC 
Sugaree Share
Uploaded By: Mando Hole #23 (Taken 6/2016)
4 / 555ft. Par / Distance:



Reviews: 29
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3
The most unique and stunning course in the southeast

5+    7/12/2016   7/24/2016
Review By: hognosesucker
Played: 415  Reviewed: 87  Exp: 17.3 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: --Sugaree is nestled in the mountains of the Southern Appalachian high country giving it unique topography, including big hills, big flat meadows, cliffs and other rock formations. The owner used these unique features on nearly every hole, making each hole more memorable than the last.

--There is a good mix of left to right, right to left and straight holes, uphill, downhill, extreme downhill and flat holes.

--The course rewards solid, consistent play. It is a player's course. It is mostly heavily wooded and the fairways are fair. The holes are not long, but nearly all of them have hazards that punish lazy (shots that fade out) or inaccurate shots.

--The basket placements are the best I've ever seen. A lot of them are near large rock outcrops, lending to some of the scariest putts in the game. Strategic upshot placement is paramount.

--Because of the greens and the hazards, it is the most mentally tough course I've played. You have to stay sharp and get back on the the par and birdie wagon when you inevitably fall off it.

--Good use of OB to keep players out of the Frasier Firs

--Sufficient tee signage (simple routed signs with hole number, distance, and route), good baskets (MVP black holes), good teepads (gravel and framed carpet), and great stonework all over the course (benches and steps), several trash cans and benches available on most holes

--Some beautiful mountain scenery on several holes

--Other pluses:Several loops possible, camping onsite with permission, options of donation or work for play

--Rich is one of the most personable course owners out there. If you get a chance to play with him, take the opportunity.
Cons: --The course goes out and doesn't comes back at the end, so bring everything you need with you when you start.
Other Thoughts: --This course is in my Top 5. It's my favorite of the mountain style golf courses (I've played Blackjack, Ashe County, Beaver Ranch/Conifer, Bucksnort). Every time I go up there is better than the last. If you can, I'd recommend seeing the course in spring, summer and fall to get all the crazy beauty that this place offers. Rich is constantly tweaking things on the course and improving it.

--Please be generous in your donations, all of the homemades were recently replaced and there is a lot of weedwacking and pruning to do here.

--This is not a course for beginners or people that are badly out of shape.

--Make sure to bring snacks and a lot of water.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Disc Golf Bliss

1    6/5/2015   1/6/2016
Review By: BigAl724
Played: 119  Reviewed: 117  Exp: 4 Years
13 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Sugaree gave me the best disc golf experience I've ever had. Seriously. Only one other course - Selah Lakeside - blew me away in the same kind of way that left me amazed with the combination of design and terrain offered. First off, Rich is a very gracious host and it was a joy to hear the vision that he has for his course and the perspective he has about disc golf. This truly is a players' paradise with a fun-filled, risk/reward challenge on every hole that combines multiple aspects of design, all on very secluded, beautiful property.

The succession of holes and the design of the holes themselves are tremendously thought out. You truly get a little bit of everything here, be it downhill/uphill bombs, tight ravine shots, and a few chances to really open up on a few holes with open fairways from the tee. The mountainous, woodsy setting was awesome, and I appreciated that there were also a few more open holes sprinkled in to allow me to catch my breath. One of the best aspects of design here is that you are always offered multiple ways to approach the hole with multiple lanes through mature trees. The lines aren't random, they are very well thought out, and even the tighter holes give you options.

Probably the most memorable part of the course, and my favorite aspect, is the tremendous use of risk and reward in a way that I've never experienced on any other course. Elevation changes come into effect on 99% of your shots, so there is constantly a chance that a miscalculation can add a few strokes. This keeps you on your toes for the entire round, causing you to focus on every shot from tee to basket. Baskets are placed in precarious positions all throughout the course. They are often located next to steep cliffs and slopes, between trees, or within rock outcroppings.

It's hard to point out favorite holes when pretty much every one offers a unique challenge. Many holes here would be signature holes for other courses. I have to point out a few though, like hole 10's tight lane with a drop-off to the right and a basket located on the edge of a gradually steeping uphill slope. Hole 25 is an awesome downhill shot and was just icing on the cake, one of the best finishing holes I've seen and a great way to end a very memorable round.

