Pine, CO 
Phantom Falls Share
Uploaded By: filmwalrus Hole #23 (Taken 11/2010)
3 / 262ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #24 Basket: The garden gnome marks the closest throw to the pin.



Reviews: 146
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 ... 14 15
A full day of a 39 hole course all to yourself

1    7/17/2013   7/23/2013
Review By: bjreagh
Played: 229  Reviewed: 225  Exp: 18.1 Years
17 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: A day at Phantom Falls is an unique disc golfing experience. Paulie, the owner and designer who is primarily responsible for all the courses in this area, is a great host. This course is basically in the yard of his house, but he generously allows others to come play. It is evident how passionate he is about this course as you get a personal orientation of the course before your round where he tells you stories behind the course, the holes, and the baskets as well as tips and suggestions for navigating and playing.

His beautiful house doubles as the clubhouse and hangout porch. (special thanks to his family for being so willing to share their space with a different group of disc golfers on a daily basis!) The porch is decked out with chairs, tables, a grill, shade all close to your car. The course design brings you back to the porch at multiple times during the round so you have a chance to relax and refuel.

He basically gives you all day to play the 39 holes + the mini course. He encourages you to relax and take your time and enjoy your day. And maybe the best thing about playing here is you, and only you and your group, are the ones that will be on the course that day- you get the course all to yourself.

The course itself is solid as it sits on 15 acres of pine covered hills and valleys. It is an amazing job of putting in 39 holes on this small of an area- tremendous planning, ease in navigation, no confusion as to where the tees are or which basket to throw at. As for all his courses, he has given much thought and attention to detail in everything, down to the scorecard and hole-by-hole tip sheet he gives you.

You play over the same land in various directions and you lay to some baskets multiple times, but you would never know it. The natural tees are level. The baskets are of different varieties, but that actually helps to identify which one to throw to as he has made each one to be unique. The ground is a gravely dirt so now grass to mow and no undergrowth to hide discs- easy to find your discs and little chance to lose one.


This course is a true test in hitting lines, controlling distance, playing elevation from straight across, to steep up, steep down, and everything in between. Though the course looks to be on the short side on paper, many holes play much longer either up the steeper slopes or when you race past the basket on the downslopes. There are many ace runs here, but there are some holes where 4 is going to be a good score as well. The course is also a good test of fitness and endurance and mental toughness when you factor in having to walk up and down all day, the altitude (don't underestimate what 8000' does to the body and to disc flight for that matter), and the lucky and unlucky breaks that will inevitably happen to everyone in your group.
Cons: Because you do play over the same type of land all day it can get a little repetitive. Though a couple holes have the basket straight across from the tee, there is absolutely no flat land on this course (except maybe 1 and 39). Not that hills are bad, and I would take elevation and trees over open and flat any day of the week, but I feel the best courses have a nice mixture and balance of all styles. There is also no water, no o.b., no rough, etc.- not that I want a course to be loaded with these either (and it was nice not worrying about losing a disc), but basically there was little punishment for errant shots as there was usually a way to get back on track for a 3 or no worse than a 4 on nearly every hole. (his goal was for it to be challenging yet fun, even for women, kids, and those with less distance like me, and he has done just that), but at the same time it lacks that really epic feel I have experienced at courses like Highbridge, Flip, IDGC, and Flyboy.

The footing is tricky sliding down the gravely hills in many places, sometimes hard to even stand on your lie, and it wears on your body after awhile. (I actually had a slight muscle pull mid-round as my legs stretched apart more than was comfortable on a slide, and then adding to it with my feet slightly sliding while teeing off the natural pads.) As a side note, Paulie prefers natural tees and of course this is his yard, so it makes no sense to put in concrete tees everywhere, but the fact is if you are looking for concrete tees, then go elsewhere.

The baskets are all different (which in one way is a cool factor and adds to the "backyard feel" here and as I mentioned helps with navigation), but some of them don't catch as good as others. And to make up for the shortness, most baskets on placed on slopes or edges where it is risky to go for longer putts. If you don't land under the basket off the tee, the smart play is to just lay up and drop in to avoid the bad rollaways- but when you do this 20-30 times it gets boring if you are not playing for anything serious.

He advertises "you will use every disc in your bag" and explained that each hole has multiple routes, you just have to look. Well, when you only play here once, you probably will take the obvious less risky straight route on most every hole. Factor in the altitude that causes discs to be way more stable, and I found myself pretty much reaching for the same disc on every single hole. Maybe if you played you a lot you could experiment, but most people are only playing here once.

Totally understandable why, but $20 a round would be a lot to pay to play on a regular basis, and you can't just show up and play whenever you want as you have to arrange a tee time. This of course has some plus side and is what makes it unique, but it is worth mentioning nonetheless.
Other Thoughts: This course was designed to be played with nobody else playing but you, so some things that would normally be cons are not because of the intent- like crossing fairways, tees right beside baskets, shared baskets, etc.

Paulie loves the game and is very serious about having excellent courses for people to play. He is also passionate about growing the game, especially in the areas of women and children.

