Pine, CO 
Phantom Falls Share
Uploaded By: filmwalrus Hole #26 (Taken 11/2010)
3 / 222ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #27 Mid-Fairway: You can see the marker stone (92 feet from the basket) as well as the basket itself. Steep drop-off to OB road a little behind the basket.



Reviews: 150
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 ... 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15
  Phantom Falls

1    1/25/2010   1/26/2010
Review By: Pete Kenny
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 37 Years
6 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: Outstanding private course. Pauly is a gracious host. 30 holes, very hilly. Very well manicured for a wooded mountain course. Great variety and creative holes. Tees in great shape. Very well marked. Tests your whole game. A true 5!
Cons: The only con is the course is an hour from my house in Boulder. 30 holes plays in about 4 hours.
Other Thoughts: Outstanding course, lovingly maintained. Owner has put in much sweat to make a beautiful course. Don't miss this one. Super nice locals.

6 of 16 people found this review helpful.

  Unreal

5+    8/6/2009   1/14/2010
Review By: jghinelli
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 15 Not
Pros: The skill required to play this course is not for the average weekend warrior. The course forces the player to use creative shots as well as accurate shots. The views set this course apart from all others. The maintenance of course is above all others.
Other Thoughts: A must play!

1 of 16 people found this review helpful.

  Labor of Love

2-4    1/10/2010   1/13/2010
Review By: squilly
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
5 Helpful / 12 Not
Pros: Fantastic course...Paul has clearly spent hundreds of hours putting this masterpiece together...he must have a very understanding wife!! Love the ski benches, aspen and wind chime holes. Ravines galore make some holes very challenging. If you're lucky Paul will show you his man cave.
Cons: A bit out of the way but worth the effort.
Other Thoughts: Go to Zoka's or the Bucksnort for drinks or a meal afterward. Both are within 5-10 minutes of Paul's course and are both worth the trip (Zoka's is great food/ambience yet not too pricey; Bucksnort is a backwoods burger dive saloon).

5 of 17 people found this review helpful.

  Great Course

1    1/1/2010   1/1/2010
Review By: sbateman30
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
3 Helpful / 14 Not
Pros: Wow. What a beautiful course. It has some amazing scenery. A good work out also. A good combination of aceable and disheartening holes. A lot of fun overall.
Cons: Nothing really bad to say. Great course.
Other Thoughts: There is some treacherous errain so bring appropriate shoes.

3 of 17 people found this review helpful.

 Fantastic Course

1    12/30/2009   12/30/2009
Review By: tmigchel
Played: 116  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 13 Years
This review was updated on 5/4/2012
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Wow is pretty much how to describe this course. Great variety of holes with many different lines to take. I liked the rolling hills and valleys that came into play often. The elevation changes were challenging. The different types of baskets were awesome (there was a hanging basket, hanging chimes, and an incredible wooden basket just to name a few). It was nice how the course winded back to the house a few times during the round. Because of the great terrain, there is not a need for too many OBs or mandos, but the one double mando was pretty sweet (even though I missed it).
Cons: That I don't live closer. Some baskets are used multiple times, but you hardly notice if you have played it or not.
Other Thoughts: Paul is great guy that just loves disc. He seemed very happy to have us out there enjoying his course. He followed us around for a few holes to make sure his course record was safe, and it was. Unique disc golf experience, I cannot wait until I get to come back.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Oh what a day!!!!!

1    12/12/2009   12/17/2009
Review By: diskdunn1
Played: 11  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 6.3 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Wow, well where do I start. First of all Paulie is a great guy ( with quite a sidearm throw). what an amazing course. If I had this in my backyard, I would go broke and loose my job. This course gives you a taste of everything. Short and technical shots, long and crazy shots, dog legs, uphills, down hills, everything you could ask for. I couldn't pick a favorite hole as each one has its own unique characteristics. With mature tree's, amazing wooden baskets, 30 holes to play, and a breathtaking location all make this course one of the best in the west. If you are coming to CO to play, do not pass up the opportunity to play one of Colorado's premiere courses!!!!! Bring your burgers and steaks because Paulie lets you use the Disc Golfers grill 1/2 way through the course. Thanks Paulie for such a great day!!!!!!
Cons: There was no water holes for me to make a disc donation to the Disc water gods!!!!!. Make sure to give yourself 4 + hours to play. Not a con if you have the time.
Other Thoughts: Paulie said he will be opening a pro shop in 2010. Maybe a Phantom Falls Exclusive Disc would be great for the incredible memories!!!!!