Scenery. This is a beautiful property and it was so refreshing to play without any rush in the seclusion of the NC mountains.

The baskets and tee pads may not be that of a public park course, but they never took away from my experience. Maybe I got lucky, but I didn't have a bad spit out once.
Cons: One of the only cons that I can consider when taking into account all players is that some people may not enjoy the ruggedness of the course. This doesn't mean that the course is not tended to, Rich clearly puts a ton of time and effort into maintaining it. It just means that the hiking and course play may be a little strenuous for those just wanting to play a casual grip-and-rip type course. This isn't an ordinary walk in the park type course, but I personally loved the fact that it was the opposite of that.
Other Thoughts: I can't say enough how great this course is. It gives you a mountain golf - and disc golf - experience unlike any other. It truly is the perfect mix of challenge and fun. It's up there with the best of them in terms of making every shot count and offering the ability for scoring separation. I feel I could get completely different scores every time I play here, and to me, that's a well-designed course.

Rich is a fantastic host and really went out of his way to accommodate us. I was so glad to see that he opened up Sugaree again on DGCR because many others now get a chance to play this amazing course and selfishly, it means that I have another opportunity to play it. Play here!

13 of 13 people found this review helpful.

Shook by Sugaree!

1    7/5/2015   12/4/2015
Review By: sidewinder22
Played: 157  Reviewed: 142  Exp: 10 Years
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Private course on Sugar Mountain creating some idealistic conditions for 25 unique and challenging holes featuring cool large rock formations and a Christmas tree farm. The course is about 95% wooded and playing over interesting elevation changes ready to challenge your accuracy and mental game hole after hole with risk and reward.

Course is well shaded and few fairways have drastic elevation change or play uphill much so the course doesn't overly tax your body and helps maintain a more relaxed atmosphere while playing, except when you see the basket hanging by the edge of a cliff. Constructed tees with carpet over plywood, benches, and homemade baskets that catch everything.


Cons: Nothing that would bother a connoisseur, but...
Course is not always open, nor free, not a beginner course, nor is it a "true" pro caliber course, nor grip and rip. Baskets are homemade and not the easiest to see. Can be wet and slick in places with the rocky terrain and steep elevation. Stinging nettle in places, rub some of the jewel weed nearby the nettle on yourself to relieve the itch/sting. Rich was bragging about no poison ivy ever being on the course, but I managed to point out a couple small patches to him in disbelief ;-)
Other Thoughts: Rich aka Mando is a great host, guide and person. He's always tweaking the course, looking for new holes and taking great care of it, and obsesses so much so that his awesome wife(who also helps maintain the course) has to drag him out of there to keep his and her sanity. As the namesake song goes Rich is Sugaree's pimp and she's shaking it for us!

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Welcome Back, Sugaree

1    6/5/2015   11/19/2015
Review By: Qikly
Played: 99  Reviewed: 88  Exp: 4.1 Years
15 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Sugaree is a true disc golf wonderland, with holes chock-full of character in a gorgeous setting. I never wanted to leave.

Set in mountainside woods, elevation is always a factor and obstacles are abundant. The challenge factor is high but creatively implemented, with risk/reward the likes of which are rarely seen. It's an unrelenting series of disc golf brain teasers, with most every hole forcing decision-making and a shrewd evaluation of your game's limits. Elevated tees, cliff-side death putts, do-or-die landing zones, branching lanes, bottlenecks, fairways bordered by the steepest of slopes, it's all here, in combinations that make the heart swell and the head ache. Distances can tend to the shorter side, but elevation and general challenge conspire to make you earn every inch: Sugaree has some of the longest holes under 250' that you will ever play, and generally just feels epic and sprawling given the environment, variety, and number of holes to play. There are some change-of-pacers too, a few more spacious holes that relax the round momentarily, wisely implemented to soften the blows that will surely come. Sugaree will get you, but it will also give you chances to just watch your disc fly and take it all in. It's a challenging course but never a beat down, if for its uniqueness and beauty if nothing else. And there's a lot else. The originality of the design and its harmony with the terrain is just through the roof.

