Course Extinct
Linville, NC 
Sugaree Share
Uploaded By: Mando Hole #10 (Taken 9/2010)
3 / 314ft. Par / Distance:
Risk and reward



Reviews: 25
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3
 

2-4    8/25/2012   8/26/2012
Review By: roadtrip
Played: 196  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 19.6 Years
This review was updated on 11/26/2012
11 Helpful / 2 Not
Other Thoughts: This course reminded me of this ghetto hole-in-the-wall restaurant we used to eat at once a week. Every few months it would be closed because of a kitchen fire or a health code violation. The tables were wobbly and the windows were coated in some greasy film. But it was far and away the best barbecue I've ever had. Famous athletes at one table, the mayor at another.
Sugaree doesn't have the bells and whistles of a typical 5-star course. It just has the finest mountain disc golf experience I've come across.
First, finding the place. If you come from I-40, take 181 all the way until the stop light and take a left (Newland is one way, Linville the other). Sugar Mtn Road # 2 comes first, and Sugar Mtn Road #1 is after that. It's around some greenhouses. The gravel driveway is not that obvious, but the .8 mile mark is accurate. Keep your eyes open. And take a screen shot of the directions on your phone. The cell worked some on the course, but not so much while looking for the course.
There are a few parking spots by the donation mailbox. Please leave donations. Please do what you can to keep this place open.
Green wooden arrows on trees lead you to the practice basket and then hole 1. I met a guy out there, he gave me some pretty helpful advice. When in doubt about where to go next, go uphill. That helped me a few times.
The tees are not raked concrete. They're gravel or carpet. They work just fine. There are pretty helpful and accurate tee-signs at every one of the 25 holes.
The baskets are homemade. I like to think that some state-of-the-art baskets might have held a putt or two that dropped out, but these baskets work just fine. They fit in very well and they're marked with pink or orange (bright) streamers so you can see where you're throwing. They can collapse a bit when you hit them (you'll see what I mean). Just be sure to readjust them for the next group. Pretty simple.
The fairways are not cleared or mowed down. This is a hike without a trail. Not for kids or rainy days. Though a beautiful hike. I'd give the hike alone a 3.5, even if it didn't have any baskets.
Blind shots too. You're in the middle of nowhere, so it's a good place to shut up and listen for your disc. If there's a chatty cathy in your group, leave them at home. Throw bright colored discs. I threw all oranges and yellows, spent some time looking but didn't lose a single disc.
Amenities - benches are plentiful and unique. Stairs - I wrote a review on Iron Hill and said to keep playing at least until 17 because of the sweet set of stairs up to the basket. Sugaree has about 6 sets of stairs like that, starting at hole 1. And several natural rock formations you climb. I would say that Rich has done everything possible to build up Sugaree, it's just that you can't do the every-week things like mowing mountain fairways.
Signature Holes - there are about 25 of them.
Rich stopped me in my round to introduce himself. The other golfers I met out there - also very friendly.
Some warnings - if you don't like to hike, if you throw green discs (bright colors only out here), if you're afraid of nature, if you don't want to drive or pay to play - this course is not for you. It's not for everyone. I've seen talk on here about categorizing courses. This is not a family-friendly course. If you bring your 9 year old out here you'll give it a 1-star. This is the Mt. Everest of disc golf courses. It's rugged and unpolished, but you'll agree that it was 100% worth the drive and you'll wish you had more cash to drop in the donation box. It's peaceful, beautiful, it's got epic long holes, ace runs, and it's pretty close to Elk Mtn if you have any arm left after your round. 160+ courses played and this is my first 5-star.

11 of 13 people found this review helpful.

  Sugaree

1    7/14/2012   7/16/2012
Review By: drferrell
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: The most amazing DG course for hundreds of miles. Great layout with lots of elevation change. Precise shot making required and lord help you if you miss some of those putts. Many baskets are on rock outcroppings with 15-30 foot drop offs around the basket. We played during a bachelor party weekend on day two ... nothing like a 2+ mile uphill hike to clear the head. The owner and designer, Rich, is a great, hospitable guy. If you get the chance, throw it!
Cons: Difficult walking conditions at times if wet. Baskets are mostly of a hanging variety and can be tricky ... usually allow just one disc at a time or they will tip.
Other Thoughts: A truly memorable experience!

