Pine, CO 
Phantom Falls Share
Uploaded By: filmwalrus Hole #23 (Taken 11/2010)
3 / 262ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #24 Basket: The garden gnome marks the closest throw to the pin.



Reviews: 149
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 ... 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15
  

1    6/11/2010   6/15/2010
Review By: krazyeye
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: My wife and I played this course while on vacation. It is easily in our top five courses. The variety of shots alone makes this course worth playing. Paulie is extremly hospitable and walked us through the course prior to us playing it to help us understand the flow. The course is well marked and easy to follow.
Cons: Killer uphill shots rough on a flat lander. 1100 plus miles from home. Would love to have a second shot at this course.
Other Thoughts: Paulie said the average first round is 11 over I shot an eight so was happy. Feel like I could improve about eight strokes if I played it again.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Alice In Wonderland playing Disc-Golf!

1    6/6/2010   6/10/2010
Review By: Drew Heintz
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Where do I start?
When you first get to Paul's house to play, you see a couple of baskets, lots of woods, and a happy dog that gives you quite a warm welcome. Me and two of my buddies played this course as an early birthday present. It was awesome! Paul was so cool and you should seriously check out his new shop. He has quite a selection of some hard to find rarites! I got a Phantom Falls Buzz disc and almost "Made the Chimes Ring" from the teebox! (You will see what I mean). Another nice thing is you get to come back around the house like four times so you don't have to be lugging all kinds of stuff with you the whole time, and you can keep refreshing your cold-beers! When he says you have the course to yourself, you truely do. It was very cool and weird to be playing a course with no one else on it! You use the same baskets on some of the holes, but you can't tell at all. He does have some "Closest To the Pin" (CTP) rocks and nomes, but realize this is HIS course. So you pretty much have no chance of moving any of the rocks. You will need ALL of your discs and ALL of your skills. Look for the Aspen-Tree Basket, the Hanging Basket, and The Chimes. There is a reason that this course rates so high. Play it and see why.
Cons: Some would say the $40 dollar donation for reserving half a day (either at 9A.M. or around 2P.M.) at a course is a bit steep ($10 a person with a mandatory 4 person or more rule) but he does barter and trade for items and if you buy some of the stuff in his store he may give you a break on the prices.
Other Thoughts: Ask Paul for directions to Zokas. Good food for about $10 a person. ( I think Paul and the owner of Zokas should set up some package deal with the course and the restaurant). Then get directions for the back way to Conifer/Beaver Course and play that one.
I call it "Tha Dirty 50"
(30 at PF and 20 at Conifer)
Truely an experience!!!
Thanks Paul. Ill see ya soon.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

  new favorite mtn course

1    5/11/2010   5/12/2010
Review By: longer_look
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 16 Not
Pros: tight. challenging. awesome atmosphere. pro-shop. you have the course to yourself! paul did great with the land that he has!
Cons: a little short.
Other Thoughts: i've only been playing for 2 years and i'm getting tired of the courses in denver. they're all, pretty much, wide open and not a lot of challenge. i love this course because i know it's going to help my game!

2 of 18 people found this review helpful.

 review

1    4/26/2010   5/8/2010
Review By: dbbarnes2
Played: 51  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 20 Not
Pros: Awsome course in the mountians with lots of trees. Great host, pro shop on spot. Only two tee times so the course really is yours to enjoy. I must play if in the area.
Cons: A bit of a workout but well worth it

1 of 21 people found this review helpful.

 What a course!

1    4/24/2010   4/25/2010
Review By: starmace
Played: 17  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 11.5 Years
2 Helpful / 14 Not
Pros: Extremely well manicured wooded mountain course. Skillfully thought out shot patterns that promotes a plethora of shot types. "Use every disc in your bag". Paul who lives on the site is an incredible host and a lot of fun to play with. Dog friendly. Lunch offered on hole 13.
Cons: No maps. Repeated baskets. Dirt tee pads.
Other Thoughts: Playing this course for the first time was one of the best disc golf experiences I've ever had.

2 of 16 people found this review helpful.

 so chill

1    4/24/2010   4/25/2010
Review By: pitcherofnectar
Played: 24  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6.2 Years
7 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Paulie is the man. After a tour of his great collection of discs and gear for sale he walked us through this challenging, techincal and beautiful course on the mountains off 285. As a group of 3 we couldnt have felt more welcome. The weather was perfect, beers were cold and everyone on site was really into hitting chain. Holes are very clever and entertaining, and most have a safe route and a suicide shot for those of you with "balls." Threading a disc through these trees without contact is such a rush! Dogs are welcome, groups have the course to themselves, and lunch is even available at the turn. If you live within 300 miles, you have to come play this course.
Cons: tee boxes are very well built dirt in wood frames but i would love it if they were cement. other than that this course is fantastic in every way

7 of 11 people found this review helpful.

  First time and hooked!

1    7/22/2008   3/14/2010
Review By: wizzakern1
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
4 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: Beautiful and challenging course. I played the course as a "beginner" DG player but found that with the management's (Paulie, that is) encouragement and guidance I felt right at home. After each hole, I couldn't wait to see what was next. You might even have to think a bit on this course, but don't worry not too much! Thanks for an awesome experience and keep on designing!
Cons: Good luck finding any
Other Thoughts: Check out the pro-shop, and let everybody know about this GEM!!!

4 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Must Play

5+    3/12/2010   3/12/2010
Review By: HappyGilmore
Played: 111  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 25.5 Years
4 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: This course is awesome. I have played many times over the years and Paulie always manages to make it better each time. It is challenging, beautiful and fun. It is a must play if you live in the area or if you are a visiting. Everything else has already been said in the other reviews. A must play!
Cons: Probably not for beginners or people that don't like awesomeness.

4 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 

1    1/24/2010   2/4/2010
Review By: bobbeno
Played: 12  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 5.9 Years
5 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: Last stop on my 4 day Denver tour; and I have to say I saved the best for last. This course is more techincal than Beaver Ranch, with lots of elevation changes, tight tree shots and one extra tight double mando :) Nice tee boxes with signage in progress. The amount of enjoyment i got from playing this beautiful course with Paulie and a small group of friends & locals, will be hard to beat, especially living down here on the coast in Texas. Loved the aspen, wind-chime and hanging basket holes; one-of-kind course, a must play....
Cons: I wasn't able to play it twice..
Other Thoughts: Paulie's got it going on at Phantom Falls; well worth the $10 donation, I felt right at home, Thanks Paulie, I be seeing you first on my next Denver tour.

5 of 15 people found this review helpful.

  Phantom Falls

1    1/25/2010   1/26/2010
Review By: Pete Kenny
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 36.7 Years
6 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: Outstanding private course. Pauly is a gracious host. 30 holes, very hilly. Very well manicured for a wooded mountain course. Great variety and creative holes. Tees in great shape. Very well marked. Tests your whole game. A true 5!
Cons: The only con is the course is an hour from my house in Boulder. 30 holes plays in about 4 hours.
Other Thoughts: Outstanding course, lovingly maintained. Owner has put in much sweat to make a beautiful course. Don't miss this one. Super nice locals.

6 of 16 people found this review helpful.

1 2 ... 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.