The course can be played a variety of ways, with a loop of 18, the full 25, and even a Super Course layout that combines multiple holes to make for 600, 700, 800-plus foot long sprawling monsters. I'm determined to play the Super Course on my next visit.

Rich, the course designer and owner, could not be a more gracious and enthusiastic host. Helluva guy.
Cons: In terms of the layout itself, Sugaree's cons, such as they are, lie almost exclusively in the nature of the terrain. It's in the woods on the side of a mountain, so distance drivers need not apply. Lines, landing zones, and quarters in general are often confined, though most holes allow for creativity and variety in how they're approached. The holes here rarely dictate a singular playthrough.

Given the terrain, when things go wrong they can go very wrong. Missed putts can fall dozens of feet. Unfortunate skips can plummet into the abyss. It's never a surprise, though: it's quite clear what you're getting into.

There's a lot of precision-focused golf, so consider yourself forewarned if you're the grip it and rip it type.

Leaf clutter can hide discs.

The homemade, hanging baskets might bother some, but I found them fine. They can even occasionally work to your benefit, shifting to allow a high putt to fall in. When I'm standing on a boulder considering making a run for birdie at the threat of having my disc go over the side and fall 40 feet amidst beautiful terrain and great company on one of the most unique courses I have ever played, the last thing I'm thinking is, "I wish these were DISCatchers."

The tee boxes can occasionally be a bit too short or slightly slick, but the course's emphasis on accuracy over distance favors standstills and short run ups to space-eating drives.
Other Thoughts: Sugaree is a bucket list course, simply put. I've played some great courses - Moraine, Selah, Harmon Hills, Whippin' Post - and Sugaree sits easily among the group. It doesn't have the refinement or upkeep of a Selah, but its one-of-a-kind character makes it my all time favorite course. It's a special place that I consider myself lucky to have visited, and I'll be back again at first opportunity. Thank you, Rich!

15 of 15 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    8/25/2012   8/26/2012
Review By: roadtrip
Played: 200  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 21.2 Years
This review was updated on 11/26/2012
19 Helpful / 2 Not
Other Thoughts: This course reminded me of this ghetto hole-in-the-wall restaurant we used to eat at once a week. Every few months it would be closed because of a kitchen fire or a health code violation. The tables were wobbly and the windows were coated in some greasy film. But it was far and away the best barbecue I've ever had. Famous athletes at one table, the mayor at another.
Sugaree doesn't have the bells and whistles of a typical 5-star course. It just has the finest mountain disc golf experience I've come across.
First, finding the place. If you come from I-40, take 181 all the way until the stop light and take a left (Newland is one way, Linville the other). Sugar Mtn Road # 2 comes first, and Sugar Mtn Road #1 is after that. It's around some greenhouses. The gravel driveway is not that obvious, but the .8 mile mark is accurate. Keep your eyes open. And take a screen shot of the directions on your phone. The cell worked some on the course, but not so much while looking for the course.
There are a few parking spots by the donation mailbox. Please leave donations. Please do what you can to keep this place open.
Green wooden arrows on trees lead you to the practice basket and then hole 1. I met a guy out there, he gave me some pretty helpful advice. When in doubt about where to go next, go uphill. That helped me a few times.
The tees are not raked concrete. They're gravel or carpet. They work just fine. There are pretty helpful and accurate tee-signs at every one of the 25 holes.
The baskets are homemade. I like to think that some state-of-the-art baskets might have held a putt or two that dropped out, but these baskets work just fine. They fit in very well and they're marked with pink or orange (bright) streamers so you can see where you're throwing. They can collapse a bit when you hit them (you'll see what I mean). Just be sure to readjust them for the next group. Pretty simple.
The fairways are not cleared or mowed down. This is a hike without a trail. Not for kids or rainy days. Though a beautiful hike. I'd give the hike alone a 3.5, even if it didn't have any baskets.
Blind shots too. You're in the middle of nowhere, so it's a good place to shut up and listen for your disc. If there's a chatty cathy in your group, leave them at home. Throw bright colored discs. I threw all oranges and yellows, spent some time looking but didn't lose a single disc.
Amenities - benches are plentiful and unique. Stairs - I wrote a review on Iron Hill and said to keep playing at least until 17 because of the sweet set of stairs up to the basket. Sugaree has about 6 sets of stairs like that, starting at hole 1. And several natural rock formations you climb. I would say that Rich has done everything possible to build up Sugaree, it's just that you can't do the every-week things like mowing mountain fairways.
Signature Holes - there are about 25 of them.
Rich stopped me in my round to introduce himself. The other golfers I met out there - also very friendly.
Some warnings - if you don't like to hike, if you throw green discs (bright colors only out here), if you're afraid of nature, if you don't want to drive or pay to play - this course is not for you. It's not for everyone. I've seen talk on here about categorizing courses. This is not a family-friendly course. If you bring your 9 year old out here you'll give it a 1-star. This is the Mt. Everest of disc golf courses. It's rugged and unpolished, but you'll agree that it was 100% worth the drive and you'll wish you had more cash to drop in the donation box. It's peaceful, beautiful, it's got epic long holes, ace runs, and it's pretty close to Elk Mtn if you have any arm left after your round. 160+ courses played and this is my first 5-star.