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Pro Mountain Course

1    3/17/2012   3/18/2012
Review By: DiscChainBasket18
Played: 90  Reviewed: 62  Exp: 10.6 Years
3 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: High mountain wooded course. Quiet & peaceful disc golf only course. Long holes including full length Par 4's & Par 5's. Be prepared for a long round of golf. Beautiful piece of property situated amongst tree farms & camping/cabin rental properties. Rocky outcroppings dot the landscape. I threw all shots here. Left, straight, right. Uphill & a lot of downhill shots. Nice (new) tee signs on every hole with hole #, distance & basic flight path shown. Large tee pads. Unique wire baskets (a majority hanging). Good use of space & the course flows well. Very friendly host. Tight fairways put a premium on shot selection. I drove with a mid-range disc more than once just to keep it in the fairway. Lots of next tee signs made navigation relatively easy.
Cons: Watch your footing as wet or moss covered stones leave you slipping. Seeing the unique baskets is sometimes hard to do. Look for the little day-glo strips on the baskets. Occasionally, the baskets will fold up or droop over when the disc hits chains. You want to get your disc out of the basket quickly or it may fall out on its own. You also have to 're-set' the chains so the basket sits level for the next shooter. Could use a few more benches. Muddy footing in some spots. Some of the new holes have dirt tee pads. Not many wide open shots here. It's mostly wooded. Some crossing fairways (watch for flying discs). Some tee pads are in close proximity to each other & may muddle direction but just follow the freen arrows & look at the tee sign number. There are lots of rocks here. Hit a rock with your disc & you could damage it.
Other Thoughts: I was awestruck by the course beauty & landscaping/layout of the course. The place is huge but was very well manicured. The fairways were clear of debris & we didnt really fear losing a disc. Some baskets hang on the edge of a cliff. This really forces you to think about the shot. I love this! Plenty of great camping spots on-site!

3 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Lend me some Suga

1    3/15/2012   3/15/2012
Review By: Devilduck discgolf
Played: 88  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 20.2 Years
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: A beautiful course, lots of elevation change ,great tee pads, lots of hard work went into this course , Amazing Pin placements although treacherous if not accurate, But enjoyable.
Cons: Although Unique the hanging baskets are a bit unstable Putting must be Dead Eye and even then you will have a spit or too but challenging!
Other Thoughts: Better be in shape!

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 My favorite course to date!

1    8/29/2011   1/29/2012
Review By: gcanter2376
Played: 39  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 3.6 Years
1 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: Unique holes that force you to use every shot in your arsenal.
Great use of elevation and cliffs.
Best part is playing with Rich. Me and my friends had more fun that day than any other and hope to come back this spring.
Cons: It is a difficult course but is that really a con?
Other Thoughts: Nothing can really descibe this hidden gem. The course is layed out in a great way to challenge the best of us. Playing with Rich was alot of fun and I cant wait to visit again this spring.

