Tulare, CA 
Elk Bayou Park Share
Uploaded By: Blackmon Hole #5 (Taken 2/2010)
-- / --   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Tee: Basket under the big oak on your left just past the dumpster.



Reviews: 7
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
The baskets have been removed

2-4    5/1/2010   1/12/2014
Review By: Lonhart
Played: 184  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 20.7 Years
Pros: This course no longer exists. Shortly after being installed, two baskets were vandalized. Then the city of Tulare took over the park from the county, and did not maintain the course, so the county removed the baskets they had installed and have since used them elsewhere on other county parks. I was told this by the Tulare County Parks and Rec manager.

 Non existent

1    9/25/2011   9/26/2011
Review By: sasscers7
Played: 14  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 6.5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: None.
Cons: I saw three baskets and one concrete Tbox, but this course no longer exists.
Other Thoughts: Pay attention to the 2011 reviews as those are current. I should have read them ahead of time. I really did not go out of my way to stop by this park, but was disappointed that the course does not exist.

Should be deleted from the directory.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Do Not Go!!

1    9/13/2011   9/15/2011
Review By: rubyrod
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: No Pros at all. Looked like it use to be a decent course. Key word "LOOKED."
Cons: Everything. Only 3 playable holes. All other holes are shut down or blocked off by a fence. Do not go to this course and waste your time as me and my buddy did.
Other Thoughts: Could be a good course. Im guessing due to budget issues they could not afford to keep it up. So i guess they thought leaving baskets out there and fencing it up was a better idea. DONT GO!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  Only 3 holes?

1    8/18/2011   8/19/2011
Review By: King1853
Played: 5  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 3.4 Years
This review was updated on 8/22/2011
Pros: Empty park, great if you want to practice alone, clean park!
Cons: For what I could see there are only 3 Holes maybe I missed something but I could only see 3 holes
Other Thoughts: First hole is about medium sized over a small hill ans close to the river. Second hole is somewhat on a hill and in some trees a little bit, short and technical. Third hole is a large drive not much to it. Again I could be wrong about the holes but the other side of the river appeared to be fenced off.

 Frog Bayou Park

1    10/16/2010   10/18/2010
Review By: Raider Dave
Played: 21  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 6.6 Years
Pros: 18 holes of FUN disc golf in Tulare!
Some very interesting holes.
Some long and open, some short and very technical. All concrete tees.
Empty park, clean, usable restrooms.
lot's of shade, very important when summer temps reach 110'.
Very close to Highway, easy access.
Cons: Basket 16 missing (med. sized tree just behind pin location, use it for target) When we played there a local had a temp basket in place and was kind enough to wait for us to finish the hole before taking his basket home, "Thanks again dude!".
1/2 of course, including the river bed had recently been "Plowed???" Made for difficult walking, but I imagine that with some weather and good trampling, it wont take long to improve.
TUMBLEWEEDS! on holes 10 and 11 will swallow a disc, and cut you up!
Piles of branches and dumpsters in the area of basket 5 and tee 6.
Other Thoughts: I know several people have recently started busting ass on this course and it shows! Some of the cons that I have listed seem to be short term. the dumpsters and branch piles, and plowing seem to be from a recent clean up. Because of this I can say that I will be back to play here several times, even though it's a 140+ mile round trip for me. I couldn't find any reason to "not" recommend playing this course if you are anywhere nearby.

 Don't Play Here

5+    9/15/2010   8/14/2009
Review By: Blackmon
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 11.5 Years
This review was updated on 6/16/2012
Pros: Nothing anymore, except you are not far from Mooney's Grove or Kings River.
Cons: The City of Tulare took over the park from the County at it all went down hill and this course is now a relic.
Other Thoughts: Below is what was and no longer is.

tee 1 is at the west edge of the parking lot. the course continues along the edge of the park and the river.

2 is to the north. tee 3 is near the bathrooms. the basket is near the baseball backstop

hole 4 starts by the baseball backstop and the basket is against the fence surrounding the barn.

from basket 4 walk to the south and tee 5 is the northern pad of the side by side pads.[18 is the other, going west] basket 5 IS NOT the short basket on the grass to the left [that is basket 16]. basket 5 is the long basket to the east 50 feet beyond the grass and usually behind the dumpster.

6 through 16 zig zag up and down the river.

walk east to find that tee 6 the basket is across the river diagonally northeast. be careful to throw to basket 6 and not 14.

walk a short ways east. 7 shoots across the river to south east. the basket is well protected.

after 7 walk out of the trees to find tee 8 to the south east in the field. 8 shoots across the river and it is tough to get through that initial wall of trees.

from basket 8 [on the north side of river] walk to the north west. hole 9 shoots to the east and the basket is near the end of the tree line.

10 begins just north of basket 9. it shoots across the river to the east. watch where your throw lands very carefully.

from basket 10 walk towards the road and east. 11 shoots straight west to the tree line.

take the path under the tree canopy along the road. 12 is a short blind shot west down the path.

tee 13 is right against the fence and a little east of basket 12. 13 shoots across the field to the west into the tree line.

head south to find tee 14 facing the river. throw across it again making sure you are aiming for basket 14 and not 6.

tee 15 is west of basket 14 along the path. the basket is to the west. if you don't see the basket just walk west down the path. the basket is in a small clearing just beyond tee 16.

tee 16 is to the east of basket 15. it shoots across the river and onto the grass. (Basket is missing, play to the #5 pin for a fun Par.)

walk south to the middle of hole 5's fairway for tee 17. shoot to the south just across the driveway.

18 is the southern of the two pads and shoots to the eastern edge of the parking lot.

 Not worth the drive

1    6/23/2009   6/24/2009
Review By: DiscGolfinTheD
Played: 21  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 10.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: It was easy to find the course but other then that there is not much good about it. The scenery is ok.
Cons: The first few tees weren't too hard to find but there were no tee markers to give you distance. I played the first 5 then after that it was extremely confusing as to where to go next. 1 Hole seemed to go over the water but there was no way around to see if there was a way to get there once we threw from the tee pad.
Other Thoughts: The people were friendly here but none of them really knew what was going on with the course. It seemed as if they started making it then stopped once pads were in. I would only recommend this course if you are hard up to play and have no other option to go to.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.