Pine, CO 
Phantom Falls Share
Uploaded By: filmwalrus Hole #11L (Taken 11/2010)
3 / 432ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #11A Tee: Basket is across the dirt road and slight left.



Reviews: 146
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 ... 8 9 10 11 12 ... 14 15
  Play It!

2-4    7/7/2010   7/29/2010
Review By: Uncle Ben
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
7 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This awesome mountain course will require you to bring every disc in your bag.

I played this course a few years ago and was back for more. Paulie is the owner and host. He gives everyone his pro pointers and an overview of the course before the first tee. The elevation changes and tight surroundings require you to get after challenging uphill shots and finesse downhill shots all within a few holes. There are about 4-5 relatively flat holes mixed in along the way.

CTP markers on each hole area unique. Tee boxes with markers and arrows (and several benches - thank God) make it easy to figure out the next hole location.

The pro shop is a nice addition. A new seating and grill/firepit area are in progress and look like they will be finished soon.

Paulie only schedules two tee times a day, so you can play the course at your pace with a few buddies and won't have anyone riding you. It's definitely worth a few buck to play 30 holes in this setting.
Cons: The only thing you can't do here is chuck a 600' drive. No chance and no need.
Other Thoughts: Paul's done a nice job of continuing to improve the course. Several holes featured new tee boxes and benches since my last visit. Steps are cut into the mountain in a couple different areas and are welcome breaks, 'cause the terrain will kick you hard.

7 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 One of a Kind DG Fun

1    5/29/2010   7/22/2010
Review By: ChainMan
Played: 17  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Let's see, beautiful mountain environment, technically fun challenge, great host and unique. No matter how you throw you'll need every shot in your arsenal except for the long bomb. There are uphill shots with options for straight through narrow gaps in the trees or longer anny or hyzer routes. ...same for downhill. The opp for placing the a rock or gnome for CTP is really unique. Serious golfers will appreciate the "no pressure" atmosphere of having the course to yourself other than the other members of your group. No need to feel guilty if you want to take that additional drive try by a different route because nobody will be waiting on you to clear the hole. There are plenty of opportunities to grab a beverage or change gear as you loop back to the house.
Cons: Ummm, it's not in my back yard?
Other Thoughts: Paulie is a gracious host and he will warn you about putting flat. I earned the nickname 'Captain Rollaway' at this course for good reason. If you play this course and Beaver Ranch back to back you'll have played too amazing, challenging and unique courses and have stories to tell for years! Just go play it!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Awsome Course

1    7/18/2010   7/18/2010
Review By: twistedturbo
Played: 47  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 8.2 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Great Technical shots unlike any in colorado
Every hole has a new challege
Great Location and Paul is a great host
Cons: I cant think of any
Other Thoughts: Great Great course if you are coming to the mountains or ever colorado you need to play this course

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  Great Challenge

1    7/15/2010   7/18/2010
Review By: EricVanDie
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Very fun wooded course. A great challenge, requiring you to bring all the shots in your arsenal, yet enjoyable. Paul is a great guy, and the entire experience was relaxed and fun. Highly recommended
Cons: Not for those who are unable to climb hills, yet the refreshment breaks available after every few holes keeps the game fresh.
Other Thoughts: 30 Holes made it worth it for almost any drive.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 One of a kind...

2-4    7/1/2010   7/1/2010
Review By: ColoradoDiscGolfer
Played: 31  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 7.3 Years
7 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Exactly what I like to think I would do with land in the Rockies, build a Disc Golf course. From start to finish this course is unique and unlike most any thing you will probably see on a disc golf course. A wooden baskets on hole one is the course's trade mark if you will,chimes for another basket all the way to a hanging basket. Every shot on the course is technical, from a double mandatory tree split, to straight up/down Rocky Mountain forest. Other touches include Ace tracking, Closet To Pin markers per hole, even a hints/tips sheet at each hole. Most holes have homemade benches which are a welcome site after hiking up some of the steep mountain sides.
Cons: All but two holes are fairly short, technical but short. If you don't enjoy hiking or stair steppers this might not be the course for you, it constantly goes up and down. Some holes can feel a bit repetitive seeing as some baskets are used two or more times to make 30 holes. For the drive and location the price is a bit steep but its just money I guess..


Other Thoughts: Food and beverage can be acquired for a donation if you need (30 holes is a lot after all). There is a nice Pro-Shop for disc and advice, I must admit the Phantom Falls logo looks pretty nice on your favorite disc. Not a good choice for children or strollers at all. Great course if you want something fun, challenging, unique, and don't mind having to pay to do it...

7 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Spectacular!