1 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 BEST course in NC

5+    10/14/2011   10/14/2011
Review By: DSCJNKY
Played: 294  Reviewed: 131  Exp: 13.3 Years
18 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
- Private Property. It's probably no coincidence that all the courses in my Top 5 are private courses (Harmon Hills, Sugaree, Area 74, Bud Hill, Brackett's Bluff). Private courses just have an ambiance… a uniqueness… an extremeness that makes them special.
- Orgasm Golf. I don't know how to sound un-biased when I try to describe how good the holes are… they're that good. Without describing every single Hole, I'm just going to say this: by simply standing on the tee-pad of Hole 1 you get a hard-on, and by the time you've finished Hole 2, you've jizzed in your pants. And then, on every other Hole, for the rest of the course, you have a disc golf orgasm. Orgasm holes for me: 1, 2, 4, 7, 10, 12, 14, 15, 17… not to take anything away from the other Holes, they were just really good foreplay.
- Pin Placements. Sugaree has some of the most amazing pin placements I've ever played (and, I just returned from playing Diamond X, a course renowned for exotic pin locations). Almost every hole has an extreme risk-reward pin placement. From the edge of cliffs, to behind clusters of rock outcroppings, to even the seemingly simple pin positions, Sugaree places a premium on shot placement and precise putting.
- Rich (Mando). Rich has been very accommodating during all my trips to Sugaree. From the PM's discussing potential dates and times, to his willingness to guide me around the course last minute, to his stashing of an ice chest on Hole 7 for that mid-round break, to his expert guidance around his crazy creation, to the ride up the mountain on the 4x4 golf cart… Rich is willing to go out of his way to make your experience at Sugaree the best ever. Thanks Rich.
- Beer Drinkers Course. Not only is the course on private property, which makes it legal to drink while playing… the course layout plays back to a central area, allowing you (or Mando) to leave an ice chest full of tasty brews on the course for that mid-round refreshment.
Cons:
- Baskets. Let me start off by saying that Mando's homemade baskets catch wonderfully… too good actually. And, while I understand that Mando was able to make his baskets for about $27 each, there is something to be said for DiscCatchers (or most any other type of formal disc golf basket) - the sight-ability from the tee-pad, the sound they make when the disc hits the chains, and the "completeness" of the course with standardized equipment.
- Lack of Open Shots. Sugaree is a North Carolina mountains course, meaning trees shape the fairways and there are very few opportunities for open shots. However, because the course is located on a Christmas tree farm, I was hoping for a few more Christmas tree field shots like the ones I've seen in the video of the Vibram Open.
Other Thoughts:
- The Best Course in NC. Trust me when I say that I don't take this lightly when I say that of the 45-ish disc golf courses I have played in the state of North Carolina, SUGAREE IS THE BEST!!! And, I have played a lot of the great NC Courses (including Ashe County and all the Charlotte big names). The totality of the shot requirements, pin placements, risk reward opportunities, extreme punishment for bad shots, and picturesque fairways create what I think is the best disc golf course in North Carolina.
- Come Prepared. Bring food and beer with you as opportunities to get those items on the mountain are limited. There is a small town nearby with a McDonalds and Hardy's, but for the most part there isn't a large selection of food and drink choices nearby.
- My Disc Score: According to DGCR's disc scale, a 5 disc course is the best of the best. Since I am calling Sugaree the best course in North Carolina, that must make it the best of the best and therefore a 5 disc course… even with the non-standardized equipment and lack of open shots.
- My Best Score: even / 57

18 of 18 people found this review helpful.

 Don't come here...

2-4    9/4/2011   9/6/2011
Review By: sloppydisc
Played: 199  Reviewed: 145  Exp: 6.1 Years
This review was updated on 6/30/2012
15 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Secluded mountain course set off the beaten path. You won't hear planes, trains and automobiles here. You can play a round without the distractions encountered at many courses.

Landscape, landscape, landscape. It seems that on every hole some unique feature is used in the hole design. It's not phony or contrived like some courses. There's just that many good features here. It's very wooded and technical with huge rock outcroppings everywhere.

For a private course this remote, the tee pads are great. They are all platforms that have been carpeted. I'm sure they'll wear over time, but even in heavy rains I had no problems with them. I've been on several private courses that offered far less for tee pads.

Guide Service. If you are able to play Sugaree and have Rich guide you, consider yourself lucky. His love of this land, and his joy for disc golf are always evident. There's never a bad day on Sugaree when Rich is around.

Technical disc golf lines. If you like wooded courses that force you to make shots and hit lines, this is your place. There are risks and rewards on every hole. Even a few of the seemingly 'easy' holes have some hidden dangers. Basket positions are almost always perfect adding to the challenge and fun of each hole.

Course flow. No long or brutal walks between holes. Just enough time to put on your bag, grab a quick swig of your favorite frosty beverage and tee off again.