The reason for 36/38 holes is 10 has 1 tee to 2 baskets, and 11 has 2 tees to one basket (both a short and long). You can play them all if you want. He actually has just added a 39th hole that plays back to the signature pine basket to finish up. I approve!

So why a 4.0 to me?---well, this is tough course to rate, the course itself was very good, just not spectacular, but all the extras that make this place special and unique boost its rating. When comparing to the other 200+ courses I have played, I felt it compared to other 4.0's I have given (like Blueberry, BRP, Hudson Mills, Lemon Lake, etc.) There are not too many places where you can guarantee to have the whole course to yourself for an entire day (the only other place I know like this was Flyboy), with the difference that he has it set up where a guide is not necessary to navigate, so Paulie just turns you loose- pretty cool!

Plan on being here for several hours and be sure to bring lots of food and drinks with you.

I highly recommend coming to this area to play disc golf. You can spend a week playing all the courses here. The Rockies are beautiful and make for some fun and challenging disc golf. For me, playing in the hills of TN and the Appalachian Mtns. all the time, I was not overwhelmed with a mountain course, but anyone from the plains states are going to have to pick their jaw up off the ground when coming up here!

17 of 21 people found this review helpful.

A most excellent course

1    6/3/2013   6/10/2013
Review By: Oboeman
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
2 Helpful / 12 Not
Pros: There's so much right with this course that it's hard to know where to begin. The course is extremely well maintained, challenging and fun to play. The terrain is varied with lots of opportunity to try every disk and shot in your bag. Baskets are well placed and there's just a really good vibe as you walk around the course.

The $20 fee is well worth the price of admission. Being able to play the course with just your group and at your pace is fantastic. Paulie, the course designer and host couldn't be more friendly or welcoming.

Everything is as it should be at Phantom Falls. It's simply a fantastic course and, given the opportunity, everyone should plan a visit to enjoy the best that disk golf has to offer.

.
Cons: None I can think of.
Other Thoughts: Can't wait to play the course again.

2 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 

1    5/17/2013   6/9/2013
Review By: jwyplatinum
Played: 9  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 14.2 Years
2 Helpful / 16 Not
Pros: Picturesque scenery, very helpful "caddy notes," extremely challenging without being excessively long.
Cons: "The Dark Side" (24-36) was very repetitive. It was just up and down the same hill.
Other Thoughts: I am absolutely playing this course again. $20 is an extremely fair suggested donation.

2 of 18 people found this review helpful.

Great Day of DG

2-4    6/1/2013   6/4/2013
Review By: fantomhockey
Played: 39  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 8.6 Years
6 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Paul is a great guy, not only for the wonderful course, but as a reference for the sport itself. I brought along a couple of friends who are relatively new at the sport and he was great at helping them find some game-improving discs in the pro shop.

While most people you'll talk to will say $20 is too much for disc golf, ask them, they've never played the course. The amount of care Paul and his helpers put into making sure the course is clean (the only way to lose a disc is high in a tree) makes this worth the $20 on it's own. Never mind the awesome, challenging shots you get to attempt on each of the different 38 holes.

Our DG group has made Phantom Falls an annual tradition that we look forward to as much a child looks forward to summer vacation. We're even planning on going back sometime this fall. Might even be a twice a year thing now, who knows!
Cons: Getting a tee time on the exact day you want can be difficult since Paul only has one group on the course per day (which is also supremely awesome!). Some of our group just couldn't make it since we couldn't find an available day that could work for everyone. My advice is get a list of days that work for everyone in your group (make it 9-10 possibilities organized from highest priority to lowest) then call Paul and get it figured out on the phone right then and there. It pays to have that flexibility figured out ahead of time.
Other Thoughts: Course is absolutely in my top 3 all time. It's inspired me to get some land and make my own awesome course someday!

6 of 12 people found this review helpful.

WOW

5+    5/15/2013   5/23/2013
Review By: ldtrainman
Played: 7  Reviewed: 6
This review was updated on 6/4/2013
8 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: There are too many good things about playing Phantom Falls to cover them all, but here are a few. This course is set in natural woods of the CO mountains Every imaginable shot can be used here; hysers, anhysers, thumbers, tomahawks, rollers, you name it. Every hole is a different challenge. There are up hill shots, downhill shots, across the hill shots, ace runs, shots that make you wonder whether to go for it or lay-up. Signage is beautiful with flagstones set on edge at each T-Box giving the distance. All in all playing this course is awesome, but what really makes this course a step ahead of others is the amenities and hospitality. Most, if not all, T-Boxes have benches and rakes to groom the T-Boxes. I know some people like concrete T-Boxes but that would ruin the natural setting of this course. Besides with rakes available the boxes have always well groomed when I played. Not only is the course awesome but the host, Paulie, gives a thorough orientation and pointers for new players and a review for repeat players. He is very friendly and makes everyone feel at home. You can even request that lunch be provided for your group. When you make a reservation to play, your group has sole use of the course, so you can play at any pace you want without the hassle of people pressuring you to play faster or to let them play through.
Cons: There are so many great courses in the area that it is hard to decide which one to play. So play them all.
Other Thoughts: I've played courses in the east, the south, the west, and the middle of the country. They are all different. Courses with big bombers in the open spaces are like playing center field when someone hits one to the fence. You throw the ball back as hard as you can toward the infield and hope it is near the target. Not much skill but a lot of muscle. On the other hand playing Phantom Falls is like being the pitcher. Every throw must be on target or you walk batters or they will get hits and you will fall behind in the score. This course is about skill not strength. That said, enough distance is required on some holes to let you exercise those muscles.