2-4    6/25/2011   6/27/2010
Review By: madiganshouse
Played: 5  Reviewed: 4
This review was updated on 6/26/2011
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: In the top 3 courses I have played so far. We took the afternoon slot for a group of 4 to celebrate a friends 51st birthday. It was an excellent choice. Paul played a bunch with us just to have fun, wjich was nice because you would get goof advice on a lot of holes. Of course we also had the "cheat sheet" with tip on every hole. 5 second walk from pin to next tee box helps. Loops that bring you back to the house allow you to carry a lighter pack and break for a nice lunch, which Paul can also set up for you if you like.
Cons: None, you have to understand it for what it is and just enjoy it. If you come up with expectations of a regular course your tender sensibilities will be shattered by this mecca of disc.

Other Thoughts: When you call for a tee time order the lunch package. I plan beforehand to have plenty of cash to buy discs or cool shirts and donate for future upgrades. This is an executive course. Paul opens his home and his heart and shares something truly unique that he has created. Be respectful with the fire hazards, the language around the house, etc.

Plan on bringing many discs. There are a lot of holes where we would empty our bag. Go heavy on your putter and midrange selection, but dont forget drivers and some tommy/thumber discs.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  Epic Course

1    6/17/2010   6/17/2010
Review By: soggy544
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Well marked and easy to understand tees/baskets. The tees were diverse and challenging. Paul, the owner, is very positive, honest, and respectful. The limited tee times provide a secluded and relaxing atmosphere.
Cons: Its illegal to clone Paul meaning there can't be a Paul in every state.
Other Thoughts: Check the tree tops for your lost frisbees. WEAR HIKING BOOTS! It's a good idea to pack food and make a day of the event.

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

  

1    6/11/2010   6/15/2010
Review By: krazyeye
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: My wife and I played this course while on vacation. It is easily in our top five courses. The variety of shots alone makes this course worth playing. Paulie is extremly hospitable and walked us through the course prior to us playing it to help us understand the flow. The course is well marked and easy to follow.
Cons: Killer uphill shots rough on a flat lander. 1100 plus miles from home. Would love to have a second shot at this course.
Other Thoughts: Paulie said the average first round is 11 over I shot an eight so was happy. Feel like I could improve about eight strokes if I played it again.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Alice In Wonderland playing Disc-Golf!

1    6/6/2010   6/10/2010
Review By: Drew Heintz
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Where do I start?
When you first get to Paul's house to play, you see a couple of baskets, lots of woods, and a happy dog that gives you quite a warm welcome. Me and two of my buddies played this course as an early birthday present. It was awesome! Paul was so cool and you should seriously check out his new shop. He has quite a selection of some hard to find rarites! I got a Phantom Falls Buzz disc and almost "Made the Chimes Ring" from the teebox! (You will see what I mean). Another nice thing is you get to come back around the house like four times so you don't have to be lugging all kinds of stuff with you the whole time, and you can keep refreshing your cold-beers! When he says you have the course to yourself, you truely do. It was very cool and weird to be playing a course with no one else on it! You use the same baskets on some of the holes, but you can't tell at all. He does have some "Closest To the Pin" (CTP) rocks and nomes, but realize this is HIS course. So you pretty much have no chance of moving any of the rocks. You will need ALL of your discs and ALL of your skills. Look for the Aspen-Tree Basket, the Hanging Basket, and The Chimes. There is a reason that this course rates so high. Play it and see why.
Cons: Some would say the $40 dollar donation for reserving half a day (either at 9A.M. or around 2P.M.) at a course is a bit steep ($10 a person with a mandatory 4 person or more rule) but he does barter and trade for items and if you buy some of the stuff in his store he may give you a break on the prices.
Other Thoughts: Ask Paul for directions to Zokas. Good food for about $10 a person. ( I think Paul and the owner of Zokas should set up some package deal with the course and the restaurant). Then get directions for the back way to Conifer/Beaver Course and play that one.
I call it "Tha Dirty 50"
(30 at PF and 20 at Conifer)
Truely an experience!!!
Thanks Paul. Ill see ya soon.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

  new favorite mtn course

1    5/11/2010   5/12/2010
Review By: longer_look
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 16 Not
Pros: tight. challenging. awesome atmosphere. pro-shop. you have the course to yourself! paul did great with the land that he has!
Cons: a little short.
Other Thoughts: i've only been playing for 2 years and i'm getting tired of the courses in denver. they're all, pretty much, wide open and not a lot of challenge. i love this course because i know it's going to help my game!

2 of 18 people found this review helpful.

1 2 ... 8 9 10 11 12 ... 14 15

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.