Ingenious design. This course plays around a large hill in the Western Carolina Mountains, but there are no brutal uphill shots or climbs. And there is a remarkable number of downhill or slightly downhill holes. It's like some kind of cosmic trick the universe is playing on you to make sure your round is more fun. Just incredible.
Cons: Signs. You don't need them for navigation with Rich as a guide, but some of the baskets aren't visible from the tee. Even with Rich's guidance it's sometimes easy to get yourself in exactly the wrong spot. Signs showing the hole layout would be great.

Too far from my house. I'd play it every week if I could.

Other Thoughts: And now for the things some people really care about. Don't come here...

...if you need huge benches.
...if you need bag hooks.
...if you need a trash can at every hole.
...if you need a clean restroom with TP.
...if you want paved paths and mowed grass.

This is not a city park. This course is not designed for children and strollers. Adults only. Wear good shoes or boots. You're in the wilderness. There's rocks, rocks and more rocks. There are weeds and rough. It's the woods. There is not perfectly mowed grass fairways. Yet. You never know with Rich. He's constantly getting ideas and trying to improve his course. More holes are in the works, and I'm sure they'll all be up to his standards.

Sugaree has holes from 205' to 535'. Total length is around 5773 depending on what holes you play. There are a few new ones in their infancy. Every hole plays technical with no real air it out bombs. You need to control your disc and hit lines. Basket positions are great. Even on the shorter holes the hanging baskets are placed in areas to add risk or challenge. In several places if you miss your putt or approach it's down the small cliff with your disc. Or down the hill into the woods. There are few gimme shots here.

Yes, I said hanging baskets. Don't be afraid. They are homemade and catch great. I've never had a putt bounce out that I felt should stick.

Enjoy Sugaree. Enjoy Rich's company and land. It is simply a great experience.

Local Amenities: If you're going through Boone while in the area there is lots of food and drink available. Peabody's has almost every kind of beer you can imagine. It's across from the Hampton Inn, or next door to the new Courtyard. And I always try to get to the Coyote Kitchen while in town. Great bottled beer selection, and Mex-American food to match. Chips and a variety of salsas, Kobe beef tacos, jerked chicken, etc. It's all good. Make a weekend of it. Sugaree and Boone might just be the #1 disc golf destination on the East Coast.

June 2012 Update:

There are 7 new holes at Sugaree. Now you can start your round at the base, and work your way up the hill. These new holes keep with the Sugaree tradition of tight, technical lines and great basket positions. A few are also longer than many of the original 18. #25 also adds the dimension of an awesome downhill bomb to this course's features. It's a little tight so it is not truly a top of the world shot, but it is a beautiful hole. One of the best finishers around. There are also some nice wood-carved signs showing hole shape and line on most of the holes. Once the new holes beat in a little they shouldn't be too much more challenging than the original 18. This course continues to be a great example of mountain disc golf. A must play.

15 of 16 people found this review helpful.

 THE disc golf Experience

5+    7/10/2011   8/6/2011
Review By: mx23ang
Played: 48  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 4 Years
This review was updated on 10/7/2012
4 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: First off this course is currently the higest elevated course in NC. I looked on google earth it sits atop a high plateau at 4,080' from sea level which is amazing! Now to mention the huge carpeted tee-pads that are so comfy to gip and rip on, hanging baskets on every hole and an awesome course owner
Amazingly shaped fairways with mature hardwoods, and rock outcroppings on well over half the holes which adds such a peaceful factor to the round
Careful basket locations hanging over those outcroppings, the list goes on and on and on..
Everybody has already hit the nail on the head with the other reviews, not much more I can add but ill try
Every hole has some sort of wow factor, just for example #8 has the wildest S shaped tree that sets up for a "S" curve for a birdie. 15 basket is perched atop a 35' rock outcrop so park it dont putt it! Every hole except number 1 has some sort of ultra-scenic rock outcrop that comes into play, whether its the rock 'mando' around the approch of number 2, or the rock 'mando' around the bend on the infamous 17 (bet you wont make par on this one hehe). The handcrafed rock bench on number 7 is worth pausing on and taking in the view of a heavily guarded fairway and yet another hanging basket over a 20' rock outcrop. Two sets of tees for the ladies and beginers give different lines and still not gimme birdies for more experienced players. If you can tommy or thumb it your chances for recovery are higher just because of the height factor on some of the boulders you will encounter if you hit an early tree of the tee. You can get sneaky out here as the rough is somewhat spaced out, but really focus on your intended line as the peaceful mountain atmosphere embraces you. Just stop and realize how beautiful this place is and be thankful for such a creation. Along with the great course owner, pure scenic beauty that surrounds you the entire round, and the most phenominal Risk/Reward on every hole this makes Sugaree by far the greatest creation of a disc golf course that can ever be!!
Cons: Absolutely None!!
Other Thoughts: Sugaree also has a great putting area with 3 handmade baskets spaced about 100' apart, which is usually not in the amenities of private courses.
Lets just say this is the Augusta national/Pebble Beach/St. Andrews of Disc Golf!!

