Pine, CO 
Phantom Falls Share
Uploaded By: paulrothley@msn.com  



Reviews: 149
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 ... 8 9 10 11 12 ... 14 15
  Phantom Falls Fantasy

1    8/26/2010   8/31/2010
Review By: kendalbuc
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Scenery is EPIC! Hospitality is 2nd to none! Unlike anything i've played before and so incredibly worth the trip. The shots through the forest and around rocks and revenes is an incredible touch of "perfection"! Thanks to Paulie for offering our group the special gift of a guided round. Can't think of a better way to spend the afternoon. NOW - the course is hilly, technical and sneaky - but I would not like it any other way. Perfection in Pine, Colorado. YOU NEED TO PLAY THIS COURSE!
Cons: The only con is that I had to travel from South Carolina to play this gem. Even so - it was so very worth the effort!
Other Thoughts: I commend Paulie on the Pro Shop and the hospitality. You will walk away "winded" but so thankful you took the time. Play On! Play Hard! Enjoy God's Creation!

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Special

1    8/7/2010   8/9/2010
Review By: Dalisllama
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Unique and Special. A must PLAY. Great Host. Nice Pro Shop. Be prepared to hike and have FUN. Flicks, backhands, hammers, thumbers, sliders, call it what you want, you had better bring your variety pack of throws. DISC GOLF extravaganza! 30 holes! No rush b/c it's just your group on the course. Service.
Other Thoughts: I like this course. It is set up for variety and skill. If you are looking for a quick, flat, open, long-throwing, course, GO somewhere else. The PLAY is fluid. Some holes are used more than once but keeps the course flowing smoothly. Thanks-a-ton Paulie!
GO PLAY DISC GOLF at Phantom Falls it's FUN!

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  Phantom Falls!!

2-4    8/1/2010   8/2/2010
Review By: derekholscher
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: Absolutely love this course! I usually go up with 3 other friends and we always have a good time! The owner, Paulie, is a great guy and always fun to see. He has played a little bit with us on occasion and has shown us some neat lines/ways to play the course. I love the layout of the course and the addition of the pro shop. Everytime I come back, Paulie has done something new and exciting with the course. Thanks Paulie...can't wait to come back!

2 of 10 people found this review helpful.

  Play It!

2-4    7/7/2010   7/29/2010
Review By: Uncle Ben
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
7 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This awesome mountain course will require you to bring every disc in your bag.

I played this course a few years ago and was back for more. Paulie is the owner and host. He gives everyone his pro pointers and an overview of the course before the first tee. The elevation changes and tight surroundings require you to get after challenging uphill shots and finesse downhill shots all within a few holes. There are about 4-5 relatively flat holes mixed in along the way.

CTP markers on each hole area unique. Tee boxes with markers and arrows (and several benches - thank God) make it easy to figure out the next hole location.

The pro shop is a nice addition. A new seating and grill/firepit area are in progress and look like they will be finished soon.

Paulie only schedules two tee times a day, so you can play the course at your pace with a few buddies and won't have anyone riding you. It's definitely worth a few buck to play 30 holes in this setting.
Cons: The only thing you can't do here is chuck a 600' drive. No chance and no need.
Other Thoughts: Paul's done a nice job of continuing to improve the course. Several holes featured new tee boxes and benches since my last visit. Steps are cut into the mountain in a couple different areas and are welcome breaks, 'cause the terrain will kick you hard.

7 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 One of a Kind DG Fun

1    5/29/2010   7/22/2010
Review By: ChainMan
Played: 17  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5.4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Let's see, beautiful mountain environment, technically fun challenge, great host and unique. No matter how you throw you'll need every shot in your arsenal except for the long bomb. There are uphill shots with options for straight through narrow gaps in the trees or longer anny or hyzer routes. ...same for downhill. The opp for placing the a rock or gnome for CTP is really unique. Serious golfers will appreciate the "no pressure" atmosphere of having the course to yourself other than the other members of your group. No need to feel guilty if you want to take that additional drive try by a different route because nobody will be waiting on you to clear the hole. There are plenty of opportunities to grab a beverage or change gear as you loop back to the house.
Cons: Ummm, it's not in my back yard?
Other Thoughts: Paulie is a gracious host and he will warn you about putting flat. I earned the nickname 'Captain Rollaway' at this course for good reason. If you play this course and Beaver Ranch back to back you'll have played too amazing, challenging and unique courses and have stories to tell for years! Just go play it!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Awsome Course