19 of 21 people found this review helpful.

  Sugaree

1    7/14/2012   7/16/2012
Review By: drferrell
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: The most amazing DG course for hundreds of miles. Great layout with lots of elevation change. Precise shot making required and lord help you if you miss some of those putts. Many baskets are on rock outcroppings with 15-30 foot drop offs around the basket. We played during a bachelor party weekend on day two ... nothing like a 2+ mile uphill hike to clear the head. The owner and designer, Rich, is a great, hospitable guy. If you get the chance, throw it!
Cons: Difficult walking conditions at times if wet. Baskets are mostly of a hanging variety and can be tricky ... usually allow just one disc at a time or they will tip.
Other Thoughts: A truly memorable experience!

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Pro Mountain Course

1    3/17/2012   3/18/2012
Review By: DiscChainBasket18
Played: 95  Reviewed: 63  Exp: 12.2 Years
3 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: High mountain wooded course. Quiet & peaceful disc golf only course. Long holes including full length Par 4's & Par 5's. Be prepared for a long round of golf. Beautiful piece of property situated amongst tree farms & camping/cabin rental properties. Rocky outcroppings dot the landscape. I threw all shots here. Left, straight, right. Uphill & a lot of downhill shots. Nice (new) tee signs on every hole with hole #, distance & basic flight path shown. Large tee pads. Unique wire baskets (a majority hanging). Good use of space & the course flows well. Very friendly host. Tight fairways put a premium on shot selection. I drove with a mid-range disc more than once just to keep it in the fairway. Lots of next tee signs made navigation relatively easy.
Cons: Watch your footing as wet or moss covered stones leave you slipping. Seeing the unique baskets is sometimes hard to do. Look for the little day-glo strips on the baskets. Occasionally, the baskets will fold up or droop over when the disc hits chains. You want to get your disc out of the basket quickly or it may fall out on its own. You also have to 're-set' the chains so the basket sits level for the next shooter. Could use a few more benches. Muddy footing in some spots. Some of the new holes have dirt tee pads. Not many wide open shots here. It's mostly wooded. Some crossing fairways (watch for flying discs). Some tee pads are in close proximity to each other & may muddle direction but just follow the freen arrows & look at the tee sign number. There are lots of rocks here. Hit a rock with your disc & you could damage it.
Other Thoughts: I was awestruck by the course beauty & landscaping/layout of the course. The place is huge but was very well manicured. The fairways were clear of debris & we didnt really fear losing a disc. Some baskets hang on the edge of a cliff. This really forces you to think about the shot. I love this! Plenty of great camping spots on-site!

3 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Lend me some Suga

1    3/15/2012   3/15/2012
Review By: Devilduck discgolf
Played: 88  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 21.8 Years
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: A beautiful course, lots of elevation change ,great tee pads, lots of hard work went into this course , Amazing Pin placements although treacherous if not accurate, But enjoyable.
Cons: Although Unique the hanging baskets are a bit unstable Putting must be Dead Eye and even then you will have a spit or too but challenging!
Other Thoughts: Better be in shape!