8 of 12 people found this review helpful.

Woman's point of view

1    5/15/2013   5/22/2013
Review By: GoldieD
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2
6 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: As a woman, my game is somewhat shorter than most men can throw. I found Phantom Falls a wonderful site for me. I had a chance at par more often than not--my own fault that I missed putts!
I enjoyed the challenge of working my discs around trees, up steep grades--and especially throwing down long ravines.
I look forward to playing this course again and again--and being the better for it.

The course is so well marked and some of the baskets are unusual and interesting.
I thought that the orientation that our host, Paul gave is a good reminder of being kind to our forests--and being courteous to the other players--The beauty of this course and the surrounding mountains adds to the ambiance and enjoyment of the day at Phantom Falls.
Cons: I wish I could play better so I could do this place justice.
Other Thoughts: There are not enough women involved in this wonderful sport--I play with the guys and they are terrific--but as my game involves more throws I feel I slow them down some.

6 of 16 people found this review helpful.

 chill day

1    5/8/2013   5/21/2013
Review By: gkeeven
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
4 Helpful / 19 Not
Pros: this course is super player friendly, offering a personal experience not soon to forget. there was a bbq grill to use and patio for lunch break or for beer break. I never thought I would pay to play, but man it was worth it imo

4 of 23 people found this review helpful.

 Fantastic Phantom Falls

1    5/8/2013   5/13/2013
Review By: DoodB
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
4 Helpful / 19 Not
Pros: Wonderfully laid out course that works with the natural environment that it is built on. I felt like I was playing my own personal course. The little details that this course puts are second to none!
Other Thoughts: EVERYONE SHOULD PLAY THIS COURSE!!!!

4 of 23 people found this review helpful.

A Piece of Disc Golf Heaven

5+    5/5/2013   5/9/2013
Review By: evanmanee
Played: 17  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 3.6 Years
10 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: -To be able to play this course with just your buddies and no other distractions is priceless.
-Extremely close to Boulder and Denver and a very easy drive. Tops 1 hour 30 minutes. (other reviews have made this seem difficult and I don't understand why)
-Extremely close to other world class course, Magic Meadows, Bucksnort, Ridgeline, Beaver Ranch. Thus making for a paradise weekend disc golf trip.
-Our tee time was for 9:00 am and we teed off at 9:05am because Paulie knows our group and we have created a relationship with him. Be nice and be treated nice, pretty simple. We play here every year because it is so incredible. The first year we were given a 20 minutes welcome speech and it was actually really helpful and necessary.
-The course is technical, super fun, challenging, offers birdie chances and just as quickly double and triple bogeys.
-Course is designed so that you return to the car, clubhouse, soft outdoor sofa lounge. So carry as little or as much as you like.
-I literally dream about playing this course, the layout is that good.
-You want to empty your bag on almost every hole because of all the possible lines one can take on each hole.
Cons: -I don't have any complaints, this is a world class course at the home of a man who loves disc golf and enjoys sharing it with the world. I am just excited that he is willing to share.
Other Thoughts: -Be kind and respectful to the owner Paulie and you will be treated the same. Sadly disc golfers have lied, stolen, and broken the few rules of the course with startling frequency. This should never happen.

-However if you treat this course and it's owner with respect you might just find yourself invited to play other incredibly spectacular private courses in the area. Every year Paulie has surprised our group with back stage passes and invitations to rarely played and highly magical courses. SO BE NICE!!!

10 of 13 people found this review helpful.

Worth the hype but still a lot of hassle

1    4/21/2013   5/3/2013
Review By: ttuff
Played: 12  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 7.4 Years
3 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: This course is famed for good reason. The overall experience is really wonderful. The course is clean and beautiful and the holes are well designed. You should go.
Cons: This is a serious commitment and a bit of a pain in the ass to set up. This is not a course that you rally the friends on Saturday morning and get out the same day. You first must call and get through to Paulie to make a reservation. He will likely not have a reservation for the day you want and you're stuck with a spot weeks (or months) later. He has an hour-long orientation and one tee time per day at 9 AM. We left our house in Boulder at 7AM and we finally started throwing around 10 after we gathered the crew in Golden, made it to P.F., and listened to the course orientation. This felt like a really long time.
Other Thoughts: These guys are doing some really awesome things in the area around conifer. Even if you can't get on this course, try out one of the sister courses in the area.

3 of 10 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 ... 14 15

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center