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

  

1    11/30/2009   12/12/2009
Review By: thhayes
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
4 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: I have been playing disc for 30 years now and I must say that this is one of the most unique courses I have played over that time. In fact, Paulie has done what I have been wanting to do for years - finding a nice piece of property and putting together a quality course. He has truely maximized his real estate and created a quality result. It is not long, but I like that as it does not create the distinct advantage for the long thrower.
Cons: Not many. The drive from Boulder is a solid hour. The footing can be a bit tenuous, but it is really part of it's character.
Other Thoughts: You can not get a better host than Paulie!

4 of 8 people found this review helpful.

   A Jewel In My Back Yard

1    11/28/2009   12/2/2009
Review By: Discdancer
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
8 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: This is the most fun I have ever had playing DG, the fun factor when playing this course is through the roof. This is a MUST play for any DG player. The course design is awesome and unique. The pin placement is amazingly fun, risk - reward @ it's best. The hospitality you will be shown is 2nd to none. The fact that you have the course to yourself is awesome, and a pro that can't be exagerated. There are so many unique features of this course that they can't be explained, they have to be experienced. My favorite course to date.
Cons: Good luck with that.
Other Thoughts: Being female, so many courses are too long or difficult for me. This course is not terribly long, just very technical and fun. An awesome course for any level of DG'er.

8 of 12 people found this review helpful.

  Bring your boots!

5+    10/11/2009   11/12/2009
Review By: CAgup
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
4 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: It is the best course I've ever played. Every hole is a different challenge. I've been playing the course for over 5 years and everytime i come back Paulie has made more improvements. This last year he has really taken it to the next level. With all new baskets, benches at almost every tee (For a guy coming from sealevel i needed everyone) and improved tee boxes. And he is still working on it. A must play.
Cons: All he needs is a cart gal serving cold ones.
Other Thoughts: If you are within 300 miles of the place it is worth the effort. And if you can play with the owner your intertainment value doubles!

4 of 7 people found this review helpful.

  Fun in the mountains!

1    9/30/2009   10/9/2009
Review By: Invisible
Played: 21  Reviewed: 1
5 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: This course has many challenging and interesting hole designs. There are many holes that the owner Paulie has really put a lot of time and money into making one of the best courses in Colorado. There are many holes that can be aced, but it is really technical due to the vast number of trees on this course. Not a course for the long armed player as most holes are reachable with a mid range shot. There is now a grill available for players to grill out on the lower deck of the house and the course comes back to the house often so that players can refresh when they need to. We brought a cooler of vitamine water and other snacks and we could have used some more refreshments as it was about a 4 hour day. We really loved the fact that Paulie only allows one group per day to play the course so we never felt rushed or pressed to move on to the next hole. Sometimes we took extra time to march down to a hole to see the best angle to shoot. A "cheat sheet" is provided to help new players to Phantom Falls with shot selection. Another fun aspect to the course is the "closest to the pin" rocks that tell you where the best shot was on each hole. If you are good enough to do better you can let Paulie know and he will mark it on the hole sign for future players to witness. Baskets are all in good shape and one even hangs from a tree. Hole one is a custom wooden basket that really gives Phantom Falls a "playin in the woods" feel. Love it!
Cons: By hole 25 you really start to feel fatigued. This is another challenge to the course. Lots of up and down. Don't go after a leg workout! Some of the launch pads are a little short.
Other Thoughts: Overall had a great time playing this course. We (three of us) showed up on an extremely windy day and we still had a blast. We enjoyed the course, talking with Paulie and the location. We will be back to play again.

5 of 9 people found this review helpful.

1 2 ... 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.