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 My favorite course to date!

1    8/29/2011   1/29/2012
Review By: gcanter2376
Played: 63  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 5.3 Years
1 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: Unique holes that force you to use every shot in your arsenal.
Great use of elevation and cliffs.
Best part is playing with Rich. Me and my friends had more fun that day than any other and hope to come back this spring.
Cons: It is a difficult course but is that really a con?
Other Thoughts: Nothing can really descibe this hidden gem. The course is layed out in a great way to challenge the best of us. Playing with Rich was alot of fun and I cant wait to visit again this spring.

1 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 BEST course in NC

5+    10/14/2011   10/14/2011
Review By: DSCJNKY
Played: 358  Reviewed: 131  Exp: 14.9 Years
19 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
- Private Property. It's probably no coincidence that all the courses in my Top 5 are private courses (Harmon Hills, Sugaree, Area 74, Bud Hill, Brackett's Bluff). Private courses just have an ambiance... a uniqueness... an extremeness that makes them special.
- Orgasm Golf. I don't know how to sound un-biased when I try to describe how good the holes are... they're that good. Without describing every single Hole, I'm just going to say this: by simply standing on the tee-pad of Hole 1 you get a hard-on, and by the time you've finished Hole 2, you've jizzed in your pants. And then, on every other Hole, for the rest of the course, you have a disc golf orgasm. Orgasm holes for me: 1, 2, 4, 7, 10, 12, 14, 15, 17... not to take anything away from the other Holes, they were just really good foreplay.
- Pin Placements. Sugaree has some of the most amazing pin placements I've ever played (and, I just returned from playing Diamond X, a course renowned for exotic pin locations). Almost every hole has an extreme risk-reward pin placement. From the edge of cliffs, to behind clusters of rock outcroppings, to even the seemingly simple pin positions, Sugaree places a premium on shot placement and precise putting.
- Rich (Mando). Rich has been very accommodating during all my trips to Sugaree. From the PM's discussing potential dates and times, to his willingness to guide me around the course last minute, to his stashing of an ice chest on Hole 7 for that mid-round break, to his expert guidance around his crazy creation, to the ride up the mountain on the 4x4 golf cart... Rich is willing to go out of his way to make your experience at Sugaree the best ever. Thanks Rich.
- Beer Drinkers Course. Not only is the course on private property, which makes it legal to drink while playing... the course layout plays back to a central area, allowing you (or Mando) to leave an ice chest full of tasty brews on the course for that mid-round refreshment.
Cons:
- Baskets. Let me start off by saying that Mando's homemade baskets catch wonderfully... too good actually. And, while I understand that Mando was able to make his baskets for about $27 each, there is something to be said for DiscCatchers (or most any other type of formal disc golf basket) - the sight-ability from the tee-pad, the sound they make when the disc hits the chains, and the "completeness" of the course with standardized equipment.
- Lack of Open Shots. Sugaree is a North Carolina mountains course, meaning trees shape the fairways and there are very few opportunities for open shots. However, because the course is located on a Christmas tree farm, I was hoping for a few more Christmas tree field shots like the ones I've seen in the video of the Vibram Open.
Other Thoughts:
- The Best Course in NC. Trust me when I say that I don't take this lightly when I say that of the 45-ish disc golf courses I have played in the state of North Carolina, SUGAREE IS THE BEST!!! And, I have played a lot of the great NC Courses (including Ashe County and all the Charlotte big names). The totality of the shot requirements, pin placements, risk reward opportunities, extreme punishment for bad shots, and picturesque fairways create what I think is the best disc golf course in North Carolina.
- Come Prepared. Bring food and beer with you as opportunities to get those items on the mountain are limited. There is a small town nearby with a McDonalds and Hardy's, but for the most part there isn't a large selection of food and drink choices nearby.
- My Disc Score: According to DGCR's disc scale, a 5 disc course is the best of the best. Since I am calling Sugaree the best course in North Carolina, that must make it the best of the best and therefore a 5 disc course... even with the non-standardized equipment and lack of open shots.
- My Best Score: even / 57

19 of 19 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.