1    7/18/2010   7/18/2010
Review By: twistedturbo
Played: 47  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 8.3 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Great Technical shots unlike any in colorado
Every hole has a new challege
Great Location and Paul is a great host
Cons: I cant think of any
Other Thoughts: Great Great course if you are coming to the mountains or ever colorado you need to play this course

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  Great Challenge

1    7/15/2010   7/18/2010
Review By: EricVanDie
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Very fun wooded course. A great challenge, requiring you to bring all the shots in your arsenal, yet enjoyable. Paul is a great guy, and the entire experience was relaxed and fun. Highly recommended
Cons: Not for those who are unable to climb hills, yet the refreshment breaks available after every few holes keeps the game fresh.
Other Thoughts: 30 Holes made it worth it for almost any drive.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 One of a kind...

2-4    7/1/2010   7/1/2010
Review By: ColoradoDiscGolfer
Played: 31  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 7.4 Years
7 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Exactly what I like to think I would do with land in the Rockies, build a Disc Golf course. From start to finish this course is unique and unlike most any thing you will probably see on a disc golf course. A wooden baskets on hole one is the course's trade mark if you will,chimes for another basket all the way to a hanging basket. Every shot on the course is technical, from a double mandatory tree split, to straight up/down Rocky Mountain forest. Other touches include Ace tracking, Closet To Pin markers per hole, even a hints/tips sheet at each hole. Most holes have homemade benches which are a welcome site after hiking up some of the steep mountain sides.
Cons: All but two holes are fairly short, technical but short. If you don't enjoy hiking or stair steppers this might not be the course for you, it constantly goes up and down. Some holes can feel a bit repetitive seeing as some baskets are used two or more times to make 30 holes. For the drive and location the price is a bit steep but its just money I guess..


Other Thoughts: Food and beverage can be acquired for a donation if you need (30 holes is a lot after all). There is a nice Pro-Shop for disc and advice, I must admit the Phantom Falls logo looks pretty nice on your favorite disc. Not a good choice for children or strollers at all. Great course if you want something fun, challenging, unique, and don't mind having to pay to do it...

7 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Spectacular!

2-4    6/25/2011   6/27/2010
Review By: madiganshouse
Played: 5  Reviewed: 4
This review was updated on 6/26/2011
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: In the top 3 courses I have played so far. We took the afternoon slot for a group of 4 to celebrate a friends 51st birthday. It was an excellent choice. Paul played a bunch with us just to have fun, wjich was nice because you would get goof advice on a lot of holes. Of course we also had the "cheat sheet" with tip on every hole. 5 second walk from pin to next tee box helps. Loops that bring you back to the house allow you to carry a lighter pack and break for a nice lunch, which Paul can also set up for you if you like.
Cons: None, you have to understand it for what it is and just enjoy it. If you come up with expectations of a regular course your tender sensibilities will be shattered by this mecca of disc.

Other Thoughts: When you call for a tee time order the lunch package. I plan beforehand to have plenty of cash to buy discs or cool shirts and donate for future upgrades. This is an executive course. Paul opens his home and his heart and shares something truly unique that he has created. Be respectful with the fire hazards, the language around the house, etc.

Plan on bringing many discs. There are a lot of holes where we would empty our bag. Go heavy on your putter and midrange selection, but dont forget drivers and some tommy/thumber discs.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  Epic Course

1    6/17/2010   6/17/2010
Review By: soggy544
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Well marked and easy to understand tees/baskets. The tees were diverse and challenging. Paul, the owner, is very positive, honest, and respectful. The limited tee times provide a secluded and relaxing atmosphere.
Cons: Its illegal to clone Paul meaning there can't be a Paul in every state.
Other Thoughts: Check the tree tops for your lost frisbees. WEAR HIKING BOOTS! It's a good idea to pack food and make a day of the event.

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

1 2 ... 8 9 10 11 12 ... 14 15

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.