4 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 DG Heaven

1    7/4/2011   7/5/2011
Review By: Kettnet
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4.3 Years
1 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: The other reviews say it all. This is my 2nd mountain golf experience living in South Florida and playing one course on FLAT terrain only. That said, I absolutely loved every second of my round and the owner Rich was a gem of a host/guide, and an excellent player. Spectacular setting and mostly shaded. Also, not nearly the steep elevations of Elk Mountain which is the only other Mt course I have experienced.
Cons: Absolutely None!
Other Thoughts: Rich was most acomodating when called a day in advance. This is a very special place and you should not hesitate to "Shake it Sugaree" (just don't tell him you know me)

1 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Sweeter than it Sounds

1    6/19/2011   6/23/2011
Review By: BrotherDave
Played: 102  Reviewed: 99  Exp: 7.4 Years
16 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Hands down, the most gorgeous course I've ever played. If Heaven had a DG course, it would pale in beauty to Sugaree. Huge, scenic boulders and rocky outcrops abound and all are cleverly utilized by the designer. You know how some courses feel like they went out of their way to use natural feature, and many holes preceding and following really suffer for it? There's none of that here. We even played it out of order to be near the vehicles if the weather got too bad and it still flowed very well.

The course has fantastic golf lines. Not a single bad hole really, variety is amazing. The best thing about Sugaree is that for a mountain course, it doesn't make you walk/play uphill that much. Just superb design.

The baskets are hand made and they catch better than some production baskets. Really cool, they all hang I believe.

The tees on the established course are I believe framed dirt covered by carpet. Pretty good tees in good weather I imagine. They were soaked with rain when we played and they were still quite serviceable.

Mando is extremely gracious as a host, I cannot thank him enough for putting us up, showing us the course, and even fixing us breakfast (sorry I couldn't partake, my stomach isn't very friendly in the AM). His family has instantly become some of my favorites I've met in the DG world, just a swell group of people.
Cons: Signage, there isn't any really. Of course, not really necessary since you need Mando to guide you anyway.

The fairways could use some foot traffic, there's some vegetation that needs to trampled down.

Some of the tees have quite a little drop off in front of them, so those who like to carry themselves off the front during their drive should be careful.

Some stickers, nettles, briers, and other disc golfer unfriendly plants pop up here and there.
Other Thoughts: We played in a torrential downpour and thunderstorm and I still had a ton of fun. That's a big reason why they got a 5 from me. It's pretty rough, especially if you're used to well manicured park courses, but for a private it's pretty amazing and the perks of being private way outweigh any roughness.

I love all the holes, including the new ones, but I think the course would benefit more from a cessation of tinkering with hole designs in favor of smoothing out the roughness, especially in the tee department. I don't imagine it's common to play there during a monsoon but some flush, concrete tees would go a long way in making even the worst rounds that much more enjoyable.

So, if your idea of fun is playing disc golf in the jungle from Jurassic Park, sans dinosaurs, I say that Sugaree is right up your alley.

16 